Metal Muff With Top Boost Review

manufacturer: Electro-Harmonix date: 04/29/2013 category: Guitar Effects
Electro-Harmonix: Metal Muff With Top Boost
The Metal Muff utilizes three powerful EQ bands, including a midrange control designed for perfect contouring. The Metal Muff provides an awesome array of alloys ranging from slithering mercury to molten slag, lead belly to blast furnace dross.
 Sound: 9.4
 Overall Impression: 9.5
 Reliability & Durability: 9.4
 Ease of Use: 8.8
 Overall rating:
 9.1 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.3 
 Users rating:
 8.9 
 Votes:
 185 
reviews (36) pictures (3) 100 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 8.3
Metal Muff With Top Boost Reviewed by: the.spine.surfs, on august 30, 2007
22 of 26 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 89.99

Purchased from: Music Stop

Ease of Use: If your reading this, you either heard good things about this pedal, or simply wonder how something named a Metal Muff With Top Boost could possibbly be an effect and not the main character in a grade C porno. I assure you, this belongs in only the finest of adult films. I KID. EH has a reputation for putting out an innovative, fresh, origional pedal, and this is a great, fresh take on the "plug in for instant Death Metal guitar hero-ness" theme that seems oh so popular these days. If this is your first distortion pedal, it'll be a beast to get a good tone out of, and you'll blow out your ruddy Squire 10 watt practice amp when you crank every knob to 11. If you understand what equilization actually does to your tone and how, you'll get fabulous tones from this pedal. The eq bands on this pedal, with the top boost, are very very powerful features, if you know what they do. I rate it down on ease of use only because I assume the average buyer will be a tight-pants wearing kid with a Squier Bullet, and will have problems with such things as finishing his pre-algebra homework, zipping up his fly, and sculpting a good tone out of this pedal. // 6

Sound: Assuming you wern't offended by my opinion on this pedals ease of use, and have continued to read, let me say that this is, I believe, the only pedal on the market today with the name "Metal" in the title that is worth buying. Metal Zone, Metal Fest, Metal Head, all fail when placed next to this. I have run it with a MIM Fender Strat, a hot-wired Ibanez RG7321, a '79 Global LP clone, and an Ibanez AF75 Artcore into both a Vox AD15VT and a Fender Pro Junior with an aftermarket Eminence speaker. Killer through most of them, although obviously better with the all tube PJ and had some feedback issues with the Artcore (noticable, but conrollable) and more hiss than I'd like with the MIM Strat (blame it on the PU's). This pedal delievers what it claims, an outstanding metal tone. The beauty is it's flexibility. I have yet to try any disortion stompbox that can get the same range of distortion, from a gentle but present bulldog-like bite and snarl to a bleeding treble-soaked wail. You simply must try it. And the eq bands are, as I said, very well thoght out. Downside is the hiss, like most EH pedals, but this never bothered me. The hiss is only going to matter while you're not playing, and if you're not playing, why are you thinking about buying a distortion pedal? // 9

Reliability & Durability: Solid. Big hunky switches, smooth solid pots, firm jacks. Steel case, I think, but don't quote me. Gig without backup? Sure, but if it broke, I'd just play the distorted part clean and really loud, and claim I was doing a ultra extra special live version of the song. That's "how I roll." // 8

Overall Impression: A beautiful piece of equipent, but I have one more bit of tripe for you to consider. Something this pedal has that I haven't seen mentioned is something that most EH pedals have gallons of: vibe. You could fit eny EH pedal into a tiny little stompbox enclosure with modern switches and those cute little Boss or DigiTech knobs, but the magic would be gone. There's something truly special about a brick shaped block of steel that loudly proclaims it's muffhood and lack of give-a-shit that just makes me love mine. You Boss kiddies can keep your compact, matching little Metal Zone and Metal Core and Metal Land pedals; I, for one, have the balls to play with my big, firm, EH Metal Muff. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Metal Muff With Top Boost Reviewed by: herman_li, on august 21, 2006
20 of 24 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 65.8617

Purchased from: guitar central

Ease of Use: The Electro-Harmonix Metal Muff is new on the market and I love it. There are 2 footswitches, bypass (on/off) and top boost. There are 6 controls. Volume (for the volume you want), distortion (the amount of filth you want), top boost (for an extra bit of bite) and standard, low mid and high settings. I play the pedal with the bass at 5, mids at 4 and treble at 11. At this setting I get a Vintage malmsteen tone (even better than his signature pedal), the real deal is when you turn on the top boost. By toggeleing the top boost control, you get sounds from Metallica, to Pantera even to Slipknot if that's your thing. // 10

Sound: I have been playing 2 years. I use a Ibanez RG370DX with a floyd and EMGs. I stil only have a practice amp tho, but not to worry! The Metal Muff gives me a tone that could cost several thousand in amplefiers. It sounds amazing through anything. As I said before, you can sound like Malmsteen, Pantera, Slipknot or Metallica with this very easy and versatile pedal. // 10

Reliability & Durability: My friends and got drunk one night at my house one night (I was sober) and one of my friends thought it would be funny to throw my Metal Muff out the window to see is it burst into flames. He through it and there was an almighty thud. I thought that as it had been thrown 2 stories, it was done for. I went out side, shaked it and to my amazment there was nothing rattaling. I plugged it in the next day and it sounded just as amazing as when I bought it. I would use it on a gig without backup. // 10

Overall Impression: I play metal. as you can tell by the name of the product, it is suited for metal guitar players. If it were stolen, I would by another one as I can tell that in the near future, this pedal will become a classic like the Big Muff. I want to have an original! My favorite part of this pedal is the top boost setting as it gives a huge tonal variety. This pedal certainly lives up to the loved Muff name. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.8
Metal Muff With Top Boost Reviewed by: Kid_Thorazine, on january 23, 2007
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Ease of Use: This pedal has a bit of a learning curve as the EQ is super responsive, the EQ also somewhat determines how much gain you get, and has to be adjusted depending on what level you have the distortion set at. It's also pretty tricky to get the top boost to a usable level, but once you do, it screams. The manual is just a little sheet that tells you the EQ ranges for each EQ knob and what all of the knobs and switches do, which is really all you need to know. // 7

Sound: I'm running a Gibson Voodoo series SG into an Aims personalized producer 120 watt tube amp which by itself is pretty low gain, the metal muff turns it into a metal machine. The sound is very clear and articulate and I can hear every note. The pedal is also very touch responsive (as far as distortion pedals go) with only a moderate amount of compression, with a lowering of the distortion knob on the pedal and lowering my guitars volume knob and can go very quickly from balls out Death Metal to a led zeppelin sort of tone and pretty much anywhere in between. Another somewhat unique feature of this pedal is the top boost function, which boosts your high treble range to give your sound more cut, this is great for soloing and playing riffs that you really want to stand out in the mix in a Live situation, though you do have to be careful with the control on this one because it's pretty easy to overdo it and make your tone super bright and grating. Overall the pedal is pretty smooth and very organic sounding, almost like an extra amp channel, and the wide EQ and distortion level range make it suitable for anything from heavier classic rock to hardcore industrial noise. And also I'd like to add that this pedal has very little floor noise, even with a power supply. // 10

Reliability & Durability: I've gigged with it and am generally pretty rough on my pedals, all I've managed to break Boss pedals before, but this thing has never let me down. And as for a backup well I honestly don't know very many people Who carry backup pedals, but I do keep a DigiTech Metal Master in my chain anyway so I guess I've got that covered. But yes I suppose I would gig without a backup as long as it has a fresh battery in case something happens to the power supply. // 9

Overall Impression: I play everyhting from punk, black metal, classic metal, and industrial, this pedal handles all of those brilliantly. I also own a DigiTech Metal Master and have owned a ProCo Rat and a Boss MT-2 this is way better than all of them. The only improvement to this pedal that I would make would be to make it true bypass although the buffer on it is quite good. And if it where lost or stolen I would definitely buy it again. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
Metal Muff With Top Boost Reviewed by: unregistered, on august 26, 2009
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Price paid: € 83

Purchased from: Muziker.sk

Ease of Use: It's pretty easy to use, even when you are beginners. You can find many videos on EHX's web page showing different set ups. The manual is really poor and doesn't help you with anything. In it's case, there's a little "book" with other EHX's products and two CDs showing reviews (or presentation) of those products. // 9

Sound: I run this through Vox VT15 valvetronix into BC Rich Exotic Warlock (with 1 Rockfield fat ass p.u. In the bridge possition). The noise is quite low, the amp has got noise reduction so I don't see any problem. It's raising a little with adding more gain. Also through headphones, the noise is a little bit higher. But when you don't use the headphones the sound is awesome! I thought that the valvetronix has got enough distortion, but compared with the Metal muff, it's nothing. The treble booster works good. But don't put it on higher levels (more than 12 o'clock) 'cause it's earpiercing. It doesn't have the true bypass, but I didn't noticed any difference between the amp sound and bypassed sound through metal muff. So... This pedal kicks ass! I'll give it 9 becuse nothing is perfect. // 9

Reliability & Durability: Nothing plastic (just the knobs), the hole construction is made from steal. It looks very durable. I don't gig, but if I did, I would use it without any worries. Just buy the power supply. Changing batteries you must remove four screws on the bottom of the pedal and it takes some time. // 9

Overall Impression: I play mainly trash metal (Metallica) and this pedal suits this style of music perfectly. Just play with the knobs and you'll get wide range of oder sounds. I haven't been playing for a long time, but I decided to write this, because I was amazed with the brutality of the distorted sound. If this thing was stollen, I would definitely buy it again. And kill that dumb-ass at first. Finally, I'm sorry for my English. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
Metal Muff With Top Boost Reviewed by: killingmoon45, on november 08, 2006
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 109.782

Purchased from: dawsons

Ease of Use: This pedal needs to be tweaked like most pedals to get the best sounds you can out of the perticular rig that it's plugged into. I bought this pedal to see if I could use it as a backup to my '70s Big Muff & Ibanez WH10 wah combination, I get Monster Molten tone with those pedals together into an overdriven amp, this Metal Muff can hold it's own against it, even run into a cleaner amp with some serious definition & gain on tap. It's also a lot quieter if run into a cleaner sounding amp. // 10

Sound: This is what I have so far on this pedal. I just got home with one this afternoon & I am digging this pedal, it's not the same sound as my Muff into Ibanez WH10 wah combination, but it is better than my Muff by itself, it has way more distortion, even at the lowest setting, it has more distortion available than my original Muff. I wish I could dial it down more because I like the sound of the amp overdriven a bit, along with the Muff, the way I have it set up with my Muff wah combo is, I have the distortion down almost all the way, & I run the amp hot, this gives me a more natural response with overtones & dynamics as opposed to running the amp cleaner & running the muff set at a higher distortion level. When doing it this way with the Metal Muff, I have to have the distortion level on the pedal all the way down, & I still get a lot of distortion, almost too much, that's why I'd like to be able to set the distortion lower if I could as I rarely play an amp that is set clean, I get the cleans that I like by turning down the volume on my guitar a bit, but with an amp that is working the power stage some. Now if I were to use a 2 amp set up & run a clean amp as well, I'm shure this pedal will Shine, because when I tried it out at the store, it was plugged into an 800 Marshall & it was set clean, the Metal muff sounded pretty wicked into that amp, with lots of definition, like my Muff WH10 wah combo run into an overdriven power stage. The EQ on this pedal is kind of funky, each of the controls effect the sound in a different way when the other controls are set differently so there are almost unlimited tonal options with this pedal & some tweaks are quite usable & some are not, but it would be up to the player to decide which is or isn't with his or her own set up. The treble boost doesn't work by itself, you have to have the Muff on for it to work & I didn't like it much, you couldn't get much boost out of it with the treble set low enough to sound decent, at least with my amp it didn't sound good to me. It would've been nice if you could set a boost with the treble circuit bypassed or with a more mid boost instead, & also have the option to use the boost by itself if you wanted. I'm sure there will be pedal gurus that will offer up mods to do such things including the ability to lower the distortion a bit more because it is a very sweet thick type of Drive that can sound real cool when used as an overdriver as opposed to being a distortion type of effect, especially with a strat type guitar. // 10

Reliability & Durability: Built pretty solid all metal casing I don't see it being a problem and I've heard tha the new ehx customer care is excelent so I don't see any problems arising. Having said that the Boss Metal Zone is built slighty better, but that's the only thing it is beter in. // 9

Overall Impression: I give this pedal a thumbs up for it's thick molten tone with a strat, it's unreal how wicked this pedal makes single coils sound if dialed in properly, but at the cost of some noise due to the hum of the singlecoils & the overdriven power amp stage. I get by with a Boss NS-2 Noise Suppressor to control that issue with my Muff WH10 combo to good effect & the same goes with the Metal Muff. I didn't use humbuckers with this pedal yet, but I'm guessing with the EQ on this pedal you could dial in a wicked metal tone with humbuckers as well. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
Metal Muff With Top Boost Reviewed by: unregistered, on february 26, 2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Ease of Use: This pedal is very easy to get a good sound out of. There are a wide variety of easy tons to create that take all of 5 minutes to dial in! The sad thing is they do not tell you any presets in any manual of any kind! The box is rather bare with only the registration info and a CD of their other effect pedals. // 10

Sound: I am currently using an ESP LTD H-1000 Deluxe on it with Duncan's JB and 59' pickups. I use a spider II 212 (shitty I know) and mainly play metal. I do dab into other genre's including hard rock and jazz and lighter material suck as Jimi Hendrix and Led Zeppelin. Their is a slight hum on hihg distortion while not playing, but then you just turn down your guitar. The tone is astonishing and the top boost is an amazing feature. I know most of you are comparing this to the Boss metal zone and this has much better tone. Better for palm muting and a clearer more distinct sound! // 10

Reliability & Durability: I really cannot say so far, only had it for a week. It was made in the USA and seems to be a sturdy rock solid case with quality parts inside. This thing is built like a rock, just as much, if not more so than a Boss pedal. I would use this without a backup, it is very very solid. // 9

Overall Impression: I went and borrowed a metal zone pedal from a friend and bought this to compare the tone and see which one was better. Well my Line 6 distortion didn't hold a candle to it at all, the metal zone was nice, easier harmonics and decent tone. It is also harder to dial in and lacks the tonal palette that the metal muff has. The metal muff can get a creamy overdriven sound if you turn down the distortion. I played as bold as love with it and it sounded killer! This thing does not blow the metal zone out of the water so don't rush out to go buy it unless you have a $600 amp and can tell the difference! I have been playing non-stop for 3 years and do covers such as needled 24/7 by Children Of Bodom. If this was lost or stolen, I would buy it again. The next day probably. I love the top boost feature, it really sails over the rest of the song when you need it to! I would like a independent volume knob for the top boost. 1 tone, 1 volume for the top boost. It's a bit we too loud in the bedroom. By design, it seems to have an volume increase as well as a treble boost, so this would be nice to fix with that voluem know I was talking about. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Metal Muff With Top Boost Reviewed by: acdc_rocks_1992, on july 13, 2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 126.4

Purchased from: Sobers Music

Ease of Use: This pedal is by Electro-Harmonix it's called a Metal Muff. This pedal is very simple to use there is one volume knob, a top boost knob, a treble knob, a middle knob, a bass knob and a distortion knob. This can be used with a 9 volt adapter or a 9 volt battery. For anybody look for a heavy distortion this is the pedal. You can also play softer music on it to. Like I said it is very easy to use and you could have fun for hour just playing with the different tones you can get. The knobs are very sensitive if you turn them a hair it will change your sound. // 10

Sound: When I use my Metal Muff I use two different setups one is a Berhinger guitar and a berhinger amp. The other it a Washburn WV16 flying V with a Berhinger amp. This pedal can go from really quiet to really loud for a solo with the click of a button. On this pedal you have you bypass and a top boost. When you click the top boost it brings up the volume and the distortion get heavier and a bit better. This is a really good feature if you're the lead guitar player and you need to loud for some leads but not for the other. // 10

Reliability & Durability: I feel that I can depend on this pedal no matter what I do. I use it for all of my gig. Most of the time the only back up I have is the distortion on the amp. I feel that I would never need a back up but I do need a back up 9 volt adapter that's getting bad but I always have a battery in it incase that happens at a gig. This pedal look like it will do me my whole life it is a very strong pedal I could through it out a window and use it. // 10

Overall Impression: When I play, I play more on the dire straits side of things so I need to turn down some the distortion but when I play with other guitarist Who like heavy stuff I turn up the volume next thing I know I am tuned down to drop c and I am play my cruse by Killswitch Engage. Like I said above I own a Berhinger strat, in which I play the light stuff on, and a Washburn WV16 flying V, in which I play heavier stuff on. If there was something strong enough to breaks this pedal and it did. I could say I would buy it again. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
Metal Muff With Top Boost Reviewed by: Stentroll, on september 12, 2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 130

Purchased from: Music store

Ease of Use: It's pretty easy to get a good sound out of this pedal, but not for a total newb. It has the basic gain, mid, treble and bass controls as well as a top boost control, which gives and extra bite to your tone if you know how to use it. The manual gives some info on how to change batteries and controls and such, but no presets. // 9

Sound: I use it with a Jackson DK2T Dinky and a Peavey Valveking Royal 8, and it sounds great! The Peavey is far from metal level, which is my favourite style of music and the one I play the most, but this pedal brings it up there. I like bands like Slayer, Metallica, Pantera and more and I can easily sound like those with this pedal. It's pretty versatile. This pedal can get noisy at high volumes and gain I think, but it's nothing serious. // 10

Reliability & Durability: This pedal seems to be very solid. I'm not in a band and I don't gig, but if I would I would definitely depend on it without a backup. It's tough on the outside and I don't think there could be any technical errors either. I've never heard of anyone having any, and I haven't had any myself. This is a well constructed pedal. The only problem is batteries, but that's something all pedals require. // 10

Overall Impression: As the name suggests, this pedal is made for metal. I wanted a high gain pedal that could bring my Peavey to the max, and wow! This pedal is really good. It has biting distortion that can cover many different styles like metal, punk and other heavy styles. I've been playing for a year, but I know what I'm talking about. I didn't a few months ago though, when I bought a Line 6 Spider III. I tried it in the store, and I thought it would be a good upgrade from my starter pack amp. A while later I realised it was an upgrade, but I could have done much better. So I traded the Spider for a Peavey and bought this pedal along with it. I'm very happy I did this. I didn't try this product in the store because they didn't have it in stock and had to order it, and I had already paid for it so I took quite a risk, but nothing was wrong. It functioned properly and I loved it. I love it's crushing distortion and top boost function, which makes solos scream. If it were stolen I would definitely buy it again, even though it's kind of expensive. My Peavey can't really handle metal without it. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.5
Metal Muff With Top Boost Reviewed by: unregistered, on september 17, 2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 89.99

Purchased from: Emerald City Guitars

Ease of Use: When I first got this pedal I was tempted to turn every knob to ten and see just how far it could go, I blew out my practice amp. Luckily it was just a crappy 10 watt Ibanez. But once I stuck it in my Fender I started on a zero distortion, it's now easy to get anykind of tone from this, from creamy Overdrive to insanely loud crunch. // 8

Sound: I play an Epiphone Alleykat through a Fender Stage 160. The amp has a weak built in distortion so I bought this pedal to remedy that. I don't play metal but after comparing this thing against the Boss DS-1 Rat, and a few DigiTech pedals it proved to be more versatile than modeling pedals. I mostly play punk and dial down the bass and kick up the mids for a nice raunchy sound, top boost blows everyone away. I can also dial the distortion to zero and get a great Beatley distortion for my Beatles tribute band. // 10

Reliability & Durability: My 6'4" 230 pound friend stomped this thing in a show and it survived, heavy thick metal casing seems to be indestructible. I would gig this without a backup within 20 miles even when every song needs Overdrive. I am more concerned about how durable my ear will be after playing with this thing for a few years. // 10

Overall Impression: I am completely satisfied with my metal muff. No complaints what'soever, Such a loud powerful, versatile piece of equipment it is. Whether you use it for a smooth overdriven tone, a pure volume pedal, or insane black metal tones this thing will work. You will only want another so you can access 2 quick tones for it. No other need for a different pedal. Only thing I wish it had were multiple presets you could save, but I don't mind switching the knobs every once and a while. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
Metal Muff With Top Boost Reviewed by: Maiden-Canada, on september 20, 2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: C$ 123.17

Purchased from: Maar Music - Peterborough

Ease of Use: I searched for this box for 2 goddamn years before I got ahold of it; even then, by the time I went to buy it I just barely got the last one they had in stock - and they re-stocked 4 days previously! Here's the deal: this is a god among distortion boxes. I should expand, but really the review could end there. Getting a good sound out of this is easy: just turn it on! After that, it offers endless tweakability via the 3-band EQ. The Distortion control more or less increases sustain, like the Big Muff, which is good; you don't want EQ changes coming from a knob that isn't EQ! I really only have it set at about 1, maybe 2 o'clock and I have enough grind for rhythm and lead, no problem. The only thing I can't stand about it is the manual's description. Talking about different metals is a very roundabout way of describing the tones you can get out of it. // 10

Sound: I play a reissue '52 Tele with a Duncan lil' '59 in the neck and a Hot Rails in the bridge, and I play through a Marshall AVT20X combo - loud enough and good clean, but no footswitch and subpar distortion. This thing gives me a 3 channel setup! I have few problems with noise thanks to my pickups, and this thing is musical enough to give you the kind of feedback you WANT to come screaming out of your amp when you let it go. I found the volume has to be up past halfway to match my amp signal, however this makes practice volumes easy to achieve. I love Iron Maiden, and this box can absolutely nail their sound when you utilize the boosted side of the mid-spectrum. You may be tempted to scoop, but I beg you: do not overlook the power of the midrange on this baby! The other major piece of advice I have is this: Watch out for the top-boost knob. It may be tempting to dime it, but then you'll be deaf from the ice Pick in your ears! Use it sparingly, and you can step right out front of your band/play-along for a sweet lead. // 9

Reliability & Durability: If I went to a gig with only 3 pedals, they would be my Boss DD-3, my Dunlop Crybaby 95Q and this heroic distortion. It's made to take a beating, but chances are you'll be treating it with nothing but respect for the huge gobs of tone it gives you to play with. As long as you have the power necessary to keep your effects on, you won't worry about the Metal Muff. You'll know when it's on, and the crowd will too. // 10

Overall Impression: I play a lot of metal and hard rock, so this is perfect for me. I also found that you can get an awesome Santana tone out of it (not surprising, considering EHX always brags about the Big Muff being his sound), and ART rock like Vai and Satriani isn't hard to conjure either. If it were stolen, I would hunt for it first! It's too good to lose. I think the only thing I would change is a mod on the Top Boost: make it a top and mid boost with a big of extra gain to make it a full on lead channel, and don't make it so intense that you can't USE it past half way without physically hurting people. I have played more distortion and Overdrive pedals than I care to mention. This thing cannot, will not, be beaten by anything that only boasts one mode (are you listening, Boss?). That is not to say I didn't like other pedals like the Metal Zone and DigiTech's Grungem but why would I buy those when I can have a 2-in-1 distortion kingdom? There was a reviewer on here Who said that this is the only pedal with the word "Metal" in it's name worth buying. I wholeheartedly agree. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
Metal Muff With Top Boost Reviewed by: cmacTR4Q, on june 12, 2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: C$ 130

Purchased from: Kingston SoundWorks

Ease of Use: The EHX Metal Muff is a freakin beast... enough said. Getting a good sound out of this pedal is not hard in the slightest. Plugging it in usually does the trick. The user manual is a little scarce, (Try one sheet of toilet paper in pigeon english scarce) but let's be serious here, Who reads the manual anyway? You plug it in and fiddle with it until you get a good tone, and with this thing, it's not hard to do. // 8

Sound: Now if you bought this thing hoping that you can use the 3 band EQ on it to Jerry-rig it into being a Jack of all trades, you need to return it right now. Sure it's versatile in it's own right, you can get some hard rock sounds along with almost clean boost type sounds (with a little bite of course) but this thing is meant to be a METAL PEDAL. It does one thing very very well, and some other things but not as well. I personally have the thing EQ'ed with the treble at about 10 or 11 o'clock, the mids at 11 (If you boost the mids too much, the pedal get's a bit noisy and nasally) the Bass at 3 o'clock (Chugga Chugga!) and the distortion at 1 or 2. (There's no reason too really crank it. The thing is crazy high gain even at lower settings)I also have my amplifier EQ'ed at 11 o'clock for Bass, 10 or 11 for Mids, and about 2 or 3 o'clock for treble (I like it boosted a bit, helps round out the sound. If you can EQ it right, you can get most of the famous artist's sounds, such as Disturbed, Metallica, PanterA, Megadeth, Damageplan, Killswitch Engage, etc. This thing was made too recreate these sounds, so I'm sure it can simulate many more. But I encourage you too find your own sound, and not copy a famous artists. // 9

Reliability & Durability: Just look at this thing...it's made of metal. you could run this thing over with a truck and keep playing it. I use it in gigs without a backup all of the time, so don't worry about it. but one crucially important note... Keep a fresh battery or an adapter in this thing at all times. This thing eats batteries, and if the battery is dying, then this thing will sound like it's dying too. // 10

Overall Impression: I play metal. Metal metal metal. And this thing is a dream come true. I'm not the richest person in the world, so I can't waste thousands of dollars on Mesa Boogies and Marshalls and Randalls, (I can however waste my money on an Orange Rockerverb. Muahahaha!) but this thing more than makes up for it. If you can EQ it right, then you are golden. Even the top boost function isn't useless. A lOT of people think that it is, but it just has a specific purpose. It's purpose is to push your signal in front of the mix. You shouldn't use it for anything else. If you use it for regular playing, then your tone will suck because that's not what it's meant to do. Other than that, this thing is a welcome edition to any pedal board. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Metal Muff With Top Boost Reviewed by: Aleksi, on december 02, 2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Ease of Use: It's fairly easy to get a nice sound out of it. The treble can be a bit much if you EQ it badly but it's not much of an issue. I was a bit disappointed that there was no manual, some presets would have been nice. I've learned to get the tones I want out of it and it's pretty much become my "must have" peice of gear. // 9

Sound: I run a B\.C\. Rich NT Jr. V (bridge pickup has been switched to a Seymour Duncan Blackout) into this pedal and then straight into the clean channel of a Marshall MG15DFX. The amp's pretty poor so I essentially use it as a power amp with the Metal Muff taking over the duties of a pre-amp. I've played it through various other amps during band practice such as the Peavey Classic and the Peavey Bandit and it's managed to push them to awesome tone. As I mentioned before the treble can be a bit much and I don't like having the Top Boost particularly high or it sounds a bit thin. Also when you change the volume setting: be prepared to have to tweak EVERYTHING else. I can get a very nice Children Of Bodom tone out of this, it improved the tone of my crappy amp massively, it now sounds better than a fair few amps that would cost me about 5 times as much as the pairing of this pedal and my amp. Settings I use are: Volume: 9 o'clock Top Boost: 9 o'clock Treble: 2 o'clock Mid: 4 o'clock Bass: 11 o'clock Distortion: 1 o'clock // 10

Reliability & Durability: I've had this pedal for about 2 years now and it's only had one issue and I suspect that was my fault. The power supply jack is broken so I can only use batteries. I think I might have run too many volts through it though so that might be my fault. I'd definitely use this without a backup, though I'd make sure to change the batteries before hand just in case... It'd really suck to be playing Live and have your batteries go. // 8

Overall Impression: I play metal and as the name suggests this is perfect for metal. I've played for around 3 years and I own a B\.C\. Rich NT Jr. V and a Marshall MG15DFX. If this pedal were stolen or lost I would definitely get a new one, it's pretty much the foundation of my tone and without it, it wouldn't sound like me playing. My favorite feature is the distortion, it just sounds really nice. I chose this because I had terrible tone and I'd heard good things about it. It had EQ settings too so that was a definite plus. I've compared it to other distortion pedals that my friends own, I'm not sure on names (one is a little Orange Boss one)and it's much better. One thing I wish this had was an option to neither boost nor lower the signal going through it. This would make it much easier to transition from distorted tones to clean tones without having to figure out the specific volume that matches the volume that your amp is currently set to. Another feature would be a noise gate, noise isn't a big issue but it'd just be something nice. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Metal Muff With Top Boost Reviewed by: Gio Ozkr, on november 12, 2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Ease of Use: How easy is it to get a good sound out of it? As easy as pluggin in, setting the knobs as you want and rock and roll. The manual is in such easy way that even someone that doesn't know english will get it. I don't really know if the unit has been upgraded. // 10

Sound: I'm using it with an Ibanez GRX40 Electric Guitar and with a Marshall MG15FX amp. It not noisy at all. I put all the knobs on high and it doesn't hum or nothing. The effects is not weak, is like a stampede of horses coming at you, strong and responsive. Yes I can get the sound of my favorite band, System of a Down, the guitarrist in that band has a unique, rich, meaty sound. The pedal is a distortion pedal with boost and it is just great. // 10

Reliability & Durability: I would definitely depend on it! I would use it on a gig without any kind of backup. This pedal is just great. It leaves you amazed with the sound that it delivers. It portatile because it is not that heavy and you can use it alone or with any other effects, but its a pedal that I would recomend to anyone. // 10

Overall Impression: I play hard rock, nu metal and so on and the pedal is just perfect for me, I have been playing for two years, I have A Ibanez GRX40 Electric Guitar, a Marshall MG15FX amp, a Vox Wah Pedal, a Danoelectro distortion pedal. I'm satisfied with this pedal theres nothing that I would ask about if I'm buying it again. If were stolen or lost I would get the same one right away. What I love about this Distortion Pedal is that its very easy to setup and to use, the sound that it delivers is awesome. I compare it with a Boss ML-2 Distortion Pedal and I chose this One cuz It is just great, good sound, and in a afordable price. I'm satisfied with this pedal so I wont ask for anything else from this pedal // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.5
Metal Muff With Top Boost Reviewed by: MaddMann274, on january 06, 2011
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 148

Purchased from: Bentley Music

Ease of Use: This pedal is actually pretty easy to use, but like every other effect pedal you have to play around with it to find the "perfect sound". This pedal has a Bypass(on/off switch), knobs for volume, distortion, 3 band eq(treble, mid and bass) and last but not least, top boost. // 9

Sound: I am currently using a Jackson RR3 guitar and unfortunately a Fender Frontman 15G amplifier, but surprisingly it sounds really good. You just have to try it to believe it. The distortion is pretty kick a$$, I can easily achieve sounds of Metallica, Iron Maiden and many more. What I especially love about this distortion pedal is the 'top boost'. What happens basically is it boosts the treble/highs to give you a mean sounding distortion. With it you can come real close to a Pantera like guitar sound. // 9

Reliability & Durability: This pedal is definitely durable, it has withstood many travels and stomping upon, and yet not a single scratch. With the amplifier I have currently I wouldn't plan on doing any gigs, but I would put my trust in this box of steel to do the job without fail. // 10

Overall Impression: The Metal Muff w/Top Boost certainly appeals to the type of music I play(Which is mostly metal and rock). Yes, It also sounds good when playing rock songs. I have been playing for over 4 years now, I tried many different distortion pedals, but this is my favorite out of all of them. If it were stolen or lost I would without a doubt buy it again. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Metal Muff With Top Boost Reviewed by: Blanco, on march 30, 2011
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: £ 60

Purchased from: GAK

Ease of Use: I brought this pedal quite a while ago when i was younger and still using a smallish marshall. The controls are really simple, just a three band eq, gain, volume and top boost. There are two robust metal foot switches attached to this aptly coloured metal casing. It has the standard 9v jack as well so you can use a power pack. Mine came in a nice box with instructions and a little EH leaflet on other products. // 10

Sound: I used it with a Marshall dfx, which is gladly out of my life now, with a ESP sc 607. You can basically get any sound from the pedal I found. Without the top boost on you get a very dirty chugish sound that would suit anything from heavy rock to Grunge styles of playing. With the top boost though you can quite easily get some really nice mid-ranged metal tones. I found pulling off the gain but keeping the top boost around the midway mark gave me a really nice sound without being to distorted and fizzy. My only draw back is that it does produce a fair amount of background noise while in the pedal chain. With a Boss ns-2 though that was completely covered. // 8

Reliability & Durability: Never had a problem with it. Hasn't broken once, no hick ups or anything. It's taken several heavy stomps from me and doesn't even have a scratch on it. I wish all my pedals were made like this. // 10

Overall Impression: For my style of playing it worked amazingly. At the time I was playing more parkway drive, as I lay dying sort of music and that high gain but still clear sound was what I was after. Now thought he pedal has been relegated because I'm playing through at Engl fireball which has enough gain and tightness for me. For the price and what it does this pedal is great. No regrets in buying it and I don't plan on selling it any time soon just incase I find another use for it. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.8
Metal Muff With Top Boost Reviewed by: unregistered, on february 20, 2012
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 90

Purchased from: Guitar Center

Ease of Use: This petal isn't the easiest to use. It can get great sounds but it takes a few minutes to eq it and adjust the sound. And it's manual has no presets in it. But after you learn how to get a decent sound, you can tweak it to make it great, and then you are good to go! // 7

Sound: It sounds great! I have a Fender Strat with a Seymour Duncan Hot Rail in the bridge position, and it sounds really good. I also play it through a Fender Mustang II amp, which is solid state, and it till sounds really good! The pedal has some noise when oh. Rank it though, and you NEED him buckets for this, or a noise suppressor. But my amp has built in noise suppressor. Either way it's not that noisy. // 9

Reliability & Durability: It's a tank. The bottom plate has 4 thick screws, and the metal is pretty thick. Its not gonna break. I would gig with it without a backup. BUT get a power supply, it eats batteries. Mine came with a EHX battery. But still, a power supply is necessary. // 10

Overall Impression: I spay Metallica, Slipknot, and even Nirvana. This pedal nails all of the sounds. I probably would buy another one of these if it were stolen. I live the EQ, you really can sculpt your distortion. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Metal Muff With Top Boost Reviewed by: Donkey Fly, on november 23, 2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 89.67

Purchased from: Shop

Ease of Use: The pedal has 6 knobs on it. Volume, top boost, treble, mid, bass and distortion. You should know what they all do. Top boost is like distortion/treble, turn it up it adds even more, turn it down and it has no effect. It's hard to comment on the ease because everyone has there own sound and it'll always take you time to get the sound you want so I'm not commenting on that really. It is easy to work though, just like any pedal except this has a top boost for added 'filth'. It comes with a manual with some specs for the thing and safety stuff, the usual. No presets but only Boss really do that. It runs ona 9V adapter or a 9V battery (Square one). The reason it gets a 8 is because you have to unscrew the back to put a battery in which can be a pain in the ass, but I use an adapter anyway. // 8

Sound: I use this through a Marshall MG100 (Don't flame me, I actually quite like it). Set up, Jackson DK2M/Morley Power Wah/Metal Muff/MXR Dist+/Boss CS-3. It isn't that noisy but there is noise, but it's a distortion pedal for christ sake, get over it. Fact is, the more gain you use the noisier it gets. The distortion is great. Very versatile, you can get an '80s hair metal crunch to a Death Metal thumping sound. I don't use the top boost much but if you want more gain, the top boost will do the trick. I have my own sound and so don't want to replicate any other artists. // 10

Reliability & Durability: It's built like a brick really. Very sturdy and it's made of metal. EHX have always made great pedals and so I can certainly be ensured that this thing will last me a long long while. I would definately without question use this without a backup at a gig. // 10

Overall Impression: I play metal/hard rock/neo-classical and it serves me very well. I can get a Metallica sound to a Yngwie/Iron Maiden sound from this. I like a sound in between really and this can deliver it well. I've been playing almost 3 years and own a lot of gear really, I can't be arsed listing it though. If this was stolen I'd probably try and get another or get the thing back! I comapred this to the Boss MT-2 which I owned before which was terrible to be honest. This thing surpasses it in all fronts. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Metal Muff With Top Boost Reviewed by: cjb2293, on december 10, 2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 100

Purchased from: Guitar Center

Ease of Use: The sound from this product is excellent, I highly recommend this for anyone Who is serious about their guitar playing. It is incredibly easy to use and after a little bit of getting used to, you can make all kinds of great distortion sounds from it. Whether your looking to get a clear rock sound or a nice metal tone this pedal will do it. It came with a small manual to help you figure out what all the different knobs and things on the pedal did and it was extremely helpful. // 9

Sound: I currently use an Epiphone SG, Marshall HDFX100 half stack, Boss TU-2 tuning pedal, and a Crybaby Slash Wah Pedal with it. It doesn't make my wah sound bad or rob any of my guitars tone. Overall this pedal is awesome. It can become a little noisy if you crank the top boost and distortion all the way up, but it is an overwhelming amount of distortion that you probably would not need. When I have it on without the top boost and I play (with the current settings I have on it) I can get the same tone as Synyster Gates from Avenged Sevenfold, and Slash from Guns N' Roses. // 10

Reliability & Durability: I would say that the pedal is a very reliable pedal. I can easily go to a gig with my band and trust that this thing will get the job done. Whether it's a short gig or a 2 hour gig I know this pedal would get you through the whole thing while it kept it's excellent tone. You don't have to worry about taking a backup pedal or anything like that for the gig. This pedal alone for the distortion is great. Maybe buy a few other pedals for the performance like a Boss TU-2 tuning pedal or others that will help you on stage. // 9

Overall Impression: Overall this pedal is fantastic. I play mostly metal and 80's rock and this pedal produces some of the best tones for it. I've only played for about two years, but I know how to play a few descently challenging solos, and when I play the solo for Sweet Child O' Mine by Guns N' Roses or the solos for any of the Avenged Sevenfold tunes, this pedal does an amazing job for me. When I first bought this pedal I had been looking at many others to decide what I should get, and I compared it to a few Boss pedals and such and I just fell in love with this thing at guitar center. I highly recommend you get this pedal! // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Metal Muff With Top Boost Reviewed by: metal jello, on december 19, 2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 100

Purchased from: The Music Store

Ease of Use: This thing shreds! It is pretty easy to get really good tone that can burn people's face off. The only thing is, and I think this happens in most pedals, is that you have to turn your amp all the way down at first because this thing has so much gain, it makes your guitar loud! First time I plugged it in it was screaming melting tone. There is no manual, but this thing is a piece of cake to use. Mine is a newer one, but hasn't been modified or fixed in anyway. It doesn't even need any extra things. One thing that will probably help is to get a noise suppressor with it. // 10

Sound: This amp is screaming and wailing with tone that Burns people to a smoldering pile of soot. Yeah, it's that good. It is a little noisy when you use the top boost. The distortion is amazing and the boost is so-so. You can get Metallica, Pantera (especially w/ the top boost), Megadeth, and pretty much any one else's sound. The top boost is kinda noisy, but you honestly won't need it. Crazy tone, and crazy value. // 10

