UK (London), February 23, 2005 Review

artist: simple plan date: 05/05/2005 category: live concerts
simple plan: UK (London), February 23, 2005
Absolutely fantastic performance. One of the liveliest crowds the Astoria may ever have. Everyone knew the words, were jumping up and down and you could tell the band really appreciated it.
 Sound: 8
 Perfomance: 10
 Overall Impression: 10
 Overall rating:
 7.8 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.3 
 Users rating:
 6.3 
 Votes:
 17 
reviews (2) user comments vote for this concert:
overall: 9.3
UK (London), February 23, 2005 Reviewed by: billiethesquid, on february 25, 2005
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

Sound: Pierre is the man! Sang fantastically all night giving the audience plenty of participation too. Sometimes the levels werent quite right with David's bass sometimes being too loud. At some points the speakers couldn't actually handle the lower frequencies! But songs were in time, and the amount of effects peddles Jeff had infront of him meant they all sounded true to the albums. Fender Telecaster for Jeff, Fender P-Bass for David and Fender Stratocaster for Seb. Zildjian cymbals for Chuck. // 8

Perfomance: Absolutely fantastic performance. One of the liveliest crowds the Astoria may ever have. Everyone knew the words, were jumping up and down and you could tell the band really appreciated it (not least because they kept telling us so). During "One" Pierre jumped into the standing area and had his tshirt ripped apart whilst crowdsurfing, Chuck came on for the encore with a Union Jack and did an awful bass solo which was hilarious, David ran the show and Jeff and Seb. Well they spun around a lot and jumped in time to how they do in the videos. Which was nice! Opened with new single "Shut Up!", then "The Worst Day Ever," "God Must Hate Me" (I forget the order at this point) but they did every song from both albums except for "Crazy," "Untitled," "When I'm With You," and "My Alien." Also played UK Bonus track Grow Up, a pop/punk cover of The Turtles - "So Happy Together" and a carbon copy of The Darkness - "I Believe In A Thing Called Love." That's 22 songs, kids! Finished with an emotional rendition of "Perfect," starting with just Pierre on acoustic guitar who after singing one line let the audience carry the vocals until the rest of the band came on and it all kicked in from there. // 10

Overall Impression: England, London, London Astoria, 23/02/05. The show was opened by an up and coming art rock band called The Glitterati. Even though they seemed out of place, they put on a fantastic live performance and were excellent. I'll be sure to get their album ASAP. This was the 3rd time I'd seen Simple Plan, the first as headliners (this was their first headline tour in the UK) and it kicked ass. They did every song from both albums bar-5, that's who cares if they're pop or punk, everybody left the show with a big fat smile across their stupid face and you cant ask for much more than that. At 12.50 a ticket it was a good price and about right. No special effects, no widely well-known support but a kickass show which should really be what its all about anyway. Most unforgettable moment would be Pierre jumping into the crowd and nearly choking as his tshirt was being pulled from all angels. He came onto the staged, pulled it off and was bleeding but never stopped the song! Loads of crowd surfing and friendly security staff who constantly supplied cups of water to the crowd. Good on them. Will most definitely be seeing Simple Plan again, preferably before they support Green Day in June. It doesn't matter if people don't think they're cool, the songs are catchy and they put on a great show. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
UK (London), February 23, 2005 Reviewed by: unregistered, on may 05, 2005
0 of 3 people found this review helpful

Sound: The sound was good. It wasn't like some gigs when the feedback just takes over or the bass is drowned out by the too loud guitar solo. It was equally brilliant. You could hear each and every instrument just as much as the next. Also Pierre's voice was as good as ever. The only problem was he forgot the words to some songs. // 8

Perfomance: I enjoyed the show a lot and it seemed like everyone else did too. They played a variety of old and new songs and one cover (Happy Together). I feel their best song was perfect as the atmosphere was great with everyones lighters and phones swaying lol. There wasn't much decoration or any visual effects. Dave wore a tiara and Pierre crowdsurfed and took his top off which is always a bonus. A note was thrown on stage and Pierre read it out. It had some rather rude comment on involving Dave which was funny. // 10

Overall Impression: For only 12 pounds 50 it was well worth the money. The venue was Astoria in London, England. The Glitterati opened for them and they were good. I loved how they interacted with the audience. I didn't like how badly I got squished but that happens at all good gigs so I cant complain. The most unforgetable was Chuck's bass solo. If I can I will definatley go to their next show (just to see Dave, I'm joking I will). // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Simple Plan reviews rating latest review
+ Australia (Adelaide), September 10, 2005 7.1 04/01/2006
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect