USA (Des Moines), March 2, 2007 Review

artist: red hot chili peppers date: 03/07/2007 category: live concerts
red hot chili peppers: USA (Des Moines), March 2, 2007
While some fans left disappointed with all of the jamming, they obviously didn't understand the incredible musicianship that these men possess.
 Sound: 10
 Perfomance: 10
 Overall Impression: 10
 Overall rating:
 10 
 Reviewer rating:
 10 
 Users rating:
 10 
 Votes:
 5 
reviews (2) 3 comments vote for this concert:
overall: 10
USA (Des Moines), March 2, 2007 Reviewed by: falseauthority, on march 05, 2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound was so amazing. Chad's drums were so clear, I could feel every bass kick and snare hit. The vocals were amazing. After 20 years, he still has it and he could still hit all the high notes and his presence stole the show. Flea's bass was a little quiet and that would be my only complete but with all of the other great aspects of their music, something was going to get drowned out. John's guitar setup was incredible. Every note pulsated through the entire stadium and put the show over the top. The mix was as perfect as I was expecting and really helped make this a special show. Gnarls Barkley was mixed very good as well. I had heard from earlier reviews that they suffered from poor sound quality but I thought they sounded great. // 10

Perfomance: Gnarls Barkley proved why they were nominated for all of those grammy's as they put on a great show as the opening act. Dressed as NASA workers, they opened with a great cover of "Space Oddity" by David Bowie and by the time they got to hit single "Crazy" the whole stadium was rocking. They showed that they will be filling these stadiums again but not as an opening act. The Red Hot Chili Peppers opened with a psychedelic jam with John and Flea trading leads as Chad provided the solid beat. The second they hit the stage, every seat was empty and the crowd was definitely having a good time. As soon as Anthony stepped on stage and John played the opening lick to "Can't Stop", the Wells Fargo Arena would not stop rocking for the next 2 hours. They followed up with plenty of great songs off of their current Grammy winning album "Stadium Arcadium" like: "Dani California", "Charlie", "C'mon Girl", "Tell Me Baby", and of course "Snow (Hey Oh)". Every one of these songs were so amazing Live, the recorded versions can't do them justice. I can't pick a favorite song from this group as everyone had me rocking out uncontrollably. The Peppers also played plenty of old favorites like: "Californication", "Blood Sugar Sex Magic", "By The Way", "Scar Tissue", and "Give It Away". "By The Way" was the highlight of my night as Flea's pounding bass was simply incredible. For the diehard fans, they also played many lesser known favorites like: "Don't Forget Me", "Throw Away Your Television", "Me and My Friends", "Right On Time", and also covered the Ramones' "Havana Affair". John Fruciante had the most intimate part of the night with his solo cover of Fleetwood Mac's "Songbird". He proved that he has a fantastic voice and definitely held his own. The show was also full of improv jam sessions that were absolutley amazing. The pure magic between John, Flea, and Chad was worth 10 times the price of a ticket. While some fans left disappointed with all of the jamming, they obviously didn't understand the incredible musicianship that these men possess. // 10

Overall Impression: I live 30 miles from Des Moines but with the blizzard like conditions, it took me an hour and a half to get to the concert. Through the horrible weather and the strep throat I've been fighting, I still had the most incredible night of my life. You have to realize that you might not get many more chances to see these special talents so I highly recommend that you find a way to get to one of their shows. I paid $150 for tickets and in retrospect, probably would've paid $300 for them. It was that good. If they tour again and come within 6 hours of me I will undoubltedly go. They have not lost anything in the 20+ years of making music. They are the last band that still values the wonders of improvisation in Live music and you truly never know what to expect. No other band that is in the top 40 has any quality of musicianship like this. Personally I don't like going to a concert and hearing the song exactly as recorded. I like the mystique that comes in hearing a new solo or a new bassline or an improvised drum fill. The Red Hot Chili Peppers are musicians in every sense of the word and on March 2nd in Des Moines, they definitely proved it. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
USA (Des Moines), March 2, 2007 Reviewed by: unregistered, on march 07, 2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Anthony Kiedis had a great fresh voice. Flea was very energetic and rocked out his bass. John Frusciante was kick ass on his guitar and made up awesome high pitched solos. Chad Smith was very energetic and he did a lot of drumstick tricks. John Frusciante used his Fender stratocaster, and his telecaster, and possibly his Gretsch White Falcon. Flea I believe was using a Ibanez or a Fender. The quality of the sound was amazingly crisp and new. // 10

Perfomance: The crowd was going nutz when the chili peppers came on stage thoughout the show and even hours after the show from what I could see in the hallways. Can't Stop - crisp and understandable. Dani California - funky and fresh. Me And My Friends - old school and awesome. Californication - perfect. And many more etc. The left after singing By the Way which was kind of funny, but then after about 15 min or so they came back with Give it Away. The hanging screens and pshycadelic photos and camera work were unbelievable with vivid colors and dull one which gave it an awesome look. // 10

Overall Impression: Des Moines, IA March 2, 2007 at 7:30p.m. Gnarls Barkley opened the show and they were actually pretty talented, and they got the energy flowing. The part I loved most about the show was the amount of energy a single band can have and connect it to a group of people so vast all over the world and to be able to survive in the music industry as long as they have and be as strong if not stronger than they were from the beginning. So rock on Red Hot Chili Peppers, you guys are bad ass, talented, creative, loud, fast, slow, and inspiring to me as well as many. The price was well worth it, it was about $60. I will go to there next gig in my proximity or where ever I may be when that time comes. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Red Hot Chili Peppers reviews rating latest review
+ Ireland (Dublin), November 4, 2012 9.2 03/12/2012
+ UK (Coventry), June 2, 2006 9.4 09/03/2007
+ UK (Reading), July 3, 2007 8.7 09/03/2007
+ Canada (Ottawa), September 29, 2006 4.7 06/04/2007
+ USA (Denver), August 18, 2006 5 06/01/2007
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect