Australia (Brisbane), September 3, 2004 Review

artist: blink 182 date: 10/17/2005 category: live concerts
blink 182: Australia (Brisbane), September 3, 2004
came out playing Feelin This which was a good song but sounded better live because Mark sang the chorus tune differently.
 Sound: 8.5
 Perfomance: 10
 Overall Impression: 9.5
 Overall rating:
 9.7 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.4 
 Users rating:
 10 
 Votes:
 1 
reviews (2) user comments vote for this concert:
overall: 10
Australia (Brisbane), September 3, 2004 Reviewed by: unregistered, on september 09, 2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: Blink 182 sure showed they can get your heart pumping when they come out on stage literally, Marks bass was up loud enough that your could feel it in your chest which was a real kick ass thing. Blink came out playing Feelin This which was a good song but sounded better live because Mark sang the chorus tune differently. About 65% of songs they played that night were from the new album and the others were old songs which is a bonus for any long time fan. They played and sung to the best of their abilty that night. Tom used his signature Gibson and a new guitar of his and Mark used that hot Pink bass. // 10

Perfomance: The audience was great, They were really getting into it sung along with Blink through the old stuff as well as the new songs. Although their new album shows the deeper, meaningful side of Blink-182 it doesnt mean they lost all personality, the first thing Tom said on stage was "To all you Haters: you can suck my big, fat, hairy peeeeeenis." // 10

Overall Impression: Blink played at the Brisbane Entertainment Centre on the third of September and I hope they come back for more shows to come. The openers were Gyroscope and Sparta, I thought Gyroscope was better than Sparta and Gryoscope was an Australian band so that was even better but Sparta was pretty good aswell. The thing I loved about the show was the atmosphere and the crowd and Blink. My ticket costed $50 and it was worth every cent. The thing I will remember the most is the whole thing, ill never forget it. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 8.7
Australia (Brisbane), September 3, 2004 Reviewed by: unregistered, on october 17, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound of the concert was good. Gyroscope was slighty lo-fi, but Sparta and Blink stepped it up with great sounding sets. Nothing against him, but Tom sounds like a whiny dickhead live. Hence a boxcar racer concert would suck. Unless you like whiny dickheads. If you do, Simple Plan is cheaper to buy than Boxcar Racer. // 7

Perfomance: I'm using this as an oppurtinity to review the two warm up acts Sparta and Gyroscope as well as Blink 182. Firstly Gyrosocpe. These Perth lads f--king rocked. Their performance to me was the most daunting and inspired. Though Sparta and Blink had better sound quality, Gyroscope gave off the vibe that they really wanted to be there. This was their first major show and tour, so the really wanted to leave an impression. And they did. Fast paced post-hardcore songs kept the blood pumping and the headbanging as the played through their set. To the best of my memory they plaed pretty much everything off SHS but in no particular order, fire away had to be a highlight, so was driving for the storm. The sound was somewhat lo-fi, despite how polished their album is, but this added to the atmosphere. in all this was a great performance. Next came Sparta and the cheers roared as the backdrop appeared. To me the choice of warm-up acts for this concert was odd. To hard rocking post-hardcore bands and then Blink 182, anyway Sparta was good, very good but still paled somewhat in comparison to Gyroscope. I didn't know any of eithers songs but Sparta seemed less defined, simply because of a really tight well thought out set. Then it ended. 45 minutes later the roadies did a soundcheck. About 30 minutes laters the new backdrop appeared and under covered of darkness, the Travis burst into the start of feeling this. Sure enough Mark and Tom followed. A series of songs followed, can't really remember but it may have contained obvious and something else. Don't get me wrong the set was good, but for the rest of the night I was a bit dissapointed that Blink 182 got smoked by Gyroscope and Sparta. I bet every emo kid in the whole place complety had their conceptions of the world f--ked. Note I give this ten for Gyroscope and Sparta. Blink get about a 7. // 10

Overall Impression: I travelled 650 kms to get to this show. I was a great performance and for $55 it was great value. My favourite part was watching the lead singer/guitarist of Gyroscope wave his guitar around his head and still playing chords. Mark wasting about 50000 pink picks all over the stage was cool. Tom yelling at the roadie for tripping when carryinga mic stand was pretty funny. Rock on Gyroscope. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Blink 182 reviews rating latest review
+ UK (London), June 9, 2012 9.3 06/14/2012
+ UK (Birmingham), June 7, 2012 4.4 06/13/2012
+ USA (Tampa), September 24, 2011 5 09/28/2011
+ US (Holmdel), August 5, 2011 9.9 09/02/2011
+ UK (Birmingham), November 30, 2004 9.2 01/14/2010
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect