I'm going to buy a new amp this christmas... here's the deal. the wish list.

preferably tube or good amp modeling with the essential effects (delay and reverb)
tap trem would be nice.

I play everything from metal to Joe Walsh

I live in a rural area and don't have the luxury of sampling amps very often, but I've been playing and recording for 4 years through a fender champion 300 and I'm sick of striving for a good hi-gain sound from it, because it probably ain't happening. it's amazing clean, but noisy and sterile distorted.. and i'm sick of it!

I'm not looking for an amp with an amazing clean channel, my fender amp and acoustic guitars have that department thoroughly covered.

I'm asking anyone with good experience for suggestions... not "my friend/I have so and so and I like it so buy it!" I'm really looking for good advice.

So far my favorite choices are:

Vox VT30(probably the 50 but it isn't around yet)
Roland Cube 30x
Roland Cube 60
Peavey Vypyr 75
Crate V50
I'm open to others - these choices are mostly based on a few internet searches..

For the record I mostly play an Ibanez Xiphos, all stock.

I have tried the vt30 and like it quite a bit.. but one amp isn't enough to decide on.
I am aware that all of these are possibly great options, but everything's got some pro's and con's. I think a 1-12 is perfect for my setting.

please hit me with some knowledge and suggestions! help me narrow down this list to a couple amps. I can make a final decision, I just have no experience with most of these! Explaining differences in the tone/effects quality etc. would be more helpful in swaying my opinion than just a simple answer to my problems. Thank's UG in advance!
Last edited by SaoSurvive at Nov 19, 2008,