So I'm auditioning for a band this weekend and they want me to add a guitar part to one of their originals. Now I haven't heard this song yet and I'm gonna have to do it on the day. I have no experience in improv... Any tips in creating a nice sounding guitar part?
Quote by msuspartan
Only the pit can turn a thread about auditioning for a Christian band, to having sexual experiences while eating a banana. Bravo pit, Bravo.
Figure out the chords and play them differently. Odd inversions, maybe the occasional seventh or ninth, maybe high up on the neck à la Frusciante. That is assuming you're auditioning for a second guitar. If you need to put a riff in, find the scale, stick to it, and bend when you're not sure what note to play.
Quote by H4T3BR33D3R
I masturbated in front of a mirror and I pretended Bob Barker was giving me a handjob.

Quote by Bazilisck311

You know you're a guitar player if the pianist at your wedding plays "Eruption"
Is there any way of doing without scales and all that?
Quote by msuspartan
Only the pit can turn a thread about auditioning for a Christian band, to having sexual experiences while eating a banana. Bravo pit, Bravo.
Figure out the chords and arpeggiate erratically, maybe throw in some phasing or flanging if the song is asking for it.
Quote by H4T3BR33D3R
I masturbated in front of a mirror and I pretended Bob Barker was giving me a handjob.

Quote by Bazilisck311

i'd say your screwed... i'd do what MmmCesium said- stick to the scales... if they have the bass line recorded then ask the bassist what notes he plays and play the same note power chords.
How do I figure out the scale without knowing the song? It would help if I knew scales as well. Oh dear.....

I like the power chord idea.
Quote by msuspartan
Learn theory, that will solve all your problems.

Start here: http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/search.php?s=the+crusade&w=columns
R.I.P. My Signature. Lost to us in the great Signature Massacre of 2014.

Quote by Master Foo