MD-2 Mega Distortion Review

manufacturer: Boss date: 12/14/2012 category: Guitar Effects
Boss: MD-2 Mega Distortion
Produces extreme, low-end distortion for modern metal and hard rock. Gain Boost circuit creates huge distortion and sustain regardless of level. New Bottom control for bottom-heavy distortion matched to 7-string guitars.
 Sound: 8.4
 Overall Impression: 8.7
 Reliability & Durability: 9.6
 Ease of Use: 9.2
 Overall rating:
 8.5 
 Reviewer rating:
 9 
 Users rating:
 8 
 Votes:
 172 
reviews (24) pictures (2) 48 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 9
MD-2 Mega Distortion Reviewed by: atkm2891, on december 20, 2005
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 90

Purchased from: Bansbach

Ease of Use: It's pretty simple to use, and the manual has some presets in it, that sound pretty good. I didn't need the manual to learn how to use it, though. All you have to do is plug it in, and your ready to go. It's number is N225 and has been upgraded. // 8

Sound: Right now, I'm using it with an ESP EX-50 and a Line 6 Spider II 30 watt amp. It doesn't sound very good with the EX-50, though. It has a Level knob, a Tone and bottom knob, a distortion knob and a gain boost. It doesn't sound good if you put the distortion too high, and sounds to low if the boost is to high. The effects can be weak, at times, but generally their good. I can get the sounds of songs by: the ramones, Nirvana, but it doesn't work very good for metal. The Overdrive is great, and so is the powerful boost. // 9

Reliability & Durability: This guy I know has had one of these for 15 years and it still works. So I can definitely depend on it. I wouldn't need a backup for it in a gig, it's Boss made, and Boss has never failed me. // 10

Overall Impression: I play metal, and a bit of punk and Grunge. It works real well for the heavy Nirvana songs, and for some metal. I've been playing for 3 years, and I own a Washburn WR120, with a Bad Dog amp, and an ESP EX-50 with a Line 6 Spider II 30 watts. If it were stolen I would probably buy an DF-2 Super Distortion. I love the Overdrive, but don't really like the bottom knob. I compared to some other models, but liked this one best. Just wish the adaptor wasn't separate. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.5
MD-2 Mega Distortion Reviewed by: Dave_Mc, on june 06, 2005
6 of 8 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 89.67

Purchased from: Matchetts Music

Ease of Use: It has 4 knobs: level (volume of the unit), a dual concentric knob for both tone (treble) and bottom (bass), distortion and gain boost. It's very easy to get a good sound out of it. Turn the distortion to 12 o'clock, keep the two tones at 12 o'clock, and set the gain boost at 0 and you get a DS-1 Distortion sound. Turn the distortion to 0, turn up the gain boost up to about 10-11 o'clock and you get an Overdrive sound, and max everything to get a nu-metal sound. The manual seems fine, and gives some sample settings. // 10

Sound: I use it with an Ibanez RG470 through a Marshall AVT100. The previously mentioned distortion sound is excellent. The Overdrive is not great, not the best sustain, or tone, but then again it's not really an Overdrive pedal. The nu-metal tone is good, if a bit muddy. The tone and bottom knobs really make a difference to your sound as well. A good solid 4 stars. // 8

Reliability & Durability: Haven't gigged with it, but it seems built like a tank. Had no problems so far. // 8

Overall Impression: This is a very good, versatile pedal. I use it mainly just like a Boss DS-1, so I don't really use a lot of the other options (alhtough they're there if I need them). If you want an Overdrive pedal, I would recommend buying a standalone Overdrive, as the Overdrive in it isn't great, but then again, it's not an Overdrive pedal. If it were stolen, I'd either buy this again, or maybe a DS-1, to save a little money, since I don't use the extra options anyway. A very good pedal, especially if you can only afford one distortion/overdrive pedal. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
MD-2 Mega Distortion Reviewed by: ibanez4life SZ!, on september 24, 2005
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Ease of Use: This is an amazing distortion pedal that turned my little 15 watt Ibanez into a beast. Amazing stock pedal, and with a few upgrades, really dishes out an amazing tone. I bought mine modded from ebay and couldn't be happier. // 10

Sound: Previously, I was using a Ibanez SZ with a SD JB in the bridge, into this pedal, into my 15 watt Ibanez amp. It wasn't noisy at all, and gave out great tones with amazing versatility. I could get a mild ovedrive to a metal distortion out of this pedal. Anything I dialed in sounded great. This pedal is so much better than the Boss MT-2 Metal Zone. It has just as much gain, and has the low end to support it. The MT-2 is a fuzz trebly distortion, with not low end to really beef it up. This pedal has so much low end that I couldn't belive it. I never expected to get that out of my little amp. // 10

Reliability & Durability: It's a Boss. These things are built like tanks, to last forever. It went through many many stomps and never ever let out. Just get a power supply so the battery doesn't die on you. // 10

Overall Impression: I play all varieties of music, and this pedal gave me anything from the mild Overdrive to the metal distortion I needed. The only reason I sold it is because I bought a Peavey XXX, and nothing can replace the natural Overdrive of a tube amp. If it were stolen, I definitely would have replaced it as soon as possible. It is one of the best stock pedals I have played, and I went through about everything. Don't hesitate, if you need to bring life to your amp, this will do it for you! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.8
MD-2 Mega Distortion Reviewed by: unregistered, on december 27, 2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 60

Purchased from: Tom Lee Music

Ease of Use: Easy to use. Simpler than an MT-2, a bit more complex than a DS-1 to add a bit more depth. The manual for it is very useful and contains some settings which can be used if you don't want to spend time customizing your own sound on it which is nice. Very easy to use. // 9

Sound: I'm using this with a Washburn X30 and a Roland Microcube/random tube amps. Generally this thing sounds a lot better on the tube amps and sounds terrible on solid state. So always use it on tubes! If you want a metal sound out of the MD-2, it does get quite noisy especially at loud volumes. A noisegate usually solves the problem though. The Overdrive is quiet as a lamb though. The sound that you get from the MD-2 is also very satisfactory and you can get a thick low-end boost from it. However, if you do do that, then you lose just a bit of treble but it's not really a big deal if your running an EQ as well. Anyway, the metal sound that you get from it is very thick and nice to my ears. The Overdrive sound isn't as good as maybe a BD-2 but this is a distortion pedal afterall. You can also get a very good rock distortion from this pedal too and IMO it trumps the DS-1. The gain-boost is very good for added sustain and response too and overall I just like the sound of it. It's a great stompbox to get your own unique distorted tone and I don't think it particularly emulates a certain artist. The only real problems are sometimes the treble loss and the fact that it gets a bit noisy when you push it to the extreme but your not going to that anyway. // 8

Reliability & Durability: It's a Boss. Sounds totally cliche, but it's true! "Built like a tank", I doubt it'd break very often. Afterall, it's not DigiTech. I could gig with it without a backup, but really, why would you buy two of the same pedal and keep one for backup anyway? It's very sturdy and should last, um, forever. The parts inside (which I did check out) looked very well organized too. The knobs are very hard to pull off (which is good thing) so yes, Boss wins here. // 10

Overall Impression: I play metal/jazz/rock and this gets a very nice tone for metal and rock (more metally I guess). I've played for three years and I own a Washburn X30, a Roland Microcube and a Musiya Acoustic. I used to own an Ibanez Ergodyne but never got to play it with the MD-2. If it was stolen or lost, I think I would get it again or maybe buy a modded DS-1 or an EXH Big Muff Pi for a more metal tone. I really like the gain boost on this product since it adds a lot of sustain and gives your guitar a very thick layer of distortion. I compared this to a DS-1, DS-2, MT-2 and a Line 6 Uber Metal. I chose this over the Line 6 Uber-Metal because the Line 6 sounded very synthetic and didn't have enough bass-boost. The noisegate in it was slightly helpful though. I also chose this over the more popular MT-2 because the MT-2 sounded very digital and really just had a very crappy distorted tone. No wonder there are so many after market mods. I chose this over the DS-2 because the DS-2 was simply shit. And I chose this over the DS-1 because I thought it might be too bothersome to mod the DS-1 and more pricey. And I wanted a more metal tone which the DS-1 didn't have. It was close though. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.5
MD-2 Mega Distortion Reviewed by: musicfreak003, on august 22, 2007
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 60

Ease of Use: I got this pedal last year while it was on discount. It is ok but no more than a heavy metal/death metal pedal. It has a Level (volume, tone, bottom, distortion, and gain boost knobs. The Level and Distortion knobs are pretty self explanatory-more distortion=higher gain. The gain boost adds more gain to the distortion, which now gets you a high gain metal sound. The gain boost can also turned full with no distortion to get a "blues" Overdrive which sounds like pure crap though. Lastly, there is a tone knob, which gives you more treble, and a Bottom knob which gives you more bass. Turn the Tone up to about 1 o'clock and the Bass to about 12 o'clock with the distortion and gain boost on full and you will get the best tone for heavy metal out of this pedal. (for Death Metal possibly turn the tone to 2 o'clock and the Bottom to 11. It is extremely easy to use, there are even 4 pretty good presets in the manual. There is a huge problem, though, because with the Death Metal setting that I described, you're sure to get unwanted feedback(unless you have a noise gate or something), so you'll have to tweak the settings a bit. The only reason I give this an 8 instead of a 9 is because of the feedback. // 7

Sound: At first I liked it a lot because it really improved the sounds of my Fender Frontman 15 watt amp (I use a Cort K6 which I reviewed earlier), and I was able to get a pretty good metal tone out of it (compared to what the Frontman could do by itself). But after a few months, I realized that it was nothing compared to a quality amp. Even though the heavy metal/distortion sound can compare to cheaper solid state amps, you would be better off saving money to get a good midrange (if not high end) amp. As I said earlier, this pedal should be used strictly for Heavy Metal and Death Metal (maybe hard rock if you spend time to mess with the settings). The Overdrive sounds muddy and digital at the same time, and anything with less than metal gain has pretty much the same sound quality of the Overdrive. Even though the high gain sounds are ok (though nothing compared to a good midrange amp), you might have to tweak the settings a bit, because it is VERY easy to get feedback with this pedal. Unless you absolutely can't save up to get a good amp, then this is the best you can get for 60 dollars (at least that's how much I paid). // 6

Reliability & Durability: YES. Boss has 5 year warranties on (at least some that I'm absolutely sure of) products, including this one. It is very dependable (as long as you use an adapter and not the battery, which runs out pretty quickly), and if I used this at a gig, I would definitely not need a back up. It's built like a tank and probably even stronger, because I've dropped it about a hundred times (ok fine maybe less) but it's still ok. // 10

Overall Impression: I play mostly Heavy Metal like Metallica and Lamb Of God, and sometimes a little bit of Death Metal. I've been playing for guitar for 3 years and I have a Cort K6 guitar and a Frontman 15 amp. My favorite features are the gain boost and the tone knob, which gives you a lot of tone options (half of which are crap, though). It was a good solution for me because I won't have enough money for a decent amp until a year (2 years from the time I bought it). I just wish it was able to do hard rock and Overdrive better. If it were stolen, I would track down the guy and make him pay me and then I'd let him have it because I'm gonna get a new amp soon anyway. Again, it's a solid pedal and the best you can get for under 100 dollars (unless you look at the metal muff, which is supposed to be good too but I haven't played it yet), unless you're willing to save up more and get a good amp. // 7

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
MD-2 Mega Distortion Reviewed by: harlet, on january 15, 2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 41.8

Ease of Use: It is very easy to get a really raw bassy metallicaesque sound out of this, I have a Fender COPY and the worst pickups in existance but the pedal still performed brilliantly. the manual is helpfull in how to use it, and also gives some reccommended settings. // 10

Sound: Like I said, I have a poor guitar, and a peavy rage, and the only noise that comes is from my guitars pickups, and maybe when you turn the gain boost up to maximum. I moddle that sound that I'm trying to get on metallica and the 'bottom boost' knob catters for that very well. The distrtion is crisp, and broad, and the sound of it can be varied very easily from hard core to over drive, form harsh to baby mild! // 10

Reliability & Durability: This thing is bulid like a brick sh*it house-you could drop an anvil on this thing and it would still perform exellently. Its cades in steel the switch is an actual pedal, as oppose to a pin that you stamp on (shoes not therfore needed!) I wouldn't need a backup for this simply because I know that you could kick it across the stage after getting over exiterd after aan epic solo, and it would still deliver! // 10

Overall Impression: I like to think that I play pretty heavy stuff (think Metallica, Motorhead, Pantera, Poison The Well) and the knobs change the sound dramatically and have huge potential for experimentation so even if my taste did change I would have to fork out for a new effect. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
MD-2 Mega Distortion Reviewed by: guitar21@WE, on october 10, 2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 79.99

Purchased from: Guitar Center

Ease of Use: This is the first distortion pedal that I have ever owned, and I feel it is very easy to adjust. It takes awhile to find the right amount of distortion that you want. Once you get that sound and a feel for how to adjust the pedal, youre set. I never put it on max tho, because all it comes out is a squeeling and or jsut fuzz. // 9

Sound: My setup is a Squier Strat hooked up throught this pedal to a Peavey 30 watt amp. This amp didn't have enough gain/distortion for what I was looking for, so I decided to get a pedal. The sound on this is amazing, only because of how much distortion you can put on it. There is such a large range because of the gain and distortion knobs. I love it. // 10

Reliability & Durability: This thing is built like a tank, been dropped multiple times, and nothing yet. // 10

Overall Impression: I play any type of classic rock music and the occasional modern rock song like audioslave. I love this pedal for some nice AC/DC songs, its a great match. I can even play some JImi Hendrix with the pedal. Overall I feel that this is a great pedal with all of its range of distortion. If it was stolen or lost, I would find the person who took it and beat them, but really I would definetly buy another one. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
MD-2 Mega Distortion Reviewed by: inbloom27, on october 11, 2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Ease of Use: This thing is the ultimate distortion pedal. It can go from really really heavy distortion to really light blues Overdrive. It has 5 knobs; level, distortion, gain boost, and a double knob, tone (treble) and bottom (bass). It's really amazing. // 10

Sound: I have a Les Paul copy and it really distorts nice. With the gain boost and distortion knobs it can sound really good. The one problem is that when you turn both knobs up all the way, you get an annoying buzz but I'm getting a noise gate soon so that will be gone but otherwise it's really good. // 9

Reliability & Durability: Well it's a Boss so it has to hold up. You could probaly drop in from a building and it would hold up. Nice long battery life. 10 on this one. // 10

Overall Impression: Well when I got it off ebay, it didn't come with a manual but I found out that only a noob would need a manual for this. It's really straight forward, if you have had other pedals, then you will find this easy to use. If I got this stolen, I would buy a new one right away. It's very light compared to other pedals but holds up like a tank. Best pedal ever, by it. First look on ebay though. You can find really great deals on there cause this is regulary $80.00 and I got it for $46. Now stop reading this and go out and buy it! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
MD-2 Mega Distortion Reviewed by: StormJH1, on december 14, 2012
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 23

Purchased from: eBay (used)

Ease of Use: This really is one of the hidden gems of the Boss lineup, for reasons I'll explain below. I'll give it an "8" for ease of use because there are a series of tonal options you need to go through to properly dial it in. There's both a "Distortion" and a "Gain Boost", and the interplay between those may impact how you use the EQ section. Fortunately, the multi-knob for "Bottom" and "Tone" responds very well, and I love having the low bass control to dial it in on smaller amps. The footswitch is excellent, as it is on all Boss products. And the 9V jack is on the top of the pedal, where it should be. Really no major complaints about the usability of this pedal. // 9

Sound: So many people have written off Boss effects, and their distortion pedals in particularly. I understand where that comes from, given that their pedals are widely available, and products like the DS-1 have some well-known flaws. But the MD-2 is like a modern improvement on the DS-1 that still retains a lot of the Vintage characteristics of a large, overdriven amp. I absolutely love the Gain Boost knob - turn it up on low "Dist" settings, and you get a Plexi-like Overdrive sound. And, of course, the standard Distortion knob can bring in some super-saturated heavier sounds. Boss advertised this as a high-gain distortion pedal for detuned or 7-string players, but that doesn't really do it justice. It's just a really ballsy, powerful sounding distortion pedal. The people who knock pedal distortion (and Boss in particular) probably have larger/more expensive equipment that can produce that sound on its own. Hey, that's great for them, but the vast majority of players spend most of their time playing or practicing on small-to-medium sized combo amps. This pedal will get you a bigger sound with that setup, and I'm sure it's no slouch on a half stack either. // 9

Reliability & Durability: Boss pedals really need no introduction for their durability - they are built like a tank. I've never owned one that failed, and I don't even hesitate at buying used ones that look like they've been through a war because they are built to last. Probably the first thing to go on them is the gromet for bottom screw, or the 9V connector, but I use adapters, so neither of these bother me anymore. The soft switch clicks in seamlessly and reliably. And you can mash on it without hitting your control knobs because of the recessed design. // 10

Overall Impression: Admittedly, part of my high praise for the MD-2 is based on the ridiculous used price ($23) I found it for. But the lesson in that is that there is a very attractive used market for under-appreciated gear, and the MD-2 fits that description. You could use it for "metal", but it really doesn't have a metal sound to me at all - I consider it heavy rock pedal. If somebody other than Boss made it and it didn't come in a familiar Orange casing, gearheads would refer to it as a "Marshall in a box". Let's just let that be our little secret - find one cheap if you can!

// 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
MD-2 Mega Distortion Reviewed by: unregistered, on december 27, 2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Ease of Use: The tone on this little orange monster is killer. The gain boost feature lets you thrash at low levels, and still retain your tone, which is great. The manual is very good and well-written, and it also gives some suggestions for setting it up, which is always helpful. // 10

Sound: I use it with a Y2K Ibanez GSA-20 (The Gio series. Yes, I know, laugh your ass off) with a Dimebucker in the bridge and a Screamin' Demon in the neck, and a 2k4 Gibson SG Standard with stock pickups. My amp is either a little 8-watt solid state practice amp from back when solid-state technology was new, and a 2003 Crate MX65-R. Both amps are crap, so the pedal buzzes like hell unless you turn your guitar down when you're on full gain boost, but I have played the pedal with both guitars through a Marshall half-stack cranked to eleven with only a very slight humming, so it all really depends on your quality of equipment, especially your cables. The pedal never sounds weak or washed out unless you want it to, and it always sounds wonderful. The best part is that it's very versatile, and the same settings work both for soloing and rhythm work. I can get the exact same sounds as anyone I want to with this baby, anyone from B. B. King to Faith No More to Zakk Wylde. My only gripe is that the knobs are a bit stiff. But that's it. // 10

Reliability & Durability: Another great thing about this pedal is that it is very durable. You could probably run the goddamn thing over with a car and then bring it to your next gig. The paint is a bit thin and chips eventually, but only with some pretty serious abuse. I would and do use it for gigs without backup. // 10

Overall Impression: I play Therion and Lacuna Coil style metal mostly, but I also do your typical classic-rock party songs, and this baby works wonderfully with all of it. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.3
MD-2 Mega Distortion Reviewed by: walkingonspikes, on march 08, 2006
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 89.99

Purchased from: Haight Ashbury Music Center

Ease of Use: This pedal is pretty easy to use. I can get a pretty good sound out of it. When I used to play nu-metal and punk, I got really good sounds out of it in just a few quick seconds. You don't really need to use the manual unless you really want to. // 9

Sound: I used it with a 10-watt amp before and it actually sounded pretty good. I tried it with a 60-watt Crate amp and it was pretty good. It was a bit staticky on a high level of volume but overall, it sounded good the whole time. I can get sounds ranging from Green Day to Metallica when I used to listen to those bands. // 8

Reliability & Durability: I'd use this pedal on a gig without a backup because it's really durable. I must've dropped it millions of times when I owned it and it still didn't break. The paint kind of scratched off a bit but nothing was wrong with the stuff inside it. // 9

Overall Impression: Well, now I play mainly death and black metal so, this pedal didn't really give me a good sound for that. I've been playing for about 2 years now. I have a Boss Metal Zone that does pretty well for me. I wouldn't buy this pedal again because it doesn't support the genres of music that I play. I loved it before because it had good sounds for punk and nu-metal but now I hate it since the distortion is pretty weak for death/black metal. // 7

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
MD-2 Mega Distortion Reviewed by: lookie here, on july 21, 2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Ease of Use: Well I got this pedal for a nice rythm tone and I got it. The use of this pedal is very simple has a Level knob for controlling the volume, has a concentric knob for tone (treble) and bottom (bass), distrotion knob for the amount of gain/distortion wanted and a gain boost knob to boost the gain. Simple to reach the battery compartment because my thumscrew kept on getting stuck but still easy to access. The manual is easy to understand like everyother Boss manual. // 9

Sound: I am running it through a Ibanez grg170dx/yamaha pac412v to my crybaby, DigiTech Whammy 4, then th4e md-2 and a Behringer eq pedal to a Behringer GMX210 and a Marshall MG (yeah I know) and can surprisingly get a good alternative rock tone out of it. I can even get a metal tone if I fiddle around with the EQ. The pedal gets noisy when you turn the dist and gain boost up to max but its fairly quite. ican get a good Metallica tone to a good ol' Zeppelin tone from the pedal. // 8

Reliability & Durability: I could depend on it its made out of meal and I abuse this pedal in paticular and it only has a few paint cihips on it. I would (and do) gig with it without a backup. Never had to get ity repaired or whatnot. The only problems I had were the thumscrew and the LED but the LED was temporary and fixed itself. // 10

Overall Impression: I mainly play matal to classic rock and this can handle it pretty well. I have been playing for about 2-3 years and I had this pedal for about 2 years. Great pedal. I do wih that I got to try out other pedals before I got this pedal because they didn't have much distortion pedals at the time but now do but still happy with my choice. If it got stolen I would just buy another one since its not like a expensive pedal or anything. I love every bit of it and only hate the colour a bit. My faorite feature is the chassis. But I wish it had different colour but other than that great pedal. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
MD-2 Mega Distortion Reviewed by: curlyhead_P, on february 08, 2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 82

Purchased from: Sam Ash in NY

Ease of Use: This pedal is awesome. It's insanely easy to get a good a good sound out of it. There are 4 knobs: level (volume), tone and bottom tone, distortion, and gain boost. Basically the tone knob adjusts bass and treble. The bottom control gives more flexibility for the tone, and the distortion and gain controls are what adjust the amount of distortion. The manual is pretty much useless because the pedalis so easy to use, but it goves you a few pre-sets. // 10

Sound: I play a Mexican Strat and have used the pedal on a Fender Frontman 212R, and a Hughes And Kettner Blue Edition 30. The pedal gets a little noisy, but it's not that bad. The distortion is always full and rich sounding. I like to play stuff like The Smashing Pumpkins, Jane's Addiction, The Pixies, and Greenday. The distortion doesn't really fit what I like to play (except it's good for Green Day), but it's such a good pedal, I got it anyway. It would be a great pedal for punk and classic rock. // 8

Reliability & Durability: The thing is built like a rock. There's no need for a backup. I've dropped it numerous times and it's perfectly fine. It's very dependable. // 10

Overall Impression: I've been playing for 4 years and and if it broke, I'd definately buy another one. When I got this pedal, I was actually thinking about getting a DS-1, but this pedal is 10 times better. In my opinion it's Bosses best distortion pedal and beats almost every other distortion for this price. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
MD-2 Mega Distortion Reviewed by: skulkid288, on february 14, 2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 94.8

Purchased from: academy of music

Ease of Use: Pretty easy to use, still don't have an adapter but it runs pretty good just with a 9volt. The manual's got a pretty good guide to it, but it's simple enough that you don't really need it. I don't know if my pedal has a revision number or if it's been upgraded. // 9

Sound: The sound is really good for metal when playing in drop D however with standerd tuning it doesn't have the sustain. I found that tapping wasn't as good as I had hoped it would be although I suppose it would be better with other equipment to support it like a decent amp. I was able to create a good System Of A Down sound but couldn't re-create Mudvayne or disturbed for some reason. // 8

Reliability & Durability: Everything on the Machine is very durable except for 2 parts I had problems with. The knob that changes the bottom effect is stuck and refuses to move, my friend has some cream he says can fix it but I find it alittle annoying. Also the part that the battery attatches to is starting to go (probebly cause I've had it for 2 years and never bother'd to get an adapter) but I can't really blame them for that. // 9

Overall Impression: This is my first and only peddle so far but compared to my friends peddles it sounds and works allot better. So I'm glad a I purchased a Boss modle instead of one of those shoddy knock off's that just make a fuzz distortion or a high amount of Overdrive. Overall I'd say it was worth the 120 bucks I paid for it (I know it's cheaper everywhere else but my town only had one music store at the time). // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.5
MD-2 Mega Distortion Reviewed by: Rizazzo, on october 10, 2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 80

Purchased from: eBay

Ease of Use: This pedal is a no brainer, just 5 knobs, level, tone, bottom, distortion, gain boost. Level controls the volume, tone is basically a mid sweep, bottom gives you more bass the more you crank it and the last 2 knobs give you gobs of distorion or gain. Quite easy to use and understand. Do not even need the manual. // 10

Sound: I am using an ESP Ax-250 through a Boss NS-2 Noise Suppressor through the MD-2 through a Boss RC-2 Loop Station to a Laney MXD120 Hardcore Amplifier. For me this is the perfect setup. The MD-2 produces some noise on my extreme setting (level 12 o'clock, tone, bottom and gain maxed and distortion at 12 o'clock) but the tone is worth it. The bottom control lets it go down a la 7-string guitar with face-smashing distorion. I play mostly heavy hardcore metal and some drop tuned Death Metal and this pedal suits my needs perfectly. Not recommended though for lead players. If you, like me, are a rythmn player, then this is for you. I can get the sound of Slipknot, Arch Enmy and much more. // 9

Reliability & Durability: Hey man, it's an efing Boss. That means it's a tank. Boss = tank. Been around for 5 years, just a few scuffs on it. Man if my hammer broke I'd use this thing instead it's so well protected. I would use this in a gig no backup, no probs. You can stomp around on it till kingdom come and it would still work ok. // 10

Overall Impression: This is perfect for a rythmn guitarist as it gives you those chunky riffs you need most. I've been playing for 1.2yrs so maybe my experience doesn't count a lot but man you've got to have this pedal. It's a must for death and black metal. If someone stole this, I'd have gone after him with my other Boss and bashed him on the head until he gave it back but if he had a pedalboard of Boss effects I'd let him have it (can't risk getting hit with that thing). I'd definetly buy either this again or I'd try the new Boss ML-2, they say it's quite good. I only wish it had an eq with it, to make it even more versatile. But overall a great buy. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
MD-2 Mega Distortion Reviewed by: Lainey, on february 02, 2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Ease of Use: A good sound comes out of this as soon as it's on. Depending on what sound you want you may have to a while getting it, but only because it's so versitile. I was after a pedal for solos, highest gain, with lots of middle. I tried every Boss overdrive/distortion pedal (DS1 and 2, overdrive, super overdrive metal zone etc) the metal zone came close, but the MD2 was just perfect. // 10

Sound: I'm using it with, a PRS, orginal Fender Strat but primarily a pacifica 012. All going through a Marshall MG series amp. Makes the amp sound a lot better than it is! The distortion is strong and very full, and the level control more than enough if you are using it for solos like myself (although it does give a brilliant rhythm sound, but the "Gain Boost" isn't needed if you use it for that). // 10

Reliability & Durability: Durable without a doubt. I did try a Big Muff Pi, and it's thin casing was what let it down. It's tone range was too much aswell I think, allowing you get sounds you would surely never use. No backup required, it's never let me down. You'd have to slam it with a chunk of granite to brake it. // 10

Overall Impression: I play Hard Rock, with very fast and expressive solos. I love using my Cry Baby during solos and it sounds brilliant through the MD2. If I lost this pedal I'd be buying another one straight away, it's become a very important part of my sound along with my Cry Baby and I couldn't Live without it. As I said I did compare it with every other Boss OD/Distortion pedal. Two parts of this pedal, the "Bottom" and the "Gain Boost" really set the pedal apart from the rest. This pedal gave me exactly what I needed: a ridiculous amount of gain with lots of middle for my solos! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.5
MD-2 Mega Distortion Reviewed by: Mr.LeadGuitar, on november 17, 2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Ease of Use: Sound... hmmm. It sounds amazing! Granted, it's a pedal, and when used with a shitty amp, it's, well, shitty. But it's really easy to get the tone you want. It even comes with like 20 preset settings in the manual. You can find most types of distortion on with without much fiddling about, and it even works great with deep metal tunings, 7 string guitars, and basses. // 10

Sound: I am using a Line 6 Spider III 30 watt, a Gibson Les Paul Vintage Studio guitar, and a DigiTech RP250 for boosting, amp models, and other effects. The distortion settings on the RP sound like it's from a tin can, but with the MD-2 it's like pure bliss. The heaviest of distortion sounds somewhat unclear when using like powerchords, and open chords are sometimes impossible to distinguish, but that is easily softened by turning down the level or using a NS-2 Noise Supressor, which I also use in my rig. I can get the sounds of Nirvana, Pearl Jam, and The Offspring easily, as well as Metallica, Avenged Sevenfold, and Van Halen, without too much hassle. It sounds awful with some modulation effects, like phaser and chorus, but besides that works like a charm with tremolo, wah, and delay. Do not use a compression sustainer without a noise supressor while using this pedal! The feedback is horrible. Still, overall great sound. // 9

Reliability & Durability: We could win the war in Iraq if we dropped a thousand of these on the mountains. Seriously, these things are inhumanly prone to abuse, yet they are even more inhumanly immune to damage. These things are the hulks of pedals. I mean, I dropped mine down a flight of stairs, and it still works fine. nothing knocked loose or anything. // 10

Overall Impression: This is the god of distortion pedals. Whatever you are looking for, you can get on this pedal. Metal, Punk, Alternative, even some classic rock (I use this on my cover of China Grove by the Doobie Brothers), you can find without too much of a hassle. The presets are great, the versatility is amazing, and it blows all other distortion pedals out of the water. I own a DS-1, and you know, it's donkey fodder compared to this (no wonder the DS-1 is so cheap). Honestly, I wish someone had told me it was this good, cause I was planning to buy like 3 other distortion pedals to fit my needs. If it were stolen, I'd make sure the person Who did would never be able to again, cause it's that good of a pedal! If I couldnt, I would get another one the same day! it's compatability to basses and Death Metal tunings really help (I play a lot of music). It's perfect the way it is. I just wish certain effects worked better with it, but I have yet to find a distortion pedal that does work with them well. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
MD-2 Mega Distortion Reviewed by: unregistered, on january 06, 2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 65

Purchased from: B&G Music

Ease of Use: Ease of use... very easy to use once you get the hang of it. Read the manual. amp up. and find your sound. The manual gives you some starter settings, but I just find my own. This pedal took me a bit longer to find the right tone but it was well worth it. No upgrades that I'm aware of. // 9

Sound: I got a 1965 Fender Mustang and a 1965 Gibson Melody Maker that I use through my board (other pedals and wah-wah) into a 200 watt Fender Studio 85 amp. Not very noisy (thanks to my MXR Smartgate). The effects are great when the level is at about 12 or 2 o'clock. I managed to get the sounds of Nirvana, Alice In Chains, and Slipknot sounds from that pedal itself. // 10

Reliability & Durability: Reliability??? Is that even worth asking? it's Boss, I mean com on it's nearly indestructable. On a gig definately, even without a backup. I've only one Boss pedal to fail me on stage and that was because some lunatic spilled his beer on it and it fried the circuit. Lucky I got it warrantied. // 10

Overall Impression: I play rock and metal. Great for low end sounds. Gets the sound between rock and metal a little more specifically than the DS-2 Turbo Distortion. For playing 6 years I can't believe I haven't bought it a long time ago. If lost or stolen I would first try to find it, if not then yah I would probably buy it again. it's great. One thing I wish it had was a little bit more depth to the high tone, I seriously mean just a little. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.5
MD-2 Mega Distortion Reviewed by: uniknow, on may 12, 2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: C$ 103

Purchased from: Steve's Music

Ease of Use: This pedal is very simple to use, a few tweaks of the knobs will change the tone. Five knobs, Level (volume pretty much, the higher the level the louder and heavier), Bottom (bass), Tone (treble) Distortion and Gain Boost. Comes with a manual but you don't need it. // 10

Sound: I using an American Fender Telecaster Deluxe Edition through a Traynor Reverb Mate 30. The effects in my opninion sound great pretty much all the time, just don't put the distortion up too much or it will get noisy. I can get a good Bullet for My valentine sound, a Disturbed tone, Breaking Benjamin, pretty much any kind of hard rock/ metal artist. This is suited for metal and rock definately and if you have EQ's on your amp, then this pedal should be all you need. When I put the treble and mid down on my amp, bass up with all the knobs on this pedal at 12 0'clock thing in the room start to shake from the heaviness, this pedal is a gain monster. With EQ on your amp you're not gonna need the Metal Core and Metal Zone. I play Heavy rock and some Metal and this pedal is 100% suited for me. I'm happy with it, I'm just a beginner/intermediate, played for about 5 months but this pedal is really great for the professionals or beginners. I'd probably use some kind of noise gate or something. You can hear your hand over the strings clearly at high gain. // 9

Reliability & Durability: This is a Boss, it's dependable, I would use it with no back up, the battery last pretty long haven't worn it out yet, should last 4 hours of playing. I'd go buy the adapter if your satisfied with this pedal. The actual pedal seems light but sturdy, if you're not gonna go throw it against a wall this pedal will break, but it should stand up to some abuse. // 10

Overall Impression: I play heavier stuff and this is great for it, absolute match. This was my second pedal, exchanged the Boss Od-2 for this because the od-2 lacked heaviness. I wish I would have tried the Metal Zone, the metal zone has more knobs and more tones, but from what people say it's too hard to get good tones out of it. If this would lost or stolen I wouldn't buy it again because, I'm running short on cash, yeah it's worth the money but really... 100 bucks for this thing is pushing it. I probably would buy a Danelectro Fab Metal, just because of the price. If you have extra money and are willing to pay more for better pedals get this for any kind of metal or rock. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.3
MD-2 Mega Distortion Reviewed by: TuxFriend, on march 16, 2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: € 25

Purchased from: Huuto.net

Ease of Use: Being a fan of Boss' pedals, I bought the MD-2 used since I had never tried it before. It's as easy to use as their other pedals, but finding a good sound is not so easy. Like the name says, the MD-2 provides "mega distortion", which unfortunately also means a fuzzy sound (when you go heavier), even worse than the DigiTech Death Metal has. The lighter sounds are find though. I think it could work for something like grunge, but I'd take the DS-1 or DS-2 for that. // 8

Sound: I can't really get the sound of the bands I listen with the MD-2, since I listen mostly to metal and the metal sound of this pedal is just a bit too fuzzy for my taste. There comes a lot of noise as well, when you go heavier. I'd take MT-2 for metal and the MD-2 for some lighter music. // 7

Reliability & Durability: Well, it's Boss. High quality, very durable and lasting. If I liked the sound of this pedal more, I could definitely use it live without a backup. Like pretty much all of their pedals, the MD-2 looks like it will lasts years of misuse. Of course, I'd never recommend playing without a backup in the first place. // 10

Overall Impression: If my MD-2 was stolen or lost, I wouldn't get it again. It's not a good match with the music I listen to. In fact, I'm probably selling it with one of my amps. This pedal from Boss was a bit of a disappointment to me, but I'm still a fan of their products. The MT-2 is still the best pedal for metal I've had. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
MD-2 Mega Distortion Reviewed by: thatmikedude, on may 14, 2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 75

Purchased from: Twin Village Music

Ease of Use: You can't get a bad tone out of this pedal. Seriously. Maybe if you max everything but then it still sounds pretty good, just kinda makes ur amp cry because there's so much distortion haha the tone of this pedal is also very versatile. Its called Mega distortion but that doesn't mean that you can't make Overdrive tones from it. Its so amazing. With just one Boss pedal you can make a whole array of different distortion sounds. The manual is also very easy to read. Ha it even gives you some example settings. My favorite setting is bottom at 2:00 tone at 1:00 dist at 12:30 and gain boost at 9:30. It gives you the ultimate metal tone and your palm mutes just roar. Its insane. // 10

Sound: The distortion knob adds crunchy, hard distortion and the gain boost knob adds nice smooth, tube distortion. When you have both knobs all the way down the pedal is almost clean. Then put them all the way up and you have the most distortion you can possibly get from a pedal. Its not very noisy. I have a Schecter Diamond series 006 deluxe running thru the MD-2 Mega Distortion thru some DigiTech pedals then to my Fender FM65R amp. It is an amazing, full distortion tone and I can easily get avenged sevenfold stuff from it. This pedal is perfect for everything from light distortion to raging metal. // 10

Reliability & Durability: I've already dropped it a couple times and it didn't even scratch let alone break. These Boss pedals are tanks! I'm switching from DigiTech to Boss for sure. I haven't had any gigs yet except for at school just messin around with friends but I definitely wouldn't have to have a backup. This pedal is so reliable I bet I'll I could give this to my kids when I have some. My guitar teacher has a bunch of Boss pedals too. He bought his like 15 or 20 years ago and his still are working great. // 10

Overall Impression: I play mainly metal and hard rock. Bullet for my vallentine and avenged sevenfold kind of stuff. This pedal is perfect. I even can play stuff like bring me the horizon and as blood runs black on this pedal. Its unbeatable! I've been playing for 6 months and I also own a DigiTech cf-7 chorus, df-7 distortion, and a digidelay. I would definitely buy this pedal again if it was stolen and then kick the crap out of the guy who stole it. I love the distortion of it. I hate nothing of it. My favorite feature is the bottom knob. I compare this to a metal zone and a metal core. This wins easily. I wish it had a mid control so I could mess with those, but I don't like mids in my mix so this pedal is perfect because its already pretty mid-scooped. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 4.5
MD-2 Mega Distortion Reviewed by: patbuck2, on february 23, 2011
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 50

Purchased from: used from friend

Ease of Use: This was my first guitar effect pedal. I got it back when I was a little guitar noob, playing on a 5 watt Fender solid state practice amp. At the time, I did have some trouble making it sound like how I wanted it to. And, at that time, I really didn't know anything about tone or sounding good. I found it difficult at the time to figure out tone and dialing in settings on the pedal, but that was because I was so new to it all. Since I bought it used, I went into it blind without a manual. My friend helped me a bit with figuring it out and I did eventually find settings that I was satisfied with for a few months until I sold it. So, it was kind of confusing for me at first, but I eventually figured it out. It wasn't too complicated. // 7

Sound: When I had this, I was using this with my electric guitar, a Johnson Catalyst, and a 5 watt Fender solid state. I can't even remember what it was called. It was a piece of junk amplifier. I sold the pedal once I got my Line 6 Spider III a few months later (don't have that amp anymore either). I have come to prefer in amp dirt over dirt pedals, so I am biased against these things. As far as sound, it was nice for a beginner like I was at the time, but it really did sound like just a bunch of high-gain mess. You don't need both a distortion knob and a gain boost knob on one pedal. That's just unnecessary. The settings I kept it at were low and high around the middle, distortion at 40% and gain at 0-10% because you just don't need a lot until it starts to sound like a beehive. it got very noisy very easily. It's definitely a tone-sucker, as you should expect with any high-gain distortion pedal. It was good for a beginner. // 2

Reliability & Durability: I did play in front of people with it twice (not sure if you want to call that gigging or not). One of the knobs was bent when I got it from my friend, but it still worked fine. It never really broke or anything, so I can't complain about its reliability. I didn't have it for very long so I didn't really give it a chance to break. I didn't have a power supply at the time, so I used batteries and I must say that the batteries in this thing died very quickly. They didn't hold up very good, which was annoying to change constantly. // 6

Overall Impression: When I had this, I liked to use it for playing the music of my two favorite bands at the time: System of a Down and Tool. I don't really play that sort of music anymore. For a beginner, this pedal did a good job of making me happy in that regard for a while until I got sick of changing the batteries all the time and of the noisy buzz. I've been playing for 3 years now. I got this after a few months of playing. What do I like about it? Well, it was alright for a beginner at the time. Now I can't say much else about it. It sounds like cheap crap. I just don't care for these "uber metal distortion" pedals. They annoy me. They are noisy and suck tone. I much prefer amp dirt. Don't buy this. Save your money and get a nice amp instead. // 3

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.3
MD-2 Mega Distortion Reviewed by: lfcagger, on july 01, 2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: £ 68

Purchased from: Local music shop

Ease of Use: This pedal was my first pedal, and straight out of the box I plugged it in, and it was ready to go. It's really easy to get a good tone, you just need a small amount of patience. The manual came with four presets, but I haven't got any need as this is so easy to use. // 9

Sound: I'm using this with my Ibanez something-or-other into a Roland Microcube. It's a good tone, depending on what you consider to be a good tone. When I got it I was amazed at how good it sounded, but now, with more of an ear, I recognise that in fact it's not amazing for metal. It can deal with some more recent Metallica, Dream Theatre ("Constant Motion" sounds amazing with it) and some other bands, but it's not great for heavier bands such as Heaven Shall Burn, Arch Enemy or DevilDriver. Not to say that's a fault of this pedal, if you want that, look elsewhere. At times with the gain boost even a little on, with high distortion and half gain on the amp, there's a lot of hum, even with 'buckers. At higher volumes the sound can also be a little watery. Not bad, but not amazing either. // 7

Reliability & Durability: It's built like an absolute monster. I dropped it down two flights of concrete stairs (long story) and after running down, terrified it would break, it was utterly fine. I would use this at a gig with no backup, no problem. // 10

Overall Impression: I play lots of metal, and it's a good pedal for certain things. I've been playing for about a year, and this is my only pedal so far. I wish I had got the metal zone one for 10 more in the same shop, but can't be helped. If it were stolen, I would probably claim on home and possession insurance then buy a Metal Zone one, which would be more appropriate for me. So, a good pedal, but not amazing. // 7

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.8
MD-2 Mega Distortion Reviewed by: parhelia_0000, on october 11, 2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: C$ 80

Purchased from: Long & McQuade

Ease of Use: This Boss MD-2 Mega Distortion, a compact but useful distortion pedal, is one of the best pedals to get a distortion sound from. Using the usual Level, Tone, and Distortion knobs combined with Gain Boost and Bass-range Tone control, you will be sure that this guitar effect pedal will be useful for any kind of heavy rock songs. However, since this pedal is one of the Compact Series of the Boss pedals, you are only limited to using a distortion effect. The manual for this pedal is very great; it shows you a step-by-step instruction as to setting up the pedal, replacing the battery, and also, some of the presets you can use with the pedal, including an Overdrive effect. // 8

Sound: My guitar is obviously a Fender Jaguar HH, and I use the guitar on my Line 6 Spider IV 30 amp, which already has an on-board distortion model. Why buy myself another pedal? It's because whenever I have to go to gigs and practice sessions where I can't bring in my amp, I have to use my distortion pedal as my alternate to using an amp with in-built distortion module. The distortion is crunchy, and it can produce a noisy distortion when you have the Gain Boost knob, the Level knob, or the Distortion knob way up. The effects sound very great; it's just that the excessive feedback sound I get is not that great. I think that it's because I don't use an adapter for the pedal. Of course, I can get the favorite artist presets; Steve Vai, Joe Satrani, Linkin Park, Synyster Gates preset, and many other presets can be used! Although it's a distortion pedal, it's still very good for practice sessions, or when I need to use a pedal for extending my guitar cords so I can lead my band on the stage. // 8

Reliability & Durability: I'd really depend on this pedal, especially when I need to use an amp that doesn't have its own distortion model. Of course, if I run out of battery power, I'd need a contingency plan, such as a spare battery or another distortion pedal. This MD-2 Distortion pedal produces at least a minimum of about, let's say, 60% of Gain Boost? // 8

Overall Impression: I mostly play a variety of rock music, from soft jazz to heavy metal, and although it's only a compact pedal, you can still use it for soft, but crunchy, overdriven sound. I have played guitar for 3-4 years now, and this is my first time I've been playing with a guitar effect pedal. Literally. Before this, I've been asking for a multi-effect processor, like a Boss ME-70 or Zoom G2 processor, but my budget was ultimately limited to 80 bucks at maximum, so I had to choose this pedal. But it still works for me. I learned to get used to playing with only one single pedal in my experience as a guitarist. If I got this pedal lost or stolen, I'd initially try to get it back, and if I fail, good for me, as I'd be able to finally get a multi-effects processor that I wanted in my entire life! I love this pedal's compact, and versatile, distortion effects, but these Compact pedals should come with an AC adapter (or a Noise Gate) as a necessity. The pedals need a proper ground source, or a Noise Suppressor, to have its excessive feedback reduced to a minimum. I did compare this pedal with other distortion pedals, such as a Boss OS-2 combination pedal, and by far, this pedal was the cheapest, and at the same time, most affordable pedal. I only wish that this pedal also had some light Overdrive controls so that I can saturate the overdriven sound to make it useful for jazz, blues or funk music. // 7

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Boss reviews rating category latest review
+ CH-1 Super Chorus 8.3 Guitar Effects 04/03/2014
+ PW-2 Power driver 8 Guitar Effects 02/25/2014
+ OC-2 Octave 9.4 Guitar Effects 02/18/2014
+ RC-3 Loop Station 9.4 Guitar Effects 01/21/2014
+ GT-100 Amp Effects Processor 7.9 Guitar Effects 01/20/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect