hi, i have been playing for about 7 - 8 months and i SUCK really hard
the only song i can play (excluding the solos) is Fear of the dark by Iron Maiden
every time i want to practice a song i realize its very hard and i stop playing it and look for an other
i just want to ask u guys if u can give me some songs to learn that may improve my skills
thx
Back In Black - AC/DC

Epiphone Les Paul Standard w/ SD Alnico Pro II's
Fender Aerodyne Telecaster & Stratocaster
Marshall JCM 800 4104 combo

E-Married to Funny_Page
PRACTICE! don't depends too much on just playing alot of songs to get skilled. scales, alt. picking, tipping, ect. work on basic skills. playing iron maiden for 7 months won't get you too far.
Quote by Deliriumbassist
Boss pedals drain power like a girlfriend drains your bank account.

GEAR:
4 string warwick corvette $$ BO

acustic 200 head & 410 cab
Quote by DanielFX
the only song i can play (excluding the solos) is Fear of the dark by Iron Maiden
every time i want to practice a song i realize its very hard and i stop playing it and look for an other
i just want to ask u guys if u can give me some songs to learn that may improve my skills
thx

The first song I learned was Soothsayer by Buckethead (sans the shredfest, obviously)...check it out, experiment with the minor scale, play the verses and chorus (especially if you have delay / wah / distortion pedals ), etc.

A couple of the first full songs that I learned that still remain my favorites to play due in part to sheer funnitude include Contagion and Elder Misanthropy by The Black Dahlia Murder, czech 'em out

If you're not into any of that, The Trooper (Maiden) or Cowboys From Hell (Pantera) may be tailored to your liking.

Edit: Also, Six by All That Remains is a great (and fun) metal song to practice..tremolo picking, palm muting, string skipping, a nice little solo, etc. Just remember..practice slow at first if you can't play it full speed!
Last edited by Skatality at Nov 20, 2008,