Wah-Wah Pedal Review

manufacturer: Vox date: 03/31/2010 category: Guitar Effects
Vox: Wah-Wah Pedal
Built to the exact specifications of the original pedal, this Wah-Wah is totally authentic right from its classy chrome top to its legendary growl.
 Sound: 9
 Overall Impression: 9.3
 Reliability & Durability: 9.2
 Ease of Use: 9.5
 Overall rating:
 8.8 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.3 
 Users rating:
 8.3 
 Votes:
 127 
reviews (22) 72 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 10
Wah-Wah Pedal Reviewed by: FcukAOL, on june 08, 2004
12 of 19 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 100

Purchased from: Musiciansfriend.com

Ease of Use: This pedal is amazing. Used by Hendrix and Page and many more. Very easy to use once you get familiar how it works. A simple stomp turns it on or off. Rock it back and forth for that sweet "wah" sound. Seriously, I love this pedal. // 10

Sound: The sound is a delicicous sound, you could say. I usually find myself doing the "wah wah" mouth motions when I use this. Or I'll just start saying "wah wah wah wah." You can get the sound of your favorite artist(only of course if they use the wah pedal). // 10

Reliability & Durability: You can depend on this pedal. It's pretty heavy and its got a rubber thing on the front so your foot won't slip. It's made of metal. It's very reliable (especially if you have a brand new 9 volt battery in it). // 10

Overall Impression: I'm more of a rock guy myself, so I thought I wouldn't use this pedal much, but I have. If you play "Voodoo Child (Slight Return)" without a wah, it sounds so great to hear it with it. And if your into Funk you should get this pedal. This pedal is a classic, and it earned that title. Give it a try at a guitar shop first, see if it's "you" and if it is, enjoy. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Wah-Wah Pedal Reviewed by: Zoso_LesPaul, on july 14, 2004
5 of 9 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 100

Purchased from: Sam Ash

Ease of Use: This pedal makes you sound twice as good as you really are. I love this pedal. Its super easy to play on and has great sound. There is so much versatility with this beast, its awesome. // 10

Sound: I use it on a Les Paul with an ESP amp and I'm running it through a Boss distortion pedal and it sounds great. There is a slight buzzing but whatever, I dont care. The effects are full and really bring out some cool sounds, especially in solos. // 10

Reliability & Durability: This thing is a tank. Its bulletproof. I honestly think you can through is of an overpass and it will still wail. No need for a backup. // 10

Overall Impression: I think every guitarist will benefit by getting this. I play mostly classic rock like Zeppelin and what not. And occassionaly new rock like staind, 311, and Deftones, but I think it will work for anyone. I've been playing for 3 years and this pedal really brings out the talent. If it were stolen I would buy one as soon as I could. I love everything about it. And I have nothing bad to say about it. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.8
Wah-Wah Pedal Reviewed by: Four Symbols, on october 05, 2006
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 99

Purchased from: Guitar Center

Ease of Use: This pedal is probably the easiest pedal to operate. Just press the "toe" of the pedal to turn it on, and rock back and forth to change the tone. Pressing to the front makes favors treble, and the back adds more bass. Amazing sounds are very easy to achieve. // 10

Sound: I am using this pedal with a Les Paul through a JCM 2000 and around 4 Boss Pedals, and let me tell you, my tone is amazing when this thing is on. Compared to Dunlop wah-wah pedals, the Vox has less noise, and the overall effect is at least 4X as strong. Using this pedal you can easily get the wah sounds of Jimi Hendrix, SRV, Jimmy Page, Eric Clapton, and countless more artists Who have used Vox Wah-Wah pedals over the years. It sounds amazing with both clean crunch and distortion tones. Heavily saturated metal tones also sound exceptional. // 9

Reliability & Durability: This pedal is built to last. You could probably throw this at a wall and it would still work fine. There is absolutely no need for a backup, and I'm certain that this won't ever fail me at any gigs. If this did fail me, I'd go out and purchase another one right away. // 10

Overall Impression: This pedal works great with the styles of music I play (alternative, classic rock and metal mainly). I've been playing for around 2 and a half years, and have acquired a lot of pedals, amps and guitars. This Vox Wah-Wah was one of my best purchases. If this was stolen, I'd know why the theif stole it, and then I'd kick their ass to get it back. There are only 2 things I don't like about this pedal: no AC power, and when it is on you get a very, very slight amount of noise added. This could possibly be due to a few bad cables I'm using. Before I owned this I had a Vintage Original Dunlop Crybaby Wah-Wah, and let me tell you, the Vox wins everywhere. More tone, more Wah, and better, stronger sound. The only thing I wish this had was a AC jack. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.5
Wah-Wah Pedal Reviewed by: search49, on september 11, 2007
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 99

Purchased from: Guitar Center

Ease of Use: For the record, this is the Vox V847. And I think a product easier to use does not exist. You plug it in, instrument in the right jack, output in the left, press the toe to click it on, rock it back and forth to make the sound, press the toe to click it off. Easy-peasy. So simple there's not even a manual. // 10

Sound: When you think of the Classic Wah sounds of the late sixties, Hendrix and Clapton and the like, think of Vox. Because that's the sound you'll get from this pedal. I run a 2003 Les Paul Studio through the V847 into a Vox AD60VTX amplifier, usually on the Vox AC30 model. Great classic rock tones abound. When the pedal is activated, a slight hum comes into the sound, but it barely noticeable on it's own, and if you're rocking the pedal like it's designed, you can't hear it. It's not true bypass (I'm fairly sure), but with only the one pedal there's no tone-sucking apparent to my ears. The sound is very consistent, and very good. I've heard tell that it doesn't perform well with high-gain, but I can't speak on that because I don't play high-gain that often. It's best if you're going for a Cream/Hendrix/Led Zeppelin classic rock tone. It's also good for cleans, whether you want funky porno grooves or even a touch of wah in your blues. // 10

Reliability & Durability: Now, I had some problems with mine. Everything was fine for about six months, then the on/off Switch broke. I wasn't careless, I didn't use the pedal too hard (I hadn't gigged with it at all), it just broke. It wouldn't turn off (it got stuck on 'on.'). Because I don't know how to solder and didn't want to risk damaging it further, I sent it back to Vox and they replaced the faulty Switch free of charge, as it was still under the one-year warranty. I was liable, however, for the shipping charge. Other than this incident, though, it's been shiny. // 5

Overall Impression: I play classic rock and blues, with forays into modern rock and alternative/indie. The pedal fits perfectly with this style. I compared it to the Dunlop Crybaby and found the Vox superior in every way, better tone, wider sweep, it even looks better. The Crybaby is slightly cheaper, but severely lacking in sound. I'd been playing for about five years when I got the pedal, and nearly six as I sit writing this. I do sometimes wish that it didn't run solely on battery power, but sometimes I think that an AC jack is just one more wire to clutter the floor, especially because the battery life is exceptional. If lost or stolen, I'd like to get another V847, though I believe they're out of production now, replaced by the V847A, which is essentially the same pedal with an AC jack and true bypass. Long story short, if you want classic rock and funk wah, look no further than your nearest Vox dealer. Get yourself a V847, and your tone will thank you. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.5
Wah-Wah Pedal Reviewed by: wuddup92, on february 19, 2007
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 100

Purchased from: Sam Ash

Ease of Use: Extremely easy to use. Put in the battery, plug it in to your guitar and your amplifier and let it rip! push down hard on the front to turn on and off the wah. because of the lack of diversity or versatility in this wah, it makes it extremely easy to use which is great for the beginner to intermediate player and for the advanced player if they know what they want. // 10

Sound: Very Vintage sounding. Jimi Hendrix used this wah. Black Stone Cherry uses this wah. although it lacks versatility, it really sounds nice while it's on. Install passive bypass and this thing is perfect. I've played Dunlop Crybabies, Morleys, Budda Wahs, everything! but this beats everything else I've tried. And for 100 dollars! // 9

Reliability & Durability: I've never even had to change the battery, unbelievably quiet switching and I've had this wah for a year now! I always leave it on and it still hasn't lost battery power. If you take out your cord it says it preserves the battery but I can't imagine why anyone Who is lazy would waste their time taking out the battery when it could last for more than a year! Plus it's built like a brick house. // 10

Overall Impression: The best possible wah wah you can buy with this amount of money built like it is and sounding like it does. My friends gasp when I do any wah solo. It not only sounds great playing musicians music who use this wah but it sounds great with everything! Especially your own compositions! // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Wah-Wah Pedal Reviewed by: unregistered, on june 21, 2005
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

Ease of Use: Very easy to use. Just push on the Toe of the pedal to start it. Rock it back and forth to favor the treble or bass. It also says on the pedal which end the guitar plugs into and which end leads to the amp so set up is simple. // 10

Sound: I have a simple set up. A Les Paul through the Wah Wah then through an Ibanez TS9 then a Mesa Boogie Nomad 100. I have a great sound. Amazing for soloing. If you place the wah behind the tube screamer it drowns out the wah. if you place it infront of the tube screamer it really accents the Wah Wah. // 10

Reliability & Durability: This pedal is built very solidly, so you can stomp on it, you don't have to treat it like an egg. The only problem with this pedal is that you can not hook it up to a power outlet so you have to check the battery rating before a gig. // 10

Overall Impression: I play rock, and I solo a ton, and this pedal just fits my needs perfectly. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 7.5
Wah-Wah Pedal Reviewed by: my_last_hero, on march 09, 2006
1 of 5 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 75

Purchased from: Guitar Center

Ease of Use: This pedal was a good deal. Just plug in and it's on. // 10

Sound: I'm using it with both my Peavy Raptor and my Fender Deluxe Nashville Power Telecaster - great with both. It gives kind of a weird hum when its left on, but that may just be how it reacts with my amp (Peavey Rage 158, which isn't that great, I know). As far as getting a certain sound, you would probably be better off getting something a little more pricy, just because it would be a better quality. Something like a CryBaby would be good in place of this little guy. // 7

Reliability & Durability: Mine crapped out on me after about a year, but it works from time to time. I'm broke so I don't want to take it to get fixed, but I think there's a short in one of the wires. I've used it in a gig without backup before, and it was brilliant, but like I said, it took a dump a few months back. // 5

Overall Impression: As a solo guitarist, I like jazz and funk, and this Wah-Wah Pedal is excellent for that, as well as most other non-distortion genres. With my band, we play a mix of rock, metal, punk, and the likes, and it would do the job, but definintely not be the best. I would probably not replace it if it were lost or stolen, I'd probably save up some cash and buy a better one. I do not love or hate this pedal, it simply resides in the same living space as my other instruments and I. All in all, I wouldn't recommend this, but if you're short on funds, this is the way to go. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
Wah-Wah Pedal Reviewed by: poochy, on july 11, 2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 60

Purchased from: Ebay

Ease of Use: I purchased this from a man Who didn't properly know how to spell "wah wah". One Switch and no knobs makes this a very simple pedal. The manual I recieved was for a Dunlop Crybaby which may or may not come with Vox wah wahs, but it was not needed because of this items simplicity. // 9

Sound: I run an Oscar Schmidt OE-30 (hopefully a Fender Strat soon) through this, then to a Big Muff and then to a Small Clone, and finally into a Marshall MG. This thing makes no noise, though I have heard of people recieving radio transmissions through them. The effects are strong and full sounding, and I lose no tone through this. // 9

Reliability & Durability: This wah has been through hell. As with all my effects, it's constantly being thrown, out windows, against walls etc. And has never ever broken or had an issue. I would definitely use this without a backup. Definitely. // 10

Overall Impression: I play everything from delta blues to Metallica type metal, and it fits everything well. Add a little distortion here or there but nonetheles. I've been playing for about 4.5 years. I did all the research for this item, and compared it to other wahs in the music store, and this pedal owns in the all around category. I would most definitely buy another if this were lost/stolen after crying for several days. I love the rubber feet in that they screw on and not glued like Electro-Harmonix. I love the sound and the ergonomic feel. I wish it had a volume knob however, and I wish it had an AC jack. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.5
Wah-Wah Pedal Reviewed by: guy_tebache, on november 02, 2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 91.2

Ease of Use: I tried out two versions: the japanese and the american. They were pretty much the same in terms of the pedals action, but the japanese one hadn't been worn in yet so it has some slight resistance. But after using it for a couple of hours it's moves smoothly and the tension is just right, but can be adjusted later. The rubber stoppers at the top of the pedal also make it a little hard to turn on/bypass, but these have already started to compress more. Otherwise, it's a wah. It goes on/off and back and forth. // 9

Sound: I use this with my Epiphone Les paul through a Fender FM 212R with a Boss ds-1 and an american big muff. Like I said I tried the jap and the US versions. The sound was pretty much the same. I'm an audio engineering student and that's given me a good ear and turned me into a bit of a tone snob, but that said the japanese version was just a little bit thinner in the treble range. But this pedal does help me get a classic rock sound. If you like Clapton, Hendrix, John Frusciante, or a number of other artists then running this pedal with other distortion/chorus/reverb pedals can get you their sound. // 9

Reliability & Durability: It's built like a brick. when you look at some other wahs, like the bad horsie, they look like they might snap if you frown at it. I'm not going to, but I could throw it across my bedroom and it would survive to play another day. It made of steel with a chrome top so it's not gonna rust. // 10

Overall Impression: I ended up buying the japanese version because it had the power adapter input and it was half the price, and that's when the store had accidentally underpriced the american. From what I'm told though, any Vox wah can be easily modified to have an ac adapter input. I play a lot of RHCP, Rage Against The Machine and early Clapton and this helps me get their sounds, but you wouldn't buy this if you played metal or something like that. It looks sexy, it sounds great, it was one of the cheapest wahs out there, and it's a Vox. Nuff said. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Wah-Wah Pedal Reviewed by: black-sabbath, on april 23, 2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Ease of Use: You plug in the cables, AC adapter and step on it. Could it get any easier? It's really easy to get a good sound out of as long as you step at the right times. I think it came with a manual, I didn't even bother looking really. Nothing's been done to this pedal in the ways of upgrades and I don't see why anything would need to be done. // 10

Sound: Ok, I'm using an Epiphone G-400, Traynor 25 watt amp and a Line 6 Uber Metal distortion pedal. It sounds amazing with distortion and without. This is not noisy at all, unless the amp is noisy without it (like too much distortion/volume). The quality of the "wah" is really great. When you step back on it, it's all mellow and bassy and stepping forwards it's trebely and clean sounding. You can pretty much get any Hendrix sound on this and it sounds like Slash too with the right distortion. // 9

Reliability & Durability: This pedal is built out of metal so it's not going to break easily. Standing on it wouldn't even do anything. I'd use this without back up, as long as I had an AC adapter so the battery wouldn't die. It has rubber on the bottom and top so that it/your foot doesn't slip off. // 9

Overall Impression: I was looking for a pedal for metal. I really like this because it's good with distortion. There's no loss of distortion when using it. The main reason I bought this was because I had been looking at a Dunlop Original Crybaby and this was cheaper and the guys at L&M said it was better quality. If this got lost or stolen, I would go try some more expensive pedals (like the Slash custom) but would probably buy this again unless I noticed a big difference (the Slash pedal was $70 more). I compared this with the Original Crybaby and didn't notice a big difference in sound though I liked this one a bit better and it was cheaper, so I got it. Really good wah pedal. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.5
Wah-Wah Pedal Reviewed by: mrozinski, on july 02, 2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 100

Purchased from: gUITAR center

Ease of Use: It is as easy as a normal wah. step and go. There's even no knobs that can confuse you. The jacks are even pointed out to you. The manual is quite simplistic. It tells you that it turns on and off and how to change a battery. // 10

Sound: I am using it with a epiphone dot and a hot Rod Deluxe amp. Only noisy when you rock it in the toe position and that can be changed by putting in off or in the heel position. The effect sounds like a vintage wah and always sounds how I want it, but it could use a little more sweep. // 8

Reliability & Durability: This is very durable but it is hard to turn on and off. I would use it at a gig definitly. // 10

Overall Impression: Good match for hendrix and zeppelin. I've been playing for 2 years and I also own a Boss Ds-1 and a DigiTech Delay DDX. It was all I want in a wah. If someone stole it I would take it and bash it against the little bastards head. I love the only feature wah. It was compared with a Dunlop crybaby. I liked this ones sound and the chrome pedal. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.5
Wah-Wah Pedal Reviewed by: unregistered, on january 22, 2005
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Ease of Use: This Wah pedal is one of the easiest effests I have ever used. All you have to do is push down firmly on toe position to turn it on and then groove with those cool tones to your hearts content then just push down firmly on the toe position again to turn it off. The only thing which is a bit annoying is that it doesn't have a 9v adapter input so you have to use 9v batteries which is cool because it's a wah pedal so it doesn't take up much energy as it is basically just a tone knob activated by a pedal. To get to the battery you have to get a srewdriver and take off the entire bottom plate which is held on by 4 screws but this doesn't bother me as the batteries last for ages. // 10

Sound: I use this wah with a squire strat (I know it sucks but I get a pretty good sound out of it) and a Marshall MG100DFX. I also have a big muff which is awesome, a Boss dd6 equally as impressive and an Ibanez seventh heaven which I got for $50 it sucks. I like to use this wah before the muff even though most people use it afterwards. I find it gives me a more pumpkiny tone for lead which is hard to get and sounds awesome. It can be a bit noisy at times but that is only when the treble on my amp is on full and the amp is turned up alot. I'm pretty sure my guitar contributes to the noise aswell. Most people say that the Vox and the crybaby are the same but I tried them out in the shop and found that the Vox had slightly more range and better mids. // 10

Reliability & Durability: This wah is very reliable except for the fact that it doesn't have a 9v power supply input so you have to batteries which last a long time but when they run out and you put the pedal in the heel position it makes a high pitched and very loud squeal which I like to use to piss off my friends. // 8

Overall Impression: I play shrump rock and have done for 9 months. I know this seems like a short period of time but I have grown incredibly fast in my guitar playing. I have accomplished as much in 9 months as most people do in 2 and a half years. As I said before I own several effects pedals which are pretty much standard. My rig goes Squire Strat, Vox Wah, USA Big Muff Pi (awesome), 7th Heaven (only because it acts like a noise gat to some extent), Boss DD6 (I recommend it). If my wah was stolen I would hunt them down tie them up and make them listen to the horrible squeal it makes when the batteries run out for an entire week non stop. I can't say I hate anything about it the only things that I could come up with that I slightly dislike about were that it only took batteries and made a horrible squeal which I kind of like anyway. I compared this wah with a crybaby because the Vox and the Cry Baby were similar in price and were both well known. I chose the Vox because it has bigger range and better mids. The only thing I wish it had was a power supply input. Otherwise this is the greatest wah pedal ever and anyone thinking about getting a wah pedal should get this one. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Wah-Wah Pedal Reviewed by: JS Donnie F., on october 01, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Ease of Use: It's very simple to use, no knobs just a pedal. The manual is simple. You switch it on by pushing it a bit more on the toe position and turn it off the same way. The pedal is good and it sweeps up and down very smoothly. It does not have an imput for 9v adapter, but the bateries last for ever on this pedal (I've had it for 5 months and I didn't have to change it even once). // 10

Sound: I am using an Ibanez RG1570 trough this Wah-Wah Pedal trough Boss DS-1 and to my Fender Hot Rod Deluxe amplifier. The pedal isn't noisy and it goes great with my setup. It is very good for getting Hendrix wah tone like in Voodoo Chile (slight return). And it is a very good pedal to play around with and make crazy noises. Great sounding pedal. // 10

Reliability & Durability: It's hard as a rock and I would gig with it any time. // 10

Overall Impression: I play a variety of music from classic rock to some virtuoso stuff (Satriani, Vai) and it is a great match. I have been playing for 7 years now and I really enjoy playing with this pedal. I have compared it to Dunlp CryBaby, and I choose this one because of smoother wah sound. Great pedal afterall and I recogment it to anyone who wants to play some good wah. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Wah-Wah Pedal Reviewed by: speedinc, on july 27, 2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Ease of Use: This thing is very easy to use! Just plug in the two cables (one from the amp and one from the guitar), and your set-up. When your ready to use it just click down on the toe and move the pedal back and forth. The two things I don't like is that to get to the battery you need to take off the feet and the bottom of the pedal, and this pedal doesn't work with a powersupply cord. // 8

Sound: I use a Gibson Les Paul and a Marshall half stack, and this pedal works great. The only problem is that with distortion you get less of a wah effect, unless you are using the effects loop, but that goes standard for anything. It sounds better than most other wah's that I've owned. For the price you can't get any better! // 9

Reliability & Durability: Vox gave this one a very very rugged disign! Not to mention that the chrome looks sweet on it. I would definitly use it at gigs without a backup. // 10

Overall Impression: I play classic rock, modern rock, and blues, and this pedal works great. Good sound even when using pinch harmonics (like Zakk, or Tremonti) but it still sounds great in clean slow melodic stuff like Clapton, or SRV. I would recomend you buy it! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Wah-Wah Pedal Reviewed by: guitarsolo_17, on october 04, 2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 99

Purchased from: Musicians Friend

Ease of Use: Perfect pedal really. You don't have to find the tone it comes to you. A little kick is all you need to get the sweetest classic rock tone you have ever heard. So easy to use the manual for this is a bookmark. no mods needed. Just click, rock back and forth, experiment with it in your rig and you'll find your tone. // 10

Sound: I use this pedal from a Peavey Raptor:( and then this:) then thru a MXR distortion, then a Peavey Rage 158. This may add a little noise but it also boosts treble beyond reason. Effects sound great unless you use the peaveys od setting because Peavey botched this one and puts the od before any thing no matter what. But through a distortion pedal it's so sweet, dude. Easy to get hendrixian tones. Anyone Who dreams of woodstock sounds, here it is. Effect is awesome. Nothin to worry about. // 10

Reliability & Durability: I've had one battery in this more than 2 and half months and use it more than page (Who always had it on) and this battery still works perfect. Gig without backup? Yeah. done quite a few gigs for churches with it. Heck this thing says it can take 100 continuous hours on one battery. I think that's just a precaution, because it's worked longer than that on one battery already. // 10

Overall Impression: I play classic rock, and this pedal is the heart and soul of classic rock. Been playing 5 years never seen a single effect nicer. If it were stolen I would buy two more. Gotta love this perfect sound. Nothing to hate at all. Tried crybabies and cried. they were terrible. Tried Vox and was touched by an angel. This really is perfect. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.5
Wah-Wah Pedal Reviewed by: bonzo_lives, on october 26, 2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 146.382

Purchased from: Dolphiin Music

Ease of Use: This is the simplest pedal probably in the history of pedals to use. There are no tone controls, you cannot control the filter, there is no volume boost control. I prefer this pedal to the Crybaby as I find it has a more even sweep to it and a smoother transition to high (toe) end. However the major flaw in it's design has to be the battery access. You have to totally unscrew the bottom of the pedal to replace the battery. This caused me to be unable to test it before I bought it. Another minor flaw is that there is no light to signal whether the pedal is on our not. // 7

Sound: I use it with a PRS Tremonti (humbuckers, Les Paul style) with a Tubescreamer through a Carlsbro Stingray Lead (60w). The Wah sounds great when using it with a clean tone and it lets you be expressive with your lead breaks. When off there is no drain on the tone despite it not (allegedly) having true bypass. it's sound works well enough to use in a covers band. // 9

Reliability & Durability: Depend? I would trust this pedal with my life. It's metal and will not break. I has had beer poured on it and I've gigged several times with it and it's not even scrathed. Also the battery life of it is quite long, I recon 3 months of solid gigging before it needs to be changed. // 10

Overall Impression: This is a very good rock wah. Luckily I play in a rock covers band and it's perfect for Hendrix, Zeppelin and Cream. However I've played it with a heavier distortion and it loses a lot of clarity. I would recommend this pedal to everybody bar Metallers as it would be a waste of time for them to purchase this. If it were stolen or lost I would immediately buy a new one. It's main competitor is the Crybaby and I prefer it's more gradual Wah to the Crybaby. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
Wah-Wah Pedal Reviewed by: darkarbiter7, on march 13, 2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 50

Purchased from: UGer

Ease of Use: It's a wah. No controls, very simple. Only a bypass Switch under the toe end of the pedal. Rock it back and forth, it's that simple. Make sure when you're playing, you don't accidentially bypass the wah. 9, since it's very simple, but it's not a 10, since I'd prefer a design which I can't accidentially bypass it. Like Morley wahs. // 9

Sound: I am using it with my MIM strat, Peavey Classic 50, and assorted overdrives. It's a quite quiet wah. It's less noisy than my Morley Power Wah. The effect is kind of weaker sounding, but that's it's classic sound. It's honky and very good on cleans. If you want to play Jimi or SRV, this pedal is a good choice to get their wah tones. It's not throaty or agressive though, so you metalheads may have to find something else. With a high amount of distortion, it sounds very bad. But, if you play the blues, classic rock, or just anything that involves wah and a clean tone, this pedal is perfect for you. Not quite 10, since it's not super versatile. But, if you mod it, I think it'll become a solid 10. // 9

Reliability & Durability: It's a tank. I've stood on it, thrown it around, basically abused it. This thing is made to be stomped and abused. The metal shell is thick, the jacks are metal, and the pedal itself is solidly connected and strong. I already have a backup for it, but I don't think you would need a backup. But, it's always a good idea to have one. 9/10 again. Because any pedal can always be tougher. // 9

Overall Impression: I play blues and rock. This is a great match for it. It gives me the tones I want for classic rock, and sounds great clean. This wah is a must for Jimi fans. If it were stolen or lost, I think I'd either buy another Vox V847 or try out a Budda Budwah. Just average up the scores above. I recommmend this wah! // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Wah-Wah Pedal Reviewed by: Drewlynch15, on august 14, 2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Ease of Use: It's very easy to use. One Switch and one sweep pedal. Mine came with a little multi-language manual, suggesting where to place it in my chain and how to plug it up. But anyone should be able to figure this pedal out. The sweep range is great and once you get rocking it's east to figure out how to get the sound you're looking for. // 9

Sound: I love the sound's I can get from this! I play a number of different guitars with a Boss DS-1 through a Fender Blued Deluxe, Mostly an american strat. This pedal is great for that Vintage "VooDoo" wah sound everyone covets. I also play a modded fat strat and I like to use this pedal to just change the tone mid song. Though I found that in my effects loop thah it loses something, But that could be my fault. And as for noise, I think anyone can make a pedal sound bad-but I had a hard time doing that with this Vox wah. // 9

Reliability & Durability: From what I can tell it's very heavy, the bottom seems to be crinkled steel? And the top is chrome, with a big rubber foot pad. I would always reccomend having a fresh battery. I haven't had this pedal long enough to report battery life. I don't think it'll go out mid gig. You'd probably have to intentionally try and Hurt this pedal to break it. // 10

Overall Impression: I mostly play your basic punk/hard rock, this pedal doesn't exactly go hand in hand with that but if you also like funk and late '60s, it's perfect. I tried this and the Steve Vai Bad Horsie, I liked the sound more from the Vox, also the Vox can rest at different angles, the Horsie can't. Though the Horsie's switchless design is really cool. That could be the only beef is the Switch takes some effort to switch on/off. Overall very impressed. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8
Wah-Wah Pedal Reviewed by: ~Shred Hero~, on october 20, 2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 63

Purchased from: MusicGoRound

Ease of Use: This pedal is one of the easier to operate out of most wahs. Simply plug your guitar into the input, run it through the output, turn it on, and you're cookin' with gas. Rock the pedal forward for more treble, rock it back for more bass, or both. Mine didn't come with a manual (bought it used) but Who needs one anyways. The one I purchased was made in China. // 9

Sound: I run a Squier Affinity Strat through a Squier 10W and a Rolan Cube 30 amp. The pedal gives a slight hum which is only noticable if you're not playing anything. The one I purchased has a scratchy pot so I lose some tone quality from it but I will be replacing it so no worries. The wah is wider than the Dunlop classic and GCB9 95. However, the wah isnt that great. The wah becomes less noticable after the 9th fret and can't be heard around the 15th and above. Overall, it's a good beginner wah, obviously not as good as a signature wah such as the Slash Wah, or Zakk Wylde, ect. // 7

Reliability & Durability: This pedal is made out of metal and thus it is built to last. don't expect this to break anytime soon. The battery is located inside the pedal and can be reached by unscrewing the four knobs that hold the bottom plate onto the pedal itsself. As far as durability I would gig with it. // 8

Overall Impression: I've been playing for over two years and I pretty much play everything. This pedal isn't good with a lot of distortion and or gain. This pedal doesn't have an AC jack for an adapter and so it only runs off of a 9v battery. The battery life is pretty long though, if you unplug it when it's not in use of course. If this pedal was stolen I would invest in a much better wah, something with an even wider sweep, can handle more distortion, and can hold up high in the frets. So far the best wah I ever played was a Real McCoy Wah but those run for $200 and up and are hard to find. Overall though, this is decent pedal for the price, good for beginners. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9
Wah-Wah Pedal Reviewed by: Mitchell?, on january 28, 2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 80

Purchased from: Musicians Friend

Ease of Use: This pedal easy to work, because it has one button, and no knobs. All it requires is you to move your foot a bit.:D It's just plug in, and you've got access to those sweet tones on all sorts of classic rock classics. Think: "Voodoo Child" at your fingertips. Use it as a treble-booster and you've gotten that much closer to Jimmy Page's tone on Heartbreaker. By the way, I had to use a balanced cable after my wah in order for it to work though, not quite sure why. // 9

Sound: I use this wah with a PRS SE Custom Semi-Hollow (mahogany body, two humbuckers) in front of a Vox AC15. It's great for that Classic Wah tone, very reminiscent of Hendrix on Voodoo Child and Burning The Midnight Lamp. With the pedal angled to the treble side I do get hiss, but it's only barely noticeable during dead silence. This won't affect your performance at all. I great way to use this wah in your setup is to use it a sort of "third tone knob." You can use it to boost treble through a muddy dist. (like in front of a Big Muff) or lay it back to the bass side with a fuzz to get some crazy Atari-like tones. It works great as a treble boost for the first solo on Led Zeppelin's 'Heartbreaker' and anywhere else you'd want a lot of high-end bite. Overall, it's just a great wah, with a very vocal quality. // 9

Reliability & Durability: The Vox wah is in a really tough enclosure, with a very nice chrome foot pedal. It's all metal, and looks really durable. It's very tough, I've already beaten mine up quite a bit, but it's never conked out on me. I'd gig with one without a backup for sure. // 9

Overall Impression: I use this pedal for everything, from Indie to metal. I use it as a wah for mostly classic rock things, but as a treble booster I use it everywhere. For experimental things I put lay it back and then turn on my Big Muff for a bassy, Atari/synth fuzz tone that's really sweet for Indie or electronic music. If somebody stole my wah, I would have to get another, because in between it's uses as a wah, and a EQ, it's become too essential to my rig. I compared it to a regular Dunlop Crybaby, but the Vox beat it out. I liked the foot-pedal action more, it looked tougher, and it just sounded better. Overall, it's a sweet buy, and really useful for getting loads of great tones. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Wah-Wah Pedal Reviewed by: Rhoads_1096, on june 01, 2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 95

Purchased from: Guitar Center

Ease of Use: This is a Wah-Wah Pedal. Press the toe to activate the wah, keep it upward to make the sound have more treble, lean it back so it has more bass and rock your foot back and forth to make the wah-wah sound. The manual says just about what I just said. This unit has not been modified. // 10

Sound: I use this pedal through a Epiphone Les Paul Standard and a Vox AC50CP2. I don't use any other pedals with it. It can be noisy when you have the treble maxed on the amp and the toe pressed forward but other that that it isn't noisy at all exept for a small hum with the foot forward but this is expected. The effect sounds great for blues and rock but can't do high gain stuff very well. I can get good Jimmy Page and Jimi Hendrix tones out of this and its great to add a splash of wah to blues riffs. I don't use this with other effects but the reverb through my amp sounds just fine through it. There is true bypass and when the wah is off it sounds just like I just had the guitar and amp. // 8

Reliability & Durability: This thing is built really solid and I would gig without a backup. None of the parts seem lose. No complaints. Doesn't seem like it would brake down. I also bought a warranty so it is gauranteed not to brake down. The Wiring looks solid. // 10

Overall Impression: I play mainly blues and rock but play everything else too. This a great for everything that could use a wah exept metal. I have been playing for two years and own this my Vox AC50CP2 and an Epiphone Les Paul Standard. If this was lost or stolen I would buy this again right away. I love everything about it but wish it had an added level control. I compared it too the Dunlop Crybaby and this blew it away in every aspect. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.5
Wah-Wah Pedal Reviewed by: osXtiger, on march 31, 2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: £ 59

Purchased from: Absolute Music

Ease of Use: Well, It's a simplistic Wah pedal. Press the front end to turn on and off, Rock back and forth to operate! The battery compartment is accessed by removing the 4 rubber feet on the underside of the pedal. This pedal does not have an LED to indicate whether it's on or off, which is annoying, but bearable. // 9

Sound: I use an Epiphone SG-400 with a Boss DS-1 and a Peavey Vypyr. The transition from bass to treble is smooth and very nice with no abrupt change in the middle. However, this does not have any dials or switches like some other Wah pedals, so what you hear is what you get, end of. But the Wah is nice and full and is fantastic distorted or clean, so you should be very happy with the sound you get out of it. // 9

Reliability & Durability: This is made from about 2 types of metal (most likely die cast and stainless steel). It's very well built and could be thrown at solid walls with little problem (although, why would you do that?!). It's totally reliable, the battery life is pretty good, and I'd definitely gig without backup! // 10

Overall Impression: I play plenty of styles from classic rock to jazz and instrumental rock music, this suits them all nicely. If this was stolen/broken, I would either get this or the Big Bad Wah pedal for greater versatility. Before this pedal, I did have a Dunlop crybaby, and as I recall, I was not completely fond of it, as such I sold it and bought this because the crybaby's Wah is too abrupt and would require modifying in order to get the Wah sound I wanted. This pedal not only sounds better to me, it was also cheaper, so it was a win-win. The only thing I would really want is an LED light to indicate if it's on or off. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Vox reviews rating category latest review
+ Tone Garage Double Deca Delay 8.4 Guitar Effects 08/05/2014
+ Big Bad Wah 8.9 Guitar Effects 07/31/2014
+ Valvetronix VT20+ 8.7 Guitar Amplifiers 07/28/2014
+ AmPlug Twin 7.4 Guitar Amplifiers 05/30/2014
+ StompLab IG 9 Guitar Effects 04/14/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect