maximusmeatsack
Registered User
Join date: Oct 2013
21 IQ
#1
Hi guys,


Just bought myself an ac30 as a 21st birthday present and wanted some tips!

I have a boss pedalboard (with the power cable) with from right to left (input to output)
Korg pitchblack - EH overdrive muff - DS1 - danelectro tremolo - boss tape echo

As it's my first valve amp and an absolute beast, I'd like to use the amp itself to get the most organic natural tones as much as possible but obviously using my pretty expensive (and awesome might I add) collection of pedals

What would be the best way to do this? Just plug it into the normal input on the top?

Doesn't help that I don't really understand how all that sh*t works, Im a frontman who wields an American strat in a blues rock soul noise making band


Any tips and pointers will help a bunch!

Cheers, Jack
Dave_Mc
Chirp and Swirl
Join date: Mar 2005
2,967 IQ
#2
do you use amp-based preamp distortion?
Quote by crownegamers
I saw in a couple of pictures that on Bucketheads Les Paul (only some pictures) that his neck pickup is painted in white. Can anyone explain to me why he would do this, and if there are any pros and cons.

Quote by dspellman
The guy wears a KFC Bucket and a white mask during performances, and you're interested in the color of his pickup covers?

ibanezguitars44
Tab Contributor
Join date: Jul 2004
2,916 IQ
#3
Guitar > pedalboard > amp

That's it.

The ac30 has a normal channel and top boost. Try both to see which one you prefer. Or if you can jump the channels, try that.
Originally posted by primusfan
When you crank up the gain to 10 and switch to the lead channel, it actually sounds like you are unjustifiably bombing an innocent foreign land.


╠═══════╬═══════╣
τλε τρπ βπστλεπλσσδ
╠═══════╬═══════╣
CodeMonk
UG's Old Fart
Join date: Apr 2004
1,584 IQ
#4
Quote by ibanezguitars44
Guitar > pedalboard > amp

That's it.

The ac30 has a normal channel and top boost. Try both to see which one you prefer. Or if you can jump the channels, try that.

Thats the way I do mine.
Also, I don't know if the C2 does it, but the CC has a switch where you can blend the normal and top boost channels. Thats the way I run mine.
Last edited by CodeMonk at Oct 12, 2013,
I K0nijn I
Registered User
Join date: Jul 2008
1,040 IQ
#5
I'd put the tape echo and tremolo in the loop.
Gibson SG
Fender CS Telecaster
Kemper Profiler
Slap-happy
Registered User
Join date: Feb 2008
996 IQ
#6
Experiment. It's a matter of personal preference.

I run my board direct through the front end, although when I'm using my AC30 and Tweaker I use the Tweaker's loop for my modulation and delay. I like having an effected and uneffected signal running live as it broadens my sound.
It's an opinion. It's subjective. And I'm right, anyway.