Hey UG. I have never posted on the forums, but I've been reading for quite a few years and I'm an avid user of the tab database. Now its finally time that I've got a question of my own.

I've been playing for about 5 years with the good old Squire Strat and some no name 10 watt amp. Yesterday I just purchased my first 'real' guitar (Epi Les Paul Plustop) for my birthday and I think it'd be a nice compliment to upgrade the amp along with it. I only play for leisure at home, no gigs or recording, so I figure about 30watts would be all I really need, more is fine if it falls in the price range. As far as style, I don't have anything too specific. I play a lot of clean bluesy licks in the likes of John Mayer and SRV, but also will do mildly distorted things like RHCP, Cake, Foo Fighters, Incubus, Weezer, U2, Rage. Nothing crazy distorted or metal. I'm looking in the range of $150 all the way to $300 max.

Most amps I've been looking into are Marshalls simply because I thought it was a respected name, but I've seen a lot of bashing of the MG line here. Which is why I'm consulting you good people. Some models I'm interested in are the following
-http://www.guitarcenter.com/Crate-V-Series-V50-112-50W-1x12-Tube-Guitar-Combo-Amp-487054-i1322695.gc
-http://www.guitarcenter.com/Line-6-Spider-III-30-30W-1x12-Guitar-Combo-Amp-103944799-i1168995.gc
-http://www.guitarcenter.com/Fender-25R-Frontman-Series-II-Guitar-Combo-100364739-i1145385.gc
-http://www.guitarcenter.com/Marshall-MG30DFX-Combo-101704088-i1145938.gc
-http://www.guitarcenter.com/Marshall-MG15MSII-Micro-Stack-101897007-i1145874.gc

Hopefully someone can shed some light, if i've been too vague in any way I can try to expand. As far as type of amp (SS, tube, ect.) I'm not sure whats what, so no preference there. Thanks
check out vox ad series amps. if you just want a 30W practice amp, then tube is probably overkill. especially the 50.
http://www.zzounds.com/item--VOXVT30