I'm new to music theory so please bear with me. I have a tab of The Rolling Stones version of Love In Vain and the time signature is in 12/8. When i play this song on guitar, I play it as if it's in 6/4 with the pulse felt on beats 1 and 4. I don't know why i play it this way but it just seems right to me. It seems to me that these two time signatures are very close to each other. Am I completely wrong for playing it this way? Are these two time signatures close to each other? Is 6/4 ever even used? Am I right that the pulses would be felt on 1 and 4?
Quote by Martindecorum
6/4 is the same as 12/8..
BUT
i am wrong in saying so, the different time sigs have different feels with the accents on different beats.

but the amount of notation value adds up to the same

Wrong. 12/8 is compound signature and denotes four beats per bar, with each beat having the value of a dotted quarter note. 6/4 can be treated as simple or compound, but in either case is not the same as 12/8.
Someones knowledge of guitar companies spelling determines what amps you can own. Really smart people can own things like Framus because they sound like they might be spelled with a "y" but they aren't.
Quote by Archeo Avis
Wrong. 12/8 is compound signature and denotes four beats per bar, with each beat having the value of a dotted quarter note. 6/4 can be treated as simple or compound, but in either case is not the same as 12/8.
Both 12/8 and 6/4 are examples of compound time. 6/4 cannot be treated as simple time because it is, in fact, compound time.
  • The 12/8 signature calls for four beats per measure. The dotted quarter-note is the beat unit.
  • The 6/4 signature calls for two beats per measure. The dotted half-note is the beat unit.

To the thread starter: "Love in Vain" as recorded by the Stones sounds like a very slow 12/8 to me. I don't hear stresses on beats 1 and 4, and I think 6/4 is out of the question. If you can play the song and make it sound meaningful, though, good for you.