SW-95 Slash Cry Baby Review

manufacturer: Dunlop date: 06/24/2013 category: Guitar Effects
Dunlop: SW-95 Slash Cry Baby
Like the man himself, the new Slash Wah from Dunlop is both revolutionary and classic, right down to its hot rod metallic red finish and cutting edge circuit design.
 Sound: 8.5
 Overall Impression: 8.5
 Reliability & Durability: 8.5
 Ease of Use: 9.3
 Overall rating:
 8.9 
 Reviewer rating:
 8.7 
 Users rating:
 9 
 Votes:
 87 
reviews (10) pictures (1) 32 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 9.8
SW-95 Slash Cry Baby Reviewed by: unregistered, on march 08, 2007
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

Ease of Use: This wah is incredibly easy to use. You click on the toe end to activate the wah, rock your foot forward to make the "wah" sound or keep it back for a nasaly sound. It also has a distortion boost with a knob for volume and another for tone. The button to activate it is on the right side of the wah, so just kick it with the side of your foot and it will activate. You can only use it with the wah activated, though. The Slash wah has two sets of LEDs on each side, a blue one and a red one. When the wah is activated, the blue LED turns on and when you kick in the boost, a the red indicates it's on. It comes with a manual that basically says what I said. // 10

Sound: I play the wah through a Strat copy single coil electric and a Marshall MG30DFX. It sounds great on both channels; a nice, round sound through the clean, and a cutting feel on the OD channel. You can really control how much "wah" it makes because of it's sensitivity. The distortion boost adds extra gain and sounds good, but not great. I can get great Slash tones with it but it can also get Hendrix, and Kirk Hammet sounds or use it in blues type songs. When the wah is off, the bypass doesn't sap the tone of the amp and sounds just the same as if I plugged my guitar straight into the amp. // 9

Reliability & Durability: This pedal is built very sturdy, out of die cast metal it seems. It's taken a few tumbles on concrete, but the only damage it did was small scratches on the knobs. Sometimes, you can't hear the "wah" effect past the 12th fret, and I figured out that it may be because the pickups are either not hot enough or just too far from the strings. I have the neck pickup all the way low, and the bridge one high and the effect is more noticable on the bridge pickup. It seems very dependable and I would gig with it, as long as I have the 18-volt adaptor. // 10

Overall Impression: I play mostly hard rock, classic rock, some metal, and the Slash wah is a good pedal for those, if you use it right. You can also use it in blues, I suppose. It adds spice to any song. If it were stolen, I would hunt down whoever it was that took it and I would take it back forcefully. Or if I couldn't do that, I would definitely buy another one, hopefully for the same price as I originally did because it lists for $170. It's a high quality wah and I would recommend it to anybody. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.5
SW-95 Slash Cry Baby Reviewed by: unregistered, on december 09, 2009
3 of 7 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 154

Purchased from: Guitar Center

Ease of Use: Its just as simple as any other wah pedal, except for that the battery compartment is in the front of the wah pedal, the opening for it isn't that hard its kind of flimsy but its clever. And to power it you need two 9V batteries or an ECB-004 18V adapter. No other 18V adapter will work on it. // 10

Sound: The wah on it is amazing, sounds just like Slash. Its kind of hard to get used to at first but it has a sweet mid tone bite that just delivers the wah into whatever kind of music you want. However teh distortion circuit on it isn't so great. It has ALOT of high piched feed back when you aren't playing. And when you drop the wah to the "heel down" position the volume drops immediately. // 9

Reliability & Durability: I can depend on this wah for anything. When I play live with my band this thing just flys through all the other sound. The first one I got from guitar center broke as soon as I plugged it in, it didn't have any sound at all. So I drove back and got a Brand New one. I took it home, plugged it in and it was amazing, though its not as good as my Rackmounted crybaby, its pretty close. // 10

Overall Impression: I play rock, metal, heavy metal, pop rock, punk, all of that stuff. I've been playing for 3 years and I own a 1988' Gibson Les Paul, a rare 1959 Gibson Les Paul (not the reissue, the real thing), I got it from a friend who gave it to me as a gift for my 18th birthday. I also own a Dunlop crybaby rack wah, and use a Marshall DSL 100 half stack, and a Marshall JVM 205 full stack. This wah could use a readjustment on the distortion though. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
SW-95 Slash Cry Baby Reviewed by: mwps, on april 04, 2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 173.01

Purchased from: Mr. Entertainment

Ease of Use: This pedal is a very simple pedal to operate. It's got the Fasel clicker and you just tap it once to turn on and again to turn the wah off. When you turn it on you will know as it has a blue led light on both sides of the pedal that come on. Then for the distortion circuit you just tap a button on the side of the pedal and a red led on both sides will light up then you know that the distortion circuit is in use. Sometimes it's a little difficult to get the distortion circuit on or off quickly as it's a little tricky to hit with your foot without sliding the whole pedal. The nice thing is that the wah and the distortion circuit are independant of each other so you can use the wah without the distortion. All though the distortion doesn't do anything when you have it on by itself. The bypass works great when the pedal isn't on, it's like the pedal isn't even there. If you use batteries you load them in the top of the pedal and not the bottom so that's kinda cool. // 9

Sound: I use an Epiphone Les Paul Custom Plus for a guitar. I also have a DigiTech GNX3 multieffects pedal and I play everthing through a Line6 spider 212 amplifier. I've been playing my Slash wah in front of the GNX3 and it works great. It also works great without the GNX3. The pedal itself is just an original Dunlop crybaby wah with a distortion circuit built in and all put together in a sweet metallic red case. On the side of the pedal there is two knobs one for volume and one for gain to control the distortion circuit. The only problem I have with it is you can't turn up either of the knobs very high before you get ridiculous feedback when you Switch on the distortion circuit as this pedal is a very high gain pedal. So if you keep it low it works fine and it still works great. When you turn on the distortion you get that little bit of extra kick so you cut through the rest of the sounds so people can your your solo good. I love the sound of this pedal, you sound just like Slash and with that distortion circuit it makes this pedal amazing. // 10

Reliability & Durability: You can definately depend on this pedal and I have gigged with it and it never let me down. The only problem I have had is that one time the pedal wah sound got stuck on the low wah tone that you get when the pedal is on and all the way tilted back. But it turns out my potenitometer just had a bit of dirt in it but that is typical of most wahs. // 10

Overall Impression: Over all I love this pedal. I play lots of classic rock and hard rock as well as blues. So basically I play the same styles that Slash play and it works great for me. I do play other stuff like Metallica and AC/DC and it still works great. It's a very versatile pedal for almost anything. I've been playing electric for about 7 years and I've had this pedal for about half a year. If I lost it or it got stolen I would definately buy this pedal again. I love the distortion circuit as that allows you to play lots of different sounds. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.8
SW-95 Slash Cry Baby Reviewed by: wilmearz, on august 21, 2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Ease of Use: Nothing to difficult for anyone to work out, you simply push down to turn it on and again to turn it off. To activate the distortion circuit you tap in a small button on the right hand side with your foot and get a big gain boost. The manual doesnt't really need to say much as anything you need to know is printed on the base. So basically it's a wah, you work it out! A nice extra is you load the 2x9v batteries through a rubber hatch on top, quite cool! // 10

Sound: I am using the slash wah through my Epiphone G-400 Custom, Behringer Xv-amp and Marshall MG15CD. It sounds pretty good with all this, however, I would recomend having a better amplifier then a Marshall MG as the slash wah sounds sooo much better through a better amp. I think probably the best way to use it is with amp distortion and through basically nothing else. That's how Slash uses it and it works for him! I think you have to grace the Slash wah with The View that it's a proffesional standard pedal and needs good gear to reveal it's full potential. As it is I can get good slash sounds and hendrix type things anyway. The wah sounds great on clean, just amazing and the bypass doesn't sap anything. It is an extremely sensitive. I give it an 8 through my current rubbish set up, but a 10 through better. // 8

Reliability & Durability: This is an amazingly sturdy pedal, I have used it in a gig once so far and it's perfect, I would not need a back up. just don't leave the input plugged in 'cause you will lose all your battery power very fast. I have allready done this and the extra 9v batteries would lead to a lot of expense over time! // 9

Overall Impression: For the styles of play I use it for (Guns N' Roses, Velvet Revolver and various others) it's great. I've been playing for three years and have had this for 3 months. At the moment I think it's good but I think when I get a better amp it will be hugely better and it's sturdy construction makes me confident it will last that long! it's a damn good wah, check it out! // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
SW-95 Slash Cry Baby Reviewed by: Kevin Saale, on january 05, 2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 150

Purchased from: Guitar Center

Ease of Use: Very easy to use, works like any other wah. The distortion is activated by kicking the button on the side. It has volume and gain controls for the distortion. It says all this on the base and in the manual. The distortion is only on when the wah is on, so you can't use it for stand alone gain. 18 volts, batteries load in the top. All in all very simple. // 10

Sound: I'm using a Jimmie Vaughn Tex-Mex strat into this the Slash Wah, into a DS-1 all to my Hot Rod Deluxe. I play mainly rock and classic rock. This thing is great on cleans, the manual wasn't lying when they say they added mid-range sparkle. On the clean channel this thing causes my HRD to break up in a good way and is great for those chika waka porno movie type sounds. I don't use the gain on my amp so when I use it with the DS-1 it sounds just as amazing no matter how high the gain, though if you scoop your mids this thing is very uneffective. The gain boost on this pedal is not fantastic alone, but makes an amazing lead boost paired with my DS-1. You can't turn either the volume or gain up very high, but then again, you don't really need to since this pedal has a lot of juice and excess gain will cause unwanted feedback. All in all this is an amazing sounding pedal whether or not you like the distortion. // 10

Reliability & Durability: Tank. This thing can stand up to anything although I broke my first one after a few days because I used the wrong power supply which was my fault. I promptly returned it and got a new one and have had no problems since. I would trust this thing on a gig, I think what I did to it is probably the only way to destroy it. This thing is a hoss on 9volts though, leave it plugged in for one night and they'll both be dead. So, you'll probably want to get the adapter from Jim Dunlop. // 10

Overall Impression: I play main rock and classic rock and this thing fits in quite nicely. I think this pedal would be good for any style of music, even metal as long as you aren't a mid-scooper. I've been playing for about 3 years and I own an MXR 10-band eq and a Phase 90 along with a DS-1. If this were stolen I would probably try the dime from hell and a few other wahs, but ultimately I think I would Pick this one up again. I love the gain boost on this thing, it really helps your solos cut through and sounds good if you use it as a boost. The only thing I wish this thing had come with was it's own power supply, but that's a small oversight. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 5
SW-95 Slash Cry Baby Reviewed by: Chikao42, on december 11, 2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Ease of Use: It's a wah pedal. Plug and play baby. It's got two knobs on the side, if I recall its Drive and volume. It has two circuit boards, each taking a 9v battery, one for the crybaby wah, and one for the driven wah sound. There's a button on the side at the heel that lets you Switch between the two. Getting a good sound isn't hard, getting a great sound out of it is very difficult. It doesn't make you sound like Slash at all, its just got his name on it. To sound like Slash, you need a Les Paul and a Marshall stack with tons of reverb =] // 8

Sound: I play a lot of blues-rock, hard rock, guitar rock. Black Stone Cherry, Alterbridge, Shinedown, Steve Vai, Buck Cherry, Black Crowes, etc. When I demo'd it in the shop, I used a Fender telecaster, and a 50w tube amp that the name of escapes me, I think it was a Laney or a Bugera. And at home, I used an Ibanez JEM 555 and a Crate GTX-212. If you turn the Drive setting up past like 3/10 you start to feed back, and if you turn the level up, the tone disapparates and it sounds muddy, all clarity is lost, and it's not a pleasant experience. I got a good sound out of it; it sang well in the right places with the right amount of Drive kicked in, and it had an overall pleasant wah sound. On the normal crybaby channel, I felt there was a lot left to be desired. It worked a lot better with distortion than it did without. I think the Drive circuit was quite transparent, so it only really upped gain and sustain. The normal crybaby setting on clean was lackluster and there wasn't an awful lot you could do with it. And the Drive setting wasn't very nice to my ears when the amp was clean. // 6

Reliability & Durability: Mine broke after 3 days. I replaced batteries and the circuits both went. I had no signal at all. To replace the batteries, you have to flip open part of the rubber pallet on the pedal, extract on battery, and then fiddle about to get the other to come out, and replacing them is the same. It's not very easy, ergonomic, or safe on the part of the pedal. I never got to gig with it. But I definitely wouldn't now, knowing what I do. I took it back, and got the Original Crybaby wah and Boss OD-3, which I then traded for a Yamaha RGX420DZ and now own a ZW-45 and ZW-44. // 1

Overall Impression: I've been playing for 5 years now, I bought this on my 18th birthday (I'm not too far from 20). I've stated The Music and gear that I play and own, and I think that if it had been more reliable, and worked better on a clean channel, it could have been a very-well integrated part of my sound. Buying this product, I would have asked the guy if the pedal was actually reliable, how to change the batteries, and what he would recommend, to try and compare, as opposed to just saying "That's a wah pedal, I need one, let's bag it and go home". If it were stolen, I'd have laughed. To be honest, I chose it because it looked nice, and had Slash's name on it, so I assumed I wouldn't be getting ripped off. But I did. Overall, average wah pedal, at best. Unreliable. I wouldn't recommend it. For the price you could get a Bad Horsie Wah, Weeping Demon, ZW-45, and the Boss 535, as well as the Crybaby from Hell. // 5

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
SW-95 Slash Cry Baby Reviewed by: cjb2293, on december 26, 2007
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 100

Purchased from: Guitar Center

Ease of Use: This pedal is extremely easy to use. The only difficulty with it is if you are sitting down and you have to turn it on it can become a little difficult to get it to click on. Other than that there is nothing that makes this pedal hard to use. The manual that comes with it clearly explains about the knobs on the side and what they are used for. // 9

Sound: I currently use this pedal with a Marshall MG HDFX100 amplifier, metal muff distortion pedal, and a Epiphone SG standard guitar. It works extremely well through this setup and can get you the tone of Slash easily. The effects on it are great (the wah) except for the distortion. When I switch the distortion on it will make a loud screeching noise unless you are playing on the guitar. It is a horrible sound and is a setting I never use on it. // 8

Reliability & Durability: This pedal holds itself together even when I drop it while packing up my gear or stomp on it at practice. It is great for gigs and you won't need another wah pedal to back this thing up. It is easily a must for the gig and won't leave you disappointed through its tone. // 10

Overall Impression: So I mostly play rock and metal and this thing is fantastic for both of those styles. You can go from the great tone of Guns N' Roses to the metal tone of the Killing In The Name Of solo. I have played for 2 years now and this pedal is just a great thing to have. The only thing I dislike on the pedal is the distortion feature, it is terribly noisy and makes your tone horrible sounding. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
SW-95 Slash Cry Baby Reviewed by: unregistered, on december 15, 2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 215

Purchased from: Singapore

Ease of Use: Ease of use: straightforward controls, big knobs, LEDs, Red button for distortion circuit, easily accessible battery compartment. Comes with a manual card that explains what I just said. The knobs don't show you where they are dialed in, so that could be fixed. Also, the bypass Switch is a tiny bit hard to press. The two 9v batteries are a bit too much. // 10

Sound: Using it with a Roland Micro Cube, which is a digital amp, so when I turn on the distortion circuit there is a lot of squealing (some problem that other people with digital amps seem to have). Wah is screaming and easily heard. Easy to get Slash's sound, though you can't change wah settings. Volume and gain only can be used if distortion circuit is on:( Excellent bypass and good for blues, rock. // 8

Reliability & Durability: Very, very durable and rugged. Seems to be made out of die cast metal. I would definitely gig without a backup, but only with extra batteries or the AC adapter. I have never dropped this before, but I am confident nothing would happen to it except some minor scratches. The battery compartment is also a bit flimsy. // 10

Overall Impression: I play mainly classic and hard rock. The wah is excellent for this. My first wah. I have always thought Crybabys are the best.One thing I wish is that the boost could be controlled with the distortion off. I would definitely buy this again if it were stolen. The LEDs are a very clever touch. I compared it with the 535q and it seems better. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.8
SW-95 Slash Cry Baby Reviewed by: rjtguitarmasta, on february 21, 2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 140

Purchased from: amazon.com

Ease of Use: The Dunlop Slash Wah pedal is a great, smooth Wah pedal. It is very simple to use, and can be figured out even without a manual. Just plug it in and turn it on. Just click all the way to turn it on, and play. To turn on the distortion circuit, just click the red button on the side. There are LED lights to tell you if the Wah or distortion is on. just push to use the Wah (like any other Wah pedal...) // 9

Sound: I am using this Wah pedal with an Epiphone Les Paul Standard and a Roland cube 20X. I am mostly a hobbyist, but play a few gigs sometimes. The Wah sounds great for hard rock and metal, and really cuts through any other sounds and shines. The distortion is ok, and other people might say it screeches, but it only does if you turn the gain too high. It is good for a boost on a solo. The Wah is strong, and truly has the sound of slash. When I play this wah, I feel like I am playing like slash. This Wah nailed slash's sound, and sounds amazing on songs like sweet child o mine and slither. It is decent for other Wah sounds, but is mainly for slash. For soft rock and clean, it is decent, but since it is a very nasaly and slashy wah, it is loud and isnt really the softest thing. It is still a great Wah and definitely is great for intermediate players who love Slash and want a great Wah pedal. Also, it is unique, and is good for making your own music. // 9

Reliability & Durability: This pedal is very reliable and durable. It is built like a brick, and I assume if it is dropped, it will still be fine. I can defintiely depend on it. Although some people say "it feels like it will break under your foot", I disagree. It does feel a little wobbly, but definitely is not. The reason is that it is very sensitive, and gives you a very precise sound. When you play it it feels very stable, and you can control how much Wah you want. I would use it in a gig without backup definitely. // 9

Overall Impression: Overall, this is a great Wah pedal is great. If you like hard rock/metal and love the sound of slash, get this. It is a perfect match, and even though Slash really uses the 600 $ crybaby rack wah, it nails the sound of Slash perfectly. I have been playing for two years, and am an advanced player. I play things from metallica to led zeppelin, including a lot of GNR. I love this product and I am happy with it. If it were stolen, I would definitely buy another one. I love the sound, and the cutting sound which makes your solo shine. My favorite feature is just the wah. I compared it the the Kirk Wah, which was also an excellent product, but that Wah did not sound good at all, for GNR sounds. I think it is perfect, and I would recommend it to anyone who loves rock and GNR and needs a Wah pedal. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.5
SW-95 Slash Cry Baby Reviewed by: Kjelur, on june 24, 2013
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 270

Purchased from: 4Sound Denmark

Ease of Use: As said in one of the reviews above, "Getting a good sound isn't hard, getting a great sound out of it is very difficult," which I would agree 100% with. It runs on 18VDC, but it did not come with a power supply, which can be problematic because 18VDC isn't that common. It can run on two 9V batteries, but I would recommend you to buy a power supply asap. It has a gain- and a volume-knob and a distortion circuit that you can turn on/off with a switch on the side, but it can be tricky hitting that switch after you've placed the pedal on your pedalboard. Otherwise it's a normal plug-and-play wah-pedal that you engage with a heavy duty bypass switch. // 8

Sound: I'm using a Gibson Les Paul Classic 1960 Reissue Goldtop '98 through my Marshall JVM410H head with a Marshall 1960 A Lead cab. I haven't noticed any noise from it when it's bypassed, and it doesn't make any white/unwanted-noise when engaged either. When it comes to the sound of the filter it's all about taste. I would have preferred a wider/broader/longer/more open filter if that makes any sense. You kinda have to hit a narrow sweetspot to control the filter on this one, which can be annoying because you're usually not so precise with your foot during a gig. But the overall sound of the filter is quite good. And then there's the distortion curciut. I find it kinda useless, and I usually only use it when I'm going for some crazy, muddy effect, it's close to being a fuzz. // 8

Reliability & Durability: I'm a bit torn when it comes to reliability and durability. I has worked great for me for a couple of years, but now it suddenly died. The only thing that works are the lights, and when I press it, it cuts of the signal. Ofc I'm going to send it in to a local dealer to get it repaired, but if it's total I might not buy the same one over again before I've tested the alternatives. But it was good for a couple of years without ANY problems, so it isn't that bad though. I'm really not sure how to rate this one, but you've got all the information and you can decide for yourself what you think of it. // 6

Overall Impression: I've played a lot of genres during my 6-7 years of guitar-playing, and this has been my go-to wah-pedal for some of those years. I had a Vox V845 before I bought the Slash Wah, but it became really noisy and I didn't like the filter that much, so I bought the SW95 to replace it. Remember, this Wah doesn't make you sound like Slash. Yes, ofc you have to have his setup, but you also have to have his mind and hands as well. But if you really like Slash, then this or the new one would be a good buy for you. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Dunlop reviews rating category latest review
+ 95Q Cry Baby Wah Wah 8.3 Guitar Effects 03/07/2013
+ EVH-95 Eddie Van Halen Signature Wah 8.3 Guitar Effects 12/20/2012
+ GCB-95 Cry Baby Original 8.1 Guitar Effects 11/21/2012
+ DC-Brick Multi-Power Supply 8.6 Guitar Effects 07/31/2012
+ DB-01 Dimebag Cry Baby From Hell 9.2 Guitar Effects 07/26/2012
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect