seabear70
Lost in the Twilight Zone
Join date: Dec 2011
490 IQ
#1
Ok, so I bought this kit thinking it would make a nice first guitar build.

http://store.guitarfetish.com/SUPER-LIghtweight-Tele-Style-kit-Maple_p_1204.html

There are a couple things about it that should be noted.

1. The Bridge has individual saddles.

2. There are no holes drilled for the saddle, at all.

So I know i'm going to have to be careful with this, and I'm clear coating tomarrow. So I want to do things right. Is there a guide out there somewhere for mounting a telecaster bridge correctly?

I believe I have to drill out hte baqck and run the strings through the body, but positioning may be a little tricky.
Robbgnarly
Tab Contributor
Join date: Feb 2011
1,177 IQ
#2
What do you mean there are no holes drilled?

To string it through the body? or to mount the bridge to the body?


It is a top load bridge that they give you with those kits. If you do want to make it a string-thru you will need their string furrels also so your strings will sit correctly and not shift.

EDIT: you'll also need an new bridge if you want string-thru. the strings go through the back end of the bridge that curls upward a little
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Last edited by Robbgnarly at Dec 3, 2012,
seabear70
Lost in the Twilight Zone
Join date: Dec 2011
490 IQ
#3
Quote by Robbgnarly
What do you mean there are no holes drilled?

To string it through the body? or to mount the bridge to the body?


It is a top load bridge that they give you with those kits. If you do want to make it a string-thru you will need their string furrels also so your strings will sit correctly and not shift.

EDIT: you'll also need an new bridge if you want string-thru. the strings go through the back end of the bridge that curls upward a little



There are no holes drilled for the bridge.

None.

Nada.

Zilch.


I assumed it was string through because there were holes in the base of the bridge that corosponded with a string through design.

I'll post pictures when I get home.
Robbgnarly
Tab Contributor
Join date: Feb 2011
1,177 IQ
#4
It may be their dual load bridge that has both top mount holes and string thru holes. I have a kit tele that came with one of those.

If you do have to do the drilling to mount the bridge, I strongly sugest using brad-point bits to keep your holes tru.
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
seabear70
Lost in the Twilight Zone
Join date: Dec 2011
490 IQ
#5
I'm more concerned with how to line it all up.

I've done some precision work in the past, but ya gotta know where to drill or you're just hoping for the best.
Robbgnarly
Tab Contributor
Join date: Feb 2011
1,177 IQ
#6
well it is a 25.5" scale
so I would put a straight edge (preferably a yard stick) on each side of the fret board.
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
seabear70
Lost in the Twilight Zone
Join date: Dec 2011
490 IQ
#7
Quote by Robbgnarly
well it is a 25.5" scale
so I would put a straight edge (preferably a yard stick) on each side of the fret board.

Ok, so I'm going to guess I am measuring from the nut to one of the e strings, then evening up both sides.

As a further guess, I want to have the saddle adjusted to half way through it's adjustment to allow me to adjust the intonation?

What else am I likely missing?
W4RP1G
Please, call me Pig.
Join date: May 2010
2,847 IQ
#8
Quote by seabear70
Ok, so I'm going to guess I am measuring from the nut to one of the e strings, then evening up both sides.

As a further guess, I want to have the saddle adjusted to half way through it's adjustment to allow me to adjust the intonation?

What else am I likely missing?

You would measure 25.5" from the nut to the 1st string(high e). You will put the high e saddle as far forward as it will go, and measure to the exact point where the string sits on the saddle.

And for the positioning the bridge, you have a few options. You could determine where the center of the body would be. If there isn't a centerline already, you could measure the neck pocket, find the middle, do the same for the bridge pickup route, and then line up the 2 marks and draw a straight line. Then if you have a protractor or one of those awesome drafting triangles with the center line, you can use the line you just made to make a perpendicular line what you will use as a guide for mounting your bridge.

Or you could mount the neck and run a piece of twine in place of where the 1st and 6th string would be, like this:



THe former should work alright. The latter would work too, but could introduce more opportunities to make a mistake.
W4RP1G
Please, call me Pig.
Join date: May 2010
2,847 IQ
#13
Quote by Explorerbuilder
uh... why not?

Because I trust my own measurements more than what stewmac it should be.