Hi,

I've been playing guitar for a few years now. When I first started, I was more focused on lead because my band had a rhythm guitar player who was not really interested in lead. However, in my new band we have a great guitar player, so I'd like to learn how to play rhythm better for when he wants to play lead. I was just wondering if there are some articles, lessons, threads, etc. about exercises for rhythm guitar, artists to listen to, techniques to employ, or anything else anyone can think of.

Of course, I'm not asking about just power chords and eighth-note palm muting here. I'd like to be able to play rhythm guitar just as dynamically as lead guitar, and to know when to fill in the space if I need to or step back a bit if there's too much going on in the song... I think a better way of putting it is "I want to learn how to be a good rhythm guitar player" rather than just "I want to learn rhythm guitar."

So yes, if you know any lessons then please link them! Or maybe tell me some songs I can listen to/learn to pick up on many rhythm guitar techniques.

I'm into all kinds of genres, but the rhythm types I'd like to learn would be classic rock/alt rock/blues/jazz/maybe some softer alt or pop type of thing.

Thanks
UG should have some rhythm guitar lessons.

here
Quote by joshjhasarrived
Little does the government suspect that it's funds are being rapidly drained through funding infinite free cardboard boxes to bored teenagers on an internet forum.
the lcm rgt electric guitar exams have a rhythm guitar section that i recommend
dude just look at the stuff Zacky Vengeance from A7X does.... i'd say that as fast and precise as he plays the rhythms that his parts in the songs may be harder the Syn's... just my opinion
✠I use emotion for the many and reserve reason for the few
✠Adolf Hitler✠
What's "lcm rgt"? Do you have a link or something like that to the specific article/section you're talking about?