Whew...post #1. I'll try not to sound as new as I am. Guess I should start with I am completely obsessed with learning guitar. I am not very good at it, but put in the time, watch the youtubes, read these boards, etc.

Ahem... so here's what I'm wondering, if any would be so kind as to offer their thoughts/personal experience.

I am very new and realize that what I'm asking is a long term goal for me to set. But when do you believe you went from running scales/practicing fingering/etc to actually being able to express yourself via the lead... Not as concerned with the rhythm because I believe I 'felt' that when I learned about 5 chords and could play most songs...

No, what I'm wondering is specific to solo'ing... because it's what I believe is where my practice is now focusing. So without rambling further... I'm simply looking for when, during your practicing 'career' did you kinda suddenly realize you were expressing yourself during a lead vs. running scales and riffs you knew would 'amaze'....

-Slap
Quote by Slapknot
Whew...post #1. I'll try not to sound as new as I am. Guess I should start with I am completely obsessed with learning guitar. I am not very good at it, but put in the time, watch the youtubes, read these boards, etc.

Ahem... so here's what I'm wondering, if any would be so kind as to offer their thoughts/personal experience.

I am very new and realize that what I'm asking is a long term goal for me to set. But when do you believe you went from running scales/practicing fingering/etc to actually being able to express yourself via the lead... Not as concerned with the rhythm because I believe I 'felt' that when I learned about 5 chords and could play most songs...