UK (London), June 16, 2007 Review

artist: muse date: 11/14/2007 category: live concerts
muse: UK (London), June 16, 2007
Muse entered the stadium through a central catwalk amongst an explosion of smoke and confetti.
 Sound: 9.5
 Perfomance: 10
 Overall Impression: 10
 Overall rating:
 10 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.9 
 Users rating:
 10 
 Votes:
 15 
reviews (2) 6 comments vote for this concert:
overall: 10
UK (London), June 16, 2007 Reviewed by: mon_the_fraser, on november 14, 2007
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Sound: Matt Bellamy, what can you say. A master of both guitar and piano with an amazing voice to boot. The sound quality, even of a stadium that fits 80,000 people was incredible. The musicianship of Chris Wolstenholme, Dom Howard and Matt Bellamy is simply astonishing. Bellamy wielded his hand built Manson electric guitars and Dom and Chris with bass guitars and a drum kit. // 10

Perfomance: Muse must have had a nightmare choosing the set list. Ranging five albums with so many anthemic tracks no-one could have chosen a better setlist. Starting with the famed riffery of "Knights of Cydonia" a great first choice with it's enormous end riff with added end riff from "Space Dementia". Then staight into "Hysteria" with it's vicious bass line. After this "Supermassive Blackhole" this in my opinion was Bellamy's most creative piece with the most improvisation. And to follow "Map of The Problematique". Then "City of Delusion" after this I was lulled into thinking that they would play several more album tracks and that the initial climax was gone however I was wrong the masterpiece of "Butterflies and Hurricanes" this was were Bellamy came alive with his masterful piano solo. Then another from Black Holes and Revelations "Hoodoo" was then executed with mastery. And then two piano tracks "Feeling Good" and "Sunburn". Again after the softer new songs "Invincible" and the great poppy "Starlight" then the unreleased "Man of Mystery" instrumental which kept the crowd going. After this Muse unleashed one of the highlights of the show the earth shattering "New Born". After this there was a break in which I could not wait for Muse to re-appear. After the intermission the band showed a softer side with "Unintended" and then the most innovative thing I have ever seen from any band, people suspended from balloons this was strangely beutiful and haunting and will be one of the moments of which I will remember the concert by. To end the concert before the Encore, the amazing "Plug in Baby" was reeled off effortlessly by Bellamy and co. After the final break "Micro Cuts" was performed and much to my amusement were the crowd trying to sing falsetto and failing miserably (I did as well). After this the drop-D magestry of "Stockholm Syndrome" and finally the anthemic "Take a Bow." // 10

Overall Impression: The first sold out show at Wembley Stadium did not dissapoint. The effects were mind blowing (light show, animations on large screen and balloon dancers). The support on the 16th were Rodrigo Y Gabriela, a truly amazing classical guitar duo Who kept my foot tapping with their classical covers of enter sandman, Orion and Stairway to Heaven. Secondly Dirty Pretty Things. They were comparitively dissapointing compared to the other acts but I beleive this is mainly due to the fact that there setups were wrong. Finally The Streets. I thought they would be the worst support act but they were infact the best. Mike Skinner kept the crowd going. Before the support acts and in between Zane Lowe DJ'd. This was also good and kept moral up. I would now like to say Muse have ruined the rest of my life. This was my first ever concert and I have been told by countless people and magazines ("the woodstock of our generation" in Total Guitar) that I will never see anything like it again. The whole concert was an anthemic, grand and haunting experience. It saddens me greatly to know that I will probably never see anything like it again but I am thankful that I experienced it. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.7
UK (London), June 16, 2007 Reviewed by: unregistered, on june 22, 2007
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sound: Matt Bellamy's vocals were amazing as usual, his voice reaching levels not previously thought possible by man. The sound could have been louder and sharper, but overall quality was good. Bellamy's Manson guitars were used to stunning effect, including spine tingling sirens before newborn and plug in baby opening riffs. He also used an accoustic guitar for City of Delusion and Soldier's poem. A glowing grand piano was used for an ever dramatic rendition of hoodoo and insanely good Butterflies and Hurricanes. // 9

Perfomance: One of the most visually stunning gigs in history. The stage was covered in huge satelites with glowing edges, which shot lasers out of the centre. Muse entered the stadium through a central catwalk amongst an explosion of smoke and confetti. Giant helium balloons were set behind and around the stage, which glowed different colours. 2 of these started floating around during "Blackout", with acrobats dangling from them above the stadium of 70,000 screamimg Muse fans. The final song "Take A Bow" saw the front of the stage engulfed in flames. // 10

Overall Impression: It was held in London's (UK) new Wembley Stadium on th 16th June 2007, followed by another show the day after. Muse were due to be the First Act to play, but were beaten to it by George Michael. Muse were still the first act to sell out the stadium though. Support: Rodrigo Y Gabriella - a mexican accoustic guitar duo, technically stunning, if a little repetative after 45 minutes of shredding and thumping. Dirty Pretty Things - disappointing, I could not hear a word the lead singer said. They were bottled several times, only to throw the bottles back at other people in the crowd. The Streets - surprisingly good. There was a lot of bad feeling about a rapper supporting, but they really got everyone in the party spirit. Tickets were 37.50, totally worth it! The most unforgettable moment was suddenly seeing these floating balloons with acrobats on. Being so focused on stage, I didn't realise untill they came floating over the crowd. I would deffinately go to another gig, although it would be hard to beat! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Muse reviews rating latest review
+ Live at Scotiabank Saddledome, Calgary, Canada, February 4, 2013 7.1 12/20/2013
+ Live at Stadio Olimpico, Rome, Italy, July 6, 2013 6.5 07/10/2013
+ UK (London), October 26, 2012 9.1 11/01/2012
+ Australia (Brisbane), December 06, 2010 9.1 12/08/2010
+ Old Trafford Cricket Ground Manchester September 4th 2010 9.8 09/09/2010
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect