DL4 Delay Modeler Review

manufacturer: Line 6 date: 03/30/2012 category: Guitar Effects
Line 6: DL4 Delay Modeler
The DL4 Delay Modeler offers you an incredible array of sounds, from a tube driven, tape loop echo (complete with adjustable wow and flutter), through 24 bit squeaky clean digital echo, to real-time reverse delay. Not only that, but you've got complete programmable control over all aspects of the sound in the studio and on the stage. Incredibly simple to use, it's an amazingly powerful tool offering you delay effects never before available in a single box.
 Sound: 9
 Overall Impression: 9
 Reliability & Durability: 8.7
 Ease of Use: 9
 Overall rating:
 9 
 Reviewer rating:
 8.9 
 Users rating:
 9 
 Votes:
 27 
reviews (3) pictures (2) 29 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 8.8
DL4 Delay Modeler Reviewed by: nibbleschew, on july 04, 2007
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 249.99

Purchased from: Guitar Center

Ease of Use: The DL4 Delay modeler, can create any type of delay imaginable, and also has a loop sampler, in which you can slow down, speed up, or reverse the 14 seconds of loop time. If you put the loop on half speed, you get 28 seconds instead of 14, making it worth while. When you take it out of the box it has factory presets which sound great. This thing is really easy to use, but gets more complicated the more intricate you want to make your delays. This product has any Vintage delay you want from classic delays to reverbs to reverse. Line 6 also threw in some of there own creations which include Sweep Echo, all of which sound great. If you compare this to a Boss DD-20 Giga Delay, heres the deal: The DL-4 has more delays, easier way to change delays, the DD-20 has pin-point delays, but is harder to change to another delay. // 9

Sound: My pedal set up includes 2 DL-4 Delays, 1 Boss DD-20 Giga Delay, CS-3 Compressor, TS-9 Tube Screamer, FM-4 Filter modeler(also a Line 6 Product), and a DigiTech Whammy pedal. I have had it running through an Ibanez AXS-42, Fender Telecaster Deluxe, Fender Stratocaster, and a Gibson SG Classic; which are hooked up to amps such as the Crate Palamino 32, a Fender DeVille, and a Vox AC30 Custom Classic. This pedal is never noisy, infact it has true bypass. Some effects such as reverse, change the sound drasticly, where Tube Echo, adds slight change to the sound. With most effects you are able to manipulate the delay to either create drastic or minor sound changes and you never loose the tone. With this pedal, if you want to immitate a delay on a song you like, you can find it on the DL-4. Artists that are known for using this pedal includes Minus the Bear's Dave Knudson, and The Mars Volta's Omar Rodriguez-Lopez. // 10

Reliability & Durability: This pedal isn't as durable as Boss pedals, but I've had one for 18 months now, and the only problem I have is the buttons get a little loose and you have to tighten them or else they have a possibility of breaking off. I've dropped it numerous times and it works fine. Although sound quality is excellent and for the most part if well taken care it is durable, it's a smart thing to have a back up delay if your playing a gig. // 7

Overall Impression: I play hardcore, alternative, jazz, metal and progressive music, and it fits everything. I said above that I have 2 DL4's, so yes If it were stolen, I'd definately consider buying it again. This pedal is a delay/loop pedal and has infinate possibilities, however if your specifically looking for a loop pedal, just get a pedal specifically made for looping, because if you bought this pedal and just used it for looping, it wouldn't be worth the money. If your looking for a good delay pedal with every delay you could possibly want, this is your dream. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.5
DL4 Delay Modeler Reviewed by: rj540, on august 10, 2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Ease of Use: This pedal is very easy to use and very versatile as far as getting the delay sound you want. You can customize the sound of each delay model preset on the pedal, as well as save your favorite 4 delay sounds into the foot buttons on the pedal. The coolest part is that it also has a 16-second Looper with the option of Normal, Reverse, or 1/2 Speed playback and recording, with the ability to use all three modes at once, and with ease. The pedal is well laid out, so you don't risk hitting two buttons at once or have to deal with tiny knobs. The manual shows you what each of the knobs do for each effect, and all in all, it is very easy to get great, great sounds out of this pedal. It also has stereo inputs and outputs (meaning one jack for the Left/Mono channel, and one for Right channel) which are great for recording or other creative uses. It's only problem is the large size it takes up on the pedal board. // 8

Sound: I play this pedal with a Schecter guitar going into various Fender amps, along with a Tube Screamer, Boss Phase Shifter, and Vox Wah, and the sound is always great. In fact, the sound is just plain excellent. The infinite number of noises and sounds you can get out of this pedal is awesome, and it's not noisy at all. Playing with knobs allow you to get all manner of crazy noises as well as complex melodies, and in combination with the ability to record and loop these sounds, you hardly need a band behind you: just drum on your strings and loop it. This is hands down the best pedal I've ever played with, if only for it's capacity for being creative. I connect both a guitar and vocal mic to this pedal and can create whole changing, shifting soundscapes for hours and hours on end. // 10

Reliability & Durability: Totally dependable, I've had it for about a year and it's never had any problems. I would definitely, and have, gigged with it. Just set all the delay effects you want beforehand, and you're set. Easily reprogrammable on stage between songs as well. I've heard that the foot switches become loose over time, but I haven't had any problems with that, or with anything else. // 10

Overall Impression: This pedal is great for anyone of any playing style or ability. It'll make an amateur sound professional, and a professional sound godlike. You can use it to practice by looping chord changes or drumbeats and soloing over them, or use it to gig, to create moods, it'll do anything your creative mind can dream up. I've been playing guitar for 5 or 6 years, and I can play any sort of music solo into this pedal for hours and hours on end. Any other pedals or gadgets you have will only boost your number of musical possibilities. Not only would it be good for guitar players, but for vocalists. I routinely have beatboxing jams into it, laying down guitar lines over the top. All in all, it's a pedal for those who want to be create with their instrument. It encourages creativity like no other pedal I've played, and is a great buy for anyone. The Holy Grail of delay pedals. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.5
DL4 Delay Modeler Reviewed by: Jamestcotton, on march 30, 2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 150

Purchased from: Used

Ease of Use: Very easy to use. Four stomp buttons for presets. Dial in your effect and then press and hold down one of the buttons until it flashes at you. Saved! I would like to have more user banks for storing patches but, can't complain for $150. Has several different delay model effects including some modulation accents as well. The DL4 is also a looper than can be controlled by the foot buttons. Very flexible and easy to use. I believe that my DL4 was manufactured in 2006. // 10

Sound: I've been playing guitar for over 25 years. I enjoy playing shred metal, heavy metal, blues, fusion rock/metal, forest metal and some atmosphere style modal clean guitar music. I play through Strats, Pauls, PRSs and anything else that strikes me as interesting. I have dozens of effects but, my board's real estate is limited. I am currently running my signal into a VHT Valvulator > TU Tuner > Menatone Red Snapper > Fulltone Fulldrive 2 MOSFET > Fulltone Supa Trem > Ibanez BC9 Bi-Mode Chorus (which splits my signal) > Line 6 DL4 > AMPS (stereo Mesa Boogie Mark IV and Egnater Rebel 30). The DL4 is VERY flexible and easy. However, there are better sounding Delays out there. This one is more of a Jack of all Delays, master of none. Decent delays and tons of options. // 7

Reliability & Durability: Never had a problem with mine. It's been on my board for the past 5 years with no issues. It feels like quality to me. // 9

Overall Impression: I love the ease and flexibility of this unit. However, my dream unit would be the Eventide Ultraharmonizer series. This unit sounds good and is a good value. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Line 6 reviews rating category latest review
+ POD HD500 8.4 Guitar Effects 09/08/2014
+ Spider IV 15 7.3 Guitar Amplifiers 09/04/2014
+ Pod X3 Live 8.3 Guitar Effects 05/23/2014
+ Relay G30 7.6 Guitar Effects 05/05/2014
+ Spider Valve MKII HD100 8.3 Guitar Amplifiers 03/31/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect