V-Twin Review

manufacturer: Mesa Boogie date: 05/08/2014 category: Guitar Effects
Mesa Boogie: V-Twin
Though its layout is simple, V-Twin is supremely capable of producing pristine clean sounds and delivering purring blues tones and truly outrageous high-gain rock or metal sounds.
 Sound: 9.5
 Overall Impression: 10
 Reliability & Durability: 9.5
 Ease of Use: 8
 Overall rating:
 8.9 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.3 
 Users rating:
 8.5 
 Votes:
 23 
reviews (2) pictures (2) 14 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 9.5
V-Twin Reviewed by: unregistered, on october 18, 2004
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 252.5

Purchased from: eBAY

Ease of Use: Very simple to use and very simple to get yer own sound. 6 Knobs to get exactly what you want. The led's let you know what you are doing so you don't have to remember what channel you are on. It has a clean, blues, and solo channel. Each is interchangable. // 8

Sound: I'm using it with an Ibanez Ax-220 and I have it running through a Sonic Maximizer. Very quiet when on clean, When on solo and turned up don't just sit there play some thing or you will hear slight static in the backgroud. This pedal is basically a preamp, and with 2 Mesa Boogie Tubes in it, it has some nuts. Play anything from Incubus to Hendrix to Slipknot on this baby. if there was a rating of 10 I'd give it. Only bad thing about the sound is that if you play on this, everything else will sound crappy. // 10

Reliability & Durability: This baby is built like a brick ice house. Diamond Plated steel that would blow any other durability claims away Boss for instance. I laugh it that only problem with it is that if the tubes go you better have a backup. // 10

Overall Impression: I play mostly blues and rock, but from time to time I play country. Bands I cover with this puppy are: Incubus, Tool, Jimi Hendrix, and Alter Bridge. Mesa includes a 10' power supply, thats right. I said a 10' power supply. Never run out of room. If it were lost or stolen I'd definatly buy another one. After I whoop A. My favorite feature would have to be the clean channel. It doesn't get any better. Crisp, Clear, Warm tones from heaven. The tubes make it sound extra liquidy and you can feel it in your stomach when you hit the bass strings. This pedal doesn't compare to any other on the market. All V-Twins are handbuilt in the USA. If I could change one thing it would be the price. I had to save up. Even though I would pay way more because of the quality, its still alot of mula. If you have the money, Bid on one off of eBay. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
V-Twin Reviewed by: bel_riose, on may 08, 2014
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: € 240

Purchased from: Private

Ease of Use: 2x12AX7 (ECC83) Pre-Amp tube overdrive. Comes with Mesa/Boogie marked tubes. Bass, Middle, Treble and Presence tone controls. Gain and Master Volume. The pedal only has one equalizer section, so you have to equalize the two channels the same, and that's a shame. Bypass footswitch and Channel footswitch. Blues/Clean manual selector. 

It's a little tricky to understand how the two footswitches and the manual selector works: the bypass only bypasses the pedal. The channel switch can switch between clean and lead, or between blues and lead. To select those two modes you have the manual selector, that unfortunately you can't easy access with your foot. So you can set your amp to clean and use bypass for clean (the amp), and Blues and Lead for pre-amp distortion (so you have eventually three channels). Or you can use the clean channel of the V-Twin for Eq and Level boost, and the Lead second channel for distortion (so you have the amp on bypass, the equalized and/or boosted clean on channel 1 and the lead on channel 2).

This thing has 6 jacks:

1. Guitar input
2. and 3.: two jacks for external footswitches, in case you have a pedal board and don't want to use the switches on the pedal.
4. "To guitar amp" output: normal output, to plug into your pre-amp amp section (normal guitar amp input)
5. "To power amp" output: in case you want to use this as pre-amp and you have a separate power-only amp (not very often)
6. "To mixer/headphones" (selectable with a separate selector): this is a simulated amp output. The only difference is that the mixer is mono and the headphones is stereo. You can use this thing even without an amp.

Under the pedal there are two screws to adjust the gain. This thing is FIXED bias, so it's really better to use matched tubes! In the manual there are a lot of setting suggestions for you to try. The manual is downloadable from Mesa/Boogie site. Final note: the "input" jack is on the left and the "to guitar amp" on the right, that is the opposite of every other damn pedal in the world... so expect a lot of cables! // 8

Sound: Great tube pre-amp pedal. You can get pre-amp tube distortion for blues, classic rock and hard rock (Rolling Stones, Led Zeppelin, AC/DC and similar). Rich tube crunch, can drastically get to life every solid state amp. I like it really more than the Ibanez TS9 TubeScreamer (even if I have a brown modded version), the MXR Distortion+ and the DOD Overdrive 250 (I own all three). Really another league. 

I use it with my Marshall Reverb 12 (full solid state, single channel) for practice, when I can't use my Marshall DSL401 (full tube) because it's too loud. You can use it keeping the clean channel of the amp, and get the crunch and lead tones from this pedal. If you're into metal, better use a Boss MT2 Metal Zone or similar. // 9

Reliability & Durability: Solid as a brick. Full stainless steel body. Provided a 12VAC power supply. Because of the need of this power supply, you can't use the standard 9VDC power source for pedals, so if you use more than one effect, you'll need two separate power sources (keep in mind that this one need 12V >AC<, so if you are powering un some other device that is 12V, like a mixer, probably is 12V >DC<, so you can't use the same adapter!). 

The power adapter becomes very hot during use. The tubes are placed under a steel protective cover, so you can't stomp on them and cooling is allowed. Better not move the pedal when the tubes are hot. The LEDs are bright and very visible: red for bypass, green for clean, blue for blues and red for lead, so you can spot in which channel you are at a glance. // 9

Overall Impression: I play classic rock and hard rock. I quest for warm overdriven sounds and fat cleans. My standard setup is a 1994 Gibson Les Paul Standard plugged in a Marshall DSL401. But if you want tube pre-amp overdrive and you have a single channel solid state amp... you need this thing! This thing changed my life, when I'm home and I don't want to shatter the windows with a 40W amp. No solid state pedal can come close to this all-tube pedal, and you get clean-crunch-lead tones from a single pedal. 

Obviously, this cost more than a normal overdrive, but the result is awesome. Unfortunately, is out of production now, so you have to buy it on the secondhand market. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Mesa Boogie reviews rating category latest review
+ Throttle Box 8.3 Guitar Effects 12/09/2014
+ Mini Rectifier 7.7 Guitar Amplifiers 06/23/2014
+ Single Rectifier Rect-O-Verb 50 Series 2 9.3 Guitar Amplifiers 01/20/2014
+ Express 5:50 9.7 Guitar Amplifiers 07/31/2013
+ M6 Carbine 10 Bass Amplifiers 12/05/2012
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect