mickel_w
Registered User
Join date: Dec 2012
1,068 IQ
#1
Anyone know of anything like 32 lives but for free?
DisarmGoliath
Disarms Goliaths
Join date: Dec 2008
1,391 IQ
#2
I don't, but why have you bought Logic Pro X if you still want to use 32-Bit plug-ins? I can't imagine '32 Lives' being particularly good performance-wise, not that I know much about it.

I still use Logic Pro 9 because I still have plug-ins that don't have 64-Bit versions yet. Why would you not just do the same?
Hey, look. Sigs are back.
Sid McCall
(Actually, I'm Scott)
Join date: Jul 2006
2,713 IQ
#3
Quote by DisarmGoliath
I don't, but why have you bought Logic Pro X if you still want to use 32-Bit plug-ins? I can't imagine '32 Lives' being particularly good performance-wise, not that I know much about it.

I still use Logic Pro 9 because I still have plug-ins that don't have 64-Bit versions yet. Why would you not just do the same?

Maybe he got a free plug-in AFTER buying Logic X that's only 32-bit and is looking for a free bridge in order to try it out? No need to attack people based on assumptions, this forum is ridiculous lately...
Telecaster - SG - Jaguar
Princeton Reverb, Extra Reverb
P-Bass - Mustang Bass
Apogee Duet 2 - Ableton Suite
DisarmGoliath
Disarms Goliaths
Join date: Dec 2008
1,391 IQ
#4
Attack people? What are you even talking about?
Hey, look. Sigs are back.
Sid McCall
(Actually, I'm Scott)
Join date: Jul 2006
2,713 IQ
#5
Quote by DisarmGoliath
Attack people? What are you even talking about?

Whatever, dude.

"Why would you not just do the same?" Seems rhetorical and rude the way you phrased it. But that's just, like, my opinion, man. Of course in this forum there is such thing a right or wrong opinion.
Telecaster - SG - Jaguar
Princeton Reverb, Extra Reverb
P-Bass - Mustang Bass
Apogee Duet 2 - Ableton Suite
mickel_w
Registered User
Join date: Dec 2012
1,068 IQ
#6
Quote by DisarmGoliath
I don't, but why have you bought Logic Pro X if you still want to use 32-Bit plug-ins? I can't imagine '32 Lives' being particularly good performance-wise, not that I know much about it.

I still use Logic Pro 9 because I still have plug-ins that don't have 64-Bit versions yet. Why would you not just do the same?


Don't have Logic 9. Used to use a different DAW which could run 32 bit plug ins, that I no longer have. Bought Logic X, don't have the money to buy a new drum VST and BFD2 is 32 bit
DisarmGoliath
Disarms Goliaths
Join date: Dec 2008
1,391 IQ
#7
I'm trying to find out why he's so determined to use Logic X with 32-Bit plug-ins, instead of the more obvious choice of sticking with an older version if you need plug-ins that haven't been updated. If it's his first DAW, I doubt he'd be too attached to any plug-ins, and if he's trying out a freebie, just accept that it hasn't cost him anything and it's only a demo or something.
Hey, look. Sigs are back.
DisarmGoliath
Disarms Goliaths
Join date: Dec 2008
1,391 IQ
#8
Quote by mickel_w
Don't have Logic 9. Used to use a different DAW which could run 32 bit plug ins. Bought Logic X, don't have the money to buy a new drum VST and BFD2 is 32 bit

I see :/ Unfortunately there's not much you can do, it's designed to run entirely in 64-Bit so workarounds are few and far between. Until you can afford a new drum program/they update it, you can either pay for this 32 Lives tool, or for the moment you can use Logic's own drum programs or import samples of your own into Ultrabeat and program them in the Piano Roll.
Hey, look. Sigs are back.
Sid McCall
(Actually, I'm Scott)
Join date: Jul 2006
2,713 IQ
#9
Quote by DisarmGoliath
you can use Logic's own drum programs or import samples of your own into Ultrabeat and program them in the Piano Roll.

That's the ticket right there. Logic is full of great tools that will likely rival your old drum program once you get through a new learning curve. Do you have access to the sample library from BFD?

It looks like BFD2 was replaced with BFD3, which IS 64-bit. There should be a discounted upgrade plan, you should look into that.

EDIT: Got some good news for you, BFD2 was updated with 64-bit support already
http://www.fxpansion.com/index.php?page=53
Telecaster - SG - Jaguar
Princeton Reverb, Extra Reverb
P-Bass - Mustang Bass
Apogee Duet 2 - Ableton Suite
mickel_w
Registered User
Join date: Dec 2012
1,068 IQ
#10
Quote by Sid McCall
That's the ticket right there. Logic is full of great tools that will likely rival your old drum program once you get through a new learning curve. Do you have access to the sample library from BFD?

It looks like BFD2 was replaced with BFD3, which IS 64-bit. There should be a discounted upgrade plan, you should look into that.

EDIT: Got some good news for you, BFD2 was updated with 64-bit support already
http://www.fxpansion.com/index.php?page=53


ah! thank you

should have looked harder
ChemicalFire
King of Bacon Pancakes
Join date: Oct 2007
5,773 IQ
#11
You can always buy a converter, they're not too expensive, but they're not all that reliable either.

I have Jbridge and it SOMETIMES does the trick.
All I want is for everyone to go to hell...
...It's the last place I was seen before I lost myself



Quote by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!
mickel_w
Registered User
Join date: Dec 2012
1,068 IQ
#12
have any of you guys tried out the Logic X drum kit designer? And by 'try out' I mean gone in-depth with it or at least used it in a song or two?

I've heard very good things about it, and just looking at it the sound samples they sound good. There's some basic parameters which you can change, but there is something called 'continuous hi-hat control' which is really neat; using your MIDI controller's mod wheel you can control how open or closed the hi hat is whilst playing.
All the drum vst's which I know of seem to be quite outdated anyway (EZ drummer, BFD 2, addictive drums)

Oh, also I tried the demo version of a 'bridging' program. BFD 2 appeared to work, until suddenly there was an increasingly loud crackling sound each time I played a part of the kit, ending in BFD crashing Logic and messing up the project

I think I'll just try and see how far I can take the drum kit designer in Logic, still pretty new to the DAW, but it seems like the best option.


Edit: to the guy who gave me the link to the update, it's no longer available. BFD 3 is coming out soon
Last edited by mickel_w at Jun 26, 2014,
oneblackened
Better Than You At Mixing
Join date: Oct 2007
3,209 IQ
#13
Well, there's BFD3, EZ Drummer 2 (which is great!), Superior Drummer 2...
Current Gear:
LTD MH-400
PRS SE Custom 24 (BKP C-Bomb/VHII)
ESP Horizon NT-7 (SD Full Shreds)
UA Apollo Twin Duo
Peavey Revalver 4
Quote by Anonden
You CAN play anything with anything....but some guitars sound right for some things, and not for others. Single coils sound retarded for metal, though those who are apeshit about harpsichord probably beg to differ.
Sid McCall
(Actually, I'm Scott)
Join date: Jul 2006
2,713 IQ
#14
Quote by mickel_w

Edit: to the guy who gave me the link to the update, it's no longer available. BFD 3 is coming out soon

email their customer support, there's no reason for them to make that update temporary.
Telecaster - SG - Jaguar
Princeton Reverb, Extra Reverb
P-Bass - Mustang Bass
Apogee Duet 2 - Ableton Suite
mickel_w
Registered User
Join date: Dec 2012
1,068 IQ
#15
Quote by Sid McCall
email their customer support, there's no reason for them to make that update temporary.


I will do. But do you think Logic's drum kit designer could be on par with BFD 2?
MatrixClaw
UG God
Join date: Nov 2006
10,723 IQ
#16
Kontakt Player + Drum'Mica = Free and on-par with BFD2.
Quote by Dave_Mc
I've had tube amps for a while now, but never actually had any go down on me
Quote by jj1565
maybe you're not saying the right things? an amp likes to know you care.





www.SanctityStudios.com
Sid McCall
(Actually, I'm Scott)
Join date: Jul 2006
2,713 IQ
#17
Quote by mickel_w
I will do. But do you think Logic's drum kit designer could be on par with BFD 2?

Sure. Any limitations will be on your end for the time being while you get through the learning curve. That said, it will take less time to track down that update to the software you know than to learn a whole new one (probably - Apple stuff can be pretty easy to get a handle on).
Telecaster - SG - Jaguar
Princeton Reverb, Extra Reverb
P-Bass - Mustang Bass
Apogee Duet 2 - Ableton Suite
mickel_w
Registered User
Join date: Dec 2012
1,068 IQ
#18
Quote by MatrixClaw
Kontakt Player + Drum'Mica = Free and on-par with BFD2.


now thats a good combination, thank you

Quote by Sid McCall
Sure. Any limitations will be on your end for the time being while you get through the learning curve. That said, it will take less time to track down that update to the software you know than to learn a whole new one (probably - Apple stuff can be pretty easy to get a handle on).


I think I'll try to get to grips with Logic's drum designer and try out the 'DrumMic'a' too. Thanks for your help
Last edited by mickel_w at Jun 26, 2014,