original=punk
Banned
Join date: Jan 2007
2,482 IQ
#1
I played it a few days ago and it was absolutely fine!!
I turned it on today, no sound, i check all the knobs, the footswitch, no change. I tried different guitar, no difference, there's not even any type of buzz or anything coming form the amp, it's completely silent.

I turn it on, the switch ights up, the little lights for it turn on, but no sound or anything.

I opened up the back, and I noticed that the tubes aren't glowing at all, is this the problem? How do I fix this, and more importantly, HOW EXPENSIVE IS IT?
O.O Meow O.O
UG Newbie
Join date: Sep 2009
617 IQ
#2
fuse blow?
Quote by angusfan16
I got my sister pregnant once. Yeah, that was awkward, but mostly because she's 6 years younger than me.
JagerSlushy
duckin the 12 olol
Join date: Mar 2009
607 IQ
#3
Is it tube or solid-state?
Quote by Tone Deaf
Someone has had too much jager in their slushy. :/
Quote by CL/\SH
First person on UG to be a grammar nazi and use the correct form of "your" in the correct context.

+ 70 virgins to you, my good sir.

Quote by Fassa Albrecht
Girls DO fap...I don't though.
JoePerry4life
Registered User
Join date: May 2008
3,484 IQ
#5
if the tubes aren't glowing they are probably blown.

Tubes aren't expensive but like 40usd per a matched pair roughly, but getting someone to bias your amp for you might.
Agile AL3000
Douglas WRL90
SX SR1 STD Plus
J&D Strat
Squier Tele
Sammick TR2
Douglas Draco
Peavey JSX
Bugera V5
TWANGED VJ
original=punk
Banned
Join date: Jan 2007
2,482 IQ
#6
I don't understand how i blew them though, nothing really happened to the amp, I never pushed it at all in the last few days, I've been sick so I haven't played.
JoePerry4life
Registered User
Join date: May 2008
3,484 IQ
#7
Sometimes tubes just blow, or other times its a different problem so if they blow again you know you have a bigger problem.
Agile AL3000
Douglas WRL90
SX SR1 STD Plus
J&D Strat
Squier Tele
Sammick TR2
Douglas Draco
Peavey JSX
Bugera V5
TWANGED VJ
original=punk
Banned
Join date: Jan 2007
2,482 IQ
#8
Okay so I finally bought new tubes (I've put it off because I was my band's bassist for the lngest time and i didn't think it necessary.)
I bought them at the store, he popped out all my old ones, put the new ones in, told me to plug in my amp at home, let it sit on for a few hours to let them warm up.
So I've done that, left it on since 5:30 today (it's 9:44 now) The tubes never lit up when i turned it on, and still aren't lighting up. I fear there may be a bigger problem.
RizzoWashburn
Unregistered User
Join date: Mar 2007
283 IQ
#9
If your amp stops making sound, the first thing to do is check the fuse. If it's blown then just replace it with one of the same value.
Edwards Les Paul Custom
Burny SG Junior
DIY Telecaster
Keeley RAT 2
Marshall JCM 800 4104
original=punk
Banned
Join date: Jan 2007
2,482 IQ
#10
How do I do that? I don't know hw to access that.





That's the back of my amp if it helps.
CrackTheSkye
Ordinary Average Guy
Join date: Jul 2009
1,858 IQ
#11
See that thing that says fuse. Unscrew that and your fuse is inside there.
RizzoWashburn
Unregistered User
Join date: Mar 2007
283 IQ
#12
If the little wire inside the fuse is broken, you've blown the fuse. Read the value on it and buy a new one to replace it with.

If the fuse isn't blown, it's probably an internal issue.
Edwards Les Paul Custom
Burny SG Junior
DIY Telecaster
Keeley RAT 2
Marshall JCM 800 4104
original=punk
Banned
Join date: Jan 2007
2,482 IQ
#13
Fuse is intact, the wire is whole.

The amp turns on, just there's no sound and the tubes don't glow. Is it the connection from my tubes to the amp possibly?
Last edited by original=punk at May 13, 2010,
VintageAmigo
Call me Carl
Join date: Apr 2011
1,210 IQ
#15
it may be a problem with your cords, i had a Tube amp and i swore up and down that that damn thing had a blown fuse...turns out my cable was frayed and i had to buy a new one...i wasted about 60$ trying to fix it, when it actually only cost around 10$....

go figure
Rig:
Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus Top
Amp- Blackstar HT-60 Soloist
Digitech Rp355


I look like this-
VintageAmigo
Call me Carl
Join date: Apr 2011
1,210 IQ
#17
man, that is a weird problem. ahhh, aside from a tube being blown, a wire not being properly soddered right or maybe even something to do with your guitars cable input...theres a plethora of problems that could be at work

The guitars input to the pickups could be soddered wrong (as i mentioned above). I owned a Epi SG that wasnt soddered right, yet again i blamed the amp, i took it to a music shop and they fixed it for about 50$.

As i said, theres plenty of things that COULD happen...its just a matter of time until someone makes a lucky guess and solves the problem
Rig:
Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus Top
Amp- Blackstar HT-60 Soloist
Digitech Rp355


I look like this-
fantasyh
Jesterhead
Join date: Aug 2008
647 IQ
#18
I have an RG50TC, and I can definitely say that it isn't a blown fuse, because if the fuse fail on that amp it doesn't even turn on. I recommend checking the tubes, and getting new put in by a professional if necessary, 'cause it's possible they need rebiasing.
Gear:
Electric
2008 Epiphone G400 Heritage CherryFUBAR
2008 Ibanez GRG 170 DX
2009 Cort KX1Q
2011 LTD H 351 NT
Randall RG 50 TC
Ernie Ball 11-54
Acoustic
Dean Markley
Dunlop 10's
operationgibson
Registered User
Join date: Apr 2011
10 IQ
#19
I've biased the amp before with no problems. I put the old tubes back in and no luck. Going to drop if off to a specialist tomorrow to open the chassis up and take a look.

Gutted.
Last edited by operationgibson at May 3, 2011,
Olliedemc
Registered User
Join date: Feb 2011
10 IQ
#21
Have the same problem, powers on but no juice in the tubes. Caps need replacing..