nathan.denson1
Registered User
Join date: Mar 2013
20 IQ
#1
Hey Guys,

I'm a cubase user and I recently decided to try drum samples in wav format rather than using slate drums or superior drummer. I purchased a pack of samples and I'd like to know what a good vst plugin would be to load them on.

I'm looking for something that will allow my kicks to be on one midi note, all my snare hits, rolls, flams, rim shots each on a seperate midi note, etc etc.

Each instrument in the pack comes with 5 velocity levels and 5 samples per velocity so it won't sound as robotic. (All samples include corresponding overhead and room mic samples for layering)

I need something that will layer the overhead and room mic with the direct sample and also randomize the sample used when at a certain velocity. Basically what a plugin like Superior Drummer would do for you.

Sorry if this is unclear. I don't know that much about samples, but any help would be appreciated.
ChemicalFire
King of Bacon Pancakes
Join date: Oct 2007
451 IQ
#2
So why did you decide to make your life more complicated?
All I want is for everyone to go to hell...
...It's the last place I was seen before I lost myself



Quote by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!
xxdarrenxx
UG Fanatic
Join date: Jan 2006
100 IQ
#3
Quote by ChemicalFire
So why did you decide to make your life more complicated?


This.

In the end you want "this" and to let it do "that", and you will end up with the same thing.

Ableton live has a built in drum rack, which can go very advanced and do all this, but ye.. Cubase, so it would not work.

Just use the drum software man.

The "Re-incarnation of Plato" Award 2009
(most intelligent)
The "Good Samaritan" Award 2009 (most helpful)

[font="Palatino Linotype
Who's Andy Timmons??
ChemicalFire
King of Bacon Pancakes
Join date: Oct 2007
451 IQ
#4
You know you can load custom samples into Steven Slate too if you really want to?
All I want is for everyone to go to hell...
...It's the last place I was seen before I lost myself



Quote by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!
Victorgeiger
Registered User
Join date: May 2014
110 IQ
#5
Since you went and got samples why don't you do it the old fashioned way and scrap midi all together. In cubase set your bmp and snapping, load the samples into the file browser and build the drum track right there in the timeline.

At least this will give you complete freedom in the mixing and effects department.
Last edited by Victorgeiger at Jun 27, 2014,