Hi all,

I just bought my first real guitar, Fender Stratocaster (mex) from 2003.

When I started playing, without the amp, I noticed a buzzing sound from 6 and 3. Read a suggestion on the forum to change the strings, which I did. The problem is that I now have fret buzz on 6-5-4-3. I find this extremely annoying, especially since I can hear i through the amp as well.

So, the next step was to adjust the saddle on string 6 to raise it a bit. It helped but the buzz is still there so I lowered it again to the original level.

Went over to the local music store but they said "at least 3 weeks", and I don't want to wait that long (also, $70-80 didn't sound too good either).

So I was thinking, do I need to adjust the truss rod?

If I put a straight ruler on top of the frets, I can fit a piece of paper under the ruler from fret 5 to 12 which I guess means that the neck is bent backwards, correct?
From what I've read there should be a slight convex bend?

I know that there's a lot of information out there but they all have the truss rod adjuster way up the neck while it's by the pickups on mine which means I have to remove the plate?

Anyway, could someone who knows this kind of stuff help me out?

Thanks!
Last edited by Gussifer at Nov 19, 2008,
Yeah, if it's low-fret buzz it's more likely to be a poorly adjusted truss rod. If I were you, and it's a recent purchase, I'd take it back to the shop and tell them to fix it for you (for free), since it was obviously a problem present when they sold it to you.

If you bought it online/2nd hand, whatever, bit more tricky; either fork out for pro adjustment (might be recommended, if you're unsure of what you're doing), or, adjust the truss rod yourself.

http://www.athensmusician.net/archive/2001-05-01_geneimbody1.shtml

talks you through it pretty well (your issue is 'back-bow')

If you do decide to take the risk and do it yourself, use little force, the right tools, and SMALL turns. Wait for the neck to settle.