Hello all,
I've wanted a new electric guitar and amp for some time now, and have researched a few of them and tried out a few in George's Music (music shop near here) and found one combination I LOVE... but I want to know everyone's opinion.

Ibanez Xiphos XPT700 in Chameleon Blue (or XPT700FX)
Line 6 Spider III 30

the XPT700 has an Edge III whammy setup and (ugh) string locks to stop them from going out of tune or something...

the XPT700FX has no whammy setup and seems a bit smoother playing wise...

The Line 6 amp is just beautiful

Any thoughts? Should I look at a different guitar company? I've no experience with Ibanez... how are they quality and support wise?

Thanks,
Jim
@Swap-Meet: Why's that? It sounds better than my Fender Frontman 15G that came in my strat pack 2.5 years ago...
Quote by jimmio92
@Swap-Meet: Why's that? It sounds better than my Fender Frontman 15G that came in my strat pack 2.5 years ago...

People seem to think they sound too digital...I have no clue how much the 30w goes for, but I'm positive that anything from the Crate V series, will be cheaper and better.

It sounding better than your frontman doesn't mean too much, the cleans on frontmans sound pretty good, but the distortion is pretty fizzy and ****ty.
line 6 amp jsut beautiful? from someone who owns one, its really not. its nice for practicing because i can plug headphones into it at night time and playback audio through it as well, but if your looking for something to actually, you know, play with and sound good... no.

as far as the xiphos, edge III is no good.

edit: to the above, yes they do sound very digital. it sounds "fake" and overly processed to me.
Jackson DKMG Dinky, Ibanez RG 7321, Ibanez RG 350EX
Bugera 6262-212 (120 watt), Line 6 Spider lll (30 watt)

Pearl Forum Series Drums
Sabian B8 Cymbals (ride, hi-hats, 3x crash, splash)