Hey everyone,

Looking to invest in a new guitar sometime soon.

I was thinking about a Fender Telecaster (known for their twangy sound, right?), but when I went to Guitar Center and saw Gretsch guitars.... completely forgot about considering them....

Dont know much about them though. I would probably get a hollow or semi hollow electric one. They have that sort of twangy sound, right? Are they good guitars?

And what would be a good one to buy? I want something thats good to gig with. One thats atleast equal in quality to a basic Fender Strat.

Im a total noob on Gretsch guitars so anything you can tell me would be cool.

Or would anyone reccomend any possible alternatives that are just as good?

Oh yeah.... and the amps Im looking at.... either a Vox or the Peavey Classic.
Last edited by aaronob at Nov 18, 2008,
If you want a hollow one but don't want to spend $1,500+, try the Electromatic G5120. As for their quality, their owned by Fender now, so their going to have quality at leas equal to a MIM Fender at $200 more. Just don't try pushing some monster gain through it; hollowbodies don't take well to heavy distortion.
THE FORUM UPDATE KILLED THE GRADIENT STAR

Baltimore Orioles: 2014 AL Eastern Division Champions, 2017: 50-54
Baltimore Ravens: 2012 World Champions, 2017: 0-0
2017 NFL Pick 'Em: 0-0
Yes, sort of twangy, and yes, good guitars. Honestly, both the Tele and Gretsch are good guitars, but try 'em out and see what you like better. Honestly, I don't like the neck on most semi-hollows, but it's what's most comfortable and better sounding to you.
Quote by necrosis1193
If you want a hollow one but don't want to spend $1,500+, try the Electromatic G5120. As for their quality, their owned by Fender now, so their going to have quality at leas equal to a MIM Fender at $200 more. Just don't try pushing some monster gain through it; hollowbodies don't take well to heavy distortion.