Hello there fellows,

I recently changed the strings on my acoustic guitar. I have been using very thick strings to get the one-whole-step-down tuning I enjoy (instead of E for the 6th, it is D and so on). However, a day or two after that, the guitar started to sound dull. Brand new guitars and a dull sound?

I began checking the tension on the neck, and it seems it needed adjustment. However, I have NO clue on how to repair this. Before I take it to the shop, is there anything I can do?

Thank you guys for your help,

kRem
I haven't had a problem as such in the years I've been playing acoustic. As you know, all guitar strings create a different tone. And guitars do change over time. Also, depending on where you play, the acoustics can sound totally different. I wish I could help you out...I have kept my strings 10 gauge on my acoustics since I started playing. Good luck
isnt this a situation where you adjust the action on a guitar?

im not sure though
UG Radio

Quote by ddrocksv3_4xpk
Thine Behold one rollin?
Quote by _T_H_R_I_C_E_
Lo, and the other lads be hating,
gallyvanting around,
attempting to catch me cycling in an unsavory fashion.

XBL: Panzyz

PSN: Dasan104
Quote by SeeEmilyPlay
I haven't had a problem as such in the years I've been playing acoustic. As you know, all guitar strings create a different tone. And guitars do change over time. Also, depending on where you play, the acoustics can sound totally different. I wish I could help you out...I have kept my strings 10 gauge on my acoustics since I started playing. Good luck

Hey Emily!

Actually you are right: guitars DO change. However, this sudden change is not good. I try adjusting the neck tension and this noticeably changed the string's sound. But, how do I do this properly (the calibration)?

kRem
Quote by darklite41
isnt this a situation where you adjust the action on a guitar?

im not sure though

Hey!