USA (Detroit), June 12, 2007 Review

artist: deftones date: 10/03/2011 category: live concerts
deftones: USA (Detroit), June 12, 2007
The Deftones came out loud, they came out hard, and they came out strong. Rhythm, leads, vocals, drums, and bass were all very well balanced.
 Sound: 9.5
 Perfomance: 10
 Overall Impression: 9.5
 Overall rating:
 8.4 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.7 
 Users rating:
 7.1 
 Votes:
 8 
reviews (2) 12 comments vote for this concert:
overall: 9.3
USA (Detroit), June 12, 2007 Reviewed by: rbarger, on june 18, 2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound was just outstanding. The small venue has well crafted acoustics which don't echo or carry longer than they should. The Deftones came out loud, they came out hard, and they came out strong. Rhythm, leads, vocals, drums, and bass were all very well balanced. The whole sound was very clear and well balanced, hence why technically, the show was flawless. Chino's sings and screams were unreal, and on key precisely as one would expect. The band had their normal mix of instruments, Chino with the microphone, and for some songs, the guitar. Steven Carpenter on the 7-string guitar, with big Marshall monitors. Abe Cunningham on the drums, Chi Cheng on the bass, also hooked up to some serious monitors, and can't forget good ole Frank Delgado on the synthesizers and tables hiding in the back. The only thing I would want more of, is volume. Not to say that the volume wasn't good, but I just like it loud! // 9

Perfomance: The general performance was incredible. Very entertaining throughout the whole show. They entered with pride, and the whole place was going nuts. Chino was definantly an awesome sight to see. The frontman always plays a huge part in the Live show. He always will get into the songs, jumping around, headbanging, and moving with the music. Chino likes to also involve the audience, which enhances the experience of the show on a whole new level. Behind the band, they had a large LED screen which was utilized during the whole performance for different video, mood, and atmospheric touches. It covered the whole stage. The screen was also a see-thru, so behind the screen you could see a deep black velvet curtain, which just barely reflected the hues. The Deftones played for awhile too. The tracks they played were great, and one thing else that's really neat is: They didn't play songs I expected them to, but they played songs I wouldn't expect them to! Especially during the promotion of "Saturday Night Wrist" which is less than a year old. It was a great aspect because it made the show unpredictable. They played a few of their favorites off the new album, "Rats! Rats! Rats!", "Cherry Waves", "Xerces", "Beware" and "Hole In The Earth". Some of the unexpected songs were: "Passenger", "Teenager", "Bored" (which was one of the major highlights! This song they rocked out for about 15 minutes!), "Pink Maggit" and "Headup" as well as a few others. And of course they played their big hits. To name a couple: "My Own Summer", "Change" and "rx Queen" (!!!). There were a few songs I really wanted to hear but they didn't play them. Those were: "Rapture", "Knife Prty", "Hexagram", "Needles and Pins", "Minerva" and one of my real favorites, "Mein". What's cool is they did play tracks from every album, which lead to an outstanding concert track list. There were a couple of key times during the show, where certain changes had to be made on stage, so they blacked the stage out while Frank Delgado worked the samples. After a few short moments, they would start to lead in a little bit, and you notice, while it's dark, that the volume gets louder as Abe hits a few drums, Chi hits a deep note, and Steven gives a dark chord. It added a great feeling of anticipation at multiple times throughout the show. To be honest, the performance was probably one of the best I've seen in my life. And for the record, this was my second time seeing the Deftones. // 10

Overall Impression: The concert was held at: The Fillmore (formerly The State Theatre) in Detroit, Michigan, United States. On the date of: June 12, 2007 Doors: 7:00pm I remeber the sign as we were walking up, in three bold lines it said: "Tonight; Deftones; 7:00" it was a beautiful thing! Especially because the sign is an authentic historical theatre sign. Oh what do they call them? A Marquee! The Deftones were headlining behind two other bands. The first to perform was a band called: The Fall of Troy. They put on a decent show, they only got about 45 minutes though. The band lays a nice mix between Pantera, Iron Maiden, an Van Halen. They seemed quite young, and I'm proud of them for their success, but they were also amatuer-ish, which threw off the mood slightly. it's a good thing that they played first and got out of there. The second band to play was: Dir En Grey. This is a metal band from Japan which definantly throws down an interesting performance. They had a stellar sound, but the frontman Kyo, although impressive, is kind of crazy. He can achieve any kind of holler, croon, scream, shreek or growl and can make almost inhuman noises. Can't sing though. His voice is too high pitch to sing for a rock song. It was almost funny. Kyo has been hospitalized in the past for exhaustion and irritated vocal chords. He's also been known to self-mutilate himself during performances, which he did at this show. You could clearly see HIM slashing his own face and chest, soon to follow dripping blood. The band has an intense sound that's adopted the American style of hard rock and nu-metal. They did tour with Korn in Europe you know! They were a nice fit with the Deftones. Tickets were about $28 face, then you add convienence charges and taxes, so they turned out more like $40 each. Was the show worth the money? Most definantly. It was a great show that would have appealed to any hard rock fan, wheather you're a fan of the Deftones or not. The Deftones performace was immaculate, as usual. Dir En Grey made a nice fit, but was a little extreme, and the Fall of Troy was just... well, just that. Drinks were a little pricy about $5 for domestic draft beer, and liquor from $8-$15, but that's to be expected at a concert like this one. The final thought after walking out of this concert was: "I can't wait until they come back!". You know I'll be the first to buy tickets! // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
USA (Detroit), June 12, 2007 Reviewed by: FancyAthan, on october 03, 2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Chino was great as always, dead on with his screams and melodies. I saw them right before Chi went under, so it was the original line-up. I thought they sounded great, even at the small venue I saw them in. // 10

Perfomance: The audience definitely enjoyed it, they played all the best songs/crowd favorites. I especially loved that they opened up with "Be Quiet & Drive" cause that's my favorite song. // 10

Overall Impression: I saw them in 2007 in NYC, not sure what the name of the venue was though. They were on tour with Shades Of Grey, I believe, which was a terrible band. The tickets were $30 and it was worth it. I smoked with one of their roadies in the crowd, someone I noticed from their DVDs that I own. I wish I could go to every gig of theirs, to be honest. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Deftones reviews rating latest review
+ Philippines (Manila), February 12, 2011 5 02/17/2011
+ UK (Wembley), October 19, 2003 6.6 10/21/2004
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect