Corona Chorus Review

manufacturer: TC Electronic date: 08/27/2015 category: Guitar Effects
TC Electronic: Corona Chorus
The Corona Chorus is one of the most fun chorus pedals I have ever owned. The features included in this pedal open the doors to different tonal possibilities. It sounds great, is easy to use, and is a lot of fun to play!
 Sound: 9.7
 Overall Impression: 9.3
 Reliability & Durability: 9
 Ease of Use: 8.3
 Overall rating:
 8.9 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.1 
 Users rating:
 8.6 
 Votes:
 11 
reviews (3) pictures (2) 3 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 8.5
Corona Chorus Recently reviewed by: Gab_Azz, on august 27, 2015
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: € 134

Purchased from: Olimpus Music

Ease of Use: This is not an easy pedal to use as it has quite a number of controls. It requires some time to set it right, and with the Toneprint feature it takes the pedal to another level of control over the parameters the user can edit. There are a number of preset toneprints that facilitate the operation for the user. With all these complicated features, it makes the pedal versatile, virtually being able to do anything you wish. The manuals and online videos are very helpful in showing you how to use the pedal and it's features. // 7

Sound: I like the sound of the pedal. It works well with both clean parts and distorted parts. I generally use this pedal as an always on pedal. I use it with a number of effects including compression, delay and distortion. The pedal is really quiet I do not hear any particular noise. The classic chorus mode is a really wet chorus as expected for a mono setup. Then there is the trichorus mode which sets 3 choruses blended together out of phase. This gives a subtle chorus effect that I find really usable. It is due to this feature that I can use this pedal all the time as it does not make the effect too dramatic while it makes the guitar sound huge. With all the features available on this pedal, it is really versatile. The toneprint allows you to download a number of preset sounds that can get you started with a usable sound. // 10

Reliability & Durability: The pedal is enclosed in a cast case. the only feature that I am not convinced of is the switch. It never failed but it does not feel nice. The mode switch is positioned in a clever position between the knobs so it should not be kicked by mistake. The pedal just eats batteries. As expected from a digital pedal, it draws a significant amount of current from the power supply. On its own it should not pose any problems as long as you have a power supply that is capable of delivering the required power, especially if it is combined with other digital pedals. // 8

Overall Impression: Despite this pedal is not an analog pedal, but a digital pedal, it sounds fantastic. I really like this pedal as it can be very subtle yet effective. It gives the guitar a lush sound and making the guitar sound more full. I have been playing this pedal for over a year and I take it to any gig. My favourite feature of the pedal is the trichorus. This mode allows the chorus to be used on a mono guitar setup without the weird noises typically associated with mono chorus. This is way more subtle than the classic chorus. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Corona Chorus Reviewed by: unregistered, on january 10, 2012
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 129.99

Purchased from: Parkway Music

Ease of Use: The TC Electronics Corona Chorus is one of the many new compact stompboxes released by TC Electronics. This chorus pedal is very easy to use and includes some really unique features. Specs: - 1/4 inch mono & stereo inputs and outputs - USB connection for TonePrint settings - True Bypass - Speed knob- Controls the speed of the chorus - FX level knob- How intense you want the chorus to sound - Depth knob- Controls the range of modulation - Tone knob- Controls how warm you want the chorus to sound - 3 way switch for "Chorus", "Toneprint", and "Tri-Chorus" features (Explained in the next section). // 9

Sound: The Corona Chorus pedal offers a plethora of different chorus sounds. Upon initial testing of the pedal, I was attracted to how versatile this pedal can be. I mentioned earlier that the pedal has a three way switch for different chorus settings. This enables the user to create different kinds of chorus sounds. Here's a breakdown of what they are and how they sound. The first setting "Chorus" is based off the standard TC Electronics Stereo Chorus Flanger. Depending on how you you voice the knobs, you can create really subtle to extreme choruses, flanger-esque sounds and even a simulated Leslie speaker. That's right, a Leslie speaker. It's pretty close and sounds killer! When engaged in this setting, take advantage of how the speed and depth knobs really manipulate the chorus effect. The second setting "TonePrints" is a unique feature that TC Electronics has installed in their pedals. On the top of the pedal is a small USB connection which allows the user to download artist presets for their specific pedal. Basically, you can download a patch from a select artist off the TC Electronics website and have their tone in your pedal. For example, if you're a fan of John Petrucci's chorus setting, you can plug you pedal into your computer and download the patch into your pedal for you to play around with! The third setting "Tri-Chorus" is a variation of the standard chorus with three other stereo choruses. This setting is where you can dial in 80's lush chorus styles from the light and airy, to full on swirling, spinning, choruses. This is the more true to form chorus setting and is probably the most used setting. I play through a Mesa Boogie Lonestar and this pedal responded incredibly well to the amp. It didn't color my signal, and when I used distortion, the chorus settings mix in well. The notes still retain balance and clarity. I used a Fender Strat and a Godin Freeway Classic to hear how the pedal responds to different pickups. No matter which pickup style you are using, this pedal responds very well and is articulate. Plus, being true bypass helps. The only concern I had was that the FX Level has to be past 12:00 for the effect to really appear. Don't let that deter you though, this pedal definitely has a lot of chorus to it! // 9

Reliability & Durability: This pedal is ready to be played right out of the box. It comes in a metal green finish and has a red LED that tells you whether or not the pedal is on. It is not made with cheap parts, and TC Electronics is known for building fine gear. This pedal is sturdy and built to last. Gigging wise, it passes the test. Even on it's name alone, players know that the pedal is solid. It's very reliable pedal and runs on either a 9 volt battery or a 9VDC adapter. The battery compartment is easy to access and change out, should you run out of power. // 10

Overall Impression: The Corona Chorus is one of the most fun chorus pedals I have ever owned. The features included in this pedal open the doors to different tonal possibilities. I work as a sideman and play styles based in rock, jazz, funk, and blues. Having a solid chorus pedal such as this one, is really crucial in my rig. For the price paid, this pedal is worth it. You can create different sounds and textures that most chorus pedals can not. This is my first TC Electronics product I purchased and certainly will not be the last! If you're looking for a great sounding chorus pedal at an affordable price, the Corona Chorus is right for you! It sounds great, is easy to use, and is a lot of fun to play! // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.5
Corona Chorus Reviewed by: david.peavy.712, on january 20, 2014
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 169

Purchased from: Ms. Music Store

Ease of Use: The 4 knobs make it so easy to dial in a jazz soft or a descent Robin Trower emulation. These 4 controls offer a very wide sweep from depth, speed, level & TONE! Yes thanks TC for TONE sweep this wide and has a very nice constant slope. It doesn't hit the sudden "brittle threshold" others are prone to. No manual needed as it is very straightforward. For most players it's pretty much set & forget in a gig situation. That said, just flip from Chorus on the 3 way toggle from Chorus to Tri Chorus, & Boom a much deeper effect with one switch. Because there are a very wide range of sounds give it a 10! // 9

Sound: The 3 way toggle is TC chorus (soft & sweet), TC'S "Tone-print" for commuter loading a preset (mini-usb genius idea), & best of all the awesome Tri-chorus. This is the warmest setting offering very deep chorus if you desire & modeled after the '80s Tri-Stereo Chorus.. A real one will cost you $1500+. I have heard the original TRI-stereo Chorus & Hands down it was the warmest, fattest, widest chorus rack mount piece ever made. (TOTO) Corona comes close to the warmth of the original. With 4 knobs, speed, depth, level, & TONE! All of these offer very wide tweaking & should please any fan of chorus to get an extremely wide range of chorus footprint sounds. The tone knob is a Godsend especially on a chorus pedal. Chorus pedals are typically ONE trick ponies but pedal has many tricks & why it's a 10 in my book! // 10

Reliability & Durability: It appears to be as durable & well made as a TS-9! The short throw foot switch is a welcome feature. The small footprint is especially nice as I am leaning toward very small real-estate in these days of stomp box madness! The bottom plate single removable nickel
size screw is splined around the edge for ease of hand use, as well as being able to use a quarter as a screwdriver to open it up. It appears to be as well made as any other pedal out there & better than most. The Electro-harmonics small clone was my go to stomp for analogue chorus is stamped bent metal is not as well built as the T.C. despite it's warm sound. Mono in/out... stereo in/out... sweet! // 9

Overall Impression: Having owned the T.C. G system, I found that monster to sound to sterile for my tastes. It just was way too brittle & far from "warm" not for my tastes anyway. This will do squeaky sterile & in fact has a very wide range of sounds. I was leery at first but my recent purchase of the T.C. Flashback delay that is the BOMB delay pedal, I went for it! I'm very happy I did as the variety of sounds ranges from subtle & dark, soft, to almost Uni-vibe emulations. Vintage rock & dance cover band it covers it all from early analogue emulations to brighter sounds, this thing rocks! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More TC Electronic reviews rating category latest review
+ Corona Mini Chorus 8.9 Guitar Effects 07/14/2015
+ MojoMojo Overdrive 9.3 Guitar Effects 04/30/2015
+ Flashback Mini Delay 8.3 Guitar Effects 02/05/2015
+ Ditto X2 Looper 8.7 Guitar Effects 08/01/2014
+ Dark Matter Distortion 8.3 Guitar Effects 07/22/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect