shredderrrrrr
Registered User
Join date: Oct 2013
51 IQ
#1
Other than the different displays, is there any reason to buy one of these tuners over the other?
Cathbard
Grumpy Old Tech
Join date: Oct 2009
240 IQ
#2
They both work well but the pitchblack has a better display - and it's cheaper. I've got the pitchblack.
Gilchrist custom
Yamaha SBG500
Telecasters
Randall RM100 & RM20
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Atomic Amplifire
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100


Cathbard Amplification
My band
johnturner9
Registered User
Join date: Sep 2009
42 IQ
#3
Not really.


Both tuners have an excellent accuracy of ±1 cent (1/100th of a semitone), the BOSS tuner has a bit of a longer range, extended to C0(16 something Hz), while the Korg goes to E0(20 something Hz). The BOSS tuner is a bit more feature complete, but honestly you'd be fine with the Korg.
Last edited by johnturner9 at Jan 6, 2014,
gurg06
Gurg
Join date: Mar 2006
80 IQ
#4
I've heard the display on the boss is a bit brighter. I own the pitchblack, and at an outdoor gig in sunlight its pretty hard to make out. I'd say they're both pretty similar though!
Offworld92
One among the fence.
Join date: Nov 2009
520 IQ
#5
Boss. It's important to have a good buffer somewhere in your chain, and with the true bypass fad/hype, it can be easy to build an entire chain with no buffers in it. The TU-3 takes that thought out of the equation, because it's just there.
Spin 'round carousel when your horse isn't screwed in.

My band:
Fractured Instinct
(For fans of Death/Groove/Prog Metal)

Ibanez RGA42E
Ibanez S420
LTD H-301
Ibanez RG520
Peavey Predator USA
Douglas Grendel 725
Line 6 Pod HD500X
Jaredmkl
UG's That one guy
Join date: Jun 2010
50 IQ
#6
I really like my Korg Pitchblack. Way easier to see then tu3's.
GEAR
PRS:SE Singlecut w/ Crunchlab/Airnorton
ESP:Eclipse Standard
LTD:SCT607B
Fender:MIM Silverburst Tele
Line6:Pod HD500X
Ovation:EliteT1778
trashedlostfdup
diet coke fiend.
Join date: Apr 2010
1,300 IQ
#7
something with a strobe effect. the korg does on one setting that i liked. i also would consider a strobe tuner (can't remember what brand) they are really easy to see and more accurate. i had a pitchblack and it was great. until it got stolen. the sad thing was is that i was with people i knew to some degree and trusted enough to not take anything from me.

but i would recommend a strobe tuner or pitchblack to do it over.
WTLT 2014 GG&A

Quote by andersondb7
alright "king of the guitar forum"


Quote by trashedlostfdup
nope i am "GOD of the guitar forum" i think that fits me better.


Quote by andersondb7
youre just being a jerk man.
Cathbard
Grumpy Old Tech
Join date: Oct 2009
240 IQ
#8
I haven't tried it in sunlight yet but the Korg's display on an indoor stage is great. I often tune between standard and drop D between songs and the speed with which the Korg tracks coupled with the big display makes it insanely quick to do. I've literally done it in the time it took for the drummer to count in the next song (when he forgets that I have to retune).
Gilchrist custom
Yamaha SBG500
Telecasters
Randall RM100 & RM20
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Atomic Amplifire
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100


Cathbard Amplification
My band
Last edited by Cathbard at Jan 7, 2014,
757ian123
Registered User
Join date: Jul 2013
40 IQ
#9
I have the Pitchblack and don't have any complaints with it. Its cheaper than the Boss so that's reason enough to buy it lol
shredderrrrrr
Registered User
Join date: Oct 2013
51 IQ
#10
Quote by Offworld92
Boss. It's important to have a good buffer somewhere in your chain, and with the true bypass fad/hype, it can be easy to build an entire chain with no buffers in it. The TU-3 takes that thought out of the equation, because it's just there.


Sorry for the dumb question, but can you explain what you mean? I'm pretty new to gear and was just always under the impression that true bypass = better (without even knowing what "true bypass" really meant).
trashedlostfdup
diet coke fiend.
Join date: Apr 2010
1,300 IQ
#11
Quote by shredderrrrrr
Sorry for the dumb question, but can you explain what you mean? I'm pretty new to gear and was just always under the impression that true bypass = better (without even knowing what "true bypass" really meant).


iwill leave the technical explanations who will be on here soon, but basically think of it as a little boost for your signal from the guitar or previous effects (NOT audible type of signal, keeps thing more true.

honestly if you are running 60' of cables and several effects, then i don't think that it really is necessary, but if you are running 10 pedals and all were true bypass you would lose some signal integrity, and would want to use a buffer earlier and potentially a second.

the reason that think buffered bypass are low quality and rob tone.
WTLT 2014 GG&A

Quote by andersondb7
alright "king of the guitar forum"


Quote by trashedlostfdup
nope i am "GOD of the guitar forum" i think that fits me better.


Quote by andersondb7
youre just being a jerk man.
Cathbard
Grumpy Old Tech
Join date: Oct 2009
240 IQ
#12
Basically, no switch, jack, plug or cable is perfect (ie zero impedance). If you have a lot of these, it all adds up and signal degradation occurs. A buffer overcomes these losses. So the trick is to get a buffer somewhere early in the chain to drive through all those footswitches and jacks. Of course if you don't have many then it is moot.
A more detailed explanation would require maths and shit and a lesson in impedance and amplifier circuits. Hopefully my layman's explanation will suffice.
Gilchrist custom
Yamaha SBG500
Telecasters
Randall RM100 & RM20
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Atomic Amplifire
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100


Cathbard Amplification
My band
757ian123
Registered User
Join date: Jul 2013
40 IQ
#13
Also note that if you have a pedal which stays on all the time, it will act as a buffer even if it is true bypass