498T Review

manufacturer: Gibson date: 07/27/2011 category: Pickups
Gibson: 498T
This is a pickup for the discerning and experienced player. It's got better articulation and more subtlty than the 500T with the same power and definition.
 Sound: 10
 Overall Impression: 9.5
 Reliability & Durability: 10
 Overall rating:
 9.3 
 Reviewer rating:
 9.9 
 Users rating:
 8.7 
 Votes:
 6 
reviews (2) 4 comments vote for this gear:
overall: 9.7
498T Reviewed by: unregistered, on july 07, 2011
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sound: The 498T is a 500T with an Alnico Magnet rather than the 500s Ceramic Magnet. It has a rounder tone without as much bite and edge. It's better suited to bodys that lack the Les Paul's maple cap. It's well balanced and VERY HOT. This is a bridge pickup best suited for Electric Blues and Hard Rock. I use one in my old Japanese Epiphone LP (mahogany, no maple) and have played it thru a wide variety of both tube and solid state Amps. It's always remained exceptionally distinctive. If you think the 5ooT is a little to harsh for what you want, TRY the 498T. // 10

Reliability & Durability: Gibson USA pickups are always depedable and last for decades. Their reputayion goes back to the beginning of the electric Guitar era and is about as good as it gets. I have enormous confidence in them and never have had one fail. They set the standard everyone else has to follow. // 10

Overall Impression: This is a pickup for the discerning and experienced player. It's got better articulation and more subtlty than the 500T with the same power and definition. About the only complaint I'd make is that it's expensive and hard to find. I demand exceptional sound from my equipment and this pickup delivers. It has qualitys that I have yet to find duplicated by any other pickup. // 9

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
overall: 10
498T Reviewed by: spinpogi, on july 27, 2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Price paid: $ 80

Purchased from: MF

Sound: Known as a "Hot Alnico", perfect for rock, "UNCOVERED" 4 conductor wiring. I installed it w/ Orville LPC. I think that the strong midrange voicing and medium output of this pickup is the perfect combination for Marshall/Fender tube amp. Fat & Round voice, pure, well balance w/ natural woody tonal character. Unlike other brands like Seymour, Dimarzio, EMG, 498T delivers the natural voice of an instrument. Recommended for jazz, blues, classic rock, punk, & pop clean or overdriven. Not advisable for death metal type of tone. 498T can also sounds sweet in clean music stuff too. Depends on how you dial your amp & effects. // 10

Reliability & Durability: This pup will last & realiable. Sorry to say, those people who were complaining with 498T are just missing the boat.Some were claiming that 498T is so Bassy, Middy, Trebly etc. Well, you can't go wrong with this pick up for any Les Paul type of gear especially if you are aware of your 500k pots + caps. Just make sure that your tone controls are working correctly before you install this pick up. // 10

Overall Impression: Overall impression, PERFECT & BALANCE FOR ROCK in a Les Paul body type of a gear, either clean or overdriven using tube amp. Installed in Orville MIJ Les Paul Custom, Gibson LP Special, & Gibson LP Std. DC. By the way, factory/stock pups were all crap in any guitar. Buy new, then you will notice the difference in tone. // 10

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No
Post your comment
More Gibson reviews rating category latest review
+ Midtown Custom 7 Electric Guitars 10/07/2014
+ Explorer Vampire Blood Moon 9.1 Electric Guitars 09/15/2014
+ 120th Anniversary SG Standard 2014 Min-ETune 7.1 Electric Guitars 08/15/2014
+ SG Standard Bass 8.6 Bass Guitars 08/05/2014
+ SG Special Voodoo 9.2 Electric Guitars 06/09/2014
+ view all
Comments
Your captcha is incorrect