Unholy.Daemon
Call Me Jamie.
Join date: Feb 2010
1,294 IQ
#1
Hi all, was just wondering.. I have a Kustom 30W practise amp that I don't use, and I'd like to be able to use it as a cab for my Randall head. However, the only inputs on the Kustom is a guitar input and CD/Tape input.

Is it safe to run my head into the CD/Tape input? The impedance on the speaker matches the output on the head, so that shouldn't cause a problem, but I wanted to check with people before going ahead with this.

Yes, I am in the market to get a new cab, but I can't afford one right now and probably won't be able to until at least january, and I don't want to let my head sit there and do nothing, so I'd appreciate any help.

Thanks all!

TL;DR - can I plug my head's output into the practise amp's CD/Tape input as long as the speaker impedance matches?
PRS SE Torero | Fender MIM Tele | Jackson RR3

Bugera TriRec Infinium | Randall RH50T

Marshall 1960AV

Soundcloud
Band Facebook
NotTheMessiah30
UG Fanatic
Join date: Sep 2012
741 IQ
#2
Nope. Afraid not. If you disconnect the speaker and wire a jack to it you could connect your head to the speaker directly, that would be the only way to do it.

EDIT: If you were to try it the way you're thinking you'll cook something for sure.
Last edited by NotTheMessiah30 at Nov 13, 2012,
Unholy.Daemon
Call Me Jamie.
Join date: Feb 2010
1,294 IQ
#3
Quote by NotTheMessiah30
Nope. Afraid not. If you disconnect the speaker and wire a jack to it you could connect your head to the speaker directly, that would be the only way to do it.


ok, thanks the the info!
PRS SE Torero | Fender MIM Tele | Jackson RR3

Bugera TriRec Infinium | Randall RH50T

Marshall 1960AV

Soundcloud
Band Facebook
fly135
Cheap Gear Enthusiast
Join date: Jul 2007
831 IQ
#4
The CD input impedance on the combo does not match the head. And the signals levels don't match either. You need to disconnect the speaker wires on the combo and make a speaker cable with 1/4" to plug into the head and either solder the other end on to the combo's speaker or get some crimp on spades from the auto parts store (or harbor freight) and attach them to the end, then push on the speaker.
tubetime86
I don't even play guitar.
Join date: Jul 2008
1,633 IQ
#7
^Wow that's cool. You can make it cheaper obviously, but it's great to have a ready-made solution for these threads.
Quote by Cathbard
Quote by Raijouta
Unless its electronic drums.

BURN THE WITCH!!!!!
lemurflames
Ronnie
Join date: Feb 2009
188 IQ
#8
Damn, gumbi. That's a nifty cable.
Ibanez RG652KFX Prestige
ESP E-II M-1
LTD AW-7
EVH 5150 III 50
PRS 212 DB
gumbilicious
beginner
Join date: Oct 2007
1,236 IQ
#9
someone posted that solution a while back, makes things easy if you can't solder and aren't all DIY. 20 bucks ain't too bad either.
punk isn't dead, it's always smelled that way.

"A perfection of means, and confusion of aims, seems to be our main problem."
-ae
tubetime86
I don't even play guitar.
Join date: Jul 2008
1,633 IQ
#10
It ain't good by a long shot though. I've got all the shit to make that sitting in a box somewhere... The total for parts can't be $7.
Quote by Cathbard
Quote by Raijouta
Unless its electronic drums.

BURN THE WITCH!!!!!
Dave_Mc
Chirp and Swirl
Join date: Mar 2005
2,967 IQ
#11
Quote by gumbilicious


i use ones like that from award session, they make them to order for you in the UK. They're pretty cool, though they can be a bit tight with some speakers (seems to be worse with eminences, i'm guessing they're made to fit celestions). But yeah, it's a handy way for lazy people like me who don't want to solder to get round soldering.
Quote by classicrocker01
Only on UG would I say I got engaged and bought a jet city and get congratulated on the amp


lemurflames
Ronnie
Join date: Feb 2009
188 IQ
#12
Is there a way of using it in a 212 configuration? Never wired a cab before, but I'm guessing you connect one end to each speaker and bridge them both with a wire?
Ibanez RG652KFX Prestige
ESP E-II M-1
LTD AW-7
EVH 5150 III 50
PRS 212 DB
Dave_Mc
Chirp and Swirl
Join date: Mar 2005
2,967 IQ
#13
i guess if the amp has two speaker jack sockets you could just do it with two of them

granted not so much if it only has one

however, award session also makes these which i'm guessing would work for a 2x12 if you only had one speaker jack. granted, more cost, but if you really don't want to solder...
Quote by classicrocker01
Only on UG would I say I got engaged and bought a jet city and get congratulated on the amp


lemurflames
Ronnie
Join date: Feb 2009
188 IQ
#14
Soldering is sounding like the better alternative.

Especially if you already have the tool and the solder.
Ibanez RG652KFX Prestige
ESP E-II M-1
LTD AW-7
EVH 5150 III 50
PRS 212 DB
Dave_Mc
Chirp and Swirl
Join date: Mar 2005
2,967 IQ
#15
yeah

though it's nice to have the option if you can't solder. i mean... learning to solder is cheaper in the long run if you're doing a lot of soldering. if you only need it for two speakers, though, and don't already have soldering kit, buying those cables probably costs less
Quote by classicrocker01
Only on UG would I say I got engaged and bought a jet city and get congratulated on the amp