57Goldtop
Piano Player in Disguise
Join date: Jan 2011
120 IQ
#1
Hey! I'm hoping I can get some help with a problem I'm having. Last night I was playing through my Marshall DSL100 head for about 5 minutes. I had to go take care of something so I put the amp on standby for about 15 minutes. When I came back I flipped it off standby and started to play, but all of a sudden I had NO sound. It had been working fine just a moment ago.

I have power to the amp. It turns on like normal and all the tubes appear to be glowing as usual. I flipped through the two channels on the amp but still no sound. I turned the volume all the way up and tapped on the end of my guitar cable, no buzz or static or anything.

I had only been playing for a few minutes when this happened. I tried it again today and I’m still getting no sound. Any ideas what might be wrong??

EDIT: I would like to see if the problem is my speaker cable but I don't have a spare one lying around. I realize it's bad to run a speaker cab with a guitar cable. But would I do any damage to my amp if I ran it like that for just a few seconds to see if I can get any sound? Just to rule out my speaker cable as the potential problem?
Current Gear:
2002 Gibson Les Paul Standard
'57 AVRI Fender Stratocaster
MIJ Fender Jaguar Special HH
Marshall JVM410
Vox AC15 C2
Last edited by 57Goldtop at Feb 6, 2013,
R45VT
Doesn't speak guitar
Join date: Dec 2009
110 IQ
#2
Did you check the HT fuse?

Yes you can use a guitar cable for a quick test.
Quote by DeathByDestroyr
See, it's important that people clarify when they say "metal", because I pretty much always assume they are a Cannibal Corpse fanboi.
Last edited by R45VT at Feb 6, 2013,
57Goldtop
Piano Player in Disguise
Join date: Jan 2011
120 IQ
#3
Quote by R45VT
Did you check the HT fuse?

Yes you can use a guitar cable for a quick test.

Ok, I ran a guitar cable there for a couple seconds but still no sound. At least that's one thing I can cross off the suspect list.

I just pulled out the HT fuse. It looks fine but from my understanding that doesn't actually mean it's not blown, right? I'll try to run out and grab a few replacement fuses tonight. Hopefully that helps.

So if it turns out that it was the HT fuse, is that something that just happens sometimes? Or is that a sign that something bigger is wrong with the amp? And is there any reason that would happen with flipping the amp on standby for a few minutes, or was that just total coincidence?
Current Gear:
2002 Gibson Les Paul Standard
'57 AVRI Fender Stratocaster
MIJ Fender Jaguar Special HH
Marshall JVM410
Vox AC15 C2
Cathbard
Grumpy Old Tech
Join date: Oct 2009
240 IQ
#4
A blown HT fuse normally means that a power tube has shit itself. When you flip the standby switch it turns on the HT supply so it is indicative of the same thing. Don't you own a multimeter? You can buy something good enough to test a fuse for under $20 these days. There's really no excuse not to have one any more.
Gilchrist custom
Yamaha SBG500
Telecasters
Randall RM100 & RM20
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Atomic Amplifire
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100


Cathbard Amplification
My band
57Goldtop
Piano Player in Disguise
Join date: Jan 2011
120 IQ
#5
Quote by Cathbard
A blown HT fuse normally means that a power tube has shit itself. When you flip the standby switch it turns on the HT supply so it is indicative of the same thing. Don't you own a multimeter? You can buy something good enough to test a fuse for under $20 these days. There's really no excuse not to have one any more.

Hey Cath... me not owning a multimeter has nothing to do with the cost of one. It has everything to do with me not knowing what the hell I'm doing with one, lol! I've actually been interested in learning more about working with/on amps. I've been modding my own guitars for a while now and I like working on that kind of stuff. But the whole "lethal dosage of current" thing with amplifiers has kept my curiosity in check so far
Current Gear:
2002 Gibson Les Paul Standard
'57 AVRI Fender Stratocaster
MIJ Fender Jaguar Special HH
Marshall JVM410
Vox AC15 C2
H4T3BR33D3R
Hater by Trade EST. 1990s
Join date: Nov 2007
350 IQ
#6
Quote by 57Goldtop
Hey Cath... me not owning a multimeter has nothing to do with the cost of one. It has everything to do with me not knowing what the hell I'm doing with one, lol! I've actually been interested in learning more about working with/on amps. I've been modding my own guitars for a while now and I like working on that kind of stuff. But the whole "lethal dosage of current" thing with amplifiers has kept my curiosity in check so far



All you need to do to avoid shocking yourself is to discharge the caps. You can do that by putting the amp in the on position when it's not plugged in IIRC.


Actually, it's probably not true and I'm not remembering correctly. Just disregard this
Quote by Axelfox
my mom and i went to a furry con and on the second day she said she didn't come and pay money to go see dumb shit.


Quote by JustRooster
I incurred the wrath of the Association of White Knights. Specifically the Parent's Basement branch of service.
Last edited by H4T3BR33D3R at Feb 6, 2013,
R45VT
Doesn't speak guitar
Join date: Dec 2009
110 IQ
#7
Quote by Cathbard
A blown HT fuse normally means that a power tube has shit itself. When you flip the standby switch it turns on the HT supply so it is indicative of the same thing. Don't you own a multimeter? You can buy something good enough to test a fuse for under $20 these days. There's really no excuse not to have one any more.

x2. New tubes and a new fuse.

There are PLENTY of tutorials of how to bias Marshall's...

Be safe- no need to discharge unless you are planning to work on the board.
Quote by DeathByDestroyr
See, it's important that people clarify when they say "metal", because I pretty much always assume they are a Cannibal Corpse fanboi.
Last edited by R45VT at Feb 6, 2013,
57Goldtop
Piano Player in Disguise
Join date: Jan 2011
120 IQ
#8
Quote by R45VT
x2. New tubes and a new fuse.

There are PLENTY of tutorials of how to bias Marshall's...

Be safe- no need to discharge unless you are planning to work on the board.

Ok, I'll go this route. I like to do my own work whenever possible so I'll check out some tutorials on biasing. At first I was pissed because I was thinking the amp had newer tubes in it (done by the previous owner). But now that I think about it they're probably coming up on about a year of use. Time flies...
Current Gear:
2002 Gibson Les Paul Standard
'57 AVRI Fender Stratocaster
MIJ Fender Jaguar Special HH
Marshall JVM410
Vox AC15 C2
R45VT
Doesn't speak guitar
Join date: Dec 2009
110 IQ
#10
Quote by 57Goldtop
Ok, I'll go this route. I like to do my own work whenever possible so I'll check out some tutorials on biasing. At first I was pissed because I was thinking the amp had newer tubes in it (done by the previous owner). But now that I think about it they're probably coming up on about a year of use. Time flies...


Shit- DSLs are super easy. You just need a voltmeter - there are 2 trim pots for left and right pair. Very easy
Quote by DeathByDestroyr
See, it's important that people clarify when they say "metal", because I pretty much always assume they are a Cannibal Corpse fanboi.
Robbgnarly
Tab Contributor
Join date: Feb 2011
290 IQ
#11
Is this the JCM2000 DSL?
I have the DSL100 and I had a cap go in the powersection and it took out 1 of my tubes. My brotherinlaw fixed my amp, but if I would have payed, it would have been $250 ish plus tubes.
He had to jump a few traces to get it working right

Trust me never use anything but SED =C= tubes in it the plate voltage is stupid and the =C= is the only tubes that will last
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
R45VT
Doesn't speak guitar
Join date: Dec 2009
110 IQ
#12
Quote by Robbgnarly
Is this the JCM2000 DSL?
I have the DSL100 and I had a cap go in the powersection and it took out 1 of my tubes. My brotherinlaw fixed my amp, but if I would have payed, it would have been $250 ish plus tubes.
He had to jump a few traces to get it working right

Trust me never use anything but SED =C= tubes in it the plate voltage is stupid and the =C= is the only tubes that will last


eh? Seriously- as many cheap mother ****ers as there are I think we would see more problems if SED =C= was the only way to go. There are built like tanks for sure but JJs would do just fine with the plate voltage. I would wonder what the caps are rated at before questioning tube manufacturers.
Quote by DeathByDestroyr
See, it's important that people clarify when they say "metal", because I pretty much always assume they are a Cannibal Corpse fanboi.
R45VT
Doesn't speak guitar
Join date: Dec 2009
110 IQ
#13
Now that I am home.... lets clarify this TS- was the HT fuse bad?
Quote by DeathByDestroyr
See, it's important that people clarify when they say "metal", because I pretty much always assume they are a Cannibal Corpse fanboi.
Robbgnarly
Tab Contributor
Join date: Feb 2011
290 IQ
#14
Quote by R45VT
eh? Seriously- as many cheap mother ****ers as there are I think we would see more problems if SED =C= was the only way to go. There are built like tanks for sure but JJs would do just fine with the plate voltage. I would wonder what the caps are rated at before questioning tube manufacturers.

Actually Marshall shipped the JCM2000 with SED =C= from the factory that should speak for it's self
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
qvplite
UG Newbie
Join date: Feb 2013
10 IQ
#15
This is my usual procedure when an amp stops making noise:

1 - Check Fuse; if ok move to step 2.
2 - Swap Tubes for Known Good Ones; if still no sound move to step 3.
3 - Take to Shop for Repair

A good tech will usually require a $50-100 deposit and include that amount in the price of the repair including labor and parts. If you're in San Diego I can recommend a couple people; otherwise you'll have to ask around.
57Goldtop
Piano Player in Disguise
Join date: Jan 2011
120 IQ
#16
Quote by DeadlyIllness
You checked the cables right, and any of the jacks?
Yeah, I used a simple continuity tester to confirm that I have power at every jack and cable. Everything appears to be working fine.

Quote by R45VT
Now that I am home.... lets clarify this TS- was the HT fuse bad?
Yeah the HT fuse is blown. I wasn't able to tell at first but under a magnifying glass I could clearly see a break in the filament.

So any recommendations on replacement tubes (other than the SED =C= as mentioned)? The previous owner was going for a more aggressive/modern tone when he replaced the tubes the last time. I'd actually like to get more of a vintage tone out of the amp if possible. I don't want to spend an arm and a leg though.
Current Gear:
2002 Gibson Les Paul Standard
'57 AVRI Fender Stratocaster
MIJ Fender Jaguar Special HH
Marshall JVM410
Vox AC15 C2
R45VT
Doesn't speak guitar
Join date: Dec 2009
110 IQ
#17
SED =C= is probably about the best quality modern production tube you can get.

JJ's are best value.


That being said power tubes don't change tone all that much. It's the preamp tubes that have an impact.


Robb thinks SED are the only way to go- he has a DSL 100. I personally have never the only SED. They are $$$ where JJs are $$.

I like tube depot for my tubes. Great prices and selection.

Have you found a tube biasing tutorial yet?
Quote by DeathByDestroyr
See, it's important that people clarify when they say "metal", because I pretty much always assume they are a Cannibal Corpse fanboi.
Last edited by R45VT at Feb 6, 2013,
Robbgnarly
Tab Contributor
Join date: Feb 2011
290 IQ
#18
Quote by R45VT
SED =C= is probably about the best quality modern production tube you can get.

JJ's are best value.


That being said power tubes don't change tone all that much. It's the preamp tubes that have an impact.


Robb thinks SED are the only way to go- he has a DSL 100. I personally have never the only SED. They are $$$ where JJs are $$.

I like tube depot for my tubes. Great prices and selection.

Have you found a tube biasing tutorial yet?

I do agree with R45VT you do not need SED=C= tubes, but they are the best. JJ have good tubes and they are reasonable in price.

The 6Ca7 is soposed to be nice in Marshall amps
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
57Goldtop
Piano Player in Disguise
Join date: Jan 2011
120 IQ
#19
Cool, thanks for the advice. I'm not gigging heavily so I'm not looking for the "best" tubes out there. I'm more concerned with overall bang for the buck. JJ's sound like a good choice for me.

So, would it be worth it for me to pick up a set of new preamp tubes too? I know, if it ain't broke don't fix it... but I'm not the original owner and I don't know the full history of the amp. Might be nice to start over with a clean slate.

Any decent-priced preamp tubes out there for more of a vintage tone - classic rock / bluesy rock?
Current Gear:
2002 Gibson Les Paul Standard
'57 AVRI Fender Stratocaster
MIJ Fender Jaguar Special HH
Marshall JVM410
Vox AC15 C2
Robbgnarly
Tab Contributor
Join date: Feb 2011
290 IQ
#20
JJ ecc83
(New)Mullard 12ax7
NOS JAN-Philips/GE 5751 (this is great for the PI and V1 to tame the gain)
JJ Ecc803 (this is great in V1 to lower the gain)
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
57Goldtop
Piano Player in Disguise
Join date: Jan 2011
120 IQ
#21
Cool thanks.

UPDATE: I picked up some fuses today and popped one in. That fixed my no-sound issue. I banged out a few chords and flipped back and forth between the channels, everything seems to be working now. I also flipped the standby switch on and off a couple times but the fuse seems to be fine.

So, what's the protocol here? I realize when a fuse blows it's typically a sign that something else is wrong. But is it ok to play it since the new fuse seems to be holding up? Or would I risk doing damage to the amp if there really is a problem with the tubes?
Current Gear:
2002 Gibson Les Paul Standard
'57 AVRI Fender Stratocaster
MIJ Fender Jaguar Special HH
Marshall JVM410
Vox AC15 C2