UK (London), July 22, 2007 Review

artist: steve vai date: 02/02/2009 category: live concerts
steve vai: UK (London), July 22, 2007
The quality of the sound was great; all the instruments were very well balanced and those that werent were fixed quickly.
 Sound: 10
 Perfomance: 9.5
 Overall Impression: 10
 Overall rating:
 5.5 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.9 
 Users rating:
 1 
 Votes:
 2 
reviews (2) 1 comment vote for this concert:
overall: 9.7
UK (London), July 22, 2007 Reviewed by: unregistered, on july 24, 2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: If you know Steve's music and his character towards his music you know how much he enjoys it but also how seriously he takes it, this was very apparent in the show. The band was extremely tight delivering a top-notch sound that carried as much of Vai's intricasies as well as their own little flavour. The quality of the sound was great; all the instruments were very well balanced and those that werent were fixed quickly. The sound of violins are a breath of fresh air providing new insight into Vai's amazing composition skills even in his more established songs such as "For the Love of God" or "Whispering a Prayer". // 10

Perfomance: Personally I enjoyed the entire setlist which lasted about 2 hours, encompassing Steve's back catalog as well as songs from his recent album "Sound Theories", including great classics such as "Die to Live" and bits from the "Fire Garden Suite" to more recent songs such as "Freak Show Excess" or the new version of "For the Love of God" with the two violin parts. I guess the most memorable part was "Whispering a Prayer" followed by a ten minute standing Ovation by the entire audience, and amazing performance of an already moving song. Steve seemed to be truely moved and astounded by the crowds reaction, he had to ask the audience to stop clapping and sit down so they could play another song. Steve took short breaks and talked about Frank Zappa or his love of music, during one particular interval Jeremy Colson came on stage with a drumming rig similar to a one-mand-band set up, with various samples, including Vai's voice saying various catch-phrases and Jeremy's voice asking; "Who do you think is better Vai or Yngviwe". One often overlooked aspect of Steve's show is the lighting effects and scene decoration which were phenomenal and really brought the performance to life. Smoke Machine, Strobe lights and dynamic light set-ups this show had it all. // 9

Overall Impression: Zack Wesinger, the opening act, was quite wierd; he seemed to move around on stage and speak in a funny manner. But opening for Steve Vai on your own for a full house requires a confidence that not many posses, and I admire him for it. He performed a small set of American Blues, very reminiscent of early Bugs Bunny or Tom and Jerry soundtracks, as well as the theme song to James Bond. Very entertraining. The entire show was incredible from start to finish, with some of the most solid performances I've seen, all the musicians were completely comfertable in their own position and it showed. The audience couldn't get enough and the band felt it. The only problem I had was the fact that I was sat quite far away from the stage, but it had nothing to do with Vai or the band, so it's more of a personal complaint. The ticket was around 30, well worth the money, infact I'm suprised they didn't charged more. "Whispering a Prayer" as probably the one moment which was enscrived in everyones mind from that evening, an incredible performance. I will definetly be attending the next gig, hopefully it wont be too long before he's back. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
UK (London), July 22, 2007 Reviewed by: manoftheband, on february 02, 2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Billy sheehans voice surprised me. He's also an amazing bassist. But the real show was Steve Vai. Omg is he amazing. I love how long this concert was also. Steve played his Ibanez jem and universe guitars. Tony mcalpine and dave weiner play Ibanez guitars. billy played his Music Man and Fender basses great sound quality // 10

Perfomance: I enjoyed the entire show. They played fire by jimi, for the love of god, the audience is listening and many more. They used some visual effects but not too much which is good because the reason I buy concert dvds isnt for music video crap. Steve talks about britney spears funny. The stage lighting made his jem look green which is sweet. // 10

Overall Impression: Live ate the astoria London, england um july 2007? I guess no opener I loved the show it's just so long but I'm not upset about that it's just it took me three seperate instances to sit down and watch it lol I payed twenty bucks for this DVD so I think it was worth it for over two hours of music. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Steve Vai reviews rating latest review
+ USA (Seattle), September 15, 2007 9.8 09/18/2007
+ Slovenia (Ljubljana), September 22, 2005 9.5 09/25/2005
+ USA (Westbury), March 29, 2005 9.7 06/06/2005
+ Canaa (Toronto), April 2, 2005 9.7 04/04/2005
+ Hong Kong, August 3, 2004 10 08/05/2004
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect