Jehannum
Bant
Join date: Feb 2011
2,440 IQ
#1
Sorry, I posted a similar question in the Drums subforum but no one seems to be there.

I want to export drum tracks from Guitar Pro 6 as MIDI files, load them into drum software (to get a better drum sound than GP6), and then export this as an audio file.

Could someone please tell me whether any software (EZDrummer or whatever) can do this?

Are any of these drum software programs standalone applications or are they all only usable within a DAW?
chatterbox272
Registered User
Join date: May 2011
1,237 IQ
#2
Only within a DAW AFAIK. You could rig it up to a standalone but it would involve going through a DAW so it's more effort than it's worth.

As for options you have a few -
Free: Drummix Beta, Big Mono + Kontakt/ShortCircuit, KMS Drums
Paid: EZDrummer, Steven Slate Drums, Superior Drummer.
ThrasherThais
Registered User
Join date: Mar 2012
33 IQ
#3
I've got Superior Drummer and yeah, you can do that. Just import the MIDI file on your DAW and set the VST to whatever you have. It's quite easy to do.
Smudgee
Registered User
Join date: Jan 2009
94 IQ
#4
I use EZdrummer, and yeah I'm pretty sure you can do that. Load the midi into your a channel on your DAW, and then select the whichever piece of software you have to that channel. The mapping might be a little off depending on your DAW and software, but that's easily fixed.

It might be easier just to use the loops that often come with those drum programms though, or programme your own, it's easy enough on your DAW.
Yarr!
Jehannum
Bant
Join date: Feb 2011
2,440 IQ
#5
I've incorporated Drummix into Reaper.

I've saved a MIDI file of some drums from Guitar Pro 6.

I've imported that MIDI file into Reaper - it looks like a series of horizontal lines at different heights through the track.

It doesn't appear to play properly.

It's labelled 'Acoustic Grand Piano' - I don't know why.

Can't get it to work at all. Anyone help?
chatterbox272
Registered User
Join date: May 2011
1,237 IQ
#6
Quote by Jehannum
I've incorporated Drummix into Reaper.

I've saved a MIDI file of some drums from Guitar Pro 6.

I've imported that MIDI file into Reaper - it looks like a series of horizontal lines at different heights through the track.

It doesn't appear to play properly.

It's labelled 'Acoustic Grand Piano' - I don't know why.

Can't get it to work at all. Anyone help?

Have you applied the drummix plugin to the track? Open the effects window and select the Drummix plugin.

For some reason drum parts do get labelled as piano sometimes, it's not an issue.
Jehannum
Bant
Join date: Feb 2011
2,440 IQ
#7
Quote by chatterbox272
Have you applied the drummix plugin to the track? Open the effects window and select the Drummix plugin.

For some reason drum parts do get labelled as piano sometimes, it's not an issue.


Yeah, the Drummix plugin is open as fx on the track. There's no sound or any kind of movement on the AV meters as the MIDI track plays.