Reliability & Durability: So dependable. I wouldn't need backup anytime. This thing is die-cast metal and is very sturdy. I honestly haven't had any problems at all. I would bring an extra battery, that is unless you use the adapter cable. I prefer using batteries for less ground noise. Put this pedal to the metal! This is built like a tank and has the power of one. Trust me, this thing is reliable and can be trusted like a brother. You can trust this thing with your purse. // 10

Overall Impression: I play heavy metal (the good ol' '80s stuff) and hard rock. This is a perfect match made in heaven. I play this with a Gibson Explorer and I usually use it with bass amps to get a MAJOR bass boost that rattles walls. I wish I had a noise suppressor so the top boost will be a little quieter. If it were stolen I would hunt down that person and shove a fire place poker in their head. I love the insane tone and their is nothing really bad about it at all. Nothing compares to this great pedal. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Metal Muff With Top Boost Reviewed by: unregistered, on january 05, 2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 112.56

Purchased from: George's Music

Ease of Use: I got one of these babies for Christmas, and boy I'll tell you, it gets the job done. There's no software or firmware (unlike my PODXT Live, which can be a total pain to use sometimes). So it takes minimal knowledge to control and find tones with this pedal. Great pedal but I wasn't impressed with the manual. It comes with a yellow sheet of paper with very basic, basic, notes on how to use the product. // 8

Sound: I use this as so: ESP LTD F-50 with DiMarzio Evolution bridge and Air Norton neck pickups - good quality cable - Metal Muff - good quality cable - Carvin SX-300 solid state head - Ibanez ISC412 cab. It really makes a difference when you use good, sturdy cables, otherwise you end up with scratchy noises and fuzz when you motion around. It keeps its clean as long as you are conservative with the EQ and Top Boost (a great feature). You can blast the distortion all the way with close to 0 feedback. The distortion is just as intense at 5 or 6 as it is 10 though. Great professional quality distortion. I am able to mimic my favorite metal bands (Dio, Iron Maiden, PanterA, Metallica, Ozzy) it's the real deal! Sounds great with/without Top Boost, and the boost comes in handy when you need it (solos, leads, whole songs). A raging pedal. // 10

Reliability & Durability: Yes this thing is built like a tank, heavy metal sound encased in heavy metal! I would deffinitly use this at a gig (and just did over the weekend) without a backup. Very strong, stomp your heart out of it, it will look the same as it did the day you bought it. Very durable, knobs too! The only flaw with it, is that it does not come with an adapter, so I would give your budget a little bit of leeway so you can run to radio shack and buy one. It does seem to have an integrated short-life battery, I always keep it plugged in (it cannot run off of batteries such as 9 volts, or any kind in that matter) my adapter shorted in the middle of a show and it kept it's life for a good solid 2 hours. If you don't have it charged it sounds like a Behringer pedal. // 9

Overall Impression: I play metal, rock, and ska. This thing is deffinitly the best pedal I have ever purchased, I would suggest you getting one! I have been playing for about 3 years, and I'm in a band. I own a POD Xt Live, and the sounds don't compare to this, it's it's own pedal (Metal Muff) it's not replicating anything but it's own sound! No regrets. If this were stolen, I would kill the person and buy a new one. I love the pedal, favorite out of various pedals and even amp distortions. I compared this to a DS-1, PODs, ProCo RAT's, DigiTech Pedals, nothing comes close! A cool feature would be a noise filter (built-in) that automatically adjusts to your settigs. Also an adapter would be nice. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
Metal Muff With Top Boost Reviewed by: ScruffMcGruff, on january 07, 2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Ease of Use: This pedal's controls are very up front, and you'll know exact what to do with it out of the box. It puts the knobs in your face, each one does it's job well and you can notice quite a difference with each of the different tone controls. Anyone could be given this and not be overwhelmed with the controls. // 10

Sound: This pedal is very versatile and produces many different metal tones, Metallica, Scorpions, Ratt, (AC/DC, not metal, but this pedal is certainly good at doing AC/DC) and many others. You can really scoop those mids with this thing's tone controls and if you want that extra crunch, the top boost button is the way to go. Every tone I've tried on this pedal, I've come to love. // 10

Reliability & Durability: Looks very sturdy, made of metal, but I haven't really "tested" its durability to be sure about how destructible it is, but it definitely looks like it can take a beating if it has to. If I absolutely HAD to nit Pick about it though, it has plastic knobs (plastic = weak), but I truly don't care, since when has a knob been the most important component of a distortion pedal? // 7

Overall Impression: Overall, veerry good pedal, I got this pedal expecting to get one certain tone out of it, and got much more, which is great. It's good for any particular style of metal you want to do, If you want to do good chunky rhythm, it can do it, if you want a scorching hot lead, it's made for that too. In my opinion, if you can't afford really expensive gear at the moment and you want the best bang for the buck, get this pedal! // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.8
Metal Muff With Top Boost Reviewed by: AndyTucker, on september 19, 2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 105

Purchased from: Musicstop

Ease of Use: To get a good tone out of this pedal, all you have to do is sit down for 10 mintues, plug it in, and fool around with the dials until you find something you like. No matter what you do with it, it always has a really metal sound, and can go from deep, bone crushing metal to high, head splitting shred in a second with the top boost. I've never recorded with it yet, and no manuals really came with it, but it's a really great distortion pedal and it was totally worth the investment. // 8

Sound: I'm using an Epiphone SG and a Line 6 Spider III amp (don't laugh at me)and it's only nosing when you have the top boost on and turned up too high. The sound is consistantly good, but just to stay fresh I mess aroun with it every now and then. It can realy nail the tones in certain Metallica songs (which is what I mostly play) and and the distortion ranges from light rock distortion to Death Metal distortion. // 8

Reliability & Durability: This pedal hasn't let me down yet, just make sure you use a decent type of batteru for it. If you're using an adapter cable, then you're set to go. you can play any show, anywhere, with this pedal, and not need a backup in my opinion. But, if you leave it plugged in for a long time, the battery gets drained quickly. // 7

Overall Impression: I play a lot of Metallica and other not quite so insane metal, and hard rock. This pedal is perfect for all that. I've been playing for about a year and a half now, but I can play better than almost everyone Who has been playing just as long as me. I only have an Epiphone SG and a Line 6 spider amp III, along with a Jimi Hendrix custom wah pedal, but it's all served me well so far, especially this Metal Muff. I have no regrets about buying it, and all questions I needed answered were taken care of before I bought the pedal. I think if I lost it or it was stolen, I'd have to buy a new one. I've tested on a few of my friends pedals, and the metal muff is the only one that really works well with me. I love the fact that it has so many different tones suitable for any type of metal or rock you want to play, and how easy it is to change them. I can't find anything to complain about it either. I never compared it to anything else before I bought it, but afterwards you tested it against some of my friends Boss pedals. The muff came out on top, for me. If I could add one feature, it would probably some added effects, besides just the awesome distortion. but that's being crazy and also greedy. So, the muff is perfect as it is. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Metal Muff With Top Boost Reviewed by: eyebanez333, on december 11, 2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 50

Purchased from: ebay

Ease of Use: This pedal is perfect for anybody Who love metal. It has a 3-band EQ built in, as well as the top boost. Fairly simple to set up, even if it is your first pedal. Control knobs from left to right are as follows: Distortion, Bass, Mid, Treble, Top Boost, Volume. The top boost is on a separate Switch so you can kick that in to play solos. // 10

Sound: I use this pedal with a Peavey Windsor, and a Crate V18 when I'm just practicing at home. The distortion that you get out of this pedal is amazing. You can replicate just about any modern metal bands sound with it. Really hard to put the sound into words. Check out some of the review videos online and you will see what I mean! // 10

Reliability & Durability: I've only had this pedal for 6 months or so, but I got it used so I'm not sure how old it is. I have gigged a couple of times with it already and so far so good. This thing is constructed like a tank so I'm sure it will stand up to a lot of abuse. // 10

Overall Impression: I play rock and metal, and this pedal is a perfect match for both. I've been playing guitar now for a few years and I've owned a couple of other distortion stompboxes and none of them really came close to this one. If it were lost or stolen I would definitely buy another one, especially if I could fine one as cheap as this one. I have tried many other distortion pedals in the past... and none compare to the Metal Muff. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Metal Muff With Top Boost Reviewed by: cobaindrix, on december 19, 2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: A$ 260

Purchased from: Red Hot Music

Ease of Use: well if you know even a little bit about EQ'ing, you will be able to make a decent metal tone in a few minutes, with half an hour, it'll be near perfect. It's really simple to use, provided you know a little bit about tone. It didn't come with a 9v adapter (! ) but it had a battery in it. Basically, all you have to do to start enjoying some some delicious metal sounds it's turn it on and start tweaking the knobs. // 9

Sound: Used with a Epi Les Paul standard, into a old Boss tube amp (LOVE IT! ) I was surprised by how metal it sounded! I've previously owned a Boss Mega distortion, which has very high gain, but it gives more of a sludgy, muddy distortion which is great for doom or Grunge and leads, but the Metal Muff gives that really crisp, sharp edged distortion of a 'metal' tone. Even on an amp that sounds muddy and bluesy, I squeezed a Pantera-esque tone out of the pedal almost straight away. It had a lot less feedback than my Boss pedal too, even on full blast. The top bost feature really cuts through like a blade. I was testing it out in the shop, and the guy Who works in the store was amazed at the amout of cutting power it had up high. If you need to be heard through the mix for a solo, it's a really useful feature. The only thing I noticed was when soloing up high with the top boost, it has an almost digital sound to it, like a (gasp) line6 tone. This may be the desired thing, I'm not sure, I'm just used to a more muddy, sludgy tone up high. No matter how low you set the distortion level, it's still strong, so I would recomend this pedal for anyone Who plays thrash, death, groove or other metal. It really makes riffs chainsaw through the speaker. // 9

Reliability & Durability: Its Huge and made of something tough. It probably wouldn't be good to drop it, but if you did, it would most likely still work. It isn't the kind of fiddly little thing you would have to worry about failing during a performance. I would actually be perfect for gigs, as the top boast can be kicked on with your foot when you need to bust out your solo, you don't have to lean over your amp and start adjusting volume/tone (it happened to me during the solo for Cowboys From Hell a while ago before I got this pedal, I couldn't hear myself and screwed it up)It seems very reliable. // 10

Overall Impression: I mainly play blues or ultra crazy metal of all kinds, and anywhere in between. It definately lends itself more to the crazy side of metal. I figure that due to the currency conversion rate, it would be worth maybed 150-200 dollars but, but because of the price I paid ($260 Australian), I'm slightly annoyed at the price, and would probably get one off ebay if I had to buy another. Bottom line, it's perfect for sculpting all-out ball-tearing brutal metal tones. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.5
Metal Muff With Top Boost Reviewed by: thrasher_s, on december 22, 2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 47

Purchased from: eBay

Ease of Use: With all of the knobs at the 12 o'clock, it actually sounds great. Tweaking from there is easy if you keep in mind that the EQ knobs are very sensitive. A little turn changes the sound quite a bit, so take it slow. This is a more complicated pedal than most with the word "Metal" in the name. With all of the EQ knobs at 12 o'clock, it works like a plain stompbox with just volume and distortion controls. Add in the sensitive EQ, and it's much more customizable. // 8

Sound: I am running this with a 100W modified Mesa Boogie DC-10 and an Ibanez S with EMG pickups. I run it through the clean channel, so the pedal is actually quieter than my lead channel w/o the pedal. I wouldn't use this pedal for anything other than metal. It doesn't like to sound nice. My only complaint is that there is a hint of "tinnynes" and the pedal sounds thinner than the lead channel on my amp, but this amp makes any Marshall sound weak. I am not a big fan of the top boost. It works fine, but I keep the knob at 30% max and use it sparingly. // 8

Reliability & Durability: 100% dependable if you don't abuse it too much. The case is solid. The indicator lights are bright. The knobs seem well made. Haven't tried it on battery power. The only possible weakness is the buttons themselves. But they are replaceable. Stomp, but don't jump on the pedal from off of a stage monitor or something. Definitely reliable, so buy one used and save some cash. // 9

Overall Impression: I use this pedal specifically for playing on my big amp at quieter volumes, and only for metal. It really wakes up a tube amp that isn't cranked but I think that the amp alone sounds better when let off the leash. 100% recommended for "quiet" playing and small gigs. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
Metal Muff With Top Boost Reviewed by: unregistered, on march 17, 2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: £ 58

Ease of Use: I took it out of the box, plugged it in, put all the knobs up to 12 o clock, and started playing. I thought the sound was amazing. Soon afterwards, not so amazing. It sounded weak. I started messing around with the settings on my amp and the pedal, and eventually got a great metal sound. When I got it outh the next time, some of the knobs had moved position, and the sound was lost. The EQ knobs are very sensitive, especially the bass. I now right down my settings. It has two foot switches, which are very strong, the obvious bypass Switch, turning the effect on and off, and also the top boost Switch. This cool little feature puts up the treble, so you can cut through like during solos, etc. It is very good, but if turned up, is utterly ear-piercing, so keep it diald down! It also has a volume knob, a tob boost knob, distortion, Treble, Mid and Bass. There isn't much of a manual with it, it would have been nice if they had given you some better ones. It also comes with a DVD, showing you some of Electro-Harmonix's other fine pedals. // 7

Sound: I use an Epiphone SG and a Peavey Rage 258, and it sounds great, and my amp is crap. I've tried it on a Vox AD30VT and it blew me away. The distortion has a great bottom-end crunch to it and sounds very full. I found it at first to be quite hard to get a good sound out of, but eventually got there. It can easily sound too trebley or bassy. I normally have my bass at 3 oclock, my mids at 10, and my treb at 2. You have to be careful when adjusting your settings, as it can mess up your whole sound. But when you get that sound, the Metal Muff screams. It is absolute bliss to any thrash metal player's ears that are worth their salt. The effects can sound bad if you're not sure how to set the EQ knobs, but sounds great when you get it. There is always the constant buzz in the background but it doesn't bother me. Many metal players like to scoop their mids real low, but I think it sounds better with them up. It is one of the best distortion sounds I have seen come out of a pedal for this price. You can get lots of metal artists sound, I think you can get a great Tallica tone out of it. // 9

Reliability & Durability: Three words. Hard as nails. I seriously don't think that there is much, bar opening it up and messing with the electronics inside, that you could do that would harm it any way. It has a very sturdy-feeling metal case, as well as switches and knobs. I would definetely gig with it, but not without an A/C adapter, as the battery can give way at any time. It doesn't eat through a decent battery by any means though, I've had one in for about 3-4 months, using it every night. I've had mine about 7 months, and there isn't a nick or scratch on it. It is definetely a reliable pedal, and has never stopped working or anything like that. // 10

Overall Impression: I play thrash stuff, Metallica and Megadeth, but also lighter stuff like Pearl Jam. It suit's them both beautifully, like it was made to your specifications. I've been playing guitar for about five years, and the is the best distortion pedal I have seen yet. I also own a POD Studio UX1, which I can plug the Muff into, and record my desired sound easily, and a George Dennis Wah, which sounds great with it. I think it is probably the best 60 quid I have invested in anything ever. If someone stole it, I would track them them down, tie them up, bash them around with the a as a weapon, then go and make sweet, sweet love to it. Alternately, I would buy it again. I love it's flexibility and it's ability to get your desired tone, but which that the EQ knobs weren't so sensitive, and the Top Boost wasn't so ear piercing, although this is one of my favourite features if used at a low setting. I think it knocks out all the other 'metal' pedals out at the moment, Metal Zone, Metal Master, etc. I would definetely recommend it to anyone who is into thrash metal, or even punk and hard rock. It is quite hard to push it as far is it can go if you are a beginner, but great for intermediate or advanced players. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Metal Muff With Top Boost Reviewed by: unregistered, on november 04, 2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 90

Purchased from: Guitar Center

Ease of Use: It is very easy to get the sound that you are looking for. There are 6 controls that are similar to any other amplifier that you would use. So if you're able to figure out how to use the settings on your amp than it will be easy with this too. The top boost just gives you a more treble sound, which can be good for playin leads when you are playing Live. // 10

Sound: When I got this pedal I was looking for a good scooped sound that would also sound good when playing leads. I tried out the Boss MetalCore and that sounded great for rythem guitar because it had a good low-end, but my leads sounded like shit because of how bassy it was. I tried the Metalzone and that sounded too tinny. The Digitechs obviously sounded too digital. But When I tried the Metal Muff it sounded like my Fender Princeton turned into a Mesa Boogie instantly. And unlike the Boss pedals, it kept the origional tone of my SG. I like to play music from bands like Pantera, Avenged Sevenfold, Smashing Pumkins, Alice in Chains, Blink 182, Green Day, Five Finger Death Punch, Slipknot, GNR, All That Remains, and I can get all of those settings that I want from this pedal. This is a VERY versatile pedal(unless you are playin like Led Zeppelin or the Beatles). You should just use your amps distortion if you are playing that. If you want a good Pantera sound, have treble all the way up, Bass 3/4, Mid 1/4, Gain 3/4. If you have gain all the way up it can get a little out of hand. If you want a punchy sound than just turn the distortion down and Bass to about half way and crank the mids. The top boost is very useful when you want Dimebag's solo tone. Just don't have top boost up too high because it can get really loud. // 10

Reliability & Durability: This is built like a tank. Nothing has gone wrong with it yet(have had it for a year). I would Definately buy a power supply. Although you WILL be able to play a Live show with just the battery alone. My battery died after about two weeks. You don't need a backup. // 10

Overall Impression: I love this pedal. It is perfect for The Music I play. When I first tried it I thought it would be too fuzzy because of the word Muff, but that isn't the case at all. If it were stolen I would definately buy it again. If you want a quality distortion pedal that can play pretty much anything(ESPECIALLY METAL) GET THIS! Don't waste your money on those fake sounding Boss and DigiTech pedals. I've done it before. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Metal Muff With Top Boost Reviewed by: unregistered, on january 06, 2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 99.99

Purchased from: Guitar Center

Ease of Use: The 3 band EQ only took me a couple of minutes to mess around with, I wouldn't recommended this to people who've never messed with EQ settings but its simple enough for people with some experience. The manuel wasn't very helpful, there wasn't alot on there but its not hard to mess with the EQ. Other than that its pretty simple, Volume knob, top boost control, treble, mid, bass EQ and a distortion knob, all this stuff makes this pedal pretty versitile. // 9

Sound: I'm running this pedal through a 15W Peavey Rage 158 amp with my trusty Peavey Vortex exp, and this pedal just rips! It can get a bit of a hiss with a high gain setting but you don't really notice it when you're going through your chops. The effect is a very good toned heavy metal distortion. It never gets weaker and it is perfect for my favortite bands, Metallica, Megadeth, and a whole lot of Ozzy. Overall the sound of this pedal is the best heavy metal sound I've used so far. Top boost is good if you want a little extra treble to bring out your solo but if its too high then it can get a bit screechy. // 9

Reliability & Durability: This thing is built like a tank, it is tough! You can depend on this sucker on the road. Stomping on it won't do a thing, for all the time I've had it I haven't needed to replace any parts or have it repaired. Even though its realiable it's always good to have a backup in case something happens. Even though you don't need it. // 10

Overall Impression: I've been playing heavy metal and classic rock for about 2 years now. I've gone through my fair share of pedals and so far this is my favorite. But the only thing I wish this pedal had is a frequency knob, that would've made this pedal perfect in my opinion. If this were lost or stolen, boy I'd be pissed...But then I'd go to guitar center and get another one. I love the heavy distortion and its versitility but the Top boost can get a bit nasty if its up too high. Compared to the Boss ML-2 I traded it in for, its way better, I see this pedal with me for a long time. But this thing is horrible for classic rock, don't try playing Pink Floyd with this! // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.5
Metal Muff With Top Boost Reviewed by: unregistered, on may 03, 2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: £ 70

Purchased from: Guitar Guitar Glasgow

Ease of Use: Very easy to use and can get a good variety of sounds from the start. Good manual explaining some nice presets. For me it soudns best at first point of signal path and coupled with Boss delay and chrous it kicks things up into adifferent league for good lead sounds with a Les Paul. // 10

Sound: Have ran this through Marshall Valvestat and it was a pretty solid Distorion coupled with a Les Paul Custom-changed amp to Vox AC30 and sound was so much more balanced, not too much low end or high end. Have used it through variety of marshal Cabs and heads in rehearsal studios and it's relatively easy to get good sounds from this pedal even when changing over amps-although have used it with a Line 6 head and it sounded awful. Little amount of hiss or fuzz when pedal is on and not playing and I find it easy to balance low, mid and high end in mix of band I'm presently with. Use it mainly on rhythm parts but it sounds really good for solos as well. Playing mainly heavy/classic/rock bordering on a bit of metal at times and this is a solid pedal for this, do use a Boss Digital Delay with this peadl for some solos and it gives it a beautiful big open sound. Only issue I have is the top boost-despite hours of trying to get a good sound from this I just can't, don't know if this is the pedal of if it's just me and my setup but otherwise a great pedal. // 9

Reliability & Durability: Have had this for close to five years without any issues and use it on a near daily basis along with regular travels to rehearsal and gigs, it has never failed me but I do use power suppply for this. My fellow rhythm guitarist uses a Boss metal zone and this pedal doesn't overwhelm her sound and provides a nice balance for overall band sound. It's a solid piece if kit which has tolerated me stomping away on it with little cosemtic damage. // 10

Overall Impression: Good match for classic rock distortions and heavier music with plenty of variety in sounds you can get but do find it sounds awful through more modern emulator amps clean sounds - if you're looking to use this try it with good old cabinets and heads first to hear how awesome it sounds. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
Metal Muff With Top Boost Reviewed by: jma1111, on february 20, 2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 90

Purchased from: Guitar Center

Ease of Use: It takes a while to EQ it just right to get the sound you want, but it does sound good. There is a manual for it, but I wish it had presets in it for the pedal. It takes a while to get setting how you want, but record them down on paper and once you have a good starting point, you can experiment with sound. // 8

Sound: I have a Strat with a Seymour Duncan Hot Rail in the bridge, and a stock Strat pickup in the neck and middle position. It sounds amazing and very metal like with my Duncan, and in the middle/neck it sounds really low and kind of fuzzy with low distortion settings. It is really noisy with the single coil pickups, obviously, but if you have distortion lower on the pedal, the single coils sound nice. Now for the humbucking Seymour Duncan, there is NO noise, unless the distortion is on max, then there is a little. The distortion is not weak, in fact at the lowest level, it is still pretty darn crunchy. This pedal is great for Metallica to Slipknot, BUT it is also good for other things like Nirvana and stuff like that with a lot of distortion. The mid range control is very helpful for scooping and the bass is VERY strong. Set your amp eq flat, and sculpt it with the pedal only. The volume control really can make your amp scream. The top boost switch is okay. I keep it really low, if its too high, it sound kind of bad. But other than that, its great. OH and this pedal sounds good with solid state amps! // 9

Reliability & Durability: Oh yes. This pedal is built to last. I would definately depend on it, and gig without a backup. BUT GET A POWER SUPPLY! Its not easy on batteries, especially with the top boost on. It is all metal casing, and has 4 pretty thick screws in the back panel, and has 4 small rubber feet. The batterie is located behind the back pannel. Its really sturdy. // 10

Overall Impression: Playing metal, rock, grunge, and really anything heavy, this petal is a perfect match for me. I would definitely buy another if it were stolen. I love the Equalizer, especially the mid control, like for metal I usually scoop the mids down, but for nirvana I boost them up! If you have a solid state amp get this and noth the Metal Core, It sounds bad on solid state, but the Metal Muff Is Great on all amps! // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Metal Muff With Top Boost Reviewed by: m4te, on march 26, 2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: € 85

Purchased from: local store

Ease of Use: As for ease of use, it is probably not so easily usable by absolute beginners, but for everyone that is experienced with using pedals and tweaking the sound on his amp+effect won't really have problem with this pedal. You just keep the volume and the EQ at default, set your desired distortion and tinker the sound with the super-powerful EQ. Setting it up for a good sound wasn't a problem at all for me, although I'm used to effect pedals. But yeah, as for first pedal for some beginner, it may seem hard to get a desired sound. // 8

Sound: I am using it with my Cort M600 through my Yamaha G50-112, and also Peavey Rage 258. The Peavey one is pretty bad sounding, but with this charm (Metal Muff goodness) it becomes pretty damn good. It really can turn even the cheapest guitar with the cheapest amplifier to a very, very good sounding metal stuff. The Duncan Designed pickups on my Cort produce very full sound, which just adds to the great feeling of the pedal - the sound is so heavy and full, really super-pleasure to hear. My bandmates are constantly getting ear-orgasms when I play through this. Variability: you can get literally tons of different sounds just by turning the distortion knob, I mean everything from country/distorted blues to some brutal death metal. If you add the very powerful and effective EQ, you get even more sounds, which will sound perfect and full to your ears. The EQ does really a great job, I always tinker my sound to my personal needs in just that moment, and I've never been disappointed by it. On some cheaper distortion/metal pedals, you could notice, that when you play more notes, they loose their individual tones and sound just like a mess. Needless to say, this is really not an issue of this one. Even when you play an open chord, you can feel the tones very well. As for noise, I'm using it with 300mA adapter, although you should use 200mA, so it really makes high volume noticeable noise when you don't play. On the battery, however, it is totally silent, so I guess I should get 200mA adapter. I play mostly Megadeth, and this pedal can suit every album, from the oldest ones, to the new. // 10

Reliability & Durability: I have it only for a short time and take care of it, but it feels really really good, the build quality seems very well and overally, I think it would survive even some harder drops and kicks, so I would definitely use it on a gig without backup, since I can't afford a backup. Even though it feels nice, I can't give it 10, because I didn't test it's durability. // 9

Overall Impression: I'm playing... Wait for it... Metal! Many kinds in fact, from some slow ballads, through some punkish styles on to older and newer thrash metal and ending with some black metal like Cradle Of Filth from time to time. It fits everything perfectly. The thing I like on this box is the EQ, which is super effective and super powerful, if you tinker with it a little bit, you can easily get that perfect sound your ears need. It has really breathtaking and very full and heavy sound, which can even move to compact if you like/need it. The surprising thing about it is the fact, that it can Drive literally any guitar to, or at least really close to metal sound heaven. I have tried it on a Peavey Rage Plus EXP, my previous guitar, which is really weak and the pickups are really bad, and it still sounded great through this effect. And not to forgot to mention the top boost, which I don't really use a lot, but I like to have the option to use it. It can be used to cut through the whole group on soloing and stuff like that, you just need to keep it low, as it will sound terrible on higher settings. So just to say it again, it is perfect and you will enjoy every single tone you play with it. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Metal Muff With Top Boost Reviewed by: ValHazard, on march 30, 2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: £ 65

Purchased from: Amazon

Ease of Use: It wasn't particularly easy nor was it particularly hard to get a good tone out of this thing. With a bit of patience you can get any metal and just about any kind of rock tone. The knobs are pretty sensitive so if you move one of them just a little bit you're most likely somewhere else entirely. // 8

Sound: I'm using this on a Roland Cube 15XL which is far from being the best metal amp on the market... Even on the Cube 15 this thing is a beast. I got it cause I wasn't happy with the distortion on my Cube which sounds quite flat and lifeless and isn't very customizable at all. The Muff does all the above very well though, It's highly customizable and has some real kick to it, there's no hissing or anything, it's completely silent both on a battery and with an adapter... It can be quite soft or it can sound like a lion gargling broken glass and acid and I can only imagine what it sounds like on a proper good amp. I've only had it for 2 days now but so far I was able to replicate stuff ranging from rock to death and black metal. I'm also using it with a cheap Behringer DD600 delay pedal and I must say that together they can do a pretty mean black metal tone... So far the Muff handled Led Zeppelin, AC/DC, Metallica, Emperor, Carcass, Slayer, Iron Maiden, Municipal Waste, The Offspring quite well... I'm sure it can do a lot better with a better amp but all things considering I am quite impressed with it so far. // 9

Reliability & Durability: It's Solid Metal and it looks like it can handle an A Bomb. I only had it 2 days so I can't really tell how reliable it actually is but it looks like a tank, all the knobs are solid heavy duty plastic, everything is solid, nothing looks like it could break off... Ever... It runs on a 9V battery which goes underneath the Muff and getting to it was a bit of a pain in the arse cause it has 4 screws you need to unscrew. The downside is that the battery that came with it only lasted me a single day but I did keep it plugged in the amp and apparently it still eats up the battery even if it's turned off but plugged in. I do recommend an adapter. // 10

Overall Impression: So I mainly play... Metal... Of course but actually I play anything that can be played with a guitar... Blues, punk, rock, ballads, whatever... The Muff is most suited to playing the heavier kinds of metal but it can do other stuff as well, especially if you mix it with some delay and reverb. The only thing I wish it had was a way to save a few presets at least and switch through them but hey, nothing's perfect. The only other distortion pedal I owned was a Zoom (can't remember the model) multi effect which was absolutely awful and sounded like crap and the build in Boss effects my Roland Cube has and the Muff blows them away... Blowing away a 15 watt modelling amp and a crappy multi effect pedal isn't saying much but for my needs (practicing, doing covers, playing with my mates, having fun) it's a brilliant little piece of kit. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
Metal Muff With Top Boost Reviewed by: unregistered, on june 13, 2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Ease of Use: I plugged the stompbox straight in when I got it home and within less than half an hour of EQ'ing I had found the exact sound I was looking for. The knobs are clearly labelled enough to not require any manual reading whatsoever - this pedal is one of the easiest pedals to use that I have ever come across! // 9

Sound: I run an Epiphone SG with high gain DiMarzios in both the neck and bridge position (I can't remember the exact pickup models off the top of my head) through the pedal into a Marshall MG30 solid state combo amp. With this simple practise setup I was able to achieve a very bass-heavy Death/Doom sound similar to the likes of Asphyx, Hooded Menace and Autopsy, and with some tweakage I also managed to get a very traditional doom sound that was somewhat reminiscent of "Dopethrone" era Electric Wizard. I'm currently in the market for a better amp set up too so I'm sure I'll be able to coax some even meatier sludgy tones out of it with significant ease! The top boost is a great feature that gave me a very smooth lead tone which, while having a massive bottom end gave great articulation of every note without being overly bright or tinny. There is some buzz when not playing, however the pedal, luckily enough, utilizes true bypass technology which means in a gigging situation you can very easily bypass the pedal between songs and it will remain dead silent. // 10

Reliability & Durability: The pedal is quite clearly a hard wearing stompbox - it is made out of what I assume is either steel or aluminium and it looks and feels ready to take a beating from a pair of heavy boots. It has a very reassuring heaviness to it that certainly at least gives an impression of extreme durability. I would be more than happy to use it for gigging purposes without a backup as I cannot imagine it stopping working in a hurry. I would advise using a 9V power supply rather than batteries however as such a high gain pedal will surely drain batteries at high speeds. // 10

Overall Impression: I personally play death metal (The likes of Bloodbath, Cannibal Corpse, Morbid Angel and some more brutal stuff like Defeated Sanity and Cerebral Bore), doom metal (anything from St. Vitus and Candlemass, to Warning and 40 Watt Sun, right through to Triptykon and Winter), Thrash and black metal. So far I have only tried for a more death metal and doom oriented, bass heavy sound, however I am more than confident it will be able to handle Thrash and black metal without any difficulty. I have been playing for a little over 3 years and certainly don't have the gear setup that I desire, however this pedal has certainly pushed me in the right direction towards feedback drenched doomy Mecca. I would replace the pedal without second thought if it were to be lost or stolen. I have used a big muff in the past which is also a great pedal, however the metal muff can achieve similar tones while also allowing more heavily palm muted, chuggy rhythm playing to sound excellent in its own right. Sorry for focussing so much on how great a doom sound it has provided me with, however I am primarily a doom guitarist and I'm sure atleast a couple of people reading this will be too. Regardless of your taste in subgenres I'm sure this pedal will provide any metal player with a sound they will love! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Metal Muff With Top Boost Reviewed by: METAL JEFF, on july 23, 2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 50

Purchased from: Some dude

Ease of Use: Very easy to use pedal, straight forward, no manual needed. There are basically 3 channels as I call them. Bypass (clean), distortion and Top Boost. Bypass for clean, distortion for heavy riffs and top boost for solos or harmonizing. I believe this metal monster is easier to use that most pedals because the controls are so big and easily tweaked. // 10

Sound: I use this with a variety of guitars but mainly with a Fender Frontman 25R amp with Eminence bass driver to give it huge bass.It's not noisy at all. You can really dial in your own true metal sound, the sound that's all yours. This pedal can do that, it's almost unlimited in the realm of metal sound. You can for get a Dimebag tone out of it, no problem. I have mine set to sound a little Dime and a James Hetfield, right in between. Sweet metal! // 10

Reliability & Durability: I have only had this until 2 days now and the only problem I have noticed is me.When switching from Bypass to distortion or distortion to top boost, it was kind of struggle it's way to the change but I think it was me not letting the switch freely disengage with my foot. If not and the unit is messed up I will definitely buy a new one, that's how impressed I am with it. // 10

Overall Impression: I play metal only, Iron Maiden, Metallica, Avenged Sevenfold, Volbeat, System Of A Down. I've been play since 1983 and have tried just about every pedal available in my long and epic musical career. I own a Boss MT2 and I love that pedal too but it just does not compare to this Metal Muff. If you play metal do yourself a solid and Pick one up, you can create the metal sound of your dreams. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
Metal Muff With Top Boost Reviewed by: JesusGuitars14, on october 12, 2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 80

Purchased from: Instrumentos Allegro (Venezuela)

Ease of Use: The pedal consists basically of: six knobs Volume, Top Boost, Bass, Mid, Treble, And Distortion, and two footswitches: The Top Boost switch and the Bypass / Drive Switch. At first I had to familiarize myself with the equalizer, is quite responsive a little treble or mid to spare make the difference (and that is quite a pain in the a-s), But as you get to know its system you can go from a classic hard rock sound like Whitesnake, through heavier sounds even to a crazy-a-s Dimebag Darrell distortion style, but, Let's face it no one is buying this bad boy to play Whitesnake. // 8

Sound: My main guitar is a LTD F100FM modified with EMG 81/85 pickups, and a 30 watts Laney Hardcore series amp, I have used it together with my old multi-effects pedal (DigiTech RP355) to add effects like chorus or delays and sounds great, but I kinda prefer use it without the multi effect something, I really liked was the inclusion of TOP BOOST, quite useful for soloing or simply to give more power to the tone. // 10

Reliability & Durability: The best metal distortion pedal I ever own, good quality, large, Resistant, with tight knobs with pretty solid and responsive switches, I do not think you can ask for more, but something that I have to criticize is that the battery does not last long so I always use it with its power supply. I've used this pedal in several gigs now, with and without my multi effect pedal sounds great, until this day not change it for another pedal. // 9

Overall Impression: My curiosity to try out this pedal was quite big, Metal Muff by Electro-Harmonix is one of the best pedals when playing heavy metal music, you can archive the tone of the most classical stuff like Judas Priest or iron maiden and able to get the Extreme tone from bands like Kreator, Slayer and Lamb Of God. I like playing many genres of Heavy Metal (Classic Heavy Metal, Death Metal, Thrash Metal, Power Metal) and currently play in a Melodic Death Metal Band The pedal adapts perfectly to my style, another guitar with which I tested is the Ibanez GRG270 and also achieves a great sound to it. Previously had a Boss MT-2 but this baby sends him straight to hell! (just kidding, I sell it) I also had the opportunity to play with an Electro-Harmonix Nano Metal Muff but seriously speaking that's the dumb little brother of the Metal Muff with Top Boost. What I most love about this pedal is the Top Boost, since not many pedals offer the option to boost your sound without the need for another pedal and the sound quality offered by the metal muff, the only thing I hate about it is that your battery does not last nearly nothing and to buy its power supply not included. I would not hesitate to buy it back if it is stolen or if I loose it. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.8
Metal Muff With Top Boost Reviewed by: JackSaints, on april 29, 2013
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: £ 60

Purchased from: Absolute Music

Ease of Use: Simple controls - you've got a bypass switch, a boost switch and various control knobs. Very self-explanatory. You'll need to work a bit to get the top boost to fit in with the way you set it up but apart from that there are no real issues getting the sounds you want - you just need to sit and mess around with the knobs for a while. Very easy to use but my only gripe is the time it takes to find a good sound - the knobs are pretty sensitive to it will take a while to hit the sweet spot. Also, you need a power supply. It eats up batteries very quickly which means you'd have to unscrew the cover on a regular basis to replace them. // 8

Sound: At the moment I'm running this through a Peavey Vypyr 30 (pracitce amp). I use the green Twn channel and with the Metal Muff on top of that I can get a a multitude of different sounds. I've gone for the doomy direction - using Drop A tuning and very little guitar tone, this can get great deep sounds with a delicate bit of fuzz. Turning the guitar tone up, you can get a bluesy fuzzy kind of OD sound. There's no background noise or whatever even when using a power supply. There are a range of sounds you can get from it and while I am reasonably happy with the sounds I can use, it's just not quite for me, but no doubt others will love it. If you're using a higher tuning, plenty of tone and not much bass on the Muff, you can easily get good crunchy metal tones. // 7

Reliability & Durability: There is nothing to suggest that this isn't a reliable piece of equipment. It is very well built, nice and solid and I am sure you can gig with it easily. I'd use it at a gig without backup quite happily. If you really wanted to, I am sure you could drop it and kick it about and find it still in one piece. Personally I haven't gigged or anything but there is nothing to suggest that this pedal can't handle a gig and a good beating. As said above though - it NEEDS a power supply. You really can't really on the battery to last very long. // 8

Overall Impression: As said before, I go for a doom-influenced style plus stoner-rock kind of stuff and use a Phaser on top of the metal muff a lot. It does a good job of that, but for me it seems to lack that cutting edge - I like the sounds I can get but it isn't quite perfect for me. Part of this is probably down to my amp though. It will be interesting to see how it matches up to a tube amp when I get one. I've been playing for about 5 years now and have used a couple of distortion pedals and this has been the best of the lot - but like I say, the sound just isn't quite right for me so I'm likely to get an actual fuzz to replace it. If I lost it or whatever then I wouldn't buy a replacement - because I intend on replacing my Metal Muff soon enough anyway. All things considered, this is actually a very good piece of equipment and can handle just about any style of rock you want - you just need to spend the time to get there. I'd recommend this without hesitation, it's just not for me. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Electro-Harmonix reviews rating category latest review
+ Nano Small Stone Phase Shifter 8.5 Guitar Effects 12/10/2014
+ Knockout Attack Equalizer 8.5 Guitar Effects 04/14/2014
+ Stereo Pulsar 7.9 Guitar Effects 03/27/2014
+ RTG Random Tone Generator 8.4 Guitar Effects 03/04/2014
+ Little Big Muff 9.2 Guitar Effects 03/04/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect