So I'm interested in applying to Notre Dame, and I was curious about the music scene there. I figured UG would be the most appropriate place to ask.

EDIT: OK, to clarify.

I'm not looking at Notre Dame or any other college for that matter for the music scene. I just enjoy music, and I was curious what Notre Dame was like.
Quote by kgesme21

Quote by Hsupernova

Oh yeah, and if guitar hero got you into the guitar? you're really playing for the wrong reasons.

there is no wrong reason to play a guitar, except for world enslavement and extermination of certain races, but those guys never make it big anyway.
Last edited by algemar at Nov 18, 2008,
I do!

Well...depends what you mean. The South Bend music scene isn't too bad. Umphrey's McGee went to ND and they do a show every year in downtown south bend, which is pretty sweet. There's a few places in the city that play music, although I haven't been to any concerts yet (I'm a freshman).

On campus...you're kinda screwed. There's one music hall and it's mostly used by music majors. Most kids listen to rap or acoustic indie crap. Not a lot of musicians on campus. I do a radio show on the college-owned radio station which is pretty sweet, and a lot of the people involved with that are pretty cool.

There's a thing every thursday called Acousticafe where whiny emo kids get on stage in front of like 30 people and play Jack Johnson/Taking Back Sunday songs. Most of the kids suck pretty bad but if you're talented it's a good time.

On the plus side, we have a nightclub called Legends of Notre Dame where a surprisingly decent amount of bands play. Check out the website to see what bands/people have come...admission is free and stuff, so it's a good deal. There's also a big concert at the beginning of every year, but this year it was Good Charlotte, if that gives you any indication of the general quality, haha.