USA (Uniondale), April 20, 2004 Review

artist: metallica date: 09/24/2005 category: live concerts
metallica: USA (Uniondale), April 20, 2004
The entire night was just one unforgettable performance. Both Metallica and Godsmack showed tons of charisma and power.
 Sound: 10
 Perfomance: 10
 Overall Impression: 10
 Overall rating:
 10 
 Reviewer rating:
 10 
 Users rating:
 10 
 Votes:
 3 
reviews (2) user comments vote for this concert:
overall: 10
USA (Uniondale), April 20, 2004 Reviewed by: soundrock31, on april 26, 2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Godsmack have an amazing sound, and they don't get the credit they deserve for that. Sully's deep vocals blend so well with the monster riffs behind HIM. As for Metallica, what can you say. Not once did the band trip up, and after playing about 18 songs, you think they would've tripped up once. Kirk had some great face melting solos, even after breaking a string, he still continued his solo in Sad but True, and it still kicked ass. Also, the way James sings makes the entire audience singing with HIM. Lars played just like Lars, striaght up "I am gonna kick your ass with my drums" performance. And as for the new bassist Rob, may be the best live performance bassist they have ever had. He can add that headbanging, crunch sound while still doing crazy aerobics on-stage. // 10

Perfomance: Godsmack performed much better than what I anticipated. Along with doing some of their more popular songs (ex. I Stand Alone, Asleep, Straight out of Line etc.), there was a 6 minute segment in which both drummer Shannon Larkin and lead singer Sully Urna were both playing drums to some intresting beats. They did have a good amount of fire to put the cherry on top. As for Metallica, agian, what can you say. Like always, they opened up by showing the graveyard scene from the western movie "The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly." I wish I could tell you every song they did, but they did somany of them. They basically played all of their classics (with the exception of Sanatarium and Unforgiven) and then they did a couple of St. Anger songs. As for effects, Metallica was absolutely loaded. They had tons of fire, lasers, and a s#@!t load of fireworks (so much that by the end of the show, the place was filed with smoke). The best song they did was One. They opened up the song with fireworks that imitated the battlefield sounds in the actual song. At the end, they had two encores in which they played some songs from Kill em' All. // 10

Overall Impression: The best word to describe this concert was loaded. Both bands showed tons of charisma and power. Sitting in the upper deck, the tickets were about $50, but I think $100 would have been a bargin for that performacne. The entire night was just one unforgetable performance. The Who took me was once a roadie for Anthrax and has been to over 20 Metallica shows and even he was impressed. I hope to go to their next show when they return to the New York Metropolitan area. Before this show, I wasn't a big fan of either of the bands. Now, I am determined to have every Godsmack and Metallica album by the end of the year. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
USA (Uniondale), April 20, 2004 Reviewed by: Maverick77, on september 24, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Metallica as always rocked the house, the fireworks and effects were like none I've seen. They absolutely blew everyone away. The sound quality was so pure with each song they performed. // 10

Perfomance: During St. Anger James let out this scream that just tore the house down. You felt like he put his life into these lyrics. The audience was such a big part of the experience, as if we were all one witnessing the experience that is metallica. // 10

Overall Impression: April 20th Uniondale, NY. Godsmack opened and layed the red carpet down for the main band. I can't wait till Metallica releases their new album and tours again. Tickets werent terriblbly priced, $65 for the first mezzanine up, front row. Metallica and Godsamck was a powerful combo and was well worth my money. Best money spent in years! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Metallica reviews rating latest review
+ Belgium (Antwerp), March 5, 2009 8.5 01/14/2013
+ India (Bangalore), October 30, 2011 8.9 11/02/2011
+ Canada (Halifax), July 14, 2011 9.1 07/18/2011
+ Norway (Oslo), April 14, 2010 5 08/18/2010
+ Estonia (Tallin), April 18, 2010 7.9 04/22/2010
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect