Page 1 of 2
so...i'm curious. how many people in UG are studying, either directly or indirectly, "higher level" math and applied math. i guess i'll take "higher level" to mean beyond calculus III.

i'm trying to see if people who're in the same situation are getting the same feeling i'm getting...:

i'm an EE student and i've taken, formally, up to partial differential equations and Fourier Analysis. but...all the classes labeled as EE classes really intense math classes in disguise. Probability and Stats? you would think it would be easy...until you realize you have to calculate Gaussian integrals characterized by covariance matrices, using Taylor Series to expand exponentials of random variables to analyze moment generating functions...

i'm also in a systems theory class where we take Fourier and Laplace Transforms like fat kids eat cake. it's fucked, man. but right fucked.

it's gotten to the point where everything you've learned comes to a point and you almost get a sense of unity of knowledge...everything else in math before now is annoying; it's a shame so many people give up on math before they get to this point. sometimes when the world doesn't make sense, you get the feeling that these mathematical truths may, in fact, be the only truths we can rely on consistently. but at the same time, the more you learn, the less you think you really know. kind of a pain really, but extremely empowering at the same time...

...so, anyone else in that elite club of understanding?
Quote by Iluvpowerchords
I like:

Phobos (he oozes cool)

Misfits and AC/DC Covers + original recordings (jazz/punk, hardcore, "shredish").
http://advancederror.dmusic.com
I didn't know you had to take anything beyond Linear Algebra and Differential Equations for Electrical Engineering. I've taken all of Calculus and some Linear Algebra. The rest of my curriculum is full of wonderful little engineering courses where all that sh*t collides.
Quote by LordBishek

Welcome to the house of fun.