Ive been playing for just about 2 years now and the one thing I really struggle with is composing original songs.. So my question is what are some ways i can go about writing riffs, somthing structured (this is a real problem as i can only seem to play licks for leads & stuff) and then create a chord proggression from that (or the other way around, progression then riff, dosent matter). Then after I have that basic proggression how do i get a verse, bridge and chorus out of it? I thing i might be overthinking things by trying to put difficult chords in and trying to apply different theory lessons ive learned. I play blues and jazz type things so any help or insight at all would be amazing, thanks.

ps i posted this in the songwriting forum as well, not sure which one was right but im just looking for some feedback.
My Gear:

Fender Aerodyne Stratocaster
NOS Tweed Fender Blues Jr
Boss BD-2
Boss CE-5
Boss CS-3
Dunlop Slash Crybaby
Korg DT-10
Boss BR-600
MXR Script Phase 90
MXR DD-7 Analog Delay

GASing for:
Vox V847
Quote by bangoodcharlote
Write a ton. You will suck at first; everyone did. You will eventually get better.

It's okay to be terrible at something when you're first doing it.

^

Just give it time. I never had any interest in writing my own material until recently. I've been playing for 9 years and all of the sudden it seems to come naturally.