USA (Springfield), March 2, 2004 Review

artist: puddle of mudd date: 04/16/2004 category: live concerts
puddle of mudd: USA (Springfield), March 2, 2004
The show was quite fun. Puddle Of Mudd did a lot to revive the live scene here just by showing up.
 Sound: 8
 Perfomance: 9
 Overall Impression: 9
 Overall rating:
 4.4 
 Reviewer rating:
 8.7 
 Users rating:
 0 
 Votes:
 0 
reviews (2) user comments vote for this concert:
overall: 8
USA (Springfield), March 2, 2004 Reviewed by: Vinny_Barberino, on april 05, 2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: They played in this horrible building at the fairgrounds, always terrible sound. They sounded quite together as a band though, which is surprising after what Wes had done just days before. Wes sounded a lot more rough in concert, so did their sound, which actually was a good thing. They sounded a lot more heavy. A little better then I expected. // 8

Perfomance: Control/War Pigs/Control - Now this was freaking awesome and won me over! Opening with one of their best songs and playing a little Sabbath in the middle? It caught me by surprise and rocked. 10/10 Drift and Die - One of my other favorite Puddle songs, pulled it off pretty good. Away From me - Got the best reaction next to "She Hates Me" 9/10 Heel Over Head - Another good tune 8/10 Blurry - They didn't even try to play those harmonics, they didn't even really play the same music.. oh well, crowd enjoyed, 7/10 Piss it All Away - Don't really like this song 5/10 Nothing Left to Lose - Good rocking song, sounded the most heavy of everything 9/10 Time Flies - pretty good long song 8/10 Already Gone - Sounds like everything else 6/10 Spin you Around - I love the vocals in this 8/10 She Hates me - Didn't hear Wes sing a word of this crowd was big into it 10/10 Crowd loved this show more then any band I've seen in a long while, definatly a great atmosphere. // 8

Overall Impression: This show took place in my hometown of Springfield, IL. And it was actually quite fun, they aren't one of my favorite bands, but they did a lot to revive the live scene here just by showing up. The show sold out in 8 minutes, and any show that makes it to MTV because your mayor gives the band a key to the city has got to be worth something? right? That was a pretty cool moment, before the encore of "Spin you Around" and "She hates me" with the mayor actually calling it Puddle Of Mudd day. I enjoyed myself and would definatly go see them again, certainly up there with the biggest concerts this town has had. // 8

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
USA (Springfield), March 2, 2004 Reviewed by: wqlzrocker89, on april 16, 2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sounds was ok. It was probably the best you could get in that building. The whole band played together very well unlike some bands out there. And like the person that reviewed this concert before me the building is a bad place to have a concert. They only reason WQLZ holds them in there is because it's the only heated building. // 8

Perfomance: The same set list as above. The best moments were when they played War Pigs in the middle of control, the mayor giving them the key to the city, and (not many people noticed this) Wes Scatlin was wearing a Toledo shirt, the place were he was that day for a court appearence for the drunkin incident the week before, I thought it was kinda funny, and of course the MUSIC!!! // 10

Overall Impression: This concert was held in the Illinois Building on the Illinois State Fairground in Springfield, Illinois. This concert took place on March 2, 2004. The price was good because WQLZ (te local radio station that puts all the concerts on) holds them in fairground buildings instead of the arena downtown. It only cost $20 a ticket. The opener was the british band "Instruction". The unforgetable moments were the mayor declaring it Puddle Of Mudd day and giving them the key to the city (pretty surprizing since the lead singer was arrested the week before). I loved everything about this show. This was a great gig this was one of the better concerts I have been to. If they come back I would certinly go agian. This was the biggest concert to hit Springfield in 20 years. They last big concert that was here was Aerosmith and they didn't play cause they were drunk and one fell of the stage and the rest were yelling at each other. Puddle Of Mudd rocks!!! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Puddle Of Mudd reviews rating latest review
+ USA (Toledo), February 29, 2004 2.4 06/28/2004
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect