CrunchTone Review

manufacturer: Line 6 date: 08/14/2006 category: Guitar Effects
Line 6: CrunchTone
If you like your tone to have some serious crunch, plug in the new ToneCore Crunchtone pedal from Line 6 and wail away. This pedal features three warm, full-bodied overdrive models including Blues, Pop, and Crunch, all based on award-winning Line 6 tones. Crunchtone also features a simple yet versatile tone control for easy tweaking.
 Sound: 9
 Overall Impression: 9
 Reliability & Durability: 8
 Ease of Use: 8.5
 Overall rating:
 9.3 
 Reviewer rating:
 8.7 
 Users rating:
 9.8 
 Votes:
 9 
reviews (2) 2 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 8.3
CrunchTone Reviewed by: Just_for_you, on august 14, 2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Ease of Use: Fairly easy to use. It has four knobs (level, bass, treble, drive), and it has two switches, one that changes from blues/pop/crunch, and one that controls the gate. It's fairly easy to get a good sound out of, but sometimes takes a while trying to balance them out to get rid of the unwanted noise. The only thing you might have trouble with is trying to figure out how to get the battery in. // 9

Sound: I use this pedal with a Marshall JCM 800 amp, and an Ibanez X-series Destroyer. You can get three different types of sounds out of this, using the Switch that changes from blues/pop/crunch. It works best for blues, but I don't like the "pop" setting so much. The "crunch" setting gives a good distorted sound and can give you those screeching highs, but I wouldn't recommend this for any type of heavier music such as rock or metal. However, even with the noise gate on, it sometimes gives an insane amount of feedback that can shatter your ear drums. This pedal can give of quite a lot of unwanted noise. // 8

Reliability & Durability: It's built pretty well and is very durable and can take quite a beating. However, it uses battery power extremely fast. I wouldn't rely on this at any gig unless I had an AC adapter, because the battery would more than likely die and it's quite the hassle getting it in and out of this pedal. // 8

Overall Impression: Overall, I think this is a good pedal. I would highly recommend it to blues players, and if it were lost of stolen, I would probably get another one. If you do buy this pedal, I would very highly recommend buying an AC adapter for it, unless you plan on emptying your wallet in order to buy enough 9-volt batteries to keep it alive, and spending a long time changing them. It gives a lot of feedback and unwanted noise, but if you can balance it, you can get some awesome sounds out of this. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
CrunchTone Reviewed by: unregistered, on june 30, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 100

Purchased from: Musician's Friend

Ease of Use: Level, base, treble, and gain knobs with switches for a noise gate and type of Overdrive (blues, pop, crunch). The only help you will need from the manual is to figure out how to get the battery inside. // 8

Sound: I'm using this with a modded Marshal AVT 50 combo (has much more bass and more gain than the original) and a Strat knock off with a humbucker in the bridge (the pickups are a bit hotter than what you would find on an Epiphone Les Paul). The pedal is very transperant and lets the tone of your guitar and amp shine through. The crunch channel is very bassy and won't cut through a bad setting very well, however the blues channel is very sharp and focused, perfect for leads and solos. The pop channel is good for spicing up the clean channel on yur amp with light to low-medium distorion. This pedal will not give you heavy distortion. If you want heavy distortion but still want the tone of this pedal, use it as a booster to the distortion on you amp. If you are doing this, you should definately set the noise gate on setting 2. This will not change the tone at all. If you do not put the noise gate on the amount of feedback you will get will be mind numbing. The treble and bass controls are not very responsove but they get the job done. Remember: this pedal will not give you heavy distortion. If I were rating this as a heavy distortion pedal, I would be giving it a 3, the Blues channel can get pretty nasty. // 10

Reliability & Durability: The batteries will last long enough for one gig, maybe two. It will survive all the hassels of normal wear and tear and some more serious stuff as well, but don't subject it to anything you wouldn't go through personally. The outside is solid and would survive some extreme accidents, but this insides may get jostled around so much it would damage the pedal. The knobs and footswitch are strong but not undamageable. // 8

Overall Impression: I play anything from blues to punk to metal. This pedal suits them all, but the only thing that it does well on its own (without using it as a gain booster on your amp) is blues. But, this may just be the holy grail of blues pedals. It can get any shade of light distortion you want. However, if you have a somewhat functioning distortion channel on your amp, this is very good as a boost pedal. Just make sure you put the noise gate on 2. My only complaint is that the Crunch channel is very muddy and bassy (which is pretty much complete bulls--t since my amp has more bass than any other amp I've ever seen). I tried the Boss Super Overdrive and it made me sick. It sounded like my stomach rumbling. No matter what I changed the knobs to I got the same sound. If I lost this pedal I would seriously think of buying it again, but the price might stop me. A cheaper alternative could be teh DigiTech Bad Monkey. If the crunch channel on this pedal was sharper and had more gain, this would be the ultimate pedal. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Line 6 reviews rating category latest review
+ Pod X3 Live 8.3 Guitar Effects 05/23/2014
+ Relay G30 7.6 Guitar Effects 05/05/2014
+ Spider Valve MKII HD100 8.3 Guitar Amplifiers 03/31/2014
+ AmpliFi 150 8.4 Guitar Amplifiers 03/20/2014
+ Spider IV 30 6.7 Guitar Amplifiers 03/05/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect