ML-2 Metal Core Review

manufacturer: Boss date: 01/25/2013 category: Guitar Effects
Boss: ML-2 Metal Core
With its extreme gain, the ML-2 is the most potent and heavy distortion pedal ever created by Boss. It easily delivers massive distortion and gain with heavy lows for playing Nu Metal, Grind core, industrial, hard core, or any genre that requires crushing sound.
 Sound: 8.8
 Overall Impression: 8.9
 Reliability & Durability: 9.6
 Ease of Use: 9.1
 Overall rating:
 9 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.1 
 Users rating:
 8.9 
 Votes:
 173 
reviews (16) pictures (3) 156 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 9
ML-2 Metal Core Reviewed by: UG Team, on july 20, 2007
16 of 17 people found this review helpful

Ease of Use: Like any good Boss pedal the controls for this one were simple: It has 4 swivel knobs (the modern looking ones that attach directly to the surface of the control panel on the casing) One level, low, high, and distortion amount. I found it very easy to coax whatever sound I wanted out of this pedal as it's low and high knobs were fairly responsive (no large spots where the tone wont change). The pedal part of the box wasn't jammed or too stiff to easily activate it on command; the springs were fine as well. // 9

Sound: I used a B.C. Rich Mockingbird (newer 4-knob model) through a 15W Crate Palomino 1x12 (tube) and then again with a Jackson Randy Rhoads Flying V through a Mesa-Boogie Roadster Half stack (tube. as if you didn't know). Through both guitars and amps I was able to get a great distortion sound from the pedal. While the distortion is powerful and you can produce an awesome grind with it, it's very limited to it's task. Unless your into bands like Ozzy Osbourne, White Zombie, Metallica or other metal bands then you may want to consider a different pedal. Other than that I'd have to say it's the best Boss metal distortion pedal you can buy (especially after the fiasco that was the MT-2 metal zone). // 8

Reliability & Durability: Like any Boss pedal this one is built like a tank. Its battery life is pretty standard for a pedal (4-6 hours continuous playing) but a power supply would be better in the case of a gig. Don't expect the casing or pedal lever to break on this stomp box. It can take quite a bit of abuse and is definitely gig-worthy. // 10

Overall Impression: This is (in my opinion) the best distortion pedal designed to play metal that Boss has made. It's heavy, easy to use, and can go from growling bassy distortion to head ripping high tones. It is limited in the range of sounds but for any type of metal it wont let you down. Just be warned that it does get weaker in sound through a Solid State amp than through a tube amp. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
ML-2 Metal Core Reviewed by: diabolus, on february 19, 2008
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 106.65

Purchased from: Renaissance Music

Ease of Use: Completely simple operation. Sporting four self-explanatory knobs, any user can find a good balance between heavy low ends and crisp high attacks. Basic on-off switch, doesn't get easier. The provided manual is excellent, explaining the functions of various controls as well as supplying a few examples for stock metal sounds. // 10

Sound: I'm using this pedal with a B.C. Rich Warlock through a Kustom Solo 16 amp, I've also tried it with my old Ibanez Gio. Both guitars produced nearly exactly the same sound through this pedal. This pedal is capable of producing fat distortion with a high Pick attack, but I find that it is really limited to one genre of music. If you're looking for a heavy, crisp thrash sound, then this is the pedal that you want. // 8

Reliability & Durability: All-metal construction for this one, if you're dealing with an unruly crowd, you could always bludgeon someone with it during a break, and then continue using it for the show. The sound never fails, and I doubt that the construction will either. Reliability and durability. // 10

Overall Impression: I've been playing guitar for about 2 years, almost strictly metal. This was the first pedal that I'd ever purchased, and I've found that it has given me that riff sound that was I looking for, especially with such a cheap amp. I would recommend this pedal to anyone wanting a down-tuned sound even without the down tuning. The only thing that I really don't like about this pedal is that the power adapter (Boss PSA) is sold separately and a 9V lasts a mere hour. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
ML-2 Metal Core Reviewed by: Sasms, on february 17, 2009
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

Ease of Use: This beast of an amp includes 4 nobs. Level, High, Low and Dist. With just these 4 nobs, I can get basically any metal sound I want. it's got a good battery life although I'd recomend buying the power pack and it's practially indesructable. it's easy to press down and the nobs turn quite easily to get that perfect amount. There are so many different sounds you can get out of this, it's hard to not find a good sound. // 10

Sound: I use an Ibanez SA220FM through a Marshall MG50DFX and with the high, mid and low controls on my amps clean channel with the pedals high and low controls, there is endless possabilies with settings. This pedal is suprisingly quite, I'd expect atlest a little bit of noise but it very quite untill you pull out a big chunky chord. I listen to bands like B.M.F.V, Trivium and Atreyu aswell as bands like Children Of Bodom, In Flames and Parkway Drive and I can get pretty decent sounds for all of the bands. The distortion on this pedal is insane. // 10

Reliability & Durability: As I mentioned before, this pedal is indestructable. I've had it for a while and I abuse it so much yet it still sounds good as new. I'd definately depend on it at a gig without a back-up as long as I had the power supply although it does relativly well without it. Stomp on this as hard as you can and I bet you can't break it. // 9

Overall Impression: This is definately the best metal amp I've ever come across. I've been playing for 5 years now and played some of my mates other distortion pedals and most of them don't even compare to this one. I got this becasue the shop guy recomended it as the best distortion pedal he had in the store. The thing I like about this pedal is just how much distortion it has, I'm kind of an addict and this pedal just goes way past anything I've ever played. I'd defs get it agen if I lost it because it's just such a good pedal. Also the simplicity of it is pretty exicting for me, I had complitcated pedals with too many buttons and nobs that are just there for show. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
ML-2 Metal Core Reviewed by: Gio Ozkr, on january 06, 2011
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 90

Purchased from: Musician friend's

Ease of Use: Well... To get a good sound out of this pedal, is as easy as setting things up and then dig your own tone, the Users manual comes with four samples to get you started, It has four knobs, level, is controls the overall volume, Low, it gives you deep, low sounds and even sounds that are on extreme downtunning without having to tune your guitar that way, high, it controls the high frequency sounds, and gives you an edge while you are playing, and the Dist knob, that controls the amount of distortion. The manual tells you everything you need to know, about the pedal itself, wich bateries do you need, Ac adaptors, malfunctions, it gives you as I said 4 samples, troubleshooting, everything that you need to know is in the manual, but you actually don't need, because its easy to set up. // 10

Sound: Well I'm using this pedal with my Ibanez GRX40 and with my 20 watt Fender Mustang I amp, this awesome pedal is not noisy at all in any setting, the effects always sounds great, the have a inmense tone and a great distorted sound, Yes I can get the sound of my favorite band, who are System Of a Down, I like their sound because its so deep and strong and I can get their sound with this pedal, I also got the sound of bands like, Metallica, Disturbed, Amon Amhart and lost of bands. The sound of this pedal is as I said, huge, its sounds really great with any tuning and with any setting, the Distortion in it is very powerfull and the tone is just great. // 10

Reliability & Durability: Can I depend on it? Haha, of course I had a gig with this babe and it was great, I didn't used any other pedal because I knew that this monster was enough, So as I said I can depend on it for a gig, the gig I had was a System of a Down tribute and this pedal let everyone amazed out there. Its a really good inversion and its expensive // 10

Overall Impression: I play, Nu metal, trash, heavy metal, Death Metal and so on, and it totally fits my playing style, just with a little tweak you get really good sounds, I have been playing guitar for years, and I have Ibanez GRX40, a Fender Mustang I amp, a Vox Wah pedal, I'm completely satisfied with this pedal, I read other owners review and they are as happy as I am, theres nothing I wish had asked before buying it, if it were stolen or lost I will buy the sameone right away, I love everything about it, its compact size, the battery life is of aprox. 10 hours, its real simple yet so powerful, its real easy to use and the sound that it delivers is massive, my favorite feature its that you can get a real deep, low sound on one setting and in the other one you get lots of gain and real high sounds, you can get tons of sound with this monster called Boss ML-2 Metal Core I didn't compare this pedal with other so, but still a great invesments, I highly recomend this pedal to anyone that is looking for a real agresive, metal sound. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
ML-2 Metal Core Reviewed by: simmsicle, on may 31, 2011
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: £ 90

Purchased from: Bonners Music

Ease of Use: This being my first ever Boss pedal I was extemely happy at easy it was to use. Straight out of the box it already had a fantastic metal sound and can very quickly set it up for any kind of Metal tone. It has 4 knobs. Level, Low, High and Distortion, very self explanitory really. The thing I like about the easy of use is the level knob. On a lot of other pedals or amps the level is very jittery. You turn it very slowely and suddenly the volume seems to double at one point which can be very annoying when your practising in a bedroom and you want a decent amount of noise and you can only get a quite sound with no power or a blasting tone that will soon bring the neighbours to your door step, not any more with the Boss ML2. The level controls the noise perfecting and can get you the perfect volume your looking for, and it should also be noted that using combining your amp with the level turned up high you can get your amp to blast like never before. // 10

Sound: At the minuite I'm using the pedal with a Washburn MG-200, that guitar is far from a metal guitar but with this pedal is sure as hell sounds like it, I've recently ordered a Jackson KVX-10 so it should make it sound a bit better as well. As the name may have already gave away, it is made purely for metal, if your interested in using the pedal or anything other that Metal that this is not the pedal for you, that said, with the distortion turned down to its lowest it gets a decent 70's rock sounds, although you can tell it's not really made for it. The distortion tured up fully is literally crazy, 60-70% distortion will produce a crushin tone. As far as Metal goes I can get all my favourite band's tone nicely with this pedal, from Pantera's crushing sounds to Megadeth's shredding sound or anything inbetween. This is THE pedal for a metal sound, even with a relativly budget amp I was amazed at how close I could get to sounds I though I'd need a pro set up for. This pedal will get any metal tone you desire but if it's not metal look else where. // 10

Reliability & Durability: This peal is made of solid metal, it's very neat and compact and while I haven't tried it I reckon I could knock someone out with it, throw it at a wall and it would still rock the walls down. I would use this pedal without a backup but I certainly wouldn't use it without a bag full of battery's. Seriously, I don't know if it's just my pedal but I've used it around 6-7 hours and it's already sucked 2 batteries dry so I've ordered the adaptor, the pedal it's self isn't a problem but I wouldn't reccomend running it on batteries as a day's practise will run one right down. It's not the batteries I use because my Wah pedal lasts a lot longer although I can't be certain as I don't play entires songs witht he Wah pedal always turned on. But a big tip on battery saving is plug the lead out when your not using it as it will continue to run the battery down. // 8

Overall Impression: I use this pedal solely for metal for my Metal. As I said it can be used for bands like Rush and Queen but you will not get a particulary close sounds. However I get can excellent matching sounds for the metal I play. I play a lot 80's thrash but some more modern stuff. The mains bands I use it for would be. Metallica, Megadeth, Pantera, Children of Bodom, Avenged Sevenfold, Slayer etc. Every since I opened it up and started play Walk I have been amazing at how agressive this pedal sounds. Hell, I'm using it with a guitar suited best for Jazz and the pedal has ripped it's jazz spirt apart. I can't wait for my Jackson to arrive as well, should be great. When I use it with a Dunlop Crybaby I really feel like Kirk Hammet playing his shitty Death Magnetic solos. The distortion and Wah are together are so powerful they can obscure and ruin and song is you want. But when used properly shredding is just such a joy with this pedal. If it were stolen I would most certainly buy another, why wouldn't I, it is just perfect for metal. Only thing I wish this pedal had was a better battery life which I have to admit is a little dissapointing. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
ML-2 Metal Core Reviewed by: GunsNRoses91689, on july 20, 2007
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 110

Purchased from: Samash

Ease of Use: This petal is no toy. The manual gives some very nice presets to get you started off, but if you want to get that perfect high gain sound you've wanted it takes some tinkering. It also takes a great deal of coordinating between the pedal and your amp to find the perfect amount of treble and bass output. // 9

Sound: The sound this petal makes is very unique. I've used it with a Fender Champion 300 in Samash and it sounded fantastic. On my Marshall 15-Watt it sounds like crap. On my friend's Peavey XXX is brings tears to your eyes. If you're looking to match music like Norma Jean this is the perfect petal for the job. I've even gotten this petal to sound relatively close to a few Tool songs. // 10

Reliability & Durability: I don't see it breaking anytime soon. I've even dropped it a few times and seen no damage. Very dependable on stage and off. I wouldn't even bother bringing a backup. If this is your first petal remember to get a power adapter. The battery drains very quickly and requires constant changing. // 10

Overall Impression: Perfect for fast high-gain metal. Can make the crappiest guitar sound alright. Compared to most other distortion pedals this one gives a more distinct crunch and a great tone. A bit pricey, but well worth it. If you're unsure about this pedal you should probably give it a test run before you order it online. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 6
ML-2 Metal Core Reviewed by: nedthehead, on january 23, 2008
0 of 5 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 86.9

Purchased from: Long and McQuade

Ease of Use: As far as this pedal goes, it is fairly easy to use. They're aren't many knobs to adjust, and all of them are responsive enough to let you know what you're doing. This pedal gives good response from anything you do, as far as turning down the distortion, or adjusting any of the knobs. // 8

Sound: Oh god, where do I start? This pedal has no life! I repeat, no life! I couldn't believe how terrible this pedal was. I've tried it through some Ibanez guitars, and Jackson guitars through some Peavy, Traynor, and Marshall amps. Okay, everything sounds the same! That is in caps because it is important. Sure, you can adjust the low and high knobs, but it throws the frequency of sound out the window. The distortion is either too much (too buzzy) or too thin. Get used to your amp's EQ, because you will fiddle with it for a good 45 minutes trying to get a decent sound. The high's sound way too thin. You get that paper-mache sort of crinkly sound at anything past 10 O Clock. Yes, I know, it's that bad. Lows aren't that much different. You play at 12 O Clock and the bass overpowers everything. Death Metal distortion? Hell no. I play styles from Death to funk, adn this pedal wont hit anything. Too bassy for thrash, too thin for death, and too cold for classic rock. I'm sorry, but this pedal just sounds so generic. It's hard to get a good tone out of it that is unique. I can bet 9/10 people who use this pedal have the same settings on their pedal, because there are only a few combinations that make this pedal sound acceptable (but not good). I'd really look into another distortion pedal to achieve a tone close to any famous artist, unless you want to sound like a 10 year old trying to play metal with a Squier sarter kit (no offence though). // 2

Reliability & Durability: Okay, this is a reliable pedal. Dropped it first day I got it (a few minutes after I plugged it in) and not a scratch or dent on it! I've had it for a while and is as flwless straight out of the box. Really, if you know anything about Boss pedals, you'll know that this will last you! // 10

Overall Impression: I got this pedal when my other pedal got lent out and I needed a replacement for a few weeks. Geez, I'm sorry Boss, but you dropped the ball. This is a really thin sounding pedal, and does not count for much more than your amps distortion. Take it from a guy Who's been playing for a few years to tell you what tone is, and this does not have it. I've tried coaxing a good metal sound out of this, and came up with nothing. It is a good pedal in everything except what it produces. The only major problem is the tone of the pedal. If Boss could make a tighter and more smooth pedal that hits every EQ range, that would be a great replacement. For $10 cheaper, get a Metal Muff. You'll love it more than what Boss tried to do. // 4

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
ML-2 Metal Core Reviewed by: RndyW0, on february 06, 2008
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 144.57

Purchased from: Soundhouse

Ease of Use: This pedal was not easy to get a good sound from it. The pedal sounded better through other amps when I tried it in the shop, but when I took it home I set the treble to top, bass to half and the distortion to the top it worked perfectly with my amp. The manual does give a few ideas for distortion but it's better just to try and find the one that suits you with this pedal. // 6

Sound: I am using the pedal with a Marshall MG100DFX and an Ibanez S470, or occasionally my B.C. Rich Mockingbird. It doesn't create much line noise when using batteries but it is noiser with a PSU connected. The pedal does sound more like a fuzz pedal with the treble and bass at the same level but turning the treble up makes it sound a lot better. It works extremely well with sweep picking when using the neck Pick up and divebombs sound awesome. // 10

Reliability & Durability: I would easily gig with this pedal without backup, I would put a new battery in each time but that's about all the backup it would need. I was considering buying the MT-2 as well to get two different distorion types in a pedal board but this one is metal enough as it is. I think I could drop it down stairs a few times and it would still function, maybe even out of a second floor window as the casing is a good solid metal. // 10

Overall Impression: I mainly play speed metal and progressive metal, it works well with both and is able to keep up perfectly with fast playing and sound crisp all the time, I still use a Korg AX1500G multi-effects unit with this but only to get the talkbox setting which features on that pedal. It is annoying when you first get the pedal and can't find the best metal setting but as soon as you have it there is no need to change. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
ML-2 Metal Core Reviewed by: Beefjerky01, on august 26, 2008
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 100

Purchased from: Castellano's House of Music

Ease of Use: First off, let me say that this pedal, in my opinion, is the best distortion pedal I've ever purchased. Right out of the box, it's ready to use and you don't need the manual to know how to operate. Just plug your guitar into it and the pedal into the amp and bang, you're ready to rock. Fiddling with the knobs, it's easy to get a nice distortion tone. Especially after living off of regular Overdrive for a while. // 10

Sound: The distortion tone on this pedal is simply awesome. Nice heavy and not too crunchy distortion. I'm not sure if you'll be able to find the distortion of every band you'll like but this pedal offers that nice distortion which is rarely found when turning the knobs. A nice metal, rock, or whatever you like sound. // 10

Reliability & Durability: This pedal is definitely made to last, even though it includes a 5 year warranty. Looks like it's been built like a tank and feels practically indestructible. For a gig or any event of any kind, I would definitely use this pedal as my main pedal. // 10

Overall Impression: Even though I've only been playing guitar for a little over a year, I've heard many variations of distortion tones, including Overdrive, and this pedal is simply the best. It offers that metal sound I've been looking for which no other pedal or effect device can imitate. Plus, I bartered a deal where the ac power supply was included for no extra charge! When I plugged this pedal into my amp and guitar into the pedal, I instantly fell in love with the sound that was produced. Just awesome! But a review can tell you only so much. So if you're in the market for a pedal with good distortion, you simply have to test em' out and choose according to your preferences. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
ML-2 Metal Core Reviewed by: Lavatain, on february 09, 2009
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Ease of Use: This is very easy to use with only 4 control knobs. Level(volume), Low(bass), High(treble) and Dist.(fairly obvious). You can change from racking all the knobs right to the top for a very good rhythm metal sound, take away all the high leaving everything else for a Slayer sound or turn up the high to the top with low at bottom for Megadeth. // 10

Sound: I use an OLP John Petrucci Signature guitar into a Boss PW-10 V-Wah to a Boss ME-X that has loops for the ML-2 and outputted from ME-X to a Laney LX35D. It is a little noisy e.g. moving ur hand over strings but when ur playing something it's perfect and if you have a noise suppresor you can get rid of that slide noise. It is a very heavy distortion that when you turn the dist just under halfway you get a nice 70s rock sound but you need to tweak the other knobs to help get that sound or go all the way up and go mental. // 10

Reliability & Durability: I would definetely use this without backup, it's a Boss. Not much else needed to say but if you're a lead guitarist like me you probably want this pedal for the Rhythm playing but isn't very suited for soloing so take a MT-2 or something else but if you're a rhythm player you need this. // 10

Overall Impression: I play a range of metal music from metalcore to thrash metal to heavy metal and this produces them all after a bit of expermineting. I've been playing about 2 years and fit this into one of the loops of a ME-X which aren't being made anyomore which is a shame because they beat any other Multeffects board. I wish it could be a bit better for soloing which is a problem. If it got lost I would get a MT-2 if I didn't already because I'm getting one soon but I would maybe buy this back. I love that it makes riffs sound awesome and just yeh. I don't like that it doesn't have a mid control knob but I can Live without that. I compared it to a FZ-5 Fuzz and it is a much cleaner metaly distortion and better than my distortion on the Laney. I only wish it had a Mid control knob and a Remote jack for a footswitch for a Lead mode and a Rhythm mode. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 6.8
ML-2 Metal Core Reviewed by: dementiacaptain, on may 28, 2010
0 of 3 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 100

Purchased from: guitar center

Ease of Use: Boss makes OK pedals. Nothing fantastic, but hey, it gets the job done. Sometimes anyway. I bought this when all I had at the time was an old Traynor mixer and some pa speakers that my grandpa bought in the mid 80s. I bought it expecting to get a diverse range of modern metal sounds that I could manipulate to my liking... I was wrong, however. I got two tones, which were: treble heavy killswitch engage tone, and bass heavy killswitch engage tone. Now, while I was expecting most sounds to be metalcore, {hence the name} I kinda hoped I'd have access to a few different metalcore tones, but it was pretty much the most generic metalcore tone you can get. It sounded good, but still, I wanted a little more, well, more. Oh, and it has level treble bass and distortion knobs. // 5

Sound: At the time I played this my main guitar was a Dean vendetta (the 100 dollar one, you know the really light one) and I already mentioned my amp setup. Since I bought it I have also set it in front of a Crate excalibur and a Fender bassman as well as a Marshall vs100, and my guitars have gone through an sg special to an ec400 to a hss mexi strat back to the ec. The whole time I used it I got the same sound on every amp, every channel, just with more or less distortion. Pretty much you keep everything in the middle position and you have what is the perfect go to metalcore tone. No death metal, no hard rock, not even a deathcore (bleh) tone. Just metalcore. Boss meant the name apparently. But anyways if you push the distortion knob past 30% it gets noisy, and the noise increases in a hurry. Either have amazingly quick hands to kill the guitars volume or buy a noise supressor. // 6

Reliability & Durability: One thing is for sure, this thing will not break. Drop it off a cliff, run it over with a steam roller, toss a hand grenade on it. Dust it off and you're good. I would and have used it at a gig without a backup. This thing is tough, I have thrown it at a brick wall and it took a chunk out of the brick. No matter what you do to this thing, you will be able to plug it in and keep playing. I think I have made my point. // 10

Overall Impression: I play brutal/tech death metal, with an occasional reference to thrash, so in other words really heavy fast music that requires a buncha disto. At the time I bought this, I was way into metalcore. Trivium, killswitch, as I lay dying, that stuff. It was good for then, but this thing isnt tweakable enough or diverse enough for much else. I have been playing 6 or 7 years, I actually can't remember now, and I have so much gear that it'd be ridiculous to try to sum it up here. I really wish I had thought to myself about that I might not always love metalcore before I bought this, because now it just sits around mostly. If it were stolen, I would try to get it back, but I wouldn't buy another one unless metalcore became my passion again. I love its punchy chug, but I don't like its boring cliche of a sound. I compared this to a metalzone, and couldnt stand the metalzone so I got this. I wish it had more adjustable eq, then maybe you could do something that doesnt't involve delay and breakdowns with it. // 6

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
ML-2 Metal Core Reviewed by: Rallad, on january 20, 2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: € 92

Purchased from: Thomann.de

Ease of Use: With just 3 tone knobs (highs, lows and gain) this thing not only avoids complications, but it's pretty darn responsive and dialling the tone in you mind is easy as it is satifying. Like most effect pedals, it just needs an adaptor (also takes a 9V battery) and can be toggled on and off by stepping on it. Simple and highly effective. // 10

Sound: I've used this fellow with an ESP Ltd F-50 with stock pickups over a wide variety of amplifiers, the results vary a bit, but all in all, it'll make your tone a lot more METAL. Yes, the tone is metal on all accounts, for the darker, heavier side. It'll easily throw power/death/black/younameit tone (as long as it's high gain-ish)...the tone is just great (and this thing packs a massive ammount of gain). Now compared to tube amps it'll obviously get the whole tone-freak treatment and so on, but for the price, in combination with an SS amp look no further. Perhaps versatillity is not it's most strong point, for most metal, its really good, but perhaps it's core gain sound cannot be varied immensly (Though like I said, it's tones easily cover a wide spectrum). Another small downside of this pedal is that the distortion, even with the gain backed off, sounds a bit strong for classic rock or crunch sounds. So basically if you just want full-blown brutal harmonies, this thing was designed for you. I might add it's doesn't create much noise, though it somtimes produced some minor feedback. // 8

Reliability & Durability: Nothing new here, this is a Boss pedal, very sturdy construction built from metal you can feel it's heaviness. So far it has never failed me through all the years I've used and misused it (literally, I have dropped it countless of times), and in case of need, I have no doubt it will preform as always. // 10

Overall Impression: Compared to other Boss and DigiTech distortion pedals for uber gain, the ML 2 wins hands down. Seeing as I mostly play death metal, and this is a relatively cheap distortion option, this pedal has served fantastically. Come to think about it, even if I have not much use for it (using tube amps), I would consider get another if it were lost or stolen. It's simplicity and savage sound have really rendered this pedal a favourite of mine. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
ML-2 Metal Core Reviewed by: shredaimlessly, on march 21, 2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 75

Purchased from: Amazon

Ease of Use: This pedal is a one-trick pony, but then again, that's the intention of this pedal. METAL, METAL, and MOOOAAARRR METAL! Although, if you crank the gain all the way down, you can get some higher Overdrive sounds. There is one input and one output jack, and the hatch is relatively simple to open to switch out the battery. The level dial is flexible and there aren't any sudden jumps from 0-11 in volume, which is VERY nice. The High and Low dials are easy to use as well. Overall, I can't see an issue with the pedal in terms of usability. // 9

Sound: The sound for this pedal is PERFECT. I never use perfect, but this time, I have no second thoughts. This pedal, through even the smallest and weakwest amp, will provide a booming, powerful wave of distortion. The High and Low dials are nice because I can get any metal tone I can out of this. I have nothing bad to say about the pedal's sound. It does exactly what it's designed to do. // 10

Reliability & Durability: I depend on this pedal completely, but I have to make sure it's placed properly on the pedalboard. The pedal is smaller than, say, a hardwire pedal. I have rather large feet and have an issue pressing multiple pedals at once if I plan out my pedal locations poorly. However, that's all I'll say bad about it. the battery lasts MUCH longer than a Hardwire, let alone any other pedal I've ever had. Maybe that's just a Boss Effect Pedal feature but I like it. As long as there's a replacement battery every month or so, I wouldn't hesitate to gig without a backup. // 8

Overall Impression: I use a Line 6 Spider IV, and a Crush 50W Orange bass amp (say what you will, I get some of my favorite tones from a bass amp). I've tested this pedal through both amps' clean channels and I loved the tone through both of them. In fact, I have a SMALL Orange portable practice amp that runs on a 9-volt. Again, great performance (minus the lack of bass and some mids, but that's the amp's fault, not the pedal's). No matter the setup, this pedal delivers. I play pretty much everything, and this pedal is well... it's a metal, heavy rock, (that kind of thing) pedal. I can't do much else with it. And I got mine for MUCH cheaper thant the listed price at the store was. If you're going to play metal-esque and that's it, then I say this is your best bet. This pedal does everything it was designed to do, and these days, that's good enough for me. I would buy one again in a heartbeat if mine were to disappear.. However, If you plan to play all kinds of music, this isn't your thing. Go for a more versatile pedal.. DeltaLab makes a good rock Distortion pedal good for most all genres. But for metal, this pedal is definitely the way to go! // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
ML-2 Metal Core Reviewed by: Perf, on august 22, 2011
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 130

Ease of Use: The Boss ML-2 Pedal gives me the sound of Heavy Metal, Death Metal, Thrash Metal, Hardcore, NuMetal that I like without adding any other pedals to satisfy your taste. Editing the patches were very easy. There is a manual for it and it is very reliable source of using the gadget. // 10

Sound: I am only using a Dean Vendetta XMT Guitar with stock M-10 Amp but still I can get the sound that I like but on a lower gain. Well a 10W Amplifier is already good on a small room. I planing to buy a Roland 30X Cube to be better. The Pedal is very noisy if your distortion setting is on a full knob. I usually play music of Slipknot, Mudvayne, Deftones, Megadeth, Lamb Of God etc. And I find this pedal very good in playing metal music. I love this Pedal than any other metal pedal brands. // 10

Reliability & Durability: I can depend on it and I am sure it will not fail me. Yes, I would use it on a gig without any backups. I only need a piece of 9V battery as back-up just in case the PSA or Battery may fail. I usually used a local brands as my Pedal before. There's no other brands better than Boss Pedals. They are really great and effecient pedals. // 10

Overall Impression: Actually, I've started a Ballad player, then Rock Ballads-Alternative-Heavy Metal-Nu Metal-Thrash Metal etc. Yes! This pedal is a perfect match for this genres. Technically, I am only playing for 5 yrs. My 1st guitar was a Kramer with Tremolo I've forgot the model due to it is very old. If it is stolen, I will buy it again and all over again. I love the crisp, kick, brutal sound of this pedal than any other pedals. I hate nothing about this pedal. I wish it had an EQ as the Boss Metal Zone to make it perfect. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
ML-2 Metal Core Reviewed by: AdamBurnsRed, on march 15, 2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: £ 99

Purchased from: PMT Music Stores

Ease of Use: Straight out of the box this pedal is so simple to use. 4 Knobs, Level, Low, High And Distortion. This pedal is really easy to get a good sound out of, everything you try sounds pretty good for metal. I'm going to give this a 10, purely because anyone who can't set this pedal up must be braindead. // 10

Sound: I run this pedal through an Epiphone Zakk Wylde Custom with EMG 81/60 pickups through a Kustom Quad 65DFX amplifier, which is going into a Yamaha PA speaker. It sounds Amazing for metal but I don't think you'll get much else out of this pedal. That said I doubt many blues or jazz guys will be buying this bad boy! I haven't had any feedback as of yet, apart from when I crank it to stupidly high volume levels but that's to be expected. Other than that, a slight hiss but it's too quiet to notice on stage or at rehearsals. As I stated earlier, in my opinion the effects always sound pretty good to my ears. I play a lot of August Burns Red, Children Of Bodom and I'm also in a pretty heavy band so it sounds good to me. As I also stated earlier, this pedal isn't very good for anything but metal. Which for me, isn't a problem but I can see it being a problem for others. // 9

Reliability & Durability: This thing is built to last. Its solid, doesn't feel like its going to fall apart and made of metal. Not much else to say, I'd use this without a backup but I'd always bring a spare battery or power supply. // 9

Overall Impression: I play metal, just Metal alone so this pedal is ideal for me, especially since my amps distortion is a pile of steaming cow s**t. I've been playing for about 6 years now, this is the first distortion pedal I've ever owned and I think I'll stick with it for a very long time. If it was stolen or lost I'd hunt down the guy who stole it and bludgeon him to death with it. Actually no. Bad idea. I'd buy another one in an instant. I love how heavy it sounds, its what I've heard in my head for years. The fact there's no feedback is also a blessing. I compared this to the Boss MT-2 Metal Zone in store, and whilst that had more EQ and tonal range, this pedal blew it out of the water sound wise. The only thing I wish it had was More EQ settings, then this pedal would be perfect for almost any metalhead. Worth every penny. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.5
ML-2 Metal Core Reviewed by: Alexander Nero, on january 25, 2013
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: € 90

Ease of Use: This pedal is very easy to use. It has four knobs: volume level, lows, highs and distortion. Even if you don't know anything about playing guitar, just few minutes working with the knobs and you will immediately make an idea of what the ML-2 can do. It's very useful because being a pedal effect, you can try the same distortion on different amplifiers, being able to recognize the contribution given to the sound from the pedal and the one given from the amp. You really don't need a manual to learn using the ML-2, it's simple and clear. // 10

Sound: I'm using this pedal with an Epiphone G-310, D'Addario Jazz Light strings (0.12-0.52) and a cheap Yamaha G15 amplifier. I've heard few other distortion effects, both live and on the web, and I gotta say that the Boss effects are the most "faithful" with the clean sound. With high gain the sound becomes a little confused but considering that I'm using it mainly for playing rhythm in industrial or hardcore metal songs, I gotta say that probably I couldn't expect a better quality. It doesn't seems an effected sound, it's very clean, high-defined and at the same time it has the best killer tone I've ever heard. Scooping the mids, it gaves the best tone for me: heavy and crushing lows, screaming, metallic and biting trebles. It's not too "processed", it's very simple and effective, like the pedal itself. If you like the extreme, crushing, cutting, "high-attack" sound of bands like early Megaherz or Oomph!, then that's your choice, but you will not get any other kind of sound than that. For hardcore or metal sound though, that's the best effect I've ever known. // 9

Reliability & Durability: It seems like a tank to me, it could fall from the top of a building and it could break the road without breaking itself, it's like it has been directly graven from a single piece of steel. To turn it on and off, it has a really convenient board on the top (you don't know, it's a pedal xD), and you just need to push it to put the beast to sleep, or for going from a nice clean sound to a killing, overwhelming distortion. And yeah! I would really use it without a backup, maybe it's the pedal that needs to bring a backup guitarist. This thing can kill. // 9

Overall Impression: As I said I mainly play rhythm parts in industrial, thrash or metalcore, and even though I started playing just few months ago, I was lucky enough to check some other guitars and distortion effect thanks to some friends. So I found out that the ML-2 has been the best choice for me, with his hi-fi annihilating sound: it's PERFECT for extreme, hardcore defined mid-scooped sound. Yeah, maybe someone could say that's this effect is too "cold" and metallic-like, but really, until you got to play blues or more Vintage rock, it isn't a problem (and also if you need to play a more warm style, this pedal doesn't fit you). I'm very strict and metodic when it comes to choose a new piece for my gear, but with this pedal I was able to do a great choice really easily. As the Boss web page told, it is the most powerful effect ever created by BOSS, and it is true. If it were stolen I would buy other two of it (I've ever wanted to do this "If it were stolen" xD). // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Boss reviews rating category latest review
+ GT-100 Amp Effects Processor 8 Guitar Effects 07/07/2014
+ BD-2 Blues Driver 9 Guitar Effects 06/23/2014
+ ME-70 Guitar Multiple Effects 8.9 Guitar Effects 06/04/2014
+ GE-7 Equalizer 9.1 Guitar Effects 05/12/2014
+ CH-1 Super Chorus 8.3 Guitar Effects 04/03/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect