HN117
Registered User
Join date: Apr 2012
43 IQ
#1
Hi everyone

I just bought a Hagstrom Swede but with a problem. I opened the box to notice that one of the 3-way tone filter switches had broken off.

Does anyone have any idea if this can be fixed or should i just try superglue.

ps: I live in Australia and bought the guitar from the US.
Dave_Mc
Chirp and Swirl
Join date: Mar 2005
2,967 IQ
#2
do you have a pic of it?
Quote by classicrocker01
Only on UG would I say I got engaged and bought a jet city and get congratulated on the amp


trashedlostfdup
diet coke fiend.
Join date: Apr 2010
13,435 IQ
#3
Quote by HN117
Hi everyone

I just bought a Hagstrom Swede but with a problem. I opened the box to notice that one of the 3-way tone filter switches had broken off.

Does anyone have any idea if this can be fixed or should i just try superglue.

ps: I live in Australia and bought the guitar from the US.


tone filter? do you mean the pickup selector switch?
WTLT 2014 GG&A

Quote by andersondb7
alright "king of the guitar forum"


Quote by trashedlostfdup
nope i am "GOD of the guitar forum" i think that fits me better.


Quote by andersondb7
youre just being a jerk man.
Charvel1995
Ronda Rousey Fanboy
Join date: Sep 2010
1,873 IQ
#4
Swede models come with a three way toggle switch on the upper part of the guitar for pickup selection, as well as a 3-Way tone filter on the cutaway side.
The three way filter allows for a high cut, low cut, or center bypass (don't ask me).

I'm not sure how he has two on his guitar, all the Swedes I've seen only have a toggle for pickup selection, and one for tone filtering.

Post a couple of pictures of how it broke off and we can help you better.
Main Rig:

Epiphone MKH Les Paul Custom 7 - Ronda
Ibanez RG8 "Scarlet" - AKA The Rambanez
Fender Strat "Danielle"/"Dani"
Line 6 POD HD Pro
Randall XL 4x12

Come join us...

Purchase list: Jim Root Tele, Jim Root Jazzmaster, MTM20
Charvel1995
Ronda Rousey Fanboy
Join date: Sep 2010
1,873 IQ
#6
You could probably just remove the entire switch and replace it with a new one for fairly cheap.

If you bought it new I'd probably have a word with who you purchased it from, that would be an issue that needs to be brought up.
Main Rig:

Epiphone MKH Les Paul Custom 7 - Ronda
Ibanez RG8 "Scarlet" - AKA The Rambanez
Fender Strat "Danielle"/"Dani"
Line 6 POD HD Pro
Randall XL 4x12

Come join us...

Purchase list: Jim Root Tele, Jim Root Jazzmaster, MTM20
Dave_Mc
Chirp and Swirl
Join date: Mar 2005
2,967 IQ
#7
^ yeah. i mean if you can solder at all that'd be handier than sending it back to the US, as long as you're sure there's nothing else wrong with it.
Quote by classicrocker01
Only on UG would I say I got engaged and bought a jet city and get congratulated on the amp


Charvel1995
Ronda Rousey Fanboy
Join date: Sep 2010
1,873 IQ
#8
If he can't solder he may as well just use super glue to put it back on, or if it needs a pro setup he could have it replced by a pro.
Main Rig:

Epiphone MKH Les Paul Custom 7 - Ronda
Ibanez RG8 "Scarlet" - AKA The Rambanez
Fender Strat "Danielle"/"Dani"
Line 6 POD HD Pro
Randall XL 4x12

Come join us...

Purchase list: Jim Root Tele, Jim Root Jazzmaster, MTM20