Canada (Edmonton) March 29th, 2005 Review

artist: velvet revolver date: 04/07/2005 category: live concerts
velvet revolver: Canada (Edmonton) March 29th, 2005
It was the most insane feeling being right against the railing on the floor, emgrossed in complete darkness and the only thing you can hear is the roar of the audience and the chiling sound of the theme from "A Clockwork Orange."
 Sound: 9
 Perfomance: 10
 Overall Impression: 10
 Overall rating:
 9.9 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.7 
 Users rating:
 10 
 Votes:
 2 
reviews (2) user comments vote for this concert:
overall: 10
Canada (Edmonton) March 29th, 2005 Reviewed by: TomD03, on april 04, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: On the floor, the sound was awesome (but I heard from the stands it was a bit boomy at times, but not for all the songs). Since we were getting the sound straight from the amps, it sounded awesome. Dave was using his Fernades's (is that right?) Duff was using his P/J basses and Slash was using his army of LP's and BC Richs. Scotts voice was cool, he made it raunchy when it was needed but he also made it sweet for songs like Fall To Pieces and Loving The Alien. // 10

Perfomance: On the floor, we got very energetic. For songs like "Slither," "Sucker Train Blues," "Headspace" and many others we got really into it, moshin, rockin, headbangin and such. But the highlights had to be the jams/extended versions of "Illegal I Song," "Slither" and tons of others. Also, it was nice to see that these guys weren't chicken like alot of todays bands, I mean how often do you see bands around that have a huge banner behind them saying "Rock And F--king Roll"? Or having videos of half naked girls boxing on the screens. It was an awesome performance, playing everything off the album, and sevral GN'R songs (my fav was the rocked out version of "I Used To Love Her"). // 10

Overall Impression: The show was on a tuesday, on march 29th 2005 at Edmonton's Rexall Place. After Three Days Grace (worse band in the world) VR came on about 40 mins late, but it's ok, the music made up for it. It was the most insane feeling being right against the railing on the floor, emgrossed in complete darkness and the only thing you can hear is the roar of the audience and the chiling sound of the theme from "A Clockwork Orange." Touching duffs bass was probably the most unforgetable moment for me, and making eye contact, having 'lip reading' conversations with him and me saluting him and him doing the same back, he's probably the most awesome and personal bass player of rock these days. This show was 100% worth the money, and I'm seeing them again in may on my vacation to Orlando, Florida. See them, they are the best new band around period. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 9.3
Canada (Edmonton) March 29th, 2005 Reviewed by: Skywalker_90, on april 07, 2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sound: Scott Weiland was drowned out even when he sand through a loud speaker into the mic, but nobody seemed to care, because the rest of the band sounded so good. Slash used his collection of Les Pauls and wore his tophat. The bass drum was also very mighty, it moved the builing! // 8

Perfomance: It was probably the most energetic audience thus far in their tour, they came out and were at thier average enegetic selfs but the crowd gave sooo much to the band that the band played hard and faster and longer and everyone there, band and audience, gave their all without a doubt, I've never seen anything like that before, it was amazing! It got to the point were the band was playing so close to the crowd that they were pretty well not even on the stage anymore. The band fed off the crowd and the crowd off the band! // 10

Overall Impression: The show was in Edmonton, Canada at Rexal Place on March 29th. Three Days Grace openned up for Velvet Revolver. Tickets were 59 bucks and it got me first row on the floor inches away from the band. The most memorable event of the show was the energy, it was electic you could feel it everywhere. I'm still in awe! // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Velvet Revolver reviews rating latest review
+ UK (Leeds), March 16, 2008 9.9 04/08/2008
+ UK (London), March 26, 2008 4.5 03/31/2008
+ UK (Manchester), March 17, 2008 9.9 03/27/2008
+ USA (Des Moines), January 28, 2008 9.7 01/30/2008
+ USA (Sturgis), August 8, 2007 6.7 08/23/2007
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect