Dempsey68
ihavenoideawhatimdoing
Join date: Nov 2008
3,329 IQ
#1
having today acquired a Boss GT-8 having traded a Korg Pitchblack & £30 for it, which leaves me with a conundrum... and therefore, you lovely lovely people of ultimate-guitar a conundrum (basically HELP!)

while the GT-8 is a great bit of kit, i would also love to utilise all my other pedals at the same time. or at least a few of them....

now i know it wouldn't be a problem if i had one or two pedals on top of the GT-8 i wanted to use, but here's the issue, i have 10 i wish to use, currently, with 2 or 3 more to be ordered soon (one of which being another pitchblack) as it's my b.day on 22nd of this month xD

the pedals i have, and want to put on top of the GT-8 are:
EHX switchblade
Zvex SHO Clone
Vox V847
EHX Small Clone
Joyo Digital Delay
MXR M108 10-band EQ
Danelectro fish 'n' chips
Marshall jackhammer distortion
Digitech Screamin Blues OD
Boss RC-20XL

i know i can use the switchblade and have 2 lots of signal chains and switch em over as and when, but the loop pedal is the issue there, i want to use it with possibly some double delay and/or other wacky experimental concoctions of effects to loop and play about with...

my question is this: is it advisable to add a multi-effects to the set-up i currently have OR as the GT-8 has a loop send and return, could i run all the other aforementioned pedals via that loop??? i guess that's what a loop is for really...
Belief is a beautiful armour but makes for the heaviest sword.
CodeMonk
UG's Old Fart
Join date: Apr 2004
1,581 IQ
#2
Quote by Dempsey68
having today acquired a Boss GT-8 having traded a Korg Pitchblack & £30 for it, which leaves me with a conundrum... and therefore, you lovely lovely people of ultimate-guitar a conundrum (basically HELP!)

while the GT-8 is a great bit of kit, i would also love to utilise all my other pedals at the same time. or at least a few of them....

now i know it wouldn't be a problem if i had one or two pedals on top of the GT-8 i wanted to use, but here's the issue, i have 10 i wish to use, currently, with 2 or 3 more to be ordered soon (one of which being another pitchblack) as it's my b.day on 22nd of this month xD

the pedals i have, and want to put on top of the GT-8 are:
EHX switchblade
Zvex SHO Clone
Vox V847
EHX Small Clone
Joyo Digital Delay
MXR M108 10-band EQ
Danelectro fish 'n' chips
Marshall jackhammer distortion
Digitech Screamin Blues OD
Boss RC-20XL

i know i can use the switchblade and have 2 lots of signal chains and switch em over as and when, but the loop pedal is the issue there, i want to use it with possibly some double delay and/or other wacky experimental concoctions of effects to loop and play about with...

my question is this: is it advisable to add a multi-effects to the set-up i currently have OR as the GT-8 has a loop send and return, could i run all the other aforementioned pedals via that loop??? i guess that's what a loop is for really...


Yup, that's kinda what the loop is for.
MickAlmighty
UGs ONLY Human-Raccoon
Join date: May 2009
1,326 IQ
#3
Do you really NEED so many other pedals???

I mean... 2 EQ pedals, distortion pedal + amp drive + GT distortion... Etc etc
Quote by Spaztikko
Imagine the part of the ballsack where occasionally old poo sticks to the pubes and hardens, and you then have to pull out, but as an amp. That's an MG.


Greatest quote of all time?

I think so...
CodeMonk
UG's Old Fart
Join date: Apr 2004
1,581 IQ
#4
Quote by MickAlmighty
Do you really NEED so many other pedals???

I mean... 2 EQ pedals, distortion pedal + amp drive + GT distortion... Etc etc


Yes is the only answer.
Shadowofravenwo
Recent tube convert
Join date: Feb 2012
1,676 IQ
#5
Quote by MickAlmighty
Do you really NEED so many other pedals???

I mean... 2 EQ pedals, distortion pedal + amp drive + GT distortion... Etc etc


I was wondering the same thing. Isn't two eq pedals redundant?
Washburn MG-44(E)
Ibanez RG421 (Eb)
Art & Lutherie Electric Cutaway
Vox Valvetronix VT40
Vox AC4tv 1x10
Vox Original Wah-Wah Pedal V847-A
MXR '78 Custom Badass Distortion
kumamilesbear
UG's Ninjobo
Join date: Feb 2007
873 IQ
#7
Quote by MickAlmighty
Do you really NEED so many other pedals???

I mean... 2 EQ pedals, distortion pedal + amp drive + GT distortion... Etc etc

He certainly doesn't NEED them, but they will offer a lot of diversity. I use two different dirt pedals that sound different from each other and allow for different tones, and on top of that I have two different dirt channels on my amp.

Quote by CodeMonk
No
2 EQ pedals set the same is though.

This.
My friend runs three EQ pedals, each of them set for something completely different. So he has his regular amp tone, he has an EQ set for a lead tone + boost, one set for a really thin, lo-fi sound that he uses occasionally in song buildups, and one that essentially acts as a second clean tone (he only uses it on the clean channel of his amp).
Fender 72' Deluxe Tele
Schecter Damian Elite 7
Fender '62 Reissue Jazz Bass (MIJ)
Peavey XXX 212 (back on the East Coast)

Macbook Pro 15" Retina
Logic Pro X 10.0.7
Revalver 4
LePou Amp Sims
Ignite Amp Sims
LeCab2
RedWirez Impulses
Dempsey68
ihavenoideawhatimdoing
Join date: Nov 2008
3,329 IQ
#8
Quote by MickAlmighty
Do you really NEED so many other pedals???

I mean... 2 EQ pedals, distortion pedal + amp drive + GT distortion... Etc etc

2 EQ pedals as i use one (fish 'n' chips) for my acoustic guitar as it doesn't have it's own EQ on-board and the other (MXR) for an added bit of 'oomph' (if that makes sense)

same for my distortion pedals...
both pedals off gives me a nice clean sound, with the screamin blues i get a tone very much like this while the jackhammer gives me something a bit 'thinner' and a lot more distorted and heavy, something not too dissimilar to this (which may not be the heaviest distortion in the world ever, but it's the heaviest i'll ever need)

pretty much what this guy says:
Quote by kumamilesbear
He certainly doesn't NEED them, but they will offer a lot of diversity. I use two different dirt pedals that sound different from each other and allow for different tones, and on top of that I have two different dirt channels on my amp


and finally

Quote by CodeMonk
Yup, that's kinda what the loop is for.

cheers.

next question: in a loop, do all pedals have to be in 'the' order that they would be outside of a loop, or, as i've heard, it doesn't matter which order they're in while in a loop.

cheers guys for all input so far!
Belief is a beautiful armour but makes for the heaviest sword.
Offworld92
One among the fence.
Join date: Nov 2009
7,563 IQ
#9
On the subject of the EQ pedals - you don't need them. In fact, to use them would be insulting to the sheer EQing power of your GT. Try messing with it and see what it can do first before assuming you need all of your standalones.

I can almost guarantee that you can get rid of everything except for your drives.
Spin 'round carousel when your horse isn't screwed in.

My band:
Fractured Instinct
(For fans of Death/Groove/Prog Metal)

Ibanez RGA42E
Ibanez S420
LTD H-301
Ibanez RG520
Peavey Predator USA
Douglas Grendel 725
Line 6 Pod HD500X
Dempsey68
ihavenoideawhatimdoing
Join date: Nov 2008
3,329 IQ
#10
Quote by Offworld92
On the subject of the EQ pedals - you don't need them. In fact, to use them would be insulting to the sheer EQing power of your GT. Try messing with it and see what it can do first before assuming you need all of your standalones.

I can almost guarantee that you can get rid of everything except for your drives.

i got the GT after the other EQ pedals, i'm going to keep hold of them, but if they're not needed for now, then i'll put em back in their boxes and store them for a later date when/if i do need them.

in which case, other than the OD/distortion pedals i will prob need the wah (using the GT one as a volume pedal) and also gonna need the RC-20XL for looping stuff.

otherwise everything else i suppose can go back in their boxes, right???
Belief is a beautiful armour but makes for the heaviest sword.
Offworld92
One among the fence.
Join date: Nov 2009
7,563 IQ
#11
Most likely.

Just make sure you spend a good amount of time with the GT. I'm assuming the 8 and 10 are pretty similar, never actually used an 8. But the 10 has an insane amount of tweakability. It can get exasperating at times. So just mentally prepare yourself for that, haha.
Spin 'round carousel when your horse isn't screwed in.

My band:
Fractured Instinct
(For fans of Death/Groove/Prog Metal)

Ibanez RGA42E
Ibanez S420
LTD H-301
Ibanez RG520
Peavey Predator USA
Douglas Grendel 725
Line 6 Pod HD500X
Dempsey68
ihavenoideawhatimdoing
Join date: Nov 2008
3,329 IQ
#12
Quote by Offworld92
Most likely.

Just make sure you spend a good amount of time with the GT. I'm assuming the 8 and 10 are pretty similar, never actually used an 8. But the 10 has an insane amount of tweakability. It can get exasperating at times. So just mentally prepare yourself for that, haha.

yeh i was messing with it last night for about an hour at least but then had to stop because it was a bit late and my girlfriend had a "headache" so wanted me to shut up... (i don't own any 1/4" jack headphones or an adapter)

will have to play about with it for a good couple of hours at least when i can, i'm also going to print out the 100-page instruction manual while at work tomorrow.

so other than the RC-20XL and distortion/OD, what would you recommend i run through the FX loop, or is it just them 3???
Belief is a beautiful armour but makes for the heaviest sword.
Mephaphil
No empty frets.
Join date: Apr 2012
1,956 IQ
#13
I had 4 wahs at one point.

Once you get a RMC there's no need for another one ever. I found it really annoying trying to loop all my pedals with my GT100. Was cool, but individual pedals>effects unit.
Quote by Shredwizard445
Go ahead and spend your money, I don't care. It won't make you sound better.


Quote by Shredwizard445
Sure upgrading your gear will make you sound better.


Dempsey68
ihavenoideawhatimdoing
Join date: Nov 2008
3,329 IQ
#14
Quote by Mephaphil
I had 4 wahs at one point.

Once you get a RMC there's no need for another one ever. I found it really annoying trying to loop all my pedals with my GT100. Was cool, but individual pedals>effects unit.

pardon my noobism - RMC???

and accepted singular effects are probably better, hence why i have a fair few... and i have always wanted a multi effect unit to play about with, and i don't really miss my pitchblack tbh, despite the fact i'll be getting another...
Belief is a beautiful armour but makes for the heaviest sword.
Mephaphil
No empty frets.
Join date: Apr 2012
1,956 IQ
#15
http://www.realmccoycustom.com

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h1Uclc_O7mE

They really are amazing, and they work properly with fuzz. Expensive but I think they're the best.

Lots of different models. I have the RMC1.
Quote by Shredwizard445
Go ahead and spend your money, I don't care. It won't make you sound better.


Quote by Shredwizard445
Sure upgrading your gear will make you sound better.


Dempsey68
ihavenoideawhatimdoing
Join date: Nov 2008
3,329 IQ
#16
ah cool, yeh just had a look, but much for me lol
Belief is a beautiful armour but makes for the heaviest sword.
Dempsey68
ihavenoideawhatimdoing
Join date: Nov 2008
3,329 IQ
#17
so tonight gonna try it out with the 2 distortions, RC20XL and wah through the loop and see how i get on.

or is it more advisable to have the RC20XL outside of the effects loop at the end of the chain?
Belief is a beautiful armour but makes for the heaviest sword.
bburritt1
Sauron Hates EMG's......
Join date: Feb 2013
188 IQ
#18
Quote by Dempsey68
so tonight gonna try it out with the 2 distortions, RC20XL and wah through the loop and see how i get on.

or is it more advisable to have the RC20XL outside of the effects loop at the end of the chain?

Sometimes the wah will sound very strange in the loop I would advise just running it in the chain first. i run mine last but that's just a mistake I made early in my playing and just got used to it. Rc20 in the loop all day long.
Dempsey68
ihavenoideawhatimdoing
Join date: Nov 2008
3,329 IQ
#19
Quote by bburritt1
Sometimes the wah will sound very strange in the loop I would advise just running it in the chain first. i run mine last but that's just a mistake I made early in my playing and just got used to it. Rc20 in the loop all day long.

cheers will put the RC20 in the loop and the wah before.

think i've got it sorted now, but i guess it's mostly just a lot of playing about lol
Belief is a beautiful armour but makes for the heaviest sword.
Offworld92
One among the fence.
Join date: Nov 2009
7,563 IQ
#20
I would run it as the last thing before the input of your amp. Not in the loop.

Doesn't your GT have a looper though? The one on my 10 is pretty good. Satisfyingly good actually, compared to the looper on my Vypyr...
Spin 'round carousel when your horse isn't screwed in.

My band:
Fractured Instinct
(For fans of Death/Groove/Prog Metal)

Ibanez RGA42E
Ibanez S420
LTD H-301
Ibanez RG520
Peavey Predator USA
Douglas Grendel 725
Line 6 Pod HD500X