ub1quit0uz
Registered User
Join date: Oct 2012
357 IQ
#1
Hey guys I am brand new to this forum and needing some help!


Info:
I have an Ibanez Gio that honestly I can't find any trace of ANYWHERE - It says its a Gio GS09, which according to my research doesn't exist so its very hard for me to find any info for.
The Ibanez is a "strat" type guitar, with all the wiring underneath the pickguard. It came with one Humbucker (bridge) and two Single Coils (Mid, and Neck). The "pickup switch" has 5 settings, Bridge, Bridge and Middle Coil, Middle Coil, Neck and middle coil, neck coil. I upgraded my Humbucker months ago. Now, My new humbucker (SH-8) sounds AMAZING on the chugs and lows, exactly how I wanted it. But as my guitar skills have increased alternate picking and such is starting to become common for me to play, unfortunately the high's just do not carry well with the SH-8. I recently bought a SH-6 for the neck to compensate for this. (yes I've done my research this is indeed the sound I want) Obviously with this humbucker I run into two problems and here is where the question is. Keep in mind I no longer expect to be using any of the single coils.

Questions:
1) How the heck do I wire/solder my humbuckers to be able to;
-on one setting have just the bridge humbucker
-one one setting have both humbuckers
-and the last have only the neck
2) Do I need to use all 5 settings? (I assume not)
3) Is this even at all possible?
4) is there any problem, (as barbaric as this seems) to simply cut away at the current pickguard to make room for the new humbucker? (yes im running on a highschool, part-time job budget)

Thanks so much in advance =)
Maximus_2005
Registered User
Join date: Jul 2012
13 IQ
#2
Amp?
"evil esteban"
if this thing melts again i'm takin' it to bugera headquarters, puttin' a bag of fecal matter on it, ringin' the doorbell and flippin the switch from "standby" to "on", and running.

"tubetime86"
This wasnt even a cool story... Bro.
ub1quit0uz
Registered User
Join date: Oct 2012
357 IQ
#4
Yeah I knew it would look weird but I figured sound quality is more important than looks. Ill check out tjat link when I get home. I'm on my phone atm. Thanks, I hope its what I need

Maximus; I'm not sure how my amp matters in this case but I currently own a digital ibanez tone blaster, and a tube red vudo. Although I usually use the ibanez and let our lead guitarist use the vudo
steven seagull
not really a seagull
Join date: Oct 2006
1,064 IQ
#5
^
Amp matters more than anything else, and in all honesty yours isn't great... You're really throwing good money after bad if you're spending it on pickups


You're not going to be able to compensate for a lack of top end by changing your neck pickup no matter what you put there...It doesn't work like that .

String vibrate more over the neck pickup and the resultant tone is inherently going to be warmer, fuller and bassier so even if you put a bright pickup in there it's not going to change the situation. The bridge position is where the tone is naturally brighter, if things aren't bright enough with the invader then you honestly need to consider replacing it, or possibly switch out your pots for 1meg ones
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc
i wanna see a clip of a recto buying some groceries.


stuffmycatswatchontv.tumblr.com
Offworld92
One among the fence.
Join date: Nov 2009
7,563 IQ
#6
While I completely agree with steven seagull, to answer your actual question, I suggest you buy a 3 way switch. It'll make your life easier, and they only cost $5-10. Less if you go for a generic one on eBay, but those tend to wear out faster.
Spin 'round carousel when your horse isn't screwed in.

My band:
Fractured Instinct
(For fans of Death/Groove/Prog Metal)

Ibanez RGA42E
Ibanez S420
LTD H-301
Ibanez RG520
Peavey Predator USA
Douglas Grendel 725
Line 6 Pod HD500X
ub1quit0uz
Registered User
Join date: Oct 2012
357 IQ
#7
Thanks for the suggestions, seagull what did you mean by "or possibly switch out your pots for 1meg ones" what the heck does that mean? (Sorry not too knowledgeable here)

Even though the SH-6 is neck and the SH-8 is bridge, with what you were mentioning about string vibration would it be a better decision to switch them when I put them in? Or would that be horrible? Honestly I dont exactly know the mechanics of how pickups are made and what differentiates the bridge vs the neck pickups.

Also, I know amp matters most for sound i just didn't understand how it mattered to the specific question, but thanks to your clarification i understand the reason why it was pointed out, thanks =)
Question though, are both the amps I listed bad, or just one or the other? to my current understanding the Red vu'do was a great amp, atleast for the extremely small budget I am on. Which Is why I bought the Tone Blaster, it had decent reviews for the $100 it cost me, and the Red Vu'do only cost me $400.

Lastly, correct me if I'm wrong. The best thing to help out my situation since I already purchased the SH-6 and SH-8 (both of which are non-returnable), would be to purchase a new amp head (when funds allow), and possibly switch the pickups if the answer to my second question is "yes I should switch them"?

Also thanks offworld for the suggestion, I will pickup a 3-way switch =)

Sorry for my long posts, My brain is now filled with questions haha
Thanks again =)
Last edited by ub1quit0uz at Oct 13, 2012,
Sledgeman
Registered User
Join date: Jul 2008
144 IQ
#8
You can also have a 5-way switch even if you are just running a H-H configuration. That way you can run the pups in both serial and parallel and together.
ub1quit0uz
Registered User
Join date: Oct 2012
357 IQ
#9
Okay, do you know how I might go about doing that, I don't know much about soldering and wiring other than how to do it, not what does what
ub1quit0uz
Registered User
Join date: Oct 2012
357 IQ
#10
I'm still looking at getting the above questions answered, I also have a new questions as well.

Like I mentioned I have a red Voodoo Amp. Its been buzzing lately and im pretty sure its the tubes. What tubes would be good for the Voodoo? I play metalcore (Asking Alexandria, Memphis Mayfire, WCAR type genre). and would like to know what tubes to get, even if they aren't the problem I'd like to replace them anyway.
steven seagull
not really a seagull
Join date: Oct 2006
1,064 IQ
#11
sorry, forgot about this thread!

pots are potentiometers, the variable resistors used for volume and tone control. Usually the ones in humbucker equipped guitars are 500k, but if you use higher value pots that will give you a little more output but also improve top-end response - using 1 meg pots is one way to solve an issue with lack of treble response.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc
i wanna see a clip of a recto buying some groceries.


stuffmycatswatchontv.tumblr.com
ub1quit0uz
Registered User
Join date: Oct 2012
357 IQ
#12
Awesome, Ill look into those as well, any that you would suggest? Are there any compatibility problems I might have to look into?
W4RP1G
Please, call me Pig.
Join date: May 2010
2,847 IQ
#13
Quote by ub1quit0uz
Awesome, Ill look into those as well, any that you would suggest? Are there any compatibility problems I might have to look into?

Compatibility between pots? Anything 500k or up will work just fine with a humbucker. Also, pots come in either linear or audio/logarithmic taper, which is basically how the pots reacts when you roll it off. Typically people suggest using a log/audio pot for the volume and a linear pot for the tone. I usually use and audio pot for both tone and volume because I like the roll-off more.

And I would sooner modify an existing tone pot to be a "no-load" pot before swapping it for a 1000k pot. That basically means the pot is completely bypassed when it's at 10. You can't do that with a volume pot though, only tone. Here's a how-to video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dN3SlH-cEAg
Last edited by W4RP1G at Nov 9, 2012,
RJH11
Tone chaser
Join date: Nov 2012
1,330 IQ
#14
I also use a invader in the bridge of my epi sg g400. I dont have any problems with
getting good highs out of this pickup when needed but i also use a graphic eq and
as stated good amps are the starting point. You need to use the voodoo. And for tubes
i would check whats in it first but i use mullards rcas sylvanias its all a taste thing and i
also play the same genre of music you do.
ub1quit0uz
Registered User
Join date: Oct 2012
357 IQ
#15
Awesome! I'll look into modding the tone, but It looks like my main problem here is the amp itself. Looks like another solidstate amp will be thrown in my closet hahaha. So... Now here is my new questions, what is the best "Bang For Your Buck" tube Amp? What Can I get that sounds as best as I can for a super tight budget?
Keep in mind this is the kind of music I play:
http://soundcloud.com/winters-iris/sets/projections-demo
W4RP1G
Please, call me Pig.
Join date: May 2010
2,847 IQ
#16
Depends on your budget really. For your type of music the 6505+ is pretty awesome. For for a few hundred less you could get a Vypyr Tube 60 which offer far more options, but is a modeler so it's not all tube. And the used market is pretty good for saving cash.

If you're on an even tighter budget than that, you might want to look into the regular Vypyr line.
ub1quit0uz
Registered User
Join date: Oct 2012
357 IQ
#17
I'm sure a modeler would still sound loads better then my current Ibanez anyway haha.
Is 60 watts loud enough to play shows in? My band actively plays shows quite a bit.
ub1quit0uz
Registered User
Join date: Oct 2012
357 IQ
#18
Also, I'm trying to find the "mullards rcas sylvanias" tubes that RJH11 mentioned... cant seem to pull up anything. From what I gathered those are all seperate companies or something.. correct me if I'm wrong.

Also, thanks for the suggestion on the 6505+ amp. I have heard the thing before and If I had the money I would grab it. Atm my only hope in getting a tube is for christmas, but even after Ill be super tight on money.. What would you consider the best bang for your buck tube amp for under.. say $500. Are there any that are even worth it for that price? and I would just need the head. No combo needed, as far as I know.
krehzeekid
Me like guitars
Join date: Dec 2009
316 IQ
#19
Quote by ub1quit0uz
Also, I'm trying to find the "mullards rcas sylvanias" tubes that RJH11 mentioned... cant seem to pull up anything. From what I gathered those are all seperate companies or something.. correct me if I'm wrong.

Also, thanks for the suggestion on the 6505+ amp. I have heard the thing before and If I had the money I would grab it. Atm my only hope in getting a tube is for christmas, but even after Ill be super tight on money.. What would you consider the best bang for your buck tube amp for under.. say $500. Are there any that are even worth it for that price? and I would just need the head. No combo needed, as far as I know.


What sort of cab do you have?

for under $500, definitely look into a used 6505+ combo. it's probably the best band-for-buck metal amp on the market right now. they're very good sounding and super easy to find well under $500
Don't sweat the petty things and don't pet the sweaty things...
ub1quit0uz
Registered User
Join date: Oct 2012
357 IQ
#20
I have a Marshall MG412C nothing too fancy. I also have a 2x12 cab that was custom made and it sounds freaking beautiful, don't really know what speakers are in it.. but it sounds good haha. Either way I see no reason in using a combo when I already have cabs. Unless maybe a combo would be a better choice? We gig a lot, mainly in smaller venues but we have played in some of the bigger venues of Utah as well. The bigger ones usually have equipment to mic the amps and whatnot but the smaller - mid sized ones do not so I want to make sure I have something to carry the sound nicely in a venue. Which Is why I was thinking to just get an amp head...
krehzeekid
Me like guitars
Join date: Dec 2009
316 IQ
#21
Quote by ub1quit0uz
I have a Marshall MG412C nothing too fancy. I also have a 2x12 cab that was custom made and it sounds freaking beautiful, don't really know what speakers are in it.. but it sounds good haha. Either way I see no reason in using a combo when I already have cabs. Unless maybe a combo would be a better choice? We gig a lot, mainly in smaller venues but we have played in some of the bigger venues of Utah as well. The bigger ones usually have equipment to mic the amps and whatnot but the smaller - mid sized ones do not so I want to make sure I have something to carry the sound nicely in a venue. Which Is why I was thinking to just get an amp head...


if you can find a used 6505+ head in your budget, then that's probably the better choice.

however, the combo is usually cheaper, and it has a good speaker output system so it can easily be linked to a cab. the other benefit of a combo is that you really only need to haul 1 thing to practice.
Don't sweat the petty things and don't pet the sweaty things...
ub1quit0uz
Registered User
Join date: Oct 2012
357 IQ
#22
Oh, there is an output on the combo? that sure makes things nice, especially since it would be REALLY nice to just carry the combo around... hmm I might go with that for now anyway. Do you think the combo itself would be loud enough for most venues? And how would hooking it up to my 4x12 cab work? Would it then disable the speaker its paired with in the combo, would it play through both? Just exactly how would it work is what im asking i guess. thanks for your input =)
krehzeekid
Me like guitars
Join date: Dec 2009
316 IQ
#23
Quote by ub1quit0uz
Oh, there is an output on the combo? that sure makes things nice, especially since it would be REALLY nice to just carry the combo around... hmm I might go with that for now anyway. Do you think the combo itself would be loud enough for most venues? And how would hooking it up to my 4x12 cab work? Would it then disable the speaker its paired with in the combo, would it play through both? Just exactly how would it work is what im asking i guess. thanks for your input =)


I actually used to own one, and gigged with it using a Traynor 4x12 cab. Depending on the impedance of your cab, you could use it with the internal speaker. There are 2 outputs on the back of the amp, and a selector switch that lets you pick between 4,8 and 16 ohms for both output. as long as you have an 8ohm cab, you'd be golden to use both. otherwise, you can unhook the internal speaker and just use the cab.

as far as volume goes, you should have no issues. 50watts is plenty for a decent sized club venue (of course, a PA is ideal). the amp is fairly loud, particularly with a good amp. the amp also has a direct output on the back, which lets you get a direct signal to the board really easily without taking any time.
Don't sweat the petty things and don't pet the sweaty things...
ub1quit0uz
Registered User
Join date: Oct 2012
357 IQ
#24
Awesome, i think I am definitely going to get a 6505+ Combo, I did some more research and from what you told me it seems perfect. Because of the lower wattage it would be a lot better to record with as well, not to mention the direct xlr out, but I have a sm57 for recording anyway. Thanks a lot =)

Another question then, tubes... what kind of tubes should I get for my current Voodoo, cuz im pretty sure they need replacing.
This is the music I play: http://soundcloud.com/winters-iris/sets/projections-demo
and this is a similar to the tone that i dream of: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JWfocyINYlY

And to bring it back to the original topic starter for my guitar, would it be best for me to buy a 3-way switch when my humbucker arrives (next week) or should I keep my 5-way, and for either option i will need some sort of schematic, i dont know ANYTHING about wiring. xD
krehzeekid
Me like guitars
Join date: Dec 2009
316 IQ
#25
Quote by ub1quit0uz
Awesome, i think I am definitely going to get a 6505+ Combo, I did some more research and from what you told me it seems perfect. Because of the lower wattage it would be a lot better to record with as well, not to mention the direct xlr out, but I have a sm57 for recording anyway. Thanks a lot =)

Another question then, tubes... what kind of tubes should I get for my current Voodoo, cuz im pretty sure they need replacing.
This is the music I play: http://soundcloud.com/winters-iris/sets/projections-demo
and this is a similar to the tone that i dream of: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JWfocyINYlY

And to bring it back to the original topic starter for my guitar, would it be best for me to buy a 3-way switch when my humbucker arrives (next week) or should I keep my 5-way, and for either option i will need some sort of schematic, i dont know ANYTHING about wiring. xD


I think a 3-way switch will make your life easier, so it might be worth the little bit of cash just to simplify your life.

as far as tubes for your voodoo go, just make sure you get the right type. that amp uses 12AX7's in the preamp, and 6L6's in the power amp. it's one of the most generic combinations ever, but make sure you know which tubes need replacing. if you don't know how to figure it out, go to the amp forum or to a tech (remember, tube amps can and will electrocute you if you aren't careful). yes, there are a whack of different brands of tubes out there, but as long as you stick with something decent (not the cheapest ones at the shop) you'll be fine. if you want to know more, make a thread in the amp forum- those guys know this stuff really well.
Don't sweat the petty things and don't pet the sweaty things...
ub1quit0uz
Registered User
Join date: Oct 2012
357 IQ
#26
Okay awesome! Thanks =)

I actually opened up and took out the tubes in the voodoo today to take a look at them, and confirm some things I was reading.

1) I read up on rectifier tubes just a bit, so I went to see what kind or whatever mine had. After taking them all out I noticed no difference in any of the pre-amp tubes, other then one of the four was separated a few inches away from the others, but looked the exact same as the rest. So now I'm highly confused. (especially cuz the manual says Im only supposed to have 3 preamps)

2) For the power tubes I could only see four 6L6 tubes, yet according to the manual im supposed to have, "12AX7A (1), 6L6GT/5881 (4)".. So then i was REALLY confused.

I guess Ill repost this in the amp forum tho, thanks for the help =)

(BTW, this is a little snippit of some recording we did today, we used the guitar I'm speaking of in this forum post, and the red voodoo: http://soundcloud.com/tyler-gibbs-3/amagani-preview)
krehzeekid
Me like guitars
Join date: Dec 2009
316 IQ
#27
Quote by ub1quit0uz
Okay awesome! Thanks =)

I actually opened up and took out the tubes in the voodoo today to take a look at them, and confirm some things I was reading.

1) I read up on rectifier tubes just a bit, so I went to see what kind or whatever mine had. After taking them all out I noticed no difference in any of the pre-amp tubes, other then one of the four was separated a few inches away from the others, but looked the exact same as the rest. So now I'm highly confused. (especially cuz the manual says Im only supposed to have 3 preamps)

2) For the power tubes I could only see four 6L6 tubes, yet according to the manual im supposed to have, "12AX7A (1), 6L6GT/5881 (4)".. So then i was REALLY confused.

I guess Ill repost this in the amp forum tho, thanks for the help =)

(BTW, this is a little snippit of some recording we did today, we used the guitar I'm speaking of in this forum post, and the red voodoo: http://soundcloud.com/tyler-gibbs-3/amagani-preview)



Yeah, I checked up on your users manual as well. I think it might be a hair misleading.

based on what I've seen, I think that the amp is actually solid-state rectified. There's nothing in there that would indicate- in my mind at least- that it features a tube rectifier.

the 4 6L6's makes perfect sense. that's pretty much par for the course on 100 watt amps. that 12AX7 that they list in the power section (probably the one that sits a little further away)- I would suspect that it is the phase inverter. It seems like an odd way to list tasks, but it makes sense to have 4 12AX7's and 4 6L6's. There is no way on earth that you have a 12AX7 functioning as a power tube, as the manual would suggest.

Again, tube amps can carry a charge for a long time (POTENTIALLY LETHAL!), so go to a tech if you're unsure of what you're looking.

also, why are you thinking your tubes are shot? I couldn't hear anything that screamed "dead tubes!".
Don't sweat the petty things and don't pet the sweaty things...
ub1quit0uz
Registered User
Join date: Oct 2012
357 IQ
#28
Thanks, the guys over at the amp forum are helpin me with details, your right, its a phase inverter tube, which I'll have to google here in a sec, haha. Solid state rectified also slips my knowledge xD.

Its kinda scary to know that I pulled those tubes out just seconds after i turned it off and unplugged it now... guess I wont make that mistake again.

The reason I thought my tubes might be shot is there is a constant hum, it isn't really noticeable while playing but as soon as the guitar is muted you can hear it. Its nothing major.. I just dont remember hearing it previous to buying it, so i thought it might be the tubes.
Sledgeman
Registered User
Join date: Jul 2008
144 IQ
#29
About the switch, if you want to keep it simple then get a 3-way. If you want to make more complex wiring you have to get a new 5-way, something like a dimarzio super switch.



With that you can do wirings like this for example.

ub1quit0uz
Registered User
Join date: Oct 2012
357 IQ
#30
Hmm Okay, I'll probably get a 3-way to make things easier for me. =)