Ireland (Dublin), June 25, 2004 Review

artist: metallica date: 07/05/2004 category: live concerts
metallica: Ireland (Dublin), June 25, 2004
Pyro was a big thing at this gig nearly every song had fire shooting out of somewhere or rockets flying into the air in sync with the music.
 Sound: 10
 Perfomance: 10
 Overall Impression: 10
 Overall rating:
 8.1 
 Reviewer rating:
 10 
 Users rating:
 6.1 
 Votes:
 16 
reviews (3) user comments vote for this concert:
overall: 10
Ireland (Dublin), June 25, 2004 Reviewed by: unregistered, on june 28, 2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: When half 8 hit in the RDS, Ecstacy of Gold did also. When The Good, The Bad And The Ugly clip finished out walked Metallica. They started off a thundering version of Blackened. The sound was brilliant, you could hear every pull off and hammer-on of James and Kirk, every rumbling bass line of Rob and every beat of the double bass from Lars. It had excellent sound for an outdoor gig, better than I thought it could. // 10

Perfomance: Pyro was a big thing at this gig nearly every song had fire shooting out of somewhere or rockets flying into the air in sync with the music. Near the end of the show, most people new what song was next, Metallica had left the stage and the lights were off. I was expecting to hear the helicopter and gunfire of One but we all got a different surprise. Parts of Full Metal Jacket were played across the speakers, with such parts like "What is your major malfunction numbnuts" and the chant from the start "This is my rifle." Then things started to explode, smoke and flames and gunfire. They also had explosions from the girders on which the lights were on. It was very impressive. But that was not the big surprise of the night Oh No. Last year the Irish fans were dissapointed Metallica didn't play Whiskey In The Jar even though the gig was on Phil Lynotts birthday. This year was the same chants of "whiskey whiskey" were to be heard. James at one point said "Not yet its too early for whiskey". When Metallica finished and threw out their plecks and sticks. James said into the mic "We forgot to play something last year what was it". Whiskey echoed around the arena. And Metallica delivered doing a brilliant version of Whiskey In The Jar and then doing Seek & Destroy. No one went home dissapointed. // 10

Overall Impression: Ireland, Dublin City, RDS Arena, 25th June 04. The ticket was ?60 and well worth it. The first opening act was Lost Prophets and they were abused by flying bottles and anything people could get their hans on. Next up were Slipknot Who were wild. They were banned from playing here and it took them 3 years to get a gig here. This was one of the best gigs I was ever at and I'm sure the other 29,999 people thought the same. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Ireland (Dublin), June 25, 2004 Reviewed by: Demented Leprec, on june 28, 2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound quality from Metallica was amazing. Lars used his Tama kit as usual and I think Kirk and James used Les Pauls and ESPs. The tuning seemed either normal or drop c tuning. James sang great! Brilliant sound! // 10

Perfomance: They played all their greatest songs, Nothing Else Matters, Enter Sandman, Master Of Puppets, Battery, One, Blackened, Holier Than Thou, Wherever I May Roam, Fuel, Sad But True, Seek And Destroy, No Leaf Clover, Fade To Black, Creeping Death and of course, as it was in Ireland, whiskey In The Jar. All these were great. Master Of Puppets was the best because of the mosh pits. But Slipknots "Spit It Out" was also amazing. Corey made the whole croud sit down and when he said "jump up", the croud went insane! At the intro of "One", the part where the gunfire sounds are made, fireworks shot up from the stage. It was cool! The audience loved it! // 10

Overall Impression: The show was in the RDS arena, Dublin, Ireland on the 25th of June 2004. The tickets cost 65 euro and were tottaly worth it. The Lost Prophets and Slipknot were supporting and Slipknot were great. The gig was overall brilliant and I will without a doubt go to their next concert. Great show Metallica! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
Ireland (Dublin), June 25, 2004 Reviewed by: unregistered, on july 05, 2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Quilty of sound was amazing. When Metallica came on stage they blew the crowd away with the velocity of their sound. Slipknot's sound wasn't great but what do expect for a backing group. Lars as always was great along with Robert, James and Kirk. Singing as good as ever from James i think he's getting better with age. // 10

Perfomance: I think the audience enjoyed this concert imensely I know I did. Special moments for as usaul where One with the pyro's and the clips from Full Metal Jacket (what is your major malfunction private pile). There wasn't a bad song the hole nigth all hte classic's were played Enter Sandman, Seek and Destroy, Master Of Puppets, Sad But True and the newer songs such as Frantic and Saint Anger. Good variety of people in the crowd from young children to the old rockers. This was nice to see. // 10

Overall Impression: This was my third time travelling to Dublin from County Down to see Metallica and I reckon it was the best yet. The RDS is an excellent venue for a concert of this nature. My ticket cost 45 and was well worth the money. Enjoyed Slipknots set especially when we all got on the ground and jumped up on Corey's comand. Even started a few mosh pits around that time which was good fun. There seemed to be more people there than last years concert which looked amazing. Good to see so many people enjoying great metal. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Metallica reviews rating latest review
+ Belgium (Antwerp), March 5, 2009 8.5 01/14/2013
+ India (Bangalore), October 30, 2011 8.9 11/02/2011
+ Canada (Halifax), July 14, 2011 9.1 07/18/2011
+ Norway (Oslo), April 14, 2010 5 08/18/2010
+ Estonia (Tallin), April 18, 2010 7.9 04/22/2010
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect