USA (Darien Lake), July 27, 2006 Review

artist: Ozzfest date: 08/05/2006 category: live concerts
Ozzfest: USA (Darien Lake), July 27, 2006
During second stages BLS and Ozzy, the crowd was going crazy and as many fans had said: "When Ozzy got on stage, it literlly rained black!"
 Sound: 10
 Perfomance: 9
 Overall Impression: 10
 Overall rating:
 5.6 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.7 
 Users rating:
 1.5 
 Votes:
 2 
reviews (2) 3 comments vote for this concert:
overall: 9.7
USA (Darien Lake), July 27, 2006 Reviewed by: lone_guitarist9, on july 29, 2006
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sound: During this years 11th annual Ozzfest, many great bands took the stage. Ozzy and Black Label Society ruled the second stage. System Of A Down as headliner of the main stage kept the crowd wild with other Main stage bands Disturbed, DragonForce, Hatebreed, Lacuna Coil and Avenged Sevenfold. Knowing Ozzy, the sound was top of the line. The music just kept coming with amazing vocals. Ranging from Walls Of Jerico, Ozzy, and BLS on second stage to Disturbed, Lacuna Coil and System Of A Down. // 10

Perfomance: During second stages BLS and Ozzy, the crowd was going crazy and as many fans had said: "When Ozzy got on stage, it literlly rained black!" Black Label Society played their famous song Suicide Messiah while ozzy rock out Mr. Crowley, Crazy Train, and finished with Mama I'm Coming home. The Crowd was the most active when Disturbed took the stage. Playing the songs Guarded, Just Stop, Stricken, Deify, Land of Confusion, Prayer, The Game, Stupify, Voices, Down With The Sickness, Remember and of course Ten Tousand Fists. In between songs, lead singer David Draiman had a few words to say, one of which was about rock and heavy metal. He stated "Many people have said that rock and heavy metal has declined since the '80s. But that is bullshit. It has taken a few minor blows but not from you guys (the fans). Or from any of the great bands to grace these two stages. It's from all the bands that sound the same. You the ones I'm talking about. They all start with the word the. The emo/screamo bitches that sing about breaking up with their 14 year old girlfriends and go home to cry themselves to sleep. And no one has stood up to say this but since I'm normally always the scapegoat, I figured why the f--k not. I'm sick and tired of that f--king bullshit. For whoever feels the same, say f--k that shit!" The crowd went crazy after this screaming "F--k that shit!" During Ten Thousand Fist, the whole crowd held their fists in the air to support Disturbed. System Of A Down also took main stage with songs like Chop Suey, Toxcity, Hypnotized, BYOB, Cigarous and many other songs of their many albums. // 9

Overall Impression: Overall, Ozzfest at Darien Lake, NY on July 27th was one of the best concerts I've ever been to. The music was just so amazing its hard to put into words. All I can really say is taht you'll have to save up your money and find a way out the next years show. And I'll answer some of your questions now, the tickets cost anywheres from $80-$100 for regular tickets depending on seats and $300 for VIP party like a rock star, and yes, it's totaly worth it. Yes their where some pretty bad bands but there is still a lot for you to do and you don't have to get there early, another nice thing is autographs, they have tents set up for most of the bands but you have to buy a CD from that band to get aoutographs, and you have to stand in line for a little while but its worth to see David Draiman and Dan Donegan and the rest of Disturbed. Overall, Ozzfest is one concert every rocker should try to get to! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.7
USA (Darien Lake), July 27, 2006 Reviewed by: guitar21@WE, on august 05, 2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: Well the sound from this concert was amazing. To sum it all up, Zakk Wylde had the power of 8 Marshall stacks roaring behind his guitar. Extremely ridiculus. The singers of most of the bands were very good. The best live singing comparing it to tracks from their studio versions was probably Disturbed. The singing was amazing on that act. Most of the bands that played were on par with the average singing at a rock concert. The instruments used were just each bands signature guitars, and from what I could tell System Of A Down did a song with an acoustic guitar. My overall impression of the Music and sound quality was that it was amazing. Everything I expected from an Ozzy concert, bass shaking, head pounding ear full of guitar solo. // 10

Perfomance: The performances by the bands were very good for the most part. Some of the performances were not what I expected. Dragonforce, was not what I thought they woudl be like live, and either was Hatebreed. However I've been to many rock concerts, and Disturbed was insane. Probably one of the best live bands I've ever heard. System Of A Down put on a great performance as well, seeing as they did not stop playing, there was like a 2 second pause between each of their songs. They also had a great lighting effects thing going, in sync with their music. SOAD played a great version of Dire Straights Sultains of swing, replacing sultans of swing for "System Of A Down". Ozzy Osbourne, however old he is, was great, maybe just because it was Ozzy. However most of the performances were throughly enjoyed. // 9

Overall Impression: This concert took place on July 27th, 2006 at Darien Lake, New York. The concert's second stage opened at 9 15, even though the tickets said 11 o'clock doors which was depressng. I got there right when Atreyu started to play. That was followed by Zakk Wylde who blew me away, Then Ozzy osbourne. That was the end of the Second Stage ending around 5. the main stage then began with Dragonforce, Lacuna Coil, Hatebreed, Avenged Sevenfold, Disturbed and Then SOAD. This concert was 40 for lawn seats, which I had and was an amazing price to see all of these bands in concert. I loved everythign about this show, and hated nothign, I mean it's Ozzfest. The most unforgettable moment of the show was the guitar solos by Zakk Wylde I think during Bleed for me (15 minutes! of Zakk Just tearin it up) and A7x had some very good solos as well. My Favorite part of this show was when Zakk Wylde did his rendition of The Star Spangled banner, Jimi Hendrix Style. I will definetly be going to next years Ozzfest. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Ozzfest reviews rating latest review
+ USA (Dallas), August 9, 2008 9.6 09/17/2008
+ USA (California), July 29, 2004 4.7 08/22/2007
+ USA (Mountain View), July 1, 2006 9.9 07/06/2006
+ USA (Holmdel), July 26, 2005 10 07/28/2005
+ USA (San Antonio), July 31, 2004 5 08/25/2004
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect