I keep reading that I should set a goal in whatever I am doing, whether it be playing music or life in general. I don't know what I want to do as a bass player. All I know is I want to play music with other people and enjoy myself while doing it.

What are your goals as a bass player?
Mine are basically the same as yours. I started playing bass because I wanted to play music, and the band Im in now just happened to need a bassist.

Just to be on stage doing what I love, and knowing the crowd enjoys it is satisfaction enough for me
i.play
||
supported.by
||

"...If you think you're alive, you're better off dead"
As a bassist, I just want to play music I like the sound and feel of.
As a musician, I want to make music that I and other people love the sound and feel of.
my goal is to give people something with my music.
and of course getting better every day : )

when im on stage and play with my band then i forget everything around me and just make music....thats the best feeling ever !!
Quote by satanplaysbass
my goal is to give people something with my music.
and of course getting better every day : )

when im on stage and play with my band then i forget everything around me and just make music....thats the best feeling ever !!

Bingo!!
i.play
||
supported.by
||

"...If you think you're alive, you're better off dead"
Well my main goal ultimatly is to just serve the song.

As far as bass playing goes, I did not intentionaly plan on being a "bassist" originally. I was/am a guitarist that was pretty much contracted to join a freind's band as a bass player. I wanted to be in a band so I took up bass and here I am, and I love it. That band plays mainly Blues/70s rock so I guess my main role is just to lock in with the drummer and keep things interesting with minor and major scale runs. I try my best to refrain from just root notes but if i get too busy the guitarist gives me shit..

Ah the good 'ol band politics/ego wars can really screw with us bassists huh?