ok well heres my question. im a little new to the whole tube amp thing but i know that they have better tone the louder you turn them up. i was wondering if theres a way to quiet like say a combo amp so that your amp itself is running at a higher volume than the volume you hear. i was thinking about putting my amp in a plywood box with carpeting glued to the inside of the box to sort of muffle the sound and thus i could turn the amp up louder on the dial but the sound i would hear wouldnt be as loud. anybody know if this works? or something similar i could do... even electronically?
"every prince has to slay a few dragons before he meets his princess"
A device that will do that electronically is an attenuator. It goes between the head and the cab (speakers).

I have heard of isolation boxes for recording (you put the mic in with the cab), but not for general playing. I think you'd lose a lot of high-end that way. Personally I don't think it'd be worth the time and trouble, but if you want to try it, go ahead!!
haha ummm you can put an overdrive in front of it to simulate it, you can play on a smaller amp, ive put a loop pedal and put the volume up all the way on that and got overdrive....but god please dont put your amp in a plywood box haha
'I love her, but I love to fish...I'm gonna miss her"
It can be done by sacrificing your tone. I think that if you cover the amp with something you will lost the highs.

tldr: will sound like shit
******A Console Cowboy****** 1
It can be done, if you google 'speaker isolation cabinet', you'll get plenty of results. However, if you get a power attenuator, you can bring the volume up as necessary if you get into a band situation.
Jackson Kelly KE3 w/P-Rails; Aria Pro II TSB-350
• ZVex Fuzz Factory; DigiTech Whammy; Danelectro Fish & Chips; Marshall ED1; Fulltone OCD; DigiTech Whammy; Marshall JMP1; Boss CE3; Vox AC4TV

EMU 0404; Reason/Record; M-Audio AV40