Iplayaguitar15
Registered User
Join date: Jan 2012
676 IQ
#1
I have a lower end jackson i dont know the exact model. I made an ID thred on here and nobody knew but right now it has a vintage type trem of that helps. i want to get this http://www.musiciansfriend.com/accessories/hipshot-6-string-us-fixed-guitar-bridge-.125/363039000001000 Would it work? and how do i install it? do i still need springs?


Pics in lower post
Last edited by Iplayaguitar15 at Nov 7, 2012,
jeleopard
Jackson Fanboy!
Join date: Apr 2011
1,810 IQ
#2
No, it will not work.
Legion!
Original 1969 Fender Jazzmaster
Ibanez RG8
Jackson JS32R Dinky "Curry"
Schecter KM7
83 Gibson Explorer "Kimmy"
MiM Fender Jazz Bass "Pancho"
Ibanez SR485
Peavey 6505+ 112
Line 6 POD HD500
C0FF1NF33D3R
Banned
Join date: Nov 2012
10 IQ
#3
It's impossible to say without a photo, model #, or a link for your guitar. Obviously.
jinsu2301
The Christmas Pyro
Join date: Nov 2006
519 IQ
#6
if both bridge plates have those big 3 screws at the exact same position, then it might work. just replace the plate with the saddles with the new bridge. yes, you still need springs if you haven't locked your tremolo yet.
Iplayaguitar15
Registered User
Join date: Jan 2012
676 IQ
#7
how do i know if their at the same position? and would it be an improvement? Also is the new one going to need screw near the bridge pickup like my trem now has?
Last edited by Iplayaguitar15 at Nov 7, 2012,
Culler Amps
Matt Culler
Join date: Jun 2012
435 IQ
#8
Quote by jinsu2301
if both bridge plates have those big 3 screws at the exact same position, then it might work. just replace the plate with the saddles with the new bridge. yes, you still need springs if you haven't locked your tremolo yet.

What are you smoking? He wants to put a HARDTAIL bridge on a trem equipped guitar. There isn't even a place to attach springs on the hipshot.......


T.S. - You pretty much have 2 options here.

A. Buy a better quality trem, that will bolt in place of the original.

B. Block the trem

There is actually one way to turn that guitar into a true hardtail, although it will require some serious modification, and I doubt you want to go that far -

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FgO8i3FOD7U
Last edited by Culler Amps at Nov 7, 2012,
Insanity ninja
UG's resident potwash.
Join date: Sep 2009
925 IQ
#9
I really wouldn't attempt to do that, unless the bridge is terrible, I'd just stick with it.

And in relation to that video, I watched the rest... he didn't shield his cavities!
Silverburst
Iplayaguitar15
Registered User
Join date: Jan 2012
676 IQ
#11
Alright im going to simplify this. Can i install that hipshot bridge on my guitar without mods?
Iplayaguitar15
Registered User
Join date: Jan 2012
676 IQ
#13
Quote by Insanity ninja
I'll simplify the answer.

No.

Okay thanks. Can you recommend a bridge that will that comes in black?
Insanity ninja
UG's resident potwash.
Join date: Sep 2009
925 IQ
#14
It'd be much easier to find out if you could tell us the model.
And is there anything wrong with the bridge, or do you just wanna change the colour?
Silverburst
Iplayaguitar15
Registered User
Join date: Jan 2012
676 IQ
#15
I have no clue and nobody had any idea on here. i went through all of jackson catalogs from 1990 to 2012 and i found no match. And i want a trem that i could use and not go out of tune. if i cant have that ill just deal with what i got now and not use the trem
Last edited by Iplayaguitar15 at Nov 7, 2012,
Culler Amps
Matt Culler
Join date: Jun 2012
435 IQ
#16
Quote by Iplayaguitar15
I have no clue and nobody ha any idea on here.


Plenty of people on here can probably identify the model, if you'll just post a pic of it. Make sure to get the headstock and entire body in the picture.
Huge Guy
My muscles sure are mean!
Join date: Sep 2012
792 IQ
#17
Quote by Iplayaguitar15
I have no clue and nobody had any idea on here. i went through all of jackson catalogs from 1990 to 2012 and i found no match. And i want a trem that i could use and not go out of tune. if i cant have that ill just deal with what i got now and not use the trem


Well that link you posted is for a hard tail, you know. As in "no trem bar."

I'd just stick with what you have for now and at some point upgrade to a new guitar with a Floyd Rose system.
Culler Amps
Matt Culler
Join date: Jun 2012
435 IQ
#18
Quote by Iplayaguitar15
I have no clue and nobody had any idea on here. i went through all of jackson catalogs from 1990 to 2012 and i found no match.


Just searched for your ID thread. Its a Jackson JS22R.

An accurate ruler is your friend when it come to finding a replacement trem.
Iplayaguitar15
Registered User
Join date: Jan 2012
676 IQ
#19
Quote by Culler Amps
Just searched for your ID thread. Its a Jackson JS22R.

An accurate ruler is your friend when it come to finding a replacement trem.

Its not a js22r well atleast the neck isnt. the body looks the same but the neck isnt reversed and has dot inlays
Iplayaguitar15
Registered User
Join date: Jan 2012
676 IQ
#20
Quote by Huge Guy
Well that link you posted is for a hard tail, you know. As in "no trem bar."

I'd just stick with what you have for now and at some point upgrade to a new guitar with a Floyd Rose system.

Id rather not have a trem bar but if i have to ill deal with it
Insanity ninja
UG's resident potwash.
Join date: Sep 2009
925 IQ
#21
It has the same trem anyway, if you're not bothered about using a tremolo, learn how to block it off. It's not hard, it doesn't alter the guitar in anyway, and will keep the guitar in tune.
Silverburst
Culler Amps
Matt Culler
Join date: Jun 2012
435 IQ
#22
Quote by Iplayaguitar15
Its not a js22r well atleast the neck isnt. the body looks the same but the neck isnt reversed and has dot inlays



JS30 then. Either way its a JS model.

Measure the spacing between the bridge mounting posts / screws, and go from there looking for a replacement.
jeleopard
Jackson Fanboy!
Join date: Apr 2011
1,810 IQ
#23
If you want a new trem, Wilkinson.
Legion!
Original 1969 Fender Jazzmaster
Ibanez RG8
Jackson JS32R Dinky "Curry"
Schecter KM7
83 Gibson Explorer "Kimmy"
MiM Fender Jazz Bass "Pancho"
Ibanez SR485
Peavey 6505+ 112
Line 6 POD HD500
Iplayaguitar15
Registered User
Join date: Jan 2012
676 IQ
#24
Quote by Culler Amps
JS30 then. Either way its a JS model.

Measure the spacing between the bridge mounting posts / screws, and go from there looking for a replacement.

From center to center or is their another way? and the three screws ? are the two?
jeleopard
Jackson Fanboy!
Join date: Apr 2011
1,810 IQ
#26
Should, yea.
Legion!
Original 1969 Fender Jazzmaster
Ibanez RG8
Jackson JS32R Dinky "Curry"
Schecter KM7
83 Gibson Explorer "Kimmy"
MiM Fender Jazz Bass "Pancho"
Ibanez SR485
Peavey 6505+ 112
Line 6 POD HD500
Insanity ninja
UG's resident potwash.
Join date: Sep 2009
925 IQ
#27
I'm pretty sure it wouldn't. If you're desperate to change it, take it to your local store, and see what they say.
Silverburst
Iplayaguitar15
Registered User
Join date: Jan 2012
676 IQ
#28
Quote by Insanity ninja
I'm pretty sure it wouldn't. If you're desperate to change it, take it to your local store, and see what they say.

Why not? and ill ask me guitar teacher.
jeleopard
Jackson Fanboy!
Join date: Apr 2011
1,810 IQ
#29
Quote by Insanity ninja
I'm pretty sure it wouldn't. If you're desperate to change it, take it to your local store, and see what they say.


Why wouldn't it?
Legion!
Original 1969 Fender Jazzmaster
Ibanez RG8
Jackson JS32R Dinky "Curry"
Schecter KM7
83 Gibson Explorer "Kimmy"
MiM Fender Jazz Bass "Pancho"
Ibanez SR485
Peavey 6505+ 112
Line 6 POD HD500
Iplayaguitar15
Registered User
Join date: Jan 2012
676 IQ
#30
http://www.guitarfetish.com/Vintage-Black-Tremolo-fits-Mexican-Korean-Chinese-made-guitars_p_803.html

http://www.guitarfetish.com/Black-Wilkinson-Vintage-Tremolo-Pop-In-Arm-Steel-Block_p_139.html

Would either of these work? And would they stay in tune good?

I really like the Wilkinson one but the 6 screws towards the bridge, i dont have holes for that now? do i just screw into the wood?
Last edited by Iplayaguitar15 at Nov 7, 2012,
Culler Amps
Matt Culler
Join date: Jun 2012
435 IQ
#31
Quote by Iplayaguitar15
From center to center or is their another way?


Yes. Center to center. Will probably be metric.

All the bridges you are linking to are 6 hole style.

You need to first find what the post/screw spacing is for your bridge, then pick an appropriate bridge with 2 pivot points, not 6....

Or this will work with just about any spacing - http://www.guitarfetish.com/Gloss-Black-Wilkinson-Stainless-Saddle-trem-Fits-ALL-Strats_p_375.html
Insanity ninja
UG's resident potwash.
Join date: Sep 2009
925 IQ
#32
Quote by jeleopard
Why wouldn't it?

It's a totally different bridge, like Culler said, 6 screws as opposed to 2.
Silverburst
Iplayaguitar15
Registered User
Join date: Jan 2012
676 IQ
#33
IS their any chance this would work http://www.guitarfetish.com/USA-Strat-2-Point-Hardened-Steel-BLACK-tremolo-system_p_776.html

Sorry if its obvious im new to this ive upgraded every part except the bridge

and on this one where are the pivot points? http://www.guitarfetish.com/Gloss-Black-Wilkinson-Stainless-Saddle-trem-Fits-ALL-Strats_p_375.html
Last edited by Iplayaguitar15 at Nov 7, 2012,
Culler Amps
Matt Culler
Join date: Jun 2012
435 IQ
#34
Quote by Iplayaguitar15
IS their any chance this would work http://www.guitarfetish.com/USA-Strat-2-Point-Hardened-Steel-BLACK-tremolo-system_p_776.html

Sorry if its obvious im new to this ive upgraded every part except the bridge

The post spacing on the bridge you linked above is 2-7/32" apart.
I'm not sure how many time I have said this already.... but get a ruler, and measure the spacing of your bridge. That way you will know if it will work or not, and won't have to depend on someone else on the internet who may or may not know.

Quote by Iplayaguitar15

It only has one set pivot point. The other side is made so that different post spacings will work. Its all in the description. That bridge would be your best option IMHO.
Iplayaguitar15
Registered User
Join date: Jan 2012
676 IQ
#35
Quote by Culler Amps
The post spacing on the bridge you linked above is 2-7/32" apart.
I'm not sure how many time I have said this already.... but get a ruler, and measure the spacing of your bridge. That way you will know if it will work or not, and won't have to depend on someone else on the internet who may or may not know.


It only has one set pivot point. The other side is made so that different post spacings will work. Its all in the description. That bridge would be your best option IMHO.

Alright ill mesure when i get the chance. But if the spacing is 2-7/32 apart it will work fine? are their other requirements?
Robbgnarly
Tab Contributor
Join date: Feb 2011
1,177 IQ
#36
Quote by Culler Amps

This is a good choice
It is already s cheap bridge, I wouldn't go any cheaper IMO
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Last edited by Robbgnarly at Nov 7, 2012,
Culler Amps
Matt Culler
Join date: Jun 2012
435 IQ
#37
Quote by Iplayaguitar15
Alright ill mesure when i get the chance. But if the spacing is 2-7/32 apart it will work fine? are their other requirements?


To be honest seeing that is a vintage USA spacing, I doubt it will work. This is why I say measure.

It has to be an exact fit. The trem pivots on those 2 points, and if it doesn't fit perfect and work smoothly, then tuning stability goes out the window.
Huge Guy
My muscles sure are mean!
Join date: Sep 2012
792 IQ
#38
Quote by Iplayaguitar15
Id rather not have a trem bar but if i have to ill deal with it


Why not just trade the guitar in for a hardtail, then?
gpme332
Registered User
Join date: Oct 2012
10 IQ
#39
Getting a different type of trad trem would, IMO, not help you much. If you buy cheap you will have the same issue. The problem with traditional trems is the difficulty in keeping the guitar in tune when you use the tremolo. The better the trem the better it stays in tune but there is a reason why guitars with floyd rose trems have locking nuts. If you take off the locking nuts those don's stay in tune either.

Do you use your trem? If so do you use it both ways (high and low) or just one way? I only use my trem to do the lows so I have my trem tightened down as far as it will go. This helps my guitar stay in tune better.

If you are not adamant about getting a new trem and don't use it, the cheapest and easiest thing to do is block the trem. Once you do that the trem cannot move one way or another and you will not have tuning issues